Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

WALK TO SLOPES AND BEAUTIFUL SUNSET MOUNTAIN VIEWS

Jennifer Halston

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Jennifer Halston

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
December 21, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WALK TO SLOPES AND BEAUTIFUL SUNSET MOUNTAIN VIEWS

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Wintergreen House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms /2 Bathrooms - Sleeps 11

Our beautiful mountain house has breathtaking sunset views and offers a short walk to the slopes and lodge of Wintergreen. You can also take the free Wintergreen shuttle which stops just steps from our driveway. On the main level, stay warm and cozy in the large dining area with a wood burning stove where you can enjoy breakfast at the kitchenette overlooking the valley (seats 4) and dinner at the spacious dining table (seats 10). The dining room flows into the newly renovated kitchen complete with stainless steel appliances and granite counter-tops. It is well furnished to prepare a gourmet meal for your family or make a drink and head into the spacious living room which has a gas fireplace and lots of entertainment for the adults and kids. Kick back, put your feet up and relax with cable TV, wireless internet, dozens of DVDs, an XBOX 360 with games, and surround sound speakers wired through out the home (both indoors and out on the large deck). The first floor also features a master suite with a private bathroom and walk out deck.

Upstairs features a second master bedroom making this the perfect house for two families with children or just an intimate getaway. The third bedroom features two sets of bunk beds (sleeps 4) and the fourth bedroom has two single beds and a pull out single (sleeps 3). All bedrooms are tastefully decorated, have cable TV, tons of books, and a view you won't soon forget, as you sit perched high above the valley below.

If your not quite ready to sit down and relax just yet, then you are just a short walk to the Mountain Inn, slopes and several restaurants. There are also marked access trails near the house for great mountain hiking during all seasons. It is also just a short drive to the spa, golf and tennis courts. While staying at our Tree house, don't forget to visit some of Virginia's best wineries, breweries and cideries which are located just off route 151. We have maps available in case you want to spend the day touring. If you are looking for a winter ski rental for your family or just an intimate getaway, our quiet, beautifully decorated mountain house, nestled high in the tree tops is just the place for your perfect getaway.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jennifer Halston (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
December 21, 2014

Why Jennifer Halston chose Wintergreen

We bought this house because of the beauty it has inside and out. From the sunset views overlooking the valley, to the tastefully designed interior decor, it is the ideal vacation home for our single, and sometimes extended family getaways. We want you to experience the same unforgettable vacations we do at the Tree house, because when you take the time off of work to relax, everything should be just perfect! Our goal is to make you feel at home by providing a welcoming, clean and fun family atmosphere. From the moment you walk in and are greeted with a welcome basket of coffee, wine, and hot cocoa, until the time you depart, relaxation and fun accompany you every step of the way.

What makes this house unique

Besides skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, fishing, golfing, hiking, and biking you can explore downtown Charlottesville, VA. We spend time at the MANY local wineries and breweries in the area and one of our favorite newest additions is the Bold Rock cidery at the base of Wintergreen mountain. There are many great restaurants, antique shops, and sites to see!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Walk to Slopes and Beautiful Sunset Mountain Views
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
business
Walk to Slopes and Beautiful Sunset Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492285
-+1 5712448710
Wintergreen Central Virginia
3

Great house in ideal location, poor service

  • 3 of 5
This is a beautiful house that sits under a mile from the ski lodge. It is tastefully done and in great condition; the layout is ideal for a group or two families. There is lots of entertainment provided including movies and video games, along with a stocked kitchen, open common area and a large deck.

Our main complaint was the interaction with the owners. Upon arrival, we were unable to access the key due to an issue with the lock box. The owners called a local to assist who was also unable to open the lock box but fortunately had a spare key. However, we were never provided a key and therefore were forced to leave the house unlocked the entirety of our stay. The owners never attempted to provide us a key nor did they apologize for the inconvenience.

We were also chastised by the owners for having 10 occupants as opposed to our original number of 6. Considering the house is advertised to hold 11, we did not think it was an issue to have 4 additional occupants. The owners also did not refund the entirety of our security deposit because the cleaning crew had to wash all of the linens. In a "he said, she said" dispute, the cleaners claimed the house was not left in a "neat and tidy state." However, we were careful to follow the check list before departing and aside from scrubbing down the kitchen to remove all remnants of bacon grease, we left the house in great condition.

All in all, the customer service was very poor, but the house itself is a lovely rental that would be great for large groups if the renters would allow it.
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you did not receive a key; the maintenance person that assisted you informed us he was making a key and would get it to you the very next morning. We did not know you never received a key until after your stay and would have actively worked to ensure you got one if we had known. We have since resolved the lock box issue. We quote prices for rentals based on occupancy numbers. If your quote request states 6 adults, we quote a cleaning fee for 6 adults. If you had originally stated 10 adults, we would have quoted you a higher rate. We withheld 15.00 from your deposit because our cleaning fee was higher based on your misrepresented numbers. This is the first time in two years of renting the house I have't returned a full deposit. I am truly sorry your stay was not as perfect as you had hoped but I thank you for the kind words on the house and location.
business
Walk to Slopes and Beautiful Sunset Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492285
-+1 5712448710
Wintergreen Central Virginia
5

Very Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
This house is much nicer than the pictures show. It is wonderfully located near the village with easy access in and out of the resort area. Our 2 year old was enthralled by the toys and claw foot tub. The welcome wine was perfect for relaxing on the deck. We did need to call about a minor issue and received a prompt, friendly response. We definitely recommend this property.
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Walk to Slopes and Beautiful Sunset Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492285
-+1 5712448710
Wintergreen Central Virginia
5

Perfect place for kids, cooks, and families!

  • 5 of 5
The Tree House was the perfect place for our weekend getaway in Wintergreen. We had a thoughtful give basket upon arrival, the place was clean and neat, the kitchen is very well stocked for cooking, and there were enough games (board and Xbox) to keep the kids entertained for the entire weekend. We went on what happened to be Wintergreen's busiest weekend and parking at the mountain was a bear. Luckily the Tree House is within walking distance to the slopes so we dropped kids, women, and gear at the lodge and the guys parked back at the house and walked down in no time. I would highly recommend the Tree House to anyone looking for a great family home for a fun Wintergreen stay!
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Walk to Slopes and Beautiful Sunset Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492285
-+1 5712448710
Wintergreen Central Virginia
5

Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
Perfect spot for our weekend getaway. The house was nicely decorated and had plenty of space for two families. The owner was helpful with tips regarding the shuttle service on the mountain and nearby restaurant suggestions. The plunge snow tubing park was a big hit for all of us! We definitely want to come back. I would recommend this place to family and friends. Thanks for everything Jen!
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Walk to Slopes and Beautiful Sunset Mountain Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3492285
-+1 5712448710
Wintergreen Central Virginia
Spotsylvania, VA
5

Home Sweeeet Home!

  • 5 of 5
The Tree House was all that it claims to be and more!
A welcome basket filled with goodies was a big hit and our first clue this was going to be a great weekend!
The decor was bright, comfortable and cozy throughout, and the house was roomy enough for all eleven of us not to be tripping over one another. The large table with bench seats in the dining area was perfect for both meals and game playing. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils, pots and pans, dishes and had plenty of cabinet space for our food items.
Books, games, 5 televisions, and even an Xbox kept the kids entertained while the adults listened to music playing both inside and out, enjoying the view on the expansive deck.
The three girls loved the claw foot tub and insisted on taking baths together every night before going to the "top of the tree house" room with the bunk beds. All of the bedrooms were clean, brightly decorated, had very comfortable mattresses and plenty of extra linens.
Hiking trails, waterfalls, wineries, swimming, 4th of July festivities at Wintergreen was enjoyed by all.
The property owner was very accessable for questions and accomodating. I have recommended this property to friends and relatives.
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Charlottesville, Va
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Devil's Grill on Wintergreen Resort
Nearest Golf
0.8 Miles
Devil's Knob Golf Course
Nearest Train
31 Miles
Charlottesville Passenger Station
Nearest Motorway
19 Miles
I-64
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
The Edge on Wintergreen Resort
Nearest Ski
0.3 Miles
Wintergreen Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Lake Monocan
Car: necessary

We bought this house because of the beauty it has inside and out. From the sunset views overlooking the valley, to the tastefully designed interior decor, it is the ideal vacation home for our single, and sometimes extended family getaways. We want you to experience the same unforgettable vacations we do at the Tree house, because when you take the time off of work to relax, everything should be just perfect! Our goal is to make you a repeat customer by providing a welcoming, clean and fun family atmosphere. From the moment you walk in and are greeted with a welcome basket of coffee, wine, and hot cocoa, until the time you depart, relaxation and fun accompany you every step of the way.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $200 Per night

Wintergreen House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Dec 6 2014 - Apr 5 2015
2 night minimum stay
$325
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,700
 
 
Spring/Sunner
Apr 6 2015 - Sep 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $140
Tax Rate 4.0%
Notes We want to rent the house, so all REASONABLE offers will be considered (but lowballing won't work)
Spring .. $200/wk night..$225/weekend night.($1000 weekly rate)
Summer .. $200/wk night..$225/weekend night.($1000 weekly rate)
Fall .... $225/wk night.. $250/weekend night.($1050 weekly rate)
Winter (2013/2014) .. $325/wk night ..$350/weekend night (1700 weekly)
Holiday rates higher/3 night min

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Wintergreen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
  • River
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Town
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Portable Crib
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote