GREAT BASE LOCATION FOR HIKING, BIKING, FISHING, SITESEEING & FAMILY REUNIONS

From
$250
Enter dates to see total
Email Manager Email

Kim Coolidge, Admin. Assistant

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GREAT BASE LOCATION FOR HIKING, BIKING, FISHING, SITESEEING & FAMILY REUNIONS

Lake Placid House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 2 full and 1 half bath, sleeps 10

Base lLocation for Bike, Hike, Fish & Reunion House is 17 miles from Lake Placid in the quiet Hamlet of Jay, NY.

This house was my grandmother's & has all the charm of a 50s & 60s with a few upgrades from the 80s & 90s. The house has 2,100 sf of space & is modestly decorated. It's a great place to gather with friends & family!

The house has beds to sleep 10 & room for more. The MBR is located on the 1st floor with a private full bath. The rest of the bedrooms & another full bath are on the 2nd floor.

The house has cable TV, WiFi & a dishwasher in a very homey & roomy house. The house is fully furnished including plates, utensils, pots & pans in a full kitchen.

This is a great location to access Whiteface, the Olympic Mountain. The house can also be a great hiking/biking base & offers easy access to the High Peaks for all the outdoor activities the Adirondacks offers. It is close to the quaint shops and activities that Lake Placid has to offer without having to pay the higher rental rates.

The house is located directly adjacent to the Ward Lumber store and warehouses.

Please Note! Our calendar is ALWAYS up to date. We are very active in renting our properties and keep our calendars current at all times. Hope we can add your reservation to our calendar soon!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Kim Coolidge, Admin. Assistant

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

18 Reviews Write a Review
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 18 reviews
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Buffalo, NY
4

Awesome vacation in the Adirondacks!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was the PERFECT choice for our family vacation in the Adirondacks. Lots of room for my kids & grandkids in this spacious home. The house was very clean and charming and we had all the comforts of home during our week's stay. The fully stacked kitchen and large dining room table were perfect for preparing and eating dinner after each day's activities. We even had an extra table set up with a 1,000 piece puzzle, which the kids enjoyed working on during our stay. Our teenage grandchildren enjoyed playing pool, air hockey and fusball with each other, and we enjoyed watching several movies on the DVD player. (Best to bring your own favorite DVDs to watch).

It was a nice perk to have a washer & dryer available during our stay, especially for wet bathing suits & towels that we used one day and needed the next day too.

The location was central for our day trips to Lake Placid for shopping and the beach, Whiteface Mountain, Ausable Chasm, Natural Stone Bridge & Caves, Fort Ticonderoga and White Water Rafting on the Casendaga River.

The property manager Kim was a real doll and great at answering all our questions, and providing info and directions to local sites and area stores. She even found us a great little hidden park a few miles away where we could swim, picnic and have a campfire - we roasted marshmallows and made S'mores with the kids - yummy!

Everyone agreed this was our best vacation ever! We would definitely recommend this home for any family who wants to see the beautiful Adirondack area, and save money on costly hotels/motels. It's ideal for a large family. Our kids and grandkids called it home for the week - and it was just like our own home, only lots more room!
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. You did an awesome job highlighting the trip. There is so much to do and see in this area! This property is definitely spacious. It's close enough to all the activities, yet it's more affordable. Most guests that stay at my house are happier spending money on the activities than on their accommodations!
I am extremely happy that your family had so much fun. It appears that you packed a lot of activities in while you were here. There's more to do, so I hope you can return soon!
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
4

Escapade Whiteface Mountain

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were all satisfied about the house.
My friend’s (men) all appreciate and was impress about the garage for the motorcycle.
We did appreciate the big table we all add diner together (11 person)
Internet was fast and appreciate.
We will recommended your place any time.
Owner's Response: Biker Buddies,
Thank you for taking the time to let future guests know that they can enjoy their stay in this large house. I look forward to your return soon. There is so much to do and see, you cannot do and see it all in one visit. Thank you for choosing to stay in my house.
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Great stay for less

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 1970
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The house was specious and warm. Its good for a big company.Big table allows you to sit up to 16 people. Everything works very well. It also has pool and air hockey table that was great thing. Cozy fireplace makes you feel so comfortable. The most important thing that it is close to Whiteface and Lake Placid. The only complain we had was not warm water in the shower after couple of people who use shower before. I think it is good quality for that money. I would suggest it to others.
Owner's Response: ZA & Friends,
Thank you for the awesome review. I have tried to supply enough things to do when you aren't out skiing. I do have an 80-gallon hot water tank. However, when 12 people are taking showers, you do have to adapt the shower schedule. I am very happy that you were close enough to the sites and that you felt you had found a convenient location at a reasonable price. Enjoy your travels!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
4

Spacious house/good value/ attentive owner.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Rented the property for a weekend. We arrived Saturday 2 AM-ish, and the sidedoor was open when we got there, which raised my eyebrows a little. (turned out the owner forgot to lock the door...).

Overall, the house felt a little too spacious for 6 people, and I can see this place being a better fit for big family gathering. But even with 6 people, I felt the rate was pretty reasonable (would've been an excellent deal if I brought 10 people..).

I think the best part of this property is definitely the owner. Kim was very responsive and attentive to any questions/concerns I had about the property and went out of her way to ensure that we have what we needed. (i.e double checking on wifi connection before our arrival). My friend left her boots, and Kim shipped it back to us as soon as possible.

I can't say the property is the most well furnished place I've been in Lake Placid region, but I would rather stay in a property where I can be assured that the owner will go out of her way to accommodate us. Trust and reliability are pretty important especially when it comes to vacation rentals.
Owner's Response: Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to let our future guests know how spacious our house is. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the effort we put in to make our guests feel welcome. We work hard to be sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. I was glad your friend received her boots in time for her next hiking trip. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Delran, New Jersey
4

Comfy & Cozy

Comfy & Cozy
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nice and Comfy. Very Central location to all attractions. The lumbar next door didn't bother us because we didn't spend days "in". By the time we got back the lumbar got closed. Also no bad smell as was mentioned in previous review. Very well equipped with all necessities. Will recommend to large groups to get together in this spacious house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let future guests know that prior issues have been resolved. We take our time making sure guests are happy with their stay. We are glad you had a great time, had lots to do and were comfortable with the accommodations. Hope to see you again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
Email Manager Email

Map

Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Jay Rapids
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Lake Placid has many nice ones
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Whiteface Mountain, the Olympic Mountain
Nearest Golf
17 Miles
many in Lake Placid
Car: necessary

The White House is located on Glen Road in the Hamlet of Jay, NY, just 17 miles from Lake Placid. The house is a great base location for many activities. Swim near the Jay Covered Bridge, in Wilmington or in Lake Placid. You can shop in quaint stores in Lake Placid. There is also a wonderful craft store offering the talents of local artists and a unique Alpaca Shoppe in Jay. The Olympic Center, Whiteface Mountain (great view especially in the good weather) and Santa's Village at the North Pole (just 10 minutes away) and the Au Sable Chasm are must-see sites. Biking, canoeing, kayaking, skiing, ski jumps, horseback riding, concerts in the park and, local theaters are just some of your entertainment options. Hikers come back year after year to visit the many mountainous trails. Lake George's Million Dollar Beach, Six Flags & a Water Park are just a day trip away. Canada is also just a day trip from here. There is a lot to do and see - rain or shine!

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Lake Placid House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
Ironman
Jul 23 2014 - Jul 29 2014
$2,000
Flat fee
7 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$250
$800
$2,100
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200.00
Notes Two night minimum may be waived with $100 cleaning fee. Contact us for a lower week night special rate. Pet rate is $25 per night per pet. Any guests in excess of 10 will incur an extra guest fee of $20 per night per person.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Lake Placid House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
  • Budget
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Historic
General:
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Parking ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Activities Guide
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Garage ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Oven ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , off kitchen
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , private bath for master bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , serves upstairs bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master bedroom - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , Master bedroom on first floor with private full bath.
    Upstairs Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Upstairs Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , direct door to full bath
    Upstairs Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Upstairs Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Piano
  • Pool Table
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Tennis ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • forests
  • live theater
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • boating
  • photography
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • paddle boating
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • cross country skiing
  • basketball court
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • hunting
  • equestrian events
  • skiing
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • rafting
  • mountain climbing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
Notes:
At least two people in the group must be 21 or over and be responsible for the guests.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Email Manager Email