VIRGINIA MOUNTAIN CHALET NEAR SKYLINE DRIVE, MASSANUTTEN RESORT, LURAY

Lynn Van der Veer

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

VIRGINIA MOUNTAIN CHALET NEAR SKYLINE DRIVE, MASSANUTTEN RESORT, LURAY

Elkton Cabin Rental Photos and Description

$75/night mid-week 4 night special! Sleeps up to 4 adults and 2 children.

Relax, hike, explore and ski at our mountain getaway. Next availability: AUG 27-29 (2 nights). Mid-week Special only $75/night! See availability calendar. NOW BOOKING FOR SEPTEMBER.

Come discover why the Shenandoah Chalet -centrally located in the Shenandoah National Park, Skyline Drive, Massanutten Resort, Luray area, is the area's best rental value.

Escape to the serenity of the Blue Ridge Mountains and experience the magic of Virginia country living at our beautiful home. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a ski holiday, a special place to celebrate, or a weekend retreat, you've come to the right place. Experience nature by exploring our garden and woodlands. Enjoy the ever-changing mountain views from the chalet's deck.

The Shenandoah Chalet is always professionally cleaned, maintained and ready for your arrival. Central heat and central air-conditioning for your comfort. The chalet can accommodate up to 4 adults and 2 children. Two cots supplied for the kids.

As you enter the chalet, the gourmet kitchen is equipped so you can prepare your meals in style, such as a new Samsung convection oven and stove, Cuisinart microwave, Krupps coffee-maker, Tools-of-the-Trade cookware, Oneida flatware, Henchel chef knives, Pottery Barn dishes, Cuisinart toaster-oven, Bosch dishwasher, spices, refrigerator/freezer and more. Paper towels and trash bags provided. Complimentary coffee and gallon of spring water.

Enter into the great room which has a contemporary open floor plan combining the dining area and living room with a soaring cathedral ceiling with large sunny windows looking out to the spectacular Shenandoah National Park mountains. The great room features a swiss-style fireplace (1 firelog provided), for your entertainment a new Samsung 43' plasma HDTV with DirecTV/satellite TV, DVD player and DVD library, large sectional couch with comfy down-filled cushions. The dining area with antique country table seats four.

Both bedrooms feature firm queen beds with clean fresh linens (600 thread-count percale designer sheets), and for your health the pillows and mattresses are protected with allergen-free covers. The loft bedroom (open to the great room) has a down comforter, an air filter/ionizer, TV/DVD, and a view of the mountains. The main level bedroom has a CD/clock/radio. Plenty of blankets and pillows provided.

Full bathroom with a tub and shower. We provide fresh clean quality towels, soap, and a hair-dryer.

Relax. Shenandoah Chalet has a new robotic massage chair that melts away stress, muscle soreness, and tension. Once you try it, you'll never want to leave.

We have a no pets policy, as we strive at providing an allergen-free environment. No smoking in the chalet, but is permitted outside. Some cell phones don't work here. We provide a land-line phone with free unlimited long distance service (in the US). Three acres of wooded privacy, two decks with chairs, Weber BBQ grill, family board games. Wifi internet, we use a GAC-152 lite-n wifi dialup router suitable for email (we are in a remote area, no broadband cable available).

To ensure you enjoy a carefree stay, we are available 7 days a week to answer any questions you may have or resolve any issues that may arise. We live in Frederick, MD (about 100 miles from Elkton). We have both a local caretaker and a handyman 10 minutes from the chalet. We have been renting our chalet as a vacation getaway for over 5 years. You provide your own food and we'll take care of everything else.

The chalet is 100 miles from Washington DC, and 100 miles from Richmond. An easy drive on great roads. We keep the driveway plowed should it snow. We are 1 mile from hiking in Shenandoah National Park, 15 minutes to the nearest town, Elkton, and 25 minutes to Massanutten Ski Resort and waterpark.

Experience the amazing beauty of the surrounding countryside by visiting Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns, only minutes away. Visit award-winning wineries and explore the Blue Ridge by horseback. Take time to visit historic Luray. Come escape for a weekend or a week in our beautiful home in the Blue Ridge Mountains. We look forward to hosting your visit.

Check-in: 5:00 p.m.

Check-out: 1 p.m.

$296/MID-WEEK SPECIAL (Monday-Friday, 4 nights) Only $74/night

Payment option: Reserve through http://www.ShenandoahChalet.com/p6.html with no security deposit required.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Guestbook comments from the owner
Hi Lynn,

I just wanted to thank you for the use of your cabin this past weekend.

We had an amazing time. It was exactly as described on your website and

completely lived up to my expectations. We all had a great bonding

experience which was precisely what I had hoped for.

Thanks again
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 43

Lynn Van der Veer

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We have been renting our chalet as a vacation getaway for over 5 years. In 2012, FlipKey travelers rated us top rental managers and were awarded an excellent rating by TripAdvisor. We look forward to hosting your visit.

- We offer the best value in the area with abundant amenities at an incredibly low price.

- Shenandoah Chalet has a new robotic massage chair that melts away stress, muscle soreness, and tension better than a hot tub. Once you try it, you will never want to leave.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.2
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
VIRGINIA MOUNTAIN CHALET near Skyline Drive, Massanutten Resort, Luray
average rating of 3.25 based on 4 reviews
business
VIRGINIA MOUNTAIN CHALET near Skyline Drive, Massanutten Resort, Luray
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502659
+1 (301) 293-4192
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
5

PLACID, COMFORTABLE RETREAT

  • 5 of 5
Exactly as described, and super comfortable & quiet. Lynn was very helpful and responsive. A useful detail to add to the description would be that while the kitchen has all the dishes and appliances you might need, you really need to bring every cooking-related ingredient for yourself. That means cooking spray, spices etc. This is not meant as a criticism, but would be worth knowing beforehand.
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
VIRGINIA MOUNTAIN CHALET near Skyline Drive, Massanutten Resort, Luray
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502659
+1 (301) 293-4192
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
Ephrata, PA
2

DISAPPOINTED

  • 2 of 5
We were looking forward to this anniversary getaway for a long time so were disappointed when we arrived to find pet hair over the linens on the bed. I went to the closet thinking I could change the sheets myself but those sheets also had hair on them. I'm guessing there is a pet in the house where the linens get washed. The maid soon came with clean sheets after we called Lyn. We were refused a refund of any sort even though the website states it's "professionally cleaned." Also, don't expect a quiet morning on the deck as the maintenance man may be there weed eating and mowing.
  • Submitted: May 21, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When Nate called me I IMMEDIATELY took care of the problem by calling our caretaker who came within minutes of our guest's request: to be clear. The previous guests, unbeknownst to our caretaker, may have caused this problem, against our policy, bringing a dog, but until we are informed that a problem exists, we have zero way to address it. There is no "red-haired" pet at either our cabin (we do not allow pets) or our cleaning person's house. Further, ALL linens are washed and replaced after every guest's stay. We have predominately FIVE star reviews regarding the cleanliness of both the cabin and the linens provided. Since we have a strict refund policy, which they agreed to, and we immediately took care of the issue, we did not feel that a refund was appropriate, which I explained to him. Our property is professionally landscaped and cleaned. Our outside maintenance person HAS to work at some point during a weekday, as do ALL lawn-care people! It takes him less than one hour to do the necessary mowing, etc. If you have an issue, you can reach us, and we immediately remedy it, and this proves it: when Nate could not figure out how to work the remote control for the HDTV, we were there to help :)
business
VIRGINIA MOUNTAIN CHALET near Skyline Drive, Massanutten Resort, Luray
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502659
+1 (301) 293-4192
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
Florida
1

STINK BUGS!!!!!!

  • 1 of 5
Just make sure if you want to stay here, you don't mind insects in the cabin. Older cabin, added on kitchen and bathroom, floor slanted, cobwebs in the ceiling beams, stink bugs in every room and she thought it was okay. Could not stay our second night and she did not refund our money! Has not been satisfactorily kept up. Pictures are very miss leading :(
  • Submitted: May 16, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In our opinion these travelers concocted an excuse so that they would not have to pay. Here are the facts: stink bugs are a problem in the mid-Atlantic region and elsewhere in the U.S. Their stay was preceded by 90+ degree weather, causing about ten to hide out in the front door. Upon entering, they flew in and landed in various rooms throughout the cabin. (We have professionally treated the cabin for all bugs, including stink bugs, with the latest repellent available to exterminators.) They verbally assailed me on the phone, attacking us for miss (sic) leading people as to "insects, or bugs" being present at the cabin. She demanded all of her money back, but said that they would be staying one night! I said that I'd have to have our caretaker come up to assess the situation before considering any refund (in booking she agreed to the strict refund policy in effect for all guests). When I later told her I did not think a refund was appropriate, it was then that she attacked the cabin itself: our cabin is well appointed, professionally cleaned, upgraded on an on-going basis, and her attacks were designed to coerce us into letting them stay without paying, for FREE, with the veiled threat that we "should do the 'right' thing." The "right thing" is to not fabricate stories. We do not recommend renting to these people because of this experience.
business
VIRGINIA MOUNTAIN CHALET near Skyline Drive, Massanutten Resort, Luray
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3502659
+1 (301) 293-4192
Elkton Shenandoah Valley
5

WONDERFUL PLACE TO GET AWAY FROM IT ALL AND RELAX

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at the Shenandoah Chalet and had a lovely time. The cabin is very well maintained and very clean. The loft bed is very firm if you like a hard bed. The bed in the main floor bedroom is softer, but still very comfy. The kitchen was fully stocked. Ice was made in the freezer, a full jug of water was in the fridge, and they had even supplied coffee! This was more than we had expected and was a very pleasant surprise. In all, the Shenandoah Chalet is a wonderful place to get away from it all and relax. We recommend it to everyone who wants to unplug from the rat race and spend a few quiet days in the mountains.
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just to be clear "The kitchen was fully stocked."

They are referring to we provide dishes, utensils, place settings, pot and pans, paper towels, trash bags. You need to provide your own food.
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
47 Miles
Charlottesville
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Route 33
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Elkton
Nearest Ski
17 Miles
Massanutten Resort
Nearest Golf
17 Miles
Massanutten Resort
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Mama Mia Italian Restaurant
Car: necessary

The Shenandoah Chalet is centrally located near Shenandoah National Park/Skyline Drive, Massanutten Ski Resort and Waterpark, Luray Virginia.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Elkton Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$97
From
$127
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Check in: 5 p.m.
Check out: 1 p.m.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Elkton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Mountain ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Microwave ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Fresh clean towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Fresh clean linens provided
    Loft bedroom - 1 queen , Fresh clean linens provided. Open to great room.
  • Alarm clock CD/radio provided
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
We've furnished the chalet with one goal in mind: to provide you with everything you need to have an enjoyable, stress-free stay. You provide your food and we'll take care of everything else. Shenandoah Chalet has a new robotic massage chair that melts away stress, muscle soreness, and tension with three invigorating 15-minute auto massage programs and four professional massage techniques that include rolling, kneading, compression, and percussion.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$180 - $248 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$345 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,895 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12