Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Romantic Bolinas Beach Cottage with Ocean Views and Hot Tub!

Vanessa McBride

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Vanessa McBride

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Romantic Bolinas Beach Cottage with Ocean Views and Hot Tub!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Bolinas Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

A 10 minute walk to the beach and beautiful ocean views. The most romantic cottage in Bolinas with fireplace and private hot tub. One bedroom with full bed, sofa that folds out into a queen bed with Tempurpedic mattress topper, twin size bed in the sunroom which is perfect for a child. Full kitchen with gas stove and oven, wood burning fireplace insert that heats the whole cottage, 2 decks and parking for 2 cars in the driveway. Clawfoot bathtub with handshower and outdoor shower with hot & cold water.

Keywords: Cottage, Cabin, Hideaway, Getaway, Bungalow

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Vanessa McBride (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2015

About Vanessa McBride

My husband grew up in San Diego and is an avid surfer. He introduced me to Bolinas when we first started dating and one day I followed signs to an open house where I fell in love with this little red cottage. It was close to the beach, but away from the congested beachfront road with beautiful ocean and city views on a clear day. It was perfect. We have a dog and 3 kids who have enjoyed the cottage over the last 4 years and now we would like to share it with you. We hope you enjoy it as much as we have. Come fall in love! It's magic here.

Vanessa McBride purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Vanessa McBride chose Bolinas

We chose Bolinas because it as private as a beach town in California could be. With only 750 homes total, off-season you often have the beach completely to yourself (and a few diehard surfers of course). Bolinas is one of California's best kept secrets and like no other place in the world.

What makes this cottage unique

I love brewing a fresh cup of coffee and heading up to the top of the hill behind the house to the upper deck where I sit in the Adirondak chairs and watch the surf roll in while the morning fog rolls out. At night, watching the moon rise over the lights of San Francisco in the distance is quite a sight. I also love sitting in the hot tub while sipping wine and gazing at the millions of stars and the milky way--absolutely incredible. Coming indoors to a roaring, crackling fire--I know you will not only enjoy these things, but create your own amazing memories during your stay.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 22 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Romantic Bolinas Beach Cottage with Ocean Views and Hot Tub!
average rating of 4.681818 based on 22 reviews
Indiana
2

Disappointed with service

  • 2 of 5

The place is beautiful but when we arrived it had not been cleaned. There were dirty towels everywhere, dirty dishes and beds not made. We called and the owners didn't even know that was our check in day. They had the cleaners come out an hour after check in and it took them 2 hours to clean. They agreed to give us half off our first night but we have never received the money back. Very disappointed with how the owners handled the situation and never apologized, just blamed the cleaners.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I wanted to respond to say that I sent you the money for the cleaning back through Wells Fargo bill pay and I will research now what may have happened. I have record of the money leaving my account for the payment. It usually takes between 7-9 days to receive. I am disappointed that you didn't try to contact me about the non-receipt of the cleaning fee refund before posting a negative review. Please let me walk you through the actual events of what happened. The previous guests did not check out in time. The housekeeper claimed she didn't know you were coming because she had arrived to clean earlier in the day, saw a group of people still milling about on the deck & in the hot tub and thought that she had the date wrong. She left a voicemail (in Spanish) that she must have the wrong date to clean on her calendar, because the "rentistas" were still in the cottage. I didn't get that voicemail until after I spoke with you. I just started my own company in October and I was in the middle of a really important client presentation. I did not get to even glance at my phone until after the meeting ended which was close to 6 p.m. You called my husband (the alternate phone # on the rental agreement) when I didn't respond to your calls/texts, who has never once even logged into the VRBO account because I handle all of the rentals. Of COURSE he didn't know who you were---he really has no knowledge of the rentals at all or even how to access the VRBO account. What he DOES know relates to technical aspects of the hot tub, lighting the fireplace insert, trouble shooting issues with electrical, etc. so I leave him on the VRBO sheet in case renters have problems with those items. I don't see why it was so upsetting to you that he didn't know who you were. From there, my husband said you were really difficult to deal with and you threatened this bad review at that time. I don't see how else we could have rectified the situation other than get the housekeeper over there within the hour to clean and leave the house perfect for you by 4:30 pm (check in is at 3 pm) and offer your cleaning fee returned. The mess you saw when you came in was a reflection of the renters who came before you that disregarded the check out time and my "no parties" policy. I am sure they would apologize to you as well if they could. Mistakes happen, things get missed, mail gets delayed. It would have been nice for you to call me to resolve instead of just posting this review.
5

Cozy, Close and Comfortable Red Heron Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay for my wife's 60th birthday celebration at the Red Heron Cottage was memorable. Although no arrival could go off without a hitch, the prior tenants did not vacate timely and therefore the cottage was not ready until an hour after check-in, leaving some broken items including the hot tub. Fortunately, owners Chuck and Vanessa were very responsive on repairs and options so our stay quickly smoothed to enjoying all the amenities the cottage offers - a cozy hot tub, fire pit with seating area overlooking the ocean - spectacular! The cottage is walking close to quaint Bolinas while a slightly longer walk to Agate Beach for runners or hikers! Large deck for dining on weather-friendly days! New efficient fire-place insert kept cottage warm while owners also provided portable heaters - but weren't needed.

Would love to return to the cottage!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Awesome Weekend Escape to the Beach!

  • 5 of 5

This a wonderful cottage to rent in Bolinas! Breathtaking views of the coastline, cozy living room with fireplace, great deck, and awesome hot tub to relax in under the stars. Also, you are a quick walk to the cute downtown area or to the beach! This place is super dog friendly and the hosts are very accommodating. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

weekend escape

  • 5 of 5

we love this place! i've rented it 4 times & a buddy has rented it twice - it is the perfect get away from the ole city!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Great House, Incredibly Accommodating Host.

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay in this Bolinas cottage. The quiet neighborhood, hot tub, multiple decks, and house in general were great. You can take beautiful walks/hikes from the cottage. The hosts went to great lengths to make us feel comfortable.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Binghamton, NY
5

Heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing Bolinas home with us. We couldn't have been happier. The cottage is perfectly appointed and felt like home. You can hear the waves crashing from the gorgeous sun room. The picturesque, meandering paths to the upper decks are perfectly storybook. The view from the upper deck is a sight to behold. The sunsets over the ocean are unreal. The house was immaculate when we arrived. LOVE THIS PLACE! I wish I could be there always.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $275 Per night

Bolinas Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100.00
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Please allow 24 hours for me to answer rental inquiries. I manage the rentals as well as a toddler and my own company. Thanks for your understanding! :))) Vanessa McBride
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Bolinas Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Full Bed (1), (1) Queen Sleeper Sofa, (1) Twin Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Pack 'n' Play available upon request.

Other Vacation Properties

$1,210 - $1,425 per week
1 - 5 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,700 - $1,800 per week
2 - 3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote