Nice area, TERRIBLE unit
This was my first trip to Isle of Palms. My family and I were really looking forward to it before we got to our unit. This could be a nice condo, but it is in need of some serious cleaning and renovations. It was pretty bad so we spent the entire afternoon/evening looking for a new place to stay. Wife in tears, kids tired from being in the car and wanting to go to the beach and showing up to a place like this is not the best start to a much needed vacation. Needless to say, everyplace between IoP and Hilton Head was booked so we had to make the best of it. Here is a description of the unit as we found it during our stay. The pictures make this place appear larger than it really is. It is tiny. Two people almost fill this place up. There were several things that did not meet our expectations upon arrival. The textured ceiling had dust/dirt hanging from it above the A/C vent and ceiling fan. Ceiling fan blades were dirty in bedroom. The cold air return vent was covered in dust. The laminate flooring in the living room was cracked. The chair cushion was ripped. The couch cushions are so worn that you hit your legs on the wooden frame when you sit down. The bar stools..... The bar stools are so filthy that they should be thrown away. You can actually see some of the black markings on them in the pictures. They are much worse now. I should have been more observant before booking. The furniture in general looked like it was picked up at the local thrift store after being used at a frat house. The bathroom door does not work properly, sometimes locking you in. The paneling is falling off the wall in the kitchen so you can't open the dishwashwer without pushing it back. Be careful when you do, because the dishwasher door will fall to the floor. After all of this, there was a knock on the door. My wife went to answer it and asked who was there. No reply. Nobody there from looking out the peephole. 30 seconds later, some random person opens the door. Sees her standing there, says "Sorry" and walks out. No explanation as to who he was, why he was there, why he had a key or anything. Apparently, he was the pest control. I will say that Coastalina Realty was very willing to work with us to refund our money, switch us to a different unit (none available), or give us a discounted rate. For that reason, I will likely use them again in the future. This is my only bad experience since using VRBO for the past 6-7 yrs. I hope it is the last.
Owner's Response: We truly apologize for your unhappy experience at this condo. Each property is individually owned and every one is different. We appreciate the feed back and this fall we will address every issue that you have mentioned and have this unit up to par that renters are expecting. All these condos are 490 sq ft. and they are a good fit for a small family on a budget that wants to be on the ocean. We are sorry that we had to give you a discount and we do hope you come back to our island in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?