EXCLUSIVE OCEANCLIFF LUXURY BEACH HOUSE W/ POOL & SPA OVERLOOKING BEACH

Iliahi

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

EXCLUSIVE OCEANCLIFF LUXURY BEACH HOUSE W/ POOL & SPA OVERLOOKING BEACH

Kehena House Rental Photos and Description

Oceanfront Romantic Beach House ..with Pool and Spa!

Aloha from Kehena Beach House!

Precariously perched high on a lush tropical sea cliff amid a mature coconut forest at the ocean's absolute edge stands this extremely private and totally remodeled electrically gated, secure romantic escape for two which was designed with purely indulgent luxury in mind in every gorgeous detail.

The unobstructed panoramic views of Kehena Black sand beach and bay that one can enjoy from the living room, bedroom, kitchen, and both of the covered and uncovered open air oceanfront lanais (decks) coupled with the Tommy Bahama style high end designer furnishings and the 100% Turkish travertine tiled floors that extends to the dramatic upper level lanai with glass railing is guaranteed to leave you in awe.

The privileged guests of Kehena Beach House will be treated to the only private residence in this quaint coastal beach community that has no immediate neighbor on either side and has the only in ground oceanfront pool/spa.

The beach house overlooks the beach to the left and it overlooks the coconut forest and the agricultural half acre parcel that adjoins the beach house to the right. The agricultural parcel is maintained by the developer to grow pineapple, sweet Hawaiian apple bananas, citrus, fragrant flowers and various species of native plants. It is not occupied or accessible, but it incorporates the 6 foot high lava rock walls that encircle the entire compound of which you are the only guests.

Upon your arrival , you will notice that the oceanfront block is secured with 6 foot lava rock walls adorned with a series of elaborate artistic copper gates and matching light fixtures. All were custom designed by famed Honolulu based french sculptor Frederic Zimmer. The entry pillars of the series of gates will be automatically illuminated throughout each evening for your convenience and security. For your added peace of mind, the property is secured with 'panic buttons' and smoke detectors that are monitored 24 hours a day by alert alarm of Hawaii. 4 motion sensor lights will provide ample lighting along the street side of the the beach house as well as on the meticulously maintained professionally landscaped yard with a sprawling lawn that greets you with a large variety of colorful and flowering pleasantly scented tropical fauna as well as a cozy hammock that hangs beneath a pair of coconut trees. A spectacular young banyan tree, for which the island is well known, is a central fixture to the front yard. A private garden of exotic fruit trees and over twenty different varieties of flowering heliconia is situated across the street, caticornered to the beach house. Many of the cut flowers found inside of the beach house are, in fact, grown on site.

There is a large open air deck at the front door where you can enjoy the view of both the magnificent gardens and the rocky blue pacific ocean from the comfortable Thomasville crafted glass top outdoor table with cushioned seating for up to four.

The one thousand square foot beach house features a tropical themed bedroom with a California king bed and a den that views both the pool and the ocean on the lower level. Both rooms access the covered oceanfront lower level lanai through sliding glass doors and directly view the ever-changing seascape of the blue pacific ocean. The bathroom is wrapped in Turkish travertine tile with a glass block shower with a massage feature. The toilet seat is heated and has a built in wash let with both washer and dryer apparatus. A washer and dryer is located adjacent to the bedroom.

Upstairs you will encounter a great room concept with a fully equipped kitchen with all modern stainless steel appliances (refrigerator with ice maker, oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher, disposal), solid granite counter tops. An over sized bistro table capable of seating up to four abuts the kitchen. The living room has 2 large sofas with an ottoman and a large flat screen wall mounted TV with DVD player that can also be viewed from the dining area. Dish network provides access to over 250 channels. WiFi is provided at no extra charge. A private phone line with free unlimited calls to anywhere in the 50 united states is provided. The upper level has designer ceiling fans and a series of sliding glass doors that permit the cooling trade winds to offer excellent cross ventilation.

The two oceanfront decks provide dramatic direct viewing of the roaring pacific ocean which is literally crashing below your feet against the 50 foot rocky sea cliffs. It is also an excellent place to sunbathe in the buff. There is no disturbance of noisy neighbors or traffic on this cul de sac which is Kehena beach estate's most exclusive enclave of private gated absolute oceanfront residences.

The custom in ground oceanfront pool that abuts the beach house can either be accessed directly from the covered oceanfront lower level deck, or from the lava rock style stepping stones that one encounters in the front yard gardens that lead to a gated 6 foot lava rock wall. The lava rock style concrete pool is a work of art unto itself. It is situated within an exotic tropical garden where a variety of fragrant flowering tropical plants such as gardenia, Queen Emma's lily, Tonga taboo and the ever popular Hawaiian Puakenekene flourish. The pool has a keyed entry via an electrically operated canvas cover that promotes the efficiency of the solar powered heated water to the pool when it is not in use. The pool features a Fastlane device by endless pools which provides one with the option to swim in place at one's desired pace at the touch of a button. Additionally, there is an underwater light for night time use of the pool and a poolside switch to turn on the soothing jets. The pool is so private that one can skinny dip in complete privacy and concurrently enjoy the view at the ocean's edge.

It is hoped by the developer of Kehena Beach House that you have been provided with a helpful and accurate portrayal of what precisely you might encounter if you elect to visit here at this splendid one of a kind honeymooner's delight. We look forward to assisting you in enjoying a most memorable , relaxing, yet adventurous visit to one of the world's most intriguing and scenic land and sea scapes and are confident of your return patronage and referral to your friends, family, acquaintances and colleagues.

Mahalo nui loa (many thanks),

http://www.kehenabeach.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the manager
An unbelievable view and a very luxurious house where we could relax and unwind. The grounds and tropical gardens are beautiful. My wife and I absolutely love this place. Sitting on the deck and looking out at the ocean, seeing Spinner dolphins playing in the bay, was an amazing experience. The nearby lava fields and flows were spectacular. Love the black sand beach. We were very well taken care of, and everything about our stay was delightful. Can't wait to come back.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 2

Iliahi

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We manage this beautiful cliff house for our good friend and neighbor of many years.

Iliahi purchased this house in 2000

The owner bought and completely remodeled the Beach House from the ground up and chose it for it for it's unobstructed panoramic views of Kehena Black sand beach and bay.

Located on the Puna Coast with its lush beauty and closeness to the ocean.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Exclusive Oceancliff Luxury Beach House w/ Pool & Spa Overlooking Beach
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Exclusive Oceancliff Luxury Beach House w/ Pool & Spa Overlooking Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3482017
+1 808-965-2366
Kehena Puna District
3

Beach House both a hit and a miss

  • 3 of 5
Five stars for the wonderful view, the house, the pool, and the remote setting. All of that was as advertised. It's a truly beautiful location and we chose it with care as we wanted a truly idyllic setting for our our 30th wedding anniversary.

Now, on to the not so wonderful aspect of our stay... No stars for the fact that we had some type of maintenance (yard work on Saturday and maintenance on the house itself on Tues, Wed, Thurs) going on while we stayed there. We were informed on the night of our arrival that this would be happening with a "sorry, can't be helped" disclaimer. That just can't be overlooked as maintenance needs to be done on the property owner's time, not ours, and especially not at this price. We paid for privacy and peace and quiet and certainly didn't get it. If we had wanted that kind of vacation, we could have stayed in a hotel on a major highway and listened to traffic noise instead. The hammering on Thursday had us packing up and leaving a day early.

Once the maintenance is completed (and hopefully it won't still be going on during YOUR time here), I'm sure anyone who stays here will get what is advertised and what they paid for plus a beautiful new patio and deck. Unfortunately, we drew the short straw.

We took the volcano/waterfalls helicopter tour out of Hilo and it was fantastic. We recommend taking the extreme (doors off) tour as that's the absolute best way to see everything. Don't miss out on Kilauea at night in the national park! The Lava Rock Cafe in Volcano Village was good. Ken's House of Pancakes in Hilo was a big hit and they are open 24/7. Also get on over to Tex's Drive-In in Honokaa for their world famous malasadas. Akaka Falls is a very easy hike and the botanical garden in Onomea is also a fairly easy hike and quite beautiful, but take some water with you as it gets hot and humid in the "jungle"!
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for the review, we had an emergency repair on the deck that had to be done for the safety of our Guest and could not helped. Our Maintenance workers only worked 3 times during your stay and only for 4 hours during mid the day. The Sat. work was at 10:00 am was our yard worker that is scheduled every week. We never heard any complaints from you during your time here and we called you and each time when the trades came and you never aid anything then, We do apologize and hope your next stay with is will be better. Mahalo again.

Your host Tim and Ili
business
Exclusive Oceancliff Luxury Beach House w/ Pool & Spa Overlooking Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3482017
+1 808-965-2366
Kehena Puna District
Trussville
5

Simply Paradise.

  • 5 of 5
The home was more than we could have imagined. For 2 people in desperate need of peace and relaxation this was the perfect spot on the Big Island. Perfect to get up and watch the sunrise with a cup of coffee out on the deck. Close for a day trip to Volcanoes National Park or a drive into Pahoa for dinner. Evening dips in the pool has us spoiled, Having the waves lull us to sleep was the perfect ending to the day. Wish we could have spent more time.
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Nui Loa! We are so happy you enjoyed our stay with us!
We hope you guys come back soon in winter months and see the Humpback whales:)

With aloha,
Tim and Ili
business
Exclusive Oceancliff Luxury Beach House w/ Pool & Spa Overlooking Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3482017
+1 808-965-2366
Kehena Puna District
5

Stunning views; let the ocean sing you to sleep!

  • 5 of 5
This house is amazing. It's exactly what it looks like in the pictures. It has stunning views and a fun layout, along with beautiful interior finishes, furniture and accessories. The pool is warm, like a huge bathtub, and is just big enough to swim around in comfortably. The waves crash into the rocks below and you can sleep with the sliding door open, such that the ocean puts you to sleep. That's all you can hear from outside; we never saw or heard any neighbors in the evening.

As you can see from the map, there's not too much nearby — this house is perfect for a getaway with a focus on R&R. Pahoa is about 15 minutes away and has surprisingly great restaurants, but it's far enough such that you don't want to go there all the time. The Wednesday evening market in Kalapana is very close and is a huge draw for folks in the area. Otherwise, there's not much going on near the house. Kehena beach is popular but was never crowded.

We were slightly worried about the weather on this side of the island — but it was great. It stayed hot enough to be comfortable in a T-shirt and shorts at all times, and we only had some light drizzle during the day a couple times. It commonly rained at night.

Tips:
- Bring or purchase snorkel gear and reef shoes; they're available at Target/Walmart or the local market. You'll need them at the beach next door and for nearby snorkeling spots.
- Buy lots of food. The house has great cookware and is well-equipped for cooking and grilling.
- There is no cell service (at least for Verizon or AT&T), but the wifi is solid.
- The pool is not a hot tub, but it's warm and you can make it warmer with a heater.
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Nui Loa Taylor for your amazing and wonderful review!

We love Hosting you two and having you both for your Honeymoon! We hope to see you both again for your Anniversary!

With all our Aloha,
Tim and Iliahi
business
Exclusive Oceancliff Luxury Beach House w/ Pool & Spa Overlooking Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3482017
+1 808-965-2366
Kehena Puna District
5

nice

  • 5 of 5
Loved it - can't express how much. I would defiately stay here again or recommend it to someone I know. However for those wishing to dine out it is a little isolated. But myself that is one of the things I enjoyed.

The managers were very friendly and helpful the few times we needed to contact them.

A few small suggestions - a brush to clean the BBQ would have been handy. A second (smaller) TV in the bedroom or den considering the main one died (luckily on the last nite). A map to find the property as the first time we got a little lost and I wouldn't want to try and find it at nite for the first time. The info book in the kitchen could use updating (ie ?propane when the bbq is now electric, the massage person doesn't do on site visits anymore).

But these were nothing compared to the positives to numerous to mention.

Grounds were spectacular. Pool was fantastic.
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review and feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Beach House. There are 5-6 restaurants just 15 minutes away in Pahoa and there is another location at Kalani which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week and they are only about 5 minutes away by car.

All of the BBQ utensils including the wire brush was in a drawer upstairs in the kitchen, we wished you would have mentioned this to us so we could have helped you locate it. The beach house already provides a 47” TV with satellite and 150+ channels, we apologize for not being able to replace it as it was already 8:30pm and the nearest location to get a replacement TV is in Hilo over an hour away and that the stores would have been closed by that time. We replaced the TV the next morning.

The property can be found on GPS, Google, MapQuest and also detailed directions on our website. We also gave verbal directions when you called from Pahoa (15 min. away).

The books are being updated. Mahalo Nui Loa and we hope to have you back again.

Tim & Ili
business
Exclusive Oceancliff Luxury Beach House w/ Pool & Spa Overlooking Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3482017
+1 808-965-2366
Kehena Puna District
University Place
5

Rates 5 only because there is not a 10

  • 5 of 5
The beach house at Kehena is amazing. If you are looking to get away with that special someone and have complete privacy, this is the place for you. My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here and would return tomorrow if we could. The setting is amazing, we watched whales from the deck and beautiful sunrises from our bed in the master bedroom. We both grew up in Florida and have seen beautiful beaches, but the Kehena black sand beach rates at the top of our list. The house itself is immaculate and the pictures on the website are just a preview of the real thing. Iliahi is a great host and made sure we had everything we needed for our time there.

If you are looking to "get off the grid" this is the place for you.
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and mahalo for spending your special anniversary with us! We cannot wait to have you both back again soon, please keep in touch:)

with all our aloha,
Tim and Iliahi
business
Exclusive Oceancliff Luxury Beach House w/ Pool & Spa Overlooking Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3482017
+1 808-965-2366
Kehena Puna District
5

Amazing views with total privacy

  • 5 of 5
The Beach House was as advertised - breathtaking views of the ocean and shoreline combined with a marvelous house and total privacy. We were told the weather could be dicey but our 3 days were perfect Hawaiian weather. The Red Road (Hwy 137) was picturesque and had plenty of vistas to stop and enjoy the unbelievable scenery. Be sure to head into P?hoa and enjoy the great variety of dining options Kaleo's and Paulo's Bistro for dinner were excellent and Pele's Kitchen served a good breakfast. The town had a good grocery store for provisions and was easy to get there.

We would love to return and hopefully we will someday.
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Mahalo for the wonderful and review!. It was and honor to have you both stay with us and hope to have you back again:)
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Kilauea Volcano
Kehena Beach
Ahalanui Hot Pond
Kapoho Tide Pools
Lava Tube Cave
Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Hilo International
Nearest Motorway
0.05 Miles
Hwy 137
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Kehena Beach
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Uncle Robert's
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Hilo Municipal
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Kalapana Village Cafe
Car: necessary

Absolute Oceanfront 300 ft from Kehena Black Sand Beach, 2 Miles to Kilauea Lava Volcano,Viewing, South Of Hilo, minutes from Ahalanui Warm Ponds and Kapoho Tide Pools.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kehena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Clean Fee $175
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 13.75%
Notes Maximum Guest 2

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Kehena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet , outdoor shower
  • The bathroom is wrapped in Turkish travertine tile with a glass block shower with a massage feature. The toilet seat is heated and has a built in washlet with both washer and dryer apparatus. A washer and dryer is located adjacent to the bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Beach House features a tropical themed bedroom with a California King bed and a den that views both the pool and the ocean on the lower level. Both rooms access the covered oceanfront lower level lanai through sliding glass doors and directly view the ever-changing seascape of the blue Pacific Ocean.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Oceanfront, Tropical gardens, Hammock, Endless Pool, Loungers, Table and Chairs and Outdoor Shower.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Email Manager Contact Me