Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Pearl Moon - Just a 15-20 minute beach walk to all the action! Great snorkeling

Jack Moore

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Jack Moore

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 6, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Pearl Moon - Just a 15-20 minute beach walk to all the action! Great snorkeling

Bedrooms 1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Tulum Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

2nd Floor Bungalow, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 Comfortably)


We are fully booked through April, 2015!!!

Reserve Pearl Moon today for your travel dates after May 1, 2015!

Our treasured guests describe Pearl Moon as quiet, safe, and serene.

It's surreal as you walk the white sandy beach of Jade Bay, Akumal.

Experience this unique Caribbean hideaway and create vacation memories that will last a lifetime.

Walk the beach just 20 minutes and you arrive at the main Akumal Bay with its restaurants, shops, etc.

Discover the beach in both directions for as far as you care to explore.

Rise early for the magnificent sunrises over the sea, or sleep late in preparation for a night of fun at one or more of the local restaurants and bars in and near Akumal.

This boutique oceanfront complex has only 2 other condos, so it's very likely you'll have the property entirely to yourselves.

Check out this list of amenities then send us an email and reserve Pearl Moon for yourself or for you and that special someone.

It will be the best decision you make all year!


Jack & Debbie, Owners


Central Air Conditioning & Heat




Unit Services


Ceiling Fans

Central Air

Maid Service

Close to restaurants and bars

Nearby ATM

Nearby Trent Jones Golf Course

Nearby Internet Cafe

Services Nearby in Akumal


SKY Mexico



Full Kitchen

Coffee Maker









Acheological Sites

Tulum 20 minutes away!

Exceptional Sunrises

Near Beach

On Beach

Partial Ocean View

Keywords: Pearl Moon Bungalow is a charming one bedroom ocean view Bungalow located within Jade Beach, Akumal. It is the perfect accommodation for 1 or 2 people! There are ocean views off to each side and the brilliant turquoise beach is just steps away.

Pearl Moon is part of the Jade Moon complex which is just 3 units. The beach and pool are virtually private. Some of the world’s best snorkeling, diving and fishing are right offshore.

This oceanfront jewel utilizes natural Mexican elements in many creative and interesting ways. Located on the second floor, Pearl Moon has a private patio that overlooks a crystalline pool and palapa, This affords guests both privacy and a great view of both the pool and side ocean views.

The living area is furnished with 2 sofas, a dining room table and full kitchen that includes breakfast bar and bar stools, a 4 burner stove, micro, coffeepot, toaster oven and blender. Behind the living room wall, is a king size bed, 2 end tables with reading lamps.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jack Moore (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 6, 2015

About Jack Moore

Here's our Family in a rare moment when we're all in the same country. I believe this photo was taken in Akumal.

Jack Moore purchased this bungalow in 2005

Why Jack Moore chose Tulum

Just stay at Pearl Moon once, and you'll understand why we bought Pearl Moon back in 2005. We've stayed in Pearl Moon ourselves many times. Our daughters love visiting with friends.

What makes this bungalow unique

Quiet, serenity, solitude, picturesque Caribbean sea views, exploration and discovery, Magic!

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Pearl Moon - Just a 15-20 minute beach walk to all the action! Great snorkeling
average rating of 3.857143 based on 7 reviews

Great but need a lot of improvements...

  • 3 of 5

First of all, the location is awesome, you are on the beach, in the morning, you can have your breakfast just in front of the ocean... that is priceless...

The ocean in front is great, you have the only part of the beach which is not so rocky, so you can easily enter without shoes.

There is almost always wind, so don't expect a very calm sea.

The good thing is that your pool is behind the ruby moon, so you don't have much wind there. And unlike the other condos which have their pools on the beach side, you will have privacy and silence.

The pool is great and large, it is a a very good spot to rest and listen at the birds or watching the wild life here...

For the cons, the biggest problem of the condo is that there is a war between the bahia principe hotel and the las villas akumal concerning a big mud puddle which emerge just in front of our room window... In fact, it is their sewer and no one want to take the responsability of it... It is a huge pollution because the puddle goes straight in the jungle and its mangroves...

So, don't think about sleeping with your windows open, in the night the smell is just terrible... even the renters of the ruby moon smelled it.

The second biggest problem is that the owners of the ruby moon and emerald moon gave their permission to locals to come for free and enjoy the pool and the house when they want...

Well, the result is that you have groups of ten persons coming the sundays, who are friends of, architect of , maid of, manager of... well, you understood it, all the akumal pueblo can come and enjoy for free something that you payed for and kick you out of it... and it is really frequent... They came with all the children they can get, and it become apocalypse in the pool with screaming, crying and so on...

The funny thing is that on our rental agreement, there was mandatory quiet time, and we were forbidden to do parties or bring people here...

Another problem is the security... the ruby moon has been robbed three times while we were there until they used a security guard for them... But, for the pearl, we had nothing, when we were alone, there was nobody for us... and our safe is so little and fragile that I think a coconut could open it...

We noticed that the radio player is broken , some of the chairs are damaged, the balcony in the room is falling apart and becoming dangerous... the TV is from another century and the wifi constantly fell down... So for me, the price is too high for what we got...

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We offered these French people a special opportunity to stay in Pearl Moon for a FULL SIX MONTHS at a cost per month that was about equal to the normal WEEKLY rate, because we knew that Pearl Moon needed some updating. They knew this going in, but they still decided to write this negative review. Internet service is never 100% guaranteed in a remote beach location. Water can stand for days when the rainy season begins. And our Housekeeper and her Family have the right to use the pool when only one of the 3 condos are occupied. These facts are indisputable, but they do not warrant a negative review. Our Team works hard to please 100% of our guests 100% of the time, but this is rarely possible...especially if guests' expectations exceed the realities of the country. We hope that these guests from France will forever carry with them the positive aspects of their 6-month stay in this beach paradise, and we regret they found it necessary to profess their negative comments to the general public. We trust that your stay at Pearl Moon will be wonderful, as we are spending August, September, and October to renovate and refurbish. Warm Mexico regards to all!

Perfect for one couple

  • 5 of 5

First and foremost, the beer was kept cold thanks to a new fridge. From the start of this vacation, all the dealings that I had, had been through Jack (the owner). Everything went very smooth, from being picked up at the airport(on time) to getting help with groceries and of course getting back to the Airport. Pio was awesome, also the grounds were kept up from Palmero. Great guy, loves his beer lol.. Like the ad said, most likely you would have the place to yourself, and we did. Pool was all ours and the palapa area in front of the other condo was empty for our 2 week stay. That was a bonus. You can walk to town very easily, and even bring back some groceries. Maybe 25 min max. Snorkeling out front was awesome, but still recommend Akumal Bay. Just to sum it up, help was awesome, it is a condo made for one couple. But thats exactly what we wanted and got. No complaints here.


  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA

Beautiful Week on Jade Bay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I are frequent visitors to the area but had never stayed south of Akumal. We prefer not to rent a car in Mexico, so we like staying in places that are good for walking - and if necessary for picking up a ride on the collectivo. This location was perfect for us - short walks to good snorkeling in either direction or just in front of the condo. It's about a 15 minute walk on the beach to Akumal's restaurants. And only a few minutes to the main highway.

The condo is well set up for two. The kitchen was clean and equipped with everything we needed. We ate at least one meal each day in the condo enjoying the flowering trees, colorful birds and (partial) ocean views. The balcony is perfect an afternoon snack and drinks. The housekeeping services were good, and everyone (Pio, Paulino and Norma) is very friendly. We used the pool each day - clean and refreshing. The king bed was comfortable.

While in the area we took a short trip to the village of Chemuyil. Really enjoyed our lunch at "La Palapa" restaurant. The owner is great, and the food was even better. We also recommend visiting one of the many cenotes in the area. We spent a morning at Cenote Cristalino just south of Puerto Aventuras. Beautiful! Then had a good lunch at the bar/restaurant just next store.

Bottom line - we had a great time and would not hesitate to return to Pearl Moon condo.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Salt lake City Ut

Over price unit for Akumal

  • 2 of 5

My and husband I has be going to Akumal for 15 years. I rent this unit because of the write up. The unit is o.k but for the money you get a hotel room with a kitchen for less. Here are a list things that need improvements.

Security box is extremely flimsy and unsafe to use.

Maid service everyday ( she came every other day)

No Internet ( that way we rented the unit)

Pillows on bed are so bad.( I think about 10 years old)

No soap in bathroom or kitchen.

Lights burning out in unit.

Pool person doesn't get paid to clean pool over day.

Coffee maker only makes 2 cups.

Need kayak to enjoy reef.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Fairport Harbor, Ohio


  • 4 of 5

My husband and I returned from Akumal on March 31 after a 2 week stay at Pearl Moon. We rented a car from Hertz at the airport and drove to Pearl Moon. There was no one there to greet us but it was around 4PM on a saturday and the lock box worked as promised. The condo was very clean and the grounds are very beautiful just like in the pictures. Pio the manager did show up on Monday with Norma, we declined her services as we were never home but in the evenings. She came at the end of the first week as promised. We did have one complaint to Pio and that was the refridgerator was so loud that many nights we would be awakened by the noise. He says he knew about the problem but nothing was done. Paulino the outside caretaker was wonderful. He helped most of all. More instruction would be helpful as far as washing the vegetables with the iodyne (provided) and if you plan on cooking in very much the kitchen was not very well equipped. There was no pan to wash dishes after a meal and the stopper for the sink did not work. We go through VRBO because we cook in at least breakfast and lunch so a well equipped kitchen is essential. The ocean was too rough to snorkel in front of condo but the turtles and fish were great in Akumal Bay. I myself had a problem with the language, so I would suggest to anyone who ventures away from the property to study up on a few phrases to fit in better. That was my mistake.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 4 out of 5 Stars isn't bad, but we prefer to earn 5. Here is our response to our guests who experienced a noisy fridge and a broken sink stopper. We are very sorry that the refrigerator made noise. The moment it was reported to us we immediately asked Pio, our Property Manager, to replace it. Pearl Moon now has a new refrigerator! We have also installed a new stopper for the sink. In fact, Pio did an inventory of our kitchen equipment, and has added some new items and replaced others. You could now say that the kitchen is very well equipped. We thank you for pointing out these 2 deficiencies, and, as you can see, we have taken care of them both. We strive to do all we can to maintain Pearl Moon to North American standards, so that all our guests enjoy their best vacation ever. Please give us the opportunity to show you our hospitality. Reserve Pearl Moon today for your next visit to The Riviera Maya. Sincerely yours, Debbie and Jack Moore, Owners Casa Palapa Casita Debita Pearl Moon Bungalow
Crystal River, Florida

Tropical Privacy for Couples

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently returned from 2 weeks we spend every year in Akumal. Earlier this year we confirmed our travel arrangements directly with the owner of Pearl Moon. In the past we have always used a travel agent, but we decided to try VRBO. Our experience was wonderful. It started off with a fast airport pick-up by Pio, the owner's caretaker. He was waiting for us as we cleared customs, then drove us and our luggage the 60 minute drive to Pearl Moon. We arrived at sunset and the garden looked beautiful. There are only 2 other condos, and no one else was staying on the property! We had the place to ourselves for the entire 2 weeks. We felt safe and secure, while, at the same time, the property provides privacy. Pearl Moon is a on the second floor with views of the pool and partial views of the Caribbean around both sides of the building in front. The beach was sandy, and the snorkeling was some of the best we've experienced in Akumal. The condo was clean and complete. We cooked several meals in the fully-equipped kitchen. Norma the housekeeper would visit when we were snorkeling, so the place always stayed clean, too. We enjoyed our beach walks north to Akumal Bay with their shops and restaurants. Everything was so close that we decided not to rent a car. Pio was such a big help. My husband somehow locked the keys in the condo, and Pio was right there within minutes to let us in. He also drove us back to the airport at the end of the 2 weeks. My husband and I are business owners from Florida in our 50s who have been traveling to Akumal for the past 10 years. We will definitely return to Pearl Moon and we recommend Pearl Moon to everyone. Especially couples who are looking for quality rest and relaxation.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Cancun Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Lotsa bars!!!
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Playa Del Carmen's Ferry to Cozumel...takes 40 min
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Across Hwy 307 is a Robert Trent Jones Golf course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
At the end of our beach access road is Highway 307
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
5 minutes by car or a 20-minute beach walk
Nearest Beach
Right outside your door!
Car: recommended

Pearl Moon has RELIABLE WiFi and SKY TV.


Rates & Availability

From $797 Per week

Tulum Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High Season
Feb 13 2015 - May 31 2015
7 night minimum stay
Low Season
Jun 1 2015 - Dec 12 2015
7 night minimum stay
Christmas & New Years Weeks
Dec 14 2015 - Jan 10 2016
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Pio--our Property Manager--collects a $100 Electricity Deposit at check-in. This deposit is returned to you at check-out LESS the cost of electricity used by you and your guests during your stay. Please be prepared to pay this deposit in USD cash at check-in. Thanks!
We offer payment by credit or debit card through PayPal.
Enter dates to see total
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Tulum Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1) Very Comfortable King Size Bed
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Just across the highway from the new Trent Jones Golf Course at Bahia Principe Residences.

Other Vacation Properties

$785 - $1,502 per week
2 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$258 - $523 per night
1 - 7 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote