Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

HALE MAHANA (HOUSE OF REST) OFFERS A TRUE EXPERIENCE OF PARADISE!

Aloha Coast RealtyHawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals

Advertiser since: 2000
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Contact the Manager

Aloha Coast RealtyHawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals

Advertiser since: 2000
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 2 days
Calendar last updated:
December 28, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HALE MAHANA (HOUSE OF REST) OFFERS A TRUE EXPERIENCE OF PARADISE!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

Kapoho House Rental Photos and Description

With your own private, thermally heated pond, sprawling lawns and lots of indoor/outdoor space, Hale Mahana is a true Hawaiian experience!

Imagine floating languidly in a warm volcanic pond, gently caressed by waves of water. Feel the warmth of sun beams dancing on your body, inhale the sweet fragrance of tropical flowers, and feel the cool, gentle tradewinds as you relax on the lanai. Awake to the cooing of doves and watch moonbeams dance across the pond at night. You're at Hale Mahana (House of Rest) in Kapoho on the East side of the Big Island of Hawaii!

Take a video peek.

Hale Mahana is a multi-facetted building designed with the temperate Hawaiian weather in mind. There are two master suites, the each has a Queen size Select-Comfort bed with a 4" memory foam mattress topper, wet bar with sink, microwave and mini-fridge, flat screen TV, screened lanai and full en-suite bath. Both master bathrooms have jetted tubs, tiled floors and garden views. Each suite also has its own screened in lanai with a view of the Hale Mahana pond. The lower-level lanai also has a futon day bed for that 5th guest. From the lanais you can hear the ocean just a couple of blocks away. There is a third bathroom off the kitchen that boasts a large and artisic outdoor shower! The stained glass shows several Hawaiian fish, can you name them?

The kitchen is well equipped and with an outdoor gas grill as well, you can feast on local Hawaiian seafood and produce! There is room for dining al fresco under the stars or in the garden view dining room just off the kitchen. There is even a small flat screen TV in the kitchen so you don't miss a thing while you're cooking away! And if you're visiting in winter, you just may get chilly enough to turn on the small electric fireplace to warm your toes with your morning coffee or tea.

The tidepool ranges from 6 feet deep at low tide and up to 15 feet at high tide. The temperature varies from 88 degrees F at high-tide to 91 degrees at low tide, year round. This lagoon is one of the original natural tidepools in Kapoho and neighborhood legend has it that King Kamehameha III frequented these grounds and swam in this tidepool!

Kapoho is known for its great weather and the renowned Champagne Pond where you can swim with sea turtles and tropical fish, just two blocks from Hale Mahana. Pahoa Village is a 12 minute drive and has great restaurants, quaint shopping and even a public pool. Fly into the Hilo airport and you're an easy 45 minute drive to Kapoho or fly into Kailua-Kona about a 3-hour drive.

W01061298-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Aloha Coast RealtyHawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2000
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 2 days
Calendar last updated:
December 28, 2014

Why Aloha Coast RealtyHawaii Holiday Vac. Rentals chose Kapoho

Kapoho Beach Lots is a beautiful vacation gated community with geothermally heated ponds, spectacular snorkeling and a friendly relaxed atmosphere.

What makes this house unique

Having a personal pond on the property makes it very unique and relaxing.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 34 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
average rating of 4.2352943 based on 34 reviews
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
-(808) 965-0400 (Hawaii, USA)
Kapoho Puna District
Georgetown, TX
2

Beds and neighbors

  • 2 of 5
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
\Place was somewhat clean although because of ill fitting screens and doors it was buggy. Beds are horrible, and seeing a neighbor sun bathing in the nude was disgusting. It would have been nice to have tools to clean the leaves out of the pond. The place is for sale and it seems that the ownership has given up on keeping it up. I will not stay here again
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: We so wish you would have called so that we could have tried to address the bug issues.

We're very familiar with the layout of Hale Mahana and, in fact, it sits below the neighboring parcels. We cannot figure out where the nude sunbathing neighbor might have been - since only one home is visible from Hale Mahana and that home sits above it.
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
-(808) 965-0400 (Hawaii, USA)
Kapoho Puna District
Belmont, CA
4

Great tide pool and beautiful house!

  • 4 of 5
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We enjoyed very much our stay at Hale Mahana. The house and surrounding garden are very beautiful and definitely unique. On our 3rd day we started to get used to the strange layout. This was not our first time at Kapoho, and this was our best place to stay so far. The house is located very close to the Champagne Pond; and the geothermal pool was a highlight of this wonderful place! Hale Mahana is very private, peaceful and relaxing. I liked its style and beauty, so we took lots of pictures.

We had a few minor issues, e.g. bed mattress has a depression in the middle, but we did not have any back problems. It would be very helpful to have at least some hooks or towel racks in bathrooms, so we could hang towels to dry after we used them. It would be nice to have folding drying racks to hang wet things to dry after swimming. Also it would be nice to have some kind of shelving or drawers in bedrooms to unload our things into. I tried to use provided kitchenettes to hold our stuff, but mostly things stayed in our luggage.
  • Submitted: May 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
-(808) 965-0400 (Hawaii, USA)
Kapoho Puna District
4

Wonderful vacation rental

  • 4 of 5
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We only had a few days to stay so did not get to take advantage of the hot pond as much as we would have liked.The property was very clean and comfortable. Our only real complaint was the kitchen. It was not stocked as well as we would have liked,was extremely small and the huge cabinet doors were very hard to open without any kind of knobs or handles on them. The set up of the property is very unique and we liked that, would have liked a larger indoor common area for when it was raining, our bedroom ending up being mostly our indoor "living area. I would recommend this property for no more than 4 people since there is not an actual living area indoors. Overall, very pleased. The hot pond is the most outstanding feature.
  • Submitted: May 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
-(808) 965-0400 (Hawaii, USA)
Kapoho Puna District
Kailua Kona, HI
5

Girlfriend said it was a perfect choice

  • 5 of 5
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
All good, great surrounding environment, bedroom & spa bath combos were fabulous except for the beds ... Second floor bed really sunk in middle so bad we moved to first floor bedroom, better but ended up with sore lower backs, otherwise kitchen, shower in small structure very nice, living room area adjoining kitchen was nice but not really a living room you could get comfortable in. The private heated pond was a real plus. Rain came and went and added to the flavor of the Kapoho experience? I would rent again if they upgraded the beds.
  • Submitted: May 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
-(808) 965-0400 (Hawaii, USA)
Kapoho Puna District
Portland, OR
5

Loved the Tide Pool

  • 5 of 5
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We thoroughly enjoyed our five days at Hale Mahana. The home was very clean and well situated. We loved being a short walk away from Chanpagne Pond, and within striking distance of interesting things to see in Puna as well as the national park. The house itself has a unique layout that we enjoyed, though it would have been nice to have a larger common area or living room.
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
-(808) 965-0400 (Hawaii, USA)
Kapoho Puna District
Victoria, BC
5

Unique House - Wonderful pool

  • 5 of 5
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is the fourth rental we have had in the Kapoho community, all of which have been satisfactory, but this one definitely goes to the top of the list, thanks to the interesting and unique design of the house and that wonderful geothermally heated pool. It was peaceful and the grounds very nicely kept. This view was shared by friends who were able to join us at Hale Mahana for the first three days of our two week stay.
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Kapoho

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $155 Per night

Kapoho House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holiday
Dec 16 2014 - Jan 5 2015
5 night minimum stay
$225
From
$225
$1,575
$6,750
 
 
Winter
Jan 6 2015 - Mar 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$189
From
$189
$1,250
$5,400
 
 
Merrie Monarch
Apr 1 2015 - Apr 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$155
From
$155
$1,030
$4,000
 
 
Spring Season
Apr 16 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$155
From
$155
$1,030
$4,000
 
 
Summer Season
Jun 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$159
From
$159
$1,050
$4,050
 
 
September Season
Sep 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$155
From
$155
$1,030
$3,950
 
 
Fall Season
Oct 1 2015 - Dec 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$155
From
$155
$1,030
$3,950
 
 
Holiday
Dec 16 2015 - Jan 5 2016
5 night minimum stay
$225
From
$225
$1,575
$6,750
 

Notes

  • Rates are based on a party of 2; additional guests are are $10 each per night plus tax.
    There is a cleaning fee of $150 - $165, depending upon group size.
    All reservations require a non-refundable $35 damage waiver and Hawaii taxes of 13.416%

    We accept major credit cards for payment.
    We require a 25% deposit to confirm, with the balance due 90 days before arrival.
    Reservations arriving within 90 days are due in full at the time of booking.
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Hale 1 has dining, galley kitchen, small seating area, powder room, outdoor walk-in shower. Hale 2 has full master suite on lower and upper level, both with private lanai.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote