JAY PEAK SKI HOUSE MINS TO THE MOUNTAIN IN QUAINT VERMONT VILLAGE

Chris

Speaks english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Chris

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

JAY PEAK SKI HOUSE MINS TO THE MOUNTAIN IN QUAINT VERMONT VILLAGE

Jay Peak Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

3 bed sleeps 10, walking distance to stores & restaurants, has wifi, wood stove

Comfy red-roofed 2-story colonial set on the Trout River in the middle of a quintessential Vermont village. The house sleeps 8-10 with room for a few more dinner guests. It’s simply decorated, quiet and comfortable. There’s a full kitchen with dishwasher, pots, pans, spices and everything you’ll need, a wood stove in the living room, sectional sofa that seats 10. For entertainment there’s high-speed wifi, cable TV, 46” LCD Flat screen, Nintendo Wii, a fax/scanner/printer, and stereo system with Ipod plug.

The best thing about this place is the location smack dab in center of Montgomery Center,.This is the only option while visiting Jay Peak where you can walk out your door (day or night) and have a supermarket, liquor store, 3 restaurants, 2 bars, a post office, ski & bike shop, video rental store, pizza shop and gas station. It’s an 8 mile, 15 minute straight shot to the ski lifts in the morning. It’s an extremely convenient, fun location and a great, comfortable home.

Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Chris (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Speaks english

About Chris

Boston area real estate agent

Chris purchased this farmhouse in 2005

Why Chris chose Jay Peak

I chose this property because I wanted a ski house mins from Jay Peak that was also walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and fun in Montgomery Center.

What makes this farmhouse unique

Stumbling distance from the Snowshoe lodge and Pub (Located just across the river)

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.1
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
4

Great Ski House!

  • 4 of 5
This house is your quintessential ski house that can sleep 9 or so people comfortably. After a long day on the slopes, you can come back and cook up a nice meal in the fully equipped large kitchen, play a few games, watch a movie or surf the internet. When your group is ready, walk a few steps to the Snowshoe lodge next door for a few beers with no need to get into a car. The grocery store is also a few steps away. Very convenient, and truthfully, one of the best reasons we chose to rent here for a long weekend. Not having to get into the car after getting back from the slopes. One bathroom is a bit of a bottleneck with large groups, but we hardly had a problem taking turns. The colder bedrooms didn't bother anyone in our group either. Plenty of blankets and comforters to cuddle up to at night. We had a great stay and would stay again in the future.
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much!! Come back anytime!
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else
  • 5 of 5
House was very neat and well-organized when we arrived. A lot of open space and room to get comfortable. After about a half hour you feel as if you're in your own home. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for more than the usual hotel room experience. There really is no substitute.
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much! We really appreciate the kind words, and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to return anytime.
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5
The property is conveniently located to the village and Jay Peak access road. The home has a lot of potential for a family or small group and the owners are polite and very responsive. That is why i allow myself to give it one star.


Unfortunately, upon arrival we found the home to be dirty and inadequately maintained, delivered below minimally acceptable standards of cleanliness for a vacation home. We are a family of four (kids age 9 and 10) with basic expectations of cleanliness (not Four Seasons expectations) when we travel, whether renting a home or staying in a hotel. This home was not rental-ready. I first attributed the situation to perhaps a breakdown associated with local cleaning service. But surprisingly, the owners actually acknowledged the property's imperfect cleanliness when i complained. They didn't find it overly dirty, saying that they "don't treat the house as a primary residence, it is more of a ski house. " It really would have been nice to know this before I rented the property.

My family encountered the following:
* linens not clean
* kitchen/bathroom floors dirty, shower not scrubbed
* dirty carpeting
* furniture/window sills grimy and undusted
* refrigerator with spills/stains

In addition, there was no cable/wi-fi as advertised, and the heating system blows inefficiently with upstairs vents located only in the bathroom and hallway, not in the bedrooms. Not really ideal or comfortable for a family of four on a cold, 3-day ski weekend.

Our first nite at this property was our last. It turns out that the Ski Gods didn't cooperate anyway with freezing and pouring rain throughout the first nite and day. We enjoyed the water park ( great for kids and adults) and mountain on our first day. The mountain ended up closing on what would have been our second day, but we were already gone.

Our experience was disappointing and really was unnecessary. The owners should take the proper (basic), measures to clean the property appropriately and deliver it professionally, or be more candid about their maintenance practices with prospective renters. Some people may actually be fine with these conditions, but all should be aware.
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The weekend this renter checked in (Dec 20, 2013), a huge ice storm hit the area, and Jay Peak actually closed (google 12/20/13 weekend at jay peak). The renters asked for a refund claiming the condition of the house was not up to their standards, when in reality they were just disappointed that Mother Nature ruined their weekend. Every other review on the house is positive, but clearly you can't please everyone. In addition, if you have any problems while you are at the house, simply call us and we will get it fixed immediately. As for wi-fi and cable, they most definitely are there, and instructions are provided for anyone wishing to read them :)
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Awesome Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
The house was a blast to stay at. 5 feet of snow the week before helped out since the conditions at Jay were outstanding, but all around we could not have asked for a better time. The mountain is about a 15 minute drive away which was perfect for us. You could walk across the street to a store that had everything you needed. There was plenty of room to sleep with couches that pull out as well as plenty of bed space. Kitchen was very roomy to cook in and eat and the living room was set up perfect with the fireplace and nearly brand new TV. We would love to come back and enjoy the place again. The owner was very easy to talk to and answered any and all questions from the first email to cell phone texts about the house during the stay. A+ Service. You cannot go wrong with this place! Thanks again Chris!
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to having you again.
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
4

Not super amazing, but VERY GOOD!

  • 4 of 5
Forgot to post up a review of this, we were a group of about 10 people, was my first time looking to book a cottage in Jay and these guys did a great job at the booking. Place was clean, entertainment was there...heating in the rooms though wasnt (i guess the heated covers werent working) but once under them, warmth was found lol.
Had issues with the stove (probably fixed by now) but who cares?! They had a skillet which made for epic meal times. The balconies ensured fresh 'beverages' and more storage spaces for our ski/snowboard gear.
And they were available for us (by phone or email) to provide assistance. Would've gotten a 5 if it werent for those 2 issues aforementionned. Location is great (next to grocery store) although it is a good 10-15 minute drive to the mountain, it's definitely worth it!

I'm going back to jay this year and the place is booked throughout march so im out of luck this year but i recommend it!
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p347815
Jay Peak Northeast Kingdom
5

Great Everything!

  • 5 of 5
We had the best time while staying there for a week-end. The house is well prepared. You can't ask for anything more. 15 min drive to the mountain. Supermarket across the street. Amazing! Thanks again.
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
58 Miles
Burlington
Nearest Motorway
35 Miles
I91 or I89
Nearest Beach
34.8 Miles
Lake Willoughby
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Jay Peak
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Jay Peak
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Bernies
Car: necessary

Jay Peak is well known for its, Skiing, Snowboarding, Pump House Waterpark, Ice Haus Arena-Ice Skating, Tiaga Spa, and 18 Hole golf course. The house is located 8 miles down the road in Montgomery Center.

The house is right in the middle of the fun town some call 'Monkey Center.' Everything in town is walkable. Restaurants: Trout River Traders, Bernie’s, Snowshoe pub w/live entertainment, Fresh Betty’s pizza and subs. Sylvester’s grocery store and VT state liquor store, Firstrax ski shop, and more are all right there (2 min walk). Montgomery is a picturesque little Vermont town at the bottom of Jay Peak. Montgomery claims to be the Covered Bridge Capital of Vermont with six covered bridges and a seventh just on the town border with Enosburg Falls. The area is noted for its fall foliage, covered bridges, scenic bike routes, alpine and cross country skiing and mountain biking on old logging trails. Access to Long Trail is minutes away and the nearby Trout and Missisquoi rivers are ideal for fishing or canoeing.

There is also Snowshoeing and Cross-country skiing.

The Fall Foliage season in Vermont is one of the busiest times of the year while visitors flock from all over the world to witness the beautiful changing colors.

Montreal, Quebec is just 1.5 hour drive away.

Northeast Kingdom, golf, Ski Resort, Jay Peak Vermont, Jay Vermont, Jay Peak VT, Jay VT, Jay Peak Resort, Vacation Rentals, World, USA, Vermont, Northeast Kingdom Vacation Rentals, Jay Peak Vacation Rentals,

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Jay Peak Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$350
 
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Jay Peak Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Budget
General:
  • Firewood
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Pantry Items
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is large, simple and clean. The tub shower is finished with white subway, and shower head that may be hand held or mounted.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • The beds in the bedrooms accommodate up to 9 people, with a pull out twin futon in the living room and a few air mattresses for additional space.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Games
  • Video Library
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
Communication / Internet:
  • fax
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • mountain climbing
Email Owner Contact Me