Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Large Island-Style Family Home with Wheelchair Accessibility

Laurel Moorhead

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Laurel Moorhead

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Large Island-Style Family Home with Wheelchair Accessibility

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Princeville House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Loft, Sleeps 8

A beautiful 3 bedroom / 2 bath home with sleeping loft, situated on the North Shore of Kaua'i in the town of Princeville. 2000 square feet living space plus a 200 sq ft covered lanai. A fully outfitted home whose amenities include:

+TV/VCR/DVD and home theater system in the living room

+ Master bedroom has a king size bed and TV with DVD

+Additional bedrooms and a loft have:

1) Queen Bedroom: Queen size bed and a TV/DVD with cable.

2) Twin Bedroom: a twin bed and a full size bed.

3) Loft: A futon sleeper with a full size mattress.

* Fully stocked kitchen, newly remodeled with new appliances, including microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and blender

*All linens, towels, etc.

Additional Amenities: * All linens, including beach towels

* Washer and dryer

* Outdoor shower (hot/cold water) with privacy screen

* Toys, games, puzzles, and books for kids and adults

* Gas BBQ grill on the 200' covered lanai

* Fruit trees

* View of beautifully landscaped gardens and permanent green space from lanai and all windows

* Accessibility options including ramped entry, single level design, shower chair, wide doorways and bath tub handles

Walking Distance to Beaches, Golf, Shops: * Walk to Queen's Bath - a natural lava pool.

* Walk to Anini Beach.

* Walk to Makai Golf Course.

* Walk to Princeville town center shops.

* Walk to Hanalei Beach Park.

* Walk to Hanalei Valley Overlook.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Laurel Moorhead (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015

About Laurel Moorhead

We bought this house in 2002 after searching for two years for a house that felt like it was made for Hawaii. We finally found this house and have been very happy with it. We improve it in some way each time we come, for example during the last trip we added new fishtail palms to the garden, replaced the TV in the Queen Bedroom and hung new artwork. The house is a work in progress, it just keeps getting better. We are a family of four, with two daughters, including our older daughter who has a spinal cord injury. It was for her that we added the wheelchair ramp to the front porch, insisted on a single level floor plan and have a shower bench that can be installed when needed.

Laurel Moorhead purchased this house in 2002

Why Laurel Moorhead chose Princeville

We love Kaua'i. We have been coming regularly since 1994 and began looking for a house in 2000. We chose the North Shore because of the beauty of the area, the limited development, the easy access to beautiful beaches and hiking. We chose Princeville because of the accessibility to shopping, beaches and hikes. Grant loves to golf, Laurie walks for hours each day, Marissa loves to jump off the pier in Hanalei Bay and Sara likes to walk to the library and shoot hoops at the neighborhood basketball court.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Large Island-Style Family Home with Wheelchair Accessibility
average rating of 4.869565 based on 23 reviews
5

Yoga House

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the Yoga House. It was spacious, clean, and close to many of the North Shore's gorgeous beaches and towns. The outside shower was a pleasant bonus after multiple days of beach hopping due to sand collecting in varies articles of clothing, as well as between the toes etc. The high ceilings were reminicent of a Tahoe ski chalet with screened open windows throughout. Necessary ecoutrements included dishwasher, laundry, and coffee pot. Kitchen was apt with space, not garganteous by any means, but enogh to prepare food for 6.

Drawbacks included a tempermental wi-fi (router needs to be replaced) as well as an amazing 5.1 surround sound stereo system with auxilary jack that 3 stereo nerds could not figure out. This was quite a bummer, it was as if a beautiful Porsche was there for us in the garage sans the car keys. Petty perhaps, but music is a key ingrediant for any get away.

Hands down, we would consider coming back to this place in a heartbeat. Princeville has the amenities at hand for a home rental, grocery store, food, etc. and close to the best parts of Kauai....Hanalei, Larsen's Beach and Kapaa. If you can avoid the madness of the south shore, please do. The East and North shore is lush with rain forests and empty beaches and cooler weather peppered by warm and transient rainfall.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed the house and area. We appreciate the good and the bad and have responded to the two points you made. We have replaced the tempermental router with a new updated one that can better handle multiple devices at once. We hope that this solves the problem. Concerning the sound system, we were just as frustrated by it as you and have replaced it with a Yamaha Sound Bar that produces beautiful sound from the TV, DVD, music and videos. It is a huge improvement and we apologize for the lack when you were here.
Seattle, WA
4

Lovely stay at The Yoga House

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay at The Yoga House. My husband, sister and I spent a week in September. The house was well equipped, very clean, and provided some welcome extra’s (snorkel equipment, beach chairs, boogie boards, lots of beach towels, sunblock etc.) which came in very handy. Located in a residential area of Princeville, it’s an easy walk to Queen’s Bath and the golf course and a short drive to Princeville center.

Laurel was very friendly and responsive and provided lots of information. We would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

A couple things to note, the master bedroom faces the road. This is a quiet area and there is not a lot of traffic on the road. However at night you can see into the master bedroom through some of the windows. There are pretty tropical plants just outside that provide some privacy but it is not completely covered. We were here in the summer and it was hot even at night, there is no air-conditioning, but there are a few fans provided. This was not a big deal for us, but it might be a problem for those people expecting to have air conditioning. We couldn't figure out the new sound system for the TV, they have a new system installed and the instructions had not been updated. Again this was just a minor inconvenience. Overall we enjoyed our stay; I think this is a great place for a family with kids.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. Regarding the problems you noted, we have corrected two of them: 1) We have installed blinds in the windows in the corner of the master bedroom that faces the street so that there is no visibility into the room from outside. The other windows are fully shielded by beautiful foliage so they are still uncovered for complete enjoyment of our tropical garden. 2) The sound system has been replaced with a Yamaha Sound Bar and we have written instructions on it's use. This produces beautiful sound for TV, DVD, music and films. It is very easy to use and can also be synched via bluetooth to other devices. Thank you for letting us know what needed to be corrected. Mahalo, Laurie & Grant Moorhead, the happy owners
4

Hale Yoga... Maika'i Loa!!

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased with our stay at "Hale Yoga" (Yoga House) in Princeville. It is well maintained with all the amenities, just as described. The area is so very maluhia (peaceful) too. We would recommend staying at Hale Yoga. Grant & Laurie, Mahalo nui loa for sharing your lovely home!!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Arizona
5

Yoga House is a perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The Yoga House is conveniently located in the Princeville area of Kauai not far from the famouns St Regis Hotel on Hanalei Bay. We had a wonderful stay therel It is set up well for disablility access and I would recommend it for anyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Beautiful house, comfortable for a family

  • 5 of 5

We found this house to be well appointed, thoughtfully decorated, and very comfortable. It is situated near Hanalei and a set of lovely beaches on the north shore of Kauai. The hosts are very organized and easy to communicate with. The house was extremely clean and well supplied. We enjoyed the spacious living room, the lanai, comfortable bedrooms, and the outdoor shower. The house is located on a relatively quiet street with no very close neighbors. We had a lovely stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Buchanan, VA
4

Yoga house stay

  • 4 of 5

Great location, great value.

Loved the master, and the 2nd bedroom. Loved the outside shower.

Things didn't like. 3rd bedroom not very comfortable, youngest son got a lot of mosquito bites in the house. Ran mosquito "zapper" (provided in the house) all the time while in house.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and mahalo for your kind review. I am pleased that you were pleased overall with your stay at our house. Regarding the comfort of the third bedroom, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find it to your liking. I wish that I knew what it was that you didn't like as we try to do everything we can to make the house, and particularly the beds, comfortable. All of the beds in the house have memory foam pads for extra comfort. Concerning the mosquitos, those are a recurring problem in the tropics. We do all we can to minimize that at our house by eliminating standing water and employing a pest control service to spray regularly. I am very sorry that this was particularly problematic for your son. I hope that the mosquito zapper helped to make it more comfortable. Mahalo again for your comments and review.

Map

Car: recommended

Beach, rain forest, nature, hiking, golf, mountains, waterfalls, wildlife, snorkeling, coral reef, ocean, river, walking, kayaking.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $175 Per night

Princeville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $236.25
Tax Rate 13.25%
Notes The cleaning and management fee ($236.25) acts as the deposit, although it is actually a fee, nonrefundable. It is charged to your credit card at the time of booking.

The rental portion of the fees (rent & tax) would be due to us by check or money order two weeks before your arrival.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Guest Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    Master Bath - toilet , shower , Roll-in Shower
  • Roll-in shower with ADA bars in Master Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen Bedroom - 1 queen
    Twin Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Loft - 1 double
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , attached master bath with roll-in shower
  • Master Bedroom has TV/DVD player Queen Bedroom has TV/DVD player
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Wheelchair Accessibility: Single level design, ramp to front porch, roll-in shower in master bath, ADA grab bars in Master Bath shower, shower bench available, wide doorways.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote