COOL HOUSE NEAR HOT LAVA!

Tim and Susan Law

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Tim and Susan Law

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

COOL HOUSE NEAR HOT LAVA!

Pahoa House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms on an acre with fruit and native ohia trees.

Pahoa Paradise! Long or short term rentals.

Ten minutes to surfing, scuba diving and swimming, warm ponds and Lava Tree State Park. If flowing, it's 15 minutes drive to see red-hot lava flowing into the sea – spectacular at night! Lots more to see and do - Ask us! Wir sprechen Deutsch!

Our cozy and comfortable 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation home is on one acre with fruit trees and tropical plantings. The master bedroom with en suite bathroom has a king bed; one additional bedroom has a queen bed, the other has two twin beds. Your king and queen beds welcome you with luxurious 100% cotton sateen sheets (twins 100% cotton sheets), warm comforters and plump pillows.

Your bathrooms come complete with a full complement of 100% cotton towels, hand soap, and beautifully tiled combination tub/showers.

Tile floors sparkle throughout this lovely home, and ceiling fans in the bedrooms and great room keep it cool year round.

Our UV water purifying system provides you with drinking water from every faucet - even from the hose outside! The kitchen has a gas cook top and wall oven to cook your own meals, and a complete set of pots and pans, cooking utensils, kitchen towels and mitts, and dishes, glassware, and flatware. It also has a side-by-side refrigerator with cold, purified water and ice available in the door, built-in microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster oven, rice cooker, and blender. The laundry room is just a step outside the kitchen (in the carport), with a large capacity washer and gas dryer.

We have a 55' TV and Blueray player!

You can pick your own fruit from the trees. Depending on the season, we have avocados, lilikoi (passion fruit), oranges, tangelos, mulberries, and also pineapples and strawberries! Enjoy fresh lilikoi's sweet-tart flavor over your yogurt, or sliced strawberries with ice cream or yogurt and granola - you be the chef!

We provide all the front and side yard service, which usually takes one day a week between 8 am and 5 pm. We may do additional landscaping work, usually in the back 1/2 acre, one or two days a week. Yard work will be arranged to fit your schedule.

This house is wheelchair-accessible - please advise us of your special needs in your email.

Four night minimum.

Seasonal discounts offered; see our rate schedule below. Regularly $110/night for 1-2 people, $125/night for up to six people. Ask us about other discounts for longer stays!

This is a self-catering vacation rental, and includes dish washing and dishwasher soap, laundry detergent and fabric softener dryer sheets, liquid hand soap, and a starter set of toilet paper and a roll of paper towels. Please buy your groceries, bath soap, shampoo, kleenex, charcoal briquets, and additional paper towels you may want before you arrive at the house.

Hawaiian custom is to remove shoes before entering a home, so you may want to pack your slippers, or add a pair of 'local slippers' (or flip-flops) to your shopping list.

There are two grocery stores and a Walmart in Hilo on the main road from Hilo Airport to Pahoa, and a small market in Pahoa Village behind the Aloha Gas station, about 10 minutes drive from our home.

Keywords: house, acre, fruit trees, purified drinking water, satellite internet, WiFi, lava, surfing, swimming

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
  • pets not allowed
Tim and Susan Law (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Tim and Susan Law

We met and married in Hawaii in 2008. Although we both grew up in California, and both love the ocean, Susan spent 13 years living and working in Switzerland, and speaks fluent German, while Tim has lived in Hawaii for over 40 years. Tim introduced Susan to surfing, and Susan introduced Tim to scuba diving.

Hawaii Island has a mixture of big swells and flat times, so we switch between surfing and diving - we both love being in the ocean!

Tim and Susan Law purchased this house in 2008

Why Tim and Susan Law chose Pahoa

We love the entire island of Hawaii! Pahoa Paradise is close to some of the best surfing on the island. And it's always fun to to view the lava flows at night, if it is flowing; sometimes the lava is simply spectacular!

Leilani Estates is one of the best neighborhoods in rural Hawaii, with paved roads and several native, undeveloped lots where you can see the native Ohia trees. We are landscaping around several Ohia trees on our acre lot, but still have plenty of room for fruit trees, including coffee trees.

Tim, owner-builder and carpenter, built our vacation rental home, which was completed in 2008. Susan, retired and loves to garden, has her hands full with the fruit trees and plants, croton hedge, and tropical plantings of heliconia, ti leaf, shell ginger, blue ginger (spiderwort), puakenikeni, and plumeria. Tim, of course, does the heavy lifting and digging, and mowing and weed-wacking. He also made your platform beds and bedside tables!

We've had a lot of fun planning and decorating our vacation home, and we hope you enjoy the results of our labors!

What makes this house unique

It's only a ten minute drive to some of the best surf spots, and only 15 minutes drive to the lava flow viewing area. Pahoa village restaurants are ten minutes away, and the zoo, cinemas and hot spots of Hilo are 35 minutes away.

We love to spend a day going surfing at Pohoiki, take a fresh water shower at Isaac Hale State Park, then drive straight into Pahoa Village for Thai food at Sukothai. Yum! When we feel like a picnic, we pick up a fresh-roasted Huli-huli chicken (rotisserie-roasted) at Malama Market at the north end of Pahoa Village. They also have fresh bread, and other great picnic food, like mac salad (macaroni and potato salad mixed together), in the deli.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you again for the wonderful experience in your Rental Home as the guys truly enjoyed it. I wish you much success in the Rental Business for your beautiful property!
Feb 2011
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.1
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
average rating of 4.133333 based on 15 reviews
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vb
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
california
5

chris and kim

  • 5 of 5
We had a amazing time at susan and tims house in puna.the house is a regular 3 bed two bath house its small but not to small.its very nice and makes u feel at home.they have a big flat screen tv that was very nice during the rainy days.just wish we had the 3d glasses.tim and susan are very nice and were amazing durning our stay there.if u plan on bringing a xbox dont plan on hooking up to the internet because the internet isnt strong enough to soppurt xbox live or ps4 streaming.the internet was pretty basic.but the price for that house and the area its in u really cant complain.we didnt care.tim and susan actually have alot of movies right under the tv to choose from.we were actually surprised how many new and old movie collection they have for guest.they really go out of there way to make sure u have a great time.and if there are any issues they are very fast in addressing them.they even picked fruit for us and left them in the kitchen for us one day:-).there is a lava pond right by the house and the people that live in the community actually go out of there way to let u in it was really fun and they dont have to let u in.u can park and walk but its a long walk lol.so ur in puna district so expect some rainy days.but u can take the long drive to kona and it is a amazing drive lots of sight seeing and well worth the trip.over all we had a great time we stayed there almost 3 weeks at a fantastic price....it was a amazing exsperience.thanks susan you are a great person and we were so glad to rent your rental.and we will be back:-)we are saving up are money as i write this....
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We have had so many nice guests, it is a pleasure to offer our home as a vacation rental! We do our best to assist our guests and respond to any questions or queries as soon as we can. We had the satellite internet service rep out at the house almost immediately, and since discovering that we have an older modem and satellite system, we have been researching other possibilities to improve our internet service. So far there are no other choices in our rural area (no fiber optic cable installed, no DSL ports available and no more expected to be installed in the near future, etc.), but we haven't given up and will continue to research every possibility until guests like these are able stream movies at our home.
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vb
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Hesperia CA
5

Beautiful spacious home!

  • 5 of 5
This was my first time booking a home thrugh VRBO so I was a bit apprehensive specially after reading the reviews from previous renters. Let me tell you that from the beggining Susan was the very nice and understanding due to payment issues and assure me that everything was ok and that my rental days were still reseved. After landing in Hilo I called susan and she gave me the door code and because we had arrived at night she was not going to be meeting us at the home, which it was ok with us. The drive to the home is scarry at night specially not knowing the area but during the day is beutiful. When we got to the home we were amazed on how beutiful the place was(better than the pictures). My kids were so excited, the house was clean. Each bedroom was well decorated, window covering had some wear and tear but no major thing. The Bathrooms were all stock with hand soap and toilet paper. The kitchen was well equiped with everything you need to cook and clean your dishes with. The laundry room had its laundry soap and dryer sheet to wash. The sofas in the living room had some wear and tear but like I said no major things. All I could say is that they though about everything to make us feel at home (even having a high chair for my daughter). My only complain was the lizards (too many) LOL. Thanks so much Susan and Tim we loved your home and the area (leilany estates) is beautiful. We are even thinking on looking for real estate in that area.
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vb
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
1

"Vacationers Beware!"

"Vacationers Beware!"
  • 1 of 5
Our nightmare stay began with us arriving to an unclean home. We had to wash the linens on the beds because of the musty stuffy smell on them and throughout the house. We then had to wash the rugs, clean the toilettes and sinks, spray down the tubs and spray the entire house because of the foul odor- we used our own supplies after visiting the local Long's Drug store to purchase them. Additionally, the blinds were a wreck, the oven had old pieces of food and foil left in it and smelled like something had died in it, and the furniture was stained and dirty. My mother-in-law was uncomfortable sleeping in the room because you could see through them. Thank God were so secluded. We complained to the owners from day one and did not get any resolution the entire time we were there. We stayed 6 nights and did not see them until the night before we were to depart for the mainland. The worst part of it is that the owners, Susan and Tim, held our deposit money until we said the matter of us requesting compensation for purchasing cleaning supplies, cleaning their house, and taking practically cold showers, the entire time we were there, was finished. They, totally, refused to compensate us for our nightmare experience, but said they would refund us for our cleaning supplies. That was an insult and we refused to waste anymore of our valuable time and efforts scanning and emailing them a receipt for approximately $10.00. This was my mother-in-law's first trip to Hawaii or any tropical island and I was embarrassed for the poor representation they presented for the Hawaiian residents- we wanted her first time on a tropical island to be memorable but not for its negative aspects (we brought her for her 70th birthday). Every other part of our trip was great. We loved Akaka Falls and hanging out in Pahoa Town. Tim and Susan are the most unprofessional couple we have ever met and would not recommend anyone to stay at their place- they made excuse after excuse for their incompetence. I read one other negative review and should have gone with my gut when I read it. I wonder if the positive comments on their site are written by actual guests or them, because I cannot bring myself to believe that we are the only other guests (besides the other family who complained) to have such a nightmare stay at their property. Is there a rating below poor, because I would not recommend anyone stay at their property? "Vacationers Beware!"
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our home is thoroughly cleaned before each check in, often over two days, as in this case. For all the cleaning these guests say they did, they would have spent $30-35 in Hawaii for their cleaning products, toilet cleaner and air freshener, and yet they were unable to provide us with their “approximately $10 receipt".

We’re very sorry that a piece of aluminum foil with a few bits of food was left in the oven between two baking sheets; the oven itself was cleaned and the pans were replaced without checking in between them.
A section approximately 10” wide and 4” deep unraveled from the top of the roll-up blinds, and has been repaired. This section was approximately 7 feet above the floor at the top of the window, and we apologize that a guest felt a lack of privacy.
All our linens and rugs are washed before check in. These guests wore their street shoes into our home right in front of us (and stored their spare shoes under the platform bed). Since they checked in at 8:30 PM after flying all day, we believe they accidentally dirtied a rug with their own shoes.
We turned on the bathroom faucet and shower in front of these guests, and the faucet water was hot and the shower water warm. They said that maybe they didn't wait long enough. We explained that with an “on-demand” water heater, the heater turns on when a hot water faucet is turned on, so it can take a minute or two.

Our rental agreement states: Please take your shoes off before entering our home, wash all dishes or clean them by running the dishwasher when you leave, and take your trash out and leave it in the trash cans outside. These guests left dirty dishes and a dish towel in the sink and on the cutting board, the trash can inside our home was full, and a second bag of trash was set beside it. (There were no cleaning products or air freshener containers in the trash.) Cleaning dishes and taking the trash outside is important in Hawaii so that pests are not drawn into our home.

We decided to refund their entire security deposit, but without a receipt for the cleaning products, we did not think it was appropriate to make any other concession. We did ask for closure with the refund of their security deposit, because our offer of a full refund meant we were giving up our rights due to their breaches of the rental agreement.
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vb
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
4

Lovely Leilani Estates

  • 4 of 5
The price is incredible. The house is great. There were a few minor issues, but no big deal. The coqui frogs and rain at night make sleeping in really easy. We chose this because we were looking to move into Leilani Estates. The internet is good (not like the mainland, but good). Great safe location! Tim and Susan are great! This is a great value. We have generally stayed in the past at locations with a pool near the ocean. The landscaping needed a little attention, but this made us decide to buy a property in the neighborhood. Malama pono and peace!
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love feedback from our guests! The minor issues have been addressed, and we made a few additional modifications for the comfort of our guests. Welcome to the neighborhood!
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vb
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Canterbury, New Zealand
4

Spacious, character home

  • 4 of 5
We had a wonderful stay, this house is very spacious, well appointed and in an amazing location. Very well priced and the owners were extremely responsive and helpful.
My favourite place nearby was the tidal pools, about 15 mins drive away, surfing was also close by and a trip to the volcanic region is not far.
Lots to do and see, had a wonderful time, thank you!
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the thoughtfulness of these guests from down under (New Zealand). We were able to work out the dates, check-in and out times, and other details for their stay in just a couple of days. Thank you for being our guests!
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vb
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Chicago, IL
5

Splendid accommodations!

  • 5 of 5
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the property. It was perfect for our party of 6. Spacious and welcoming, the house was more than we could ask for. It was clean and neat and very relaxing. Our children just loved all of the space outside to run and play. Thank you so much Tim for making our Hawaiian vacation a memorable one.
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We enjoy helping our guests enjoy their time in Hawaii and at our home. Lava viewing, surfing, parks, gardens and zoo - we can help you get to where you want to go!
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
The back road to Pohoiki surfing at Isaac Hale State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Picnic and play!
Nearest Point of Interest
Pahoa Village - good restaurants and more!
Nearest Point of Interest
Best Farmer's Market on the island! Sundays til 2
Nearest Point of Interest
Spectacular Lava Viewing!
Nearest Point of Interest
Kalapana Highway - road to nowhere
Nearest Point of Interest
Trees formed from lava
Nearest Point of Interest
Hot ponds!
Nearest Point of Interest
Isaac Hale State Park rocks!
Nearest Point of Interest
Volcano National Park
Car: recommended

Short drive to spectacular views when the hot lava is flowing into the sea. Ask us about guided tours, or see our links!

Kona side Vacation Rental by same owners; see http://www.vrbo.com/367554

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Pahoa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Mid-Year Special Rate (1-2 pp)
May 1 2014 - Nov 15 2014
4 night minimum stay
$75
$475
$1,850
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving (1-2 pp)
Nov 16 2014 - Nov 30 2014
7 night minimum stay
$575
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Season (1-2 people)
Dec 15 2014 - Jan 15 2015
7 night minimum stay
$695
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season (1-2 people)
Jan 16 2015 - Apr 30 2015
4 night minimum stay
$90
$595
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$85
$545
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Property Damage Protection $89
Cleaning Fee 1-2 pp $120 + Tax
+Clean 3+people/2+weeks $30 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes All Rates above require payment by eCheck (Vacation Rental Payments). Standard Rate is for 1-2 people.
3% convenience fee for payment by U.S. Mastercard, VISA or Discover; 4% convenience fee for international Mastercard or VISA.
Maximum six people, including children.
Security deposit refundable if no damage or heavy cleaning; refunded back to payment bank account or credit card.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Pahoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Internet ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
Kitchen:
  • Stove ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Pantry Items ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Toilet lid has built-in child seat
  • Tiled tub surrounds
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , en suite bath; extra chair may be moved to the living room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , extra chair may be moved to the living or dining area
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Please let us handle the trundle twin bed, thank you!
  • King size bed (1), Queen size Bed (1), Twin beds (2) . Bed guard rail available upon request to convert one bed into a child bed; Pack N' Play also available to reserve for your toddler. Please mention your interest in your initial inquiry, thanks!
Entertainment:
  • Stereo ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Books ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • boating
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • shelling
  • bird watching
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hunting big game
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • hunting
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • surfing
  • deepsea fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • golf
Notes:
UV water purification system with rain water collected in our catchment tank, fruit trees, pineapple and strawberry plants. Verizon cell phone coverage; others limited.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$600 per week
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$510 - $670 per week
4 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$900 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10