Mark and Susan Gorny

Speaks english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Mark and Susan Gorny

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WHITE MOUNTAIN GETAWAY

Campton House Rental Photos and Description

Our spacious, all season home is nestled in the heart of the White Mountains, located on a private road only 5 minutes from the highway. It is a perfect vacation spot with all the comforts of home for 1 or 2 families to enjoy. The house has an open floor plan with 4 bedrooms, 2 full baths, a fully equipped kitchen, and washer/dryer. There is a large deck where you can relax in the surrounding beauty of the forest or sit by the fireplace ( all wood included). Our home has 2 TV's both with DVD's, plenty of games and videos for the kids. If you prefer the outdoors, you can take advantage of the many outdoor activities that are available,including hiking, biking, ice skating, or horseback riding ( 2 stables only 5 minutes away). Another great activity is sledding or tubing, right outside our front door. Only 10 minutes away is Waterville Valley Resort which is a family friendly mountain with a nationally acclaimed ski school yet offers some of the most challenging terrain in the area. You can also choose from ice skating, snow tubing, and the largest cross country trail system in New England. Or, you can experience a winter wonderland in a horse drawn sleigh ride through the woods. Loon Mountain is another large ski area only 15 minutes north on Route 93. The summer months offer a host of numerous activities and attractions within a one hour drive from our vacation home. The Owl's Nest is a 5 minute drive and was voted one of the top ten golf courses by Golf Magazine. The kids will delight in a trip to Storyland, Santa's Village, Attitash Water Slide, Whale's Tail water park, the Polar Caves or Clark's Trading Post. A roller blading park is located in the Valley. Summer days can also be spent at one of the many swimming holes located on the Mad River 1/2 mile away or one of the many nearby lakes.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Mark and Susan Gorny (Owner)
Advertiser since 2013
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
White Mountain Getaway
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
business
White Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3498887
Campton Waterville Valley Area
5

WHAT CAN I SAY, FIVE STARS!!!

  • 5 of 5
Our vacation was a last minute decision for the eight of us and if not for the quick response and total helpfulness of the owner Susan it may not of happen. Susan was so helpful she stayed in constant contact with me to make sure everything went well and that we had no problems. Susans house was just as she described. It was very clean, comfortable and accomodating for all eight of us. We had an excellent time and we will definitely be coming back again!! Thanks again Susan for everythinh :)
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
White Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3498887
Campton Waterville Valley Area
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
We enjoyed our two-week stay in this home that was convenient to all the places we wanted to go. Our family of five had plenty of room to spread out. We had plenty of room for our clothes in dressers and closets. The deck was nice to relax on after a day of hiking, tubing or swimming. The kitchen had everything we needed. We loved being so close to the dam; we took our three boys there several times during our stay to play in the water and climb the rocks just beyond the bridge. If you stay here, you MUST get ice cream from The Bear's Den, it's the best! There are so many good restaurants and fun things to do close by. The owners were more helpful than any others we've dealt with in the past in the area (we go to NH every year). We would love to come back next year!
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
White Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3498887
Campton Waterville Valley Area
3

Overall, just an Ok place....

  • 3 of 5
We felt like we were visiting someone rather than renting a home for our vacation. Why? Because there were hand washed dishes left in the drain board, the refrigerator and cabinets had open/unopened food in it, the dresser drawers had clothes in them (at least one drawer was empty in each), toiletries were left in the bathroom/shower (but not enough toilet paper)...we learned by day 3 that one of the bedrooms had no electricity and the hot water tank was not working so we had no more hot water. The owners were very pleasant and helpful - thank goodness! They did send someone over to fix the problems. Oh, and there was a mouse in the house.
Although they offer wifi, only 1 out of 4 of us could access it (maybe due to different network providers??) Making phone calls was extremely difficult - and their house phone didn't work either.
This house allowed us to enjoy NH (we love NH!) - we will go back to NH again next year, but just not here.
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
White Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3498887
Campton Waterville Valley Area
1

Somewhat run-down, you get what you pay for

  • 1 of 5
I actually thought this would be a good experience from the other reviews but after dealing with this place and the owner it gave me a bad impression altogether. First of all the pictures shown of the river are from over a mile away so don't expect that to be close by. As soon as we arrived we noticed that the back door was broken and almost impossible to open. The beds also proved to extremely uncomfortable and the sheets smell so you should definitely bring your own. We then discovered that the dishwasher was broken after packing a load in there and having to unpack and hand-wash everything. We dealt with the obvious downfalls of the property with a grin-and-bear-it attitude but the worst insult was that the owner informed us she would be keeping our security deposit citing that the place required "excess cleaning". I can't stress enough how much we made sure the place was cleaner than when we arrived but upon asking the owner what exactly that meant I received no response. Buyer beware!!!
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I think this review must be for another property. First of all, the river is at the bottom of our road.
Secondly, we do not provide any sheets or towels. The dishwasher was not broken. It's too bad that the renters did not know how to operate one. The back door is perfectly fine. "Cleaner than when we arrived" ??? I did explain to Jason about the mess that he left. My cleaning lady who takes care of my property called me to report the extra time it took her to mop up, etc. I regret not charging a higher security deposit.
All I can say is, prospective home owners beware of renting to this group.
business
White Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3498887
Campton Waterville Valley Area
5

Clean, convenient, and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5
Before coming to the cabin, the owners were very easy to communicate with and sent excellent instructions on how to "set-up" the place, directions to local stores and restaurants, and clear expectations. It was reassuring to know that the place was cared about so extensively, as a cabin that sleeps 10 could very well be well worn from a growing family over the years. However, when we arrived everything was in wonderful condition, the cabin was nicely decorated, and the kitchen was stocked with great quality pots/pans and other amenities.

During the day we did a bit of yoga and reading on the front porch while listening to music coming through the windows from the sound system in the living room. There was a small, very reasonably priced grocery store just a short distance away that had a large meat and produce section, along with beer, wine, and many prepared foods, which was unexpected given the location. At night, we watched a movie in front of the fire place when it got chilly and played a few of the excellent board games which were there. As the place does not have internet, and cell service was patchy (both vacation advantages in my mind), the numerous brochures and binder of information on local attractions allowed us to find a last-minute day hike.

Even though this cabin does not have a lakefront like many in the region, it ended up being a great choice for a quiet and comfortable stay, and I'd be glad to come back with a group of friends as it was a bit large for just two.
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
White Mountain Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3498887
Campton Waterville Valley Area
Merrimack, NH
5

Nice area - great price!

  • 5 of 5
Clean, had everything and more we needed. Plenty of room in bedrooms and open living area. Loved the fireplace, plenty of dry wood provided. Owners were great to deal with via phone and email. They quickly responded to both on questions, concerns, and etc. I would recommend this property to friends and relatives.
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: sounds great to me
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: necessary

Our spacious, all season home is nestled in the heart of the White Mountains, located on a private road only 5 minutes from the highway. It is a perfect vacation spot with all the comforts of home for 1 or 2 families to enjoy. The house has an open floor plan with 4 bedrooms, 2 full baths, a fully equipped kitchen, and washer/dryer. There is a large deck where you can relax in the surrounding beauty of the forest or sit by the fireplace ( all wood included). Our home has 2 TV's both with DVD's, plenty of games and videos for the kids. If you prefer the outdoors, you can take advantage of the many outdoor activities that are available,including hiking, biking, ice skating, or horseback riding ( 2 stables only 5 minutes away). Another great activity is sledding or tubing, right outside our front door. Only 10 minutes away is Waterville Valley Resort which is a family friendly mountain with a nationally acclaimed ski school yet offers some of the most challenging terrain in the area. You can also choose from ice skating, snow tubing, and the largest cross country trail system in New England. Or, you can take a horse drawn sleigh ride through the woods. Loon Mountain is only 15 minutes north on Route 93. The summer months offer a host of numerous activities and attractions within a one hour drive from our vacation home. The Owl's Nest is a 5 minute drive and was voted one of the top ten golf courses by Golf Magazine. The kids will delight in a trip to Storyland, Santa's Village, Attitash Water Slide, Whale's Tail water park, the Polar Caves or Clark's Trading Post. A roller blading park is located in the Valley. Summer days can also be spent at one of the many swimming holes located on the Mad River 1/2 mile away or one of the many nearby lakes.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Campton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
fall
Sep 4 2014 - Oct 2 2014
2 night minimum stay
$120
From
$120
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
late fall
Oct 3 2014 - Nov 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
 
 
winter
Dec 1 2014 - Mar 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
 
spring
Apr 1 2015 - May 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$120
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$120
Thu,Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Notes Deposit of $150 to hold accommodations which is fully refundable after owner looks at property
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Campton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , a TV and DVD player in the bunk room for the kids to enjoy
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Linens not provided
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote