Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Rattlesnake, UM, Downtown Custom Craftsman 3BR

Paul N Cooley

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Paul N Cooley

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Rattlesnake, UM, Downtown Custom Craftsman 3BR

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Missoula House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

This parkside home, is perfectly situated at the bottom of the Rattlesnake neighborhood in beautiful Missoula, Montana. It was completely remodeled within the last 18 months with hickory floors, new stainless steel appliances and new paint and fixtures. The home is a five-minute walk to Mount Jumbo and The University of Montana (UM), a five to ten minute stroll to the Riverfront Trail system, and a fifteen minute walk to downtown, the Farmers Market (May-November), nightclubs and restaurants. A grocery, hardware, and video store are in the mall which is a ten-minute walk from your front door. There is a city park across the street and a view of Mount Jumbo from the deck.

You can float the Clark Fork River, walk home with your tube or stop at Finn and Porter for a drink and/or a bite to eat without ever getting in your car. A motorhome, motorcycle or bike rental may be available directly through the owner of this home for an additional fee. ( For these additions, you will need to reserve them in advance) In fifteen minutes, guests can be at the base of Snow Bowl Ski Resort for downhill skiing or in Pattee Canyon for cross country skiing or on the river fly fishing. Guests can walk to Caras Park for music and food at Out to Lunch or ride a bike to Ogren Field to watch the Osprey ( rookie pro league) play baseball .

Sargent Gregory Park is ten yards away. Greenough Park and Rattlesnake Creek are just five minutes away, and the Rattlesnake Wilderness Gateway, a popular spot for mountain biking, hiking and bird watching, is just a ten-minute drive away. This home features Bosch and JennAir stainless steel appliances, new furniture, plasma HD TV, ceiling fans, air conditioning, an on-demand hot water heater for endless hot showers, a deck with a gas BBQ and beautiful views of Lolo Peak. If you need additional space, I have a luxury 33 foot Class A Monaco Motorhome with Leather interior, its own bathroom and sleeping for four more ( two on the hideabed) that I can set up in the driveway for an additional $100 per night, ( five night minimum). It can be a great place to get away from the rest of the crowd for a nap or a respite when the family and friends are around.

Home, house, walking distance to The University of Montana, downtown, Fishing, riverfront trail system, Hiking, Wilderness, Stores, Farmers Market, Osprey, UM, Rattlesnake

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Paul N Cooley (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015

About Paul N Cooley

I am a 59 year old semi retired professional who rents out his home in order to help me travel the world and country. I recycle your vacational rental dollars into my vacation rental tourist dollars all over the US and world. I am ex Grizzly and been in Montana for 36 years. If you are concerned about who you are renting from, I can provide answers and references.

Paul N Cooley purchased this house in 2005

Why Paul N Cooley chose Missoula

I personally built this home with my own two hands. I lived in this home for many years before I took some time off to travel and when I return, I love sitting in front of the fire, reading in the morning. The home was completely remodeled 18 months ago and everything in the home is basically brand new. It is very special to me and my family. I have lived in Missoula since 1975 and I can help you find the enjoyment in it too.

What makes this house unique

Its only after living here that you truly appreciate the lower Rattlesnake, which is a true walking neighborhood. You can walk everywhere to the things you need or want to do and because your neighbors do, you will meet many of them very quickly. Once you get here, you won't need a car. You can have a drink with dinner and walk home. Walk to a baseball game, OUT TO LUNCH, or the library or Children's theatre. The best part for me and for you might be just sitting next to the fire reading.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Please keep the halibut and cook it up for friends who enjoy Alaska fish. We had a great stay and enjoyed your home. Location was very convenient and the home was beautiful..... all in all a high quality rental.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 11

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 27 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Rattlesnake, UM, Downtown Custom Craftsman 3BR
average rating of 4.814815 based on 38 reviews
Berlin, Germany

Great location, better than the pictures

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at this property during our Christmas vacation. There was enough room to comfortably fit the 7 of us (one teenager, 4 young adults and 2 parents). We used the house as a hub for ski and cross country skiing trips. The location is great. Downtown bars and restaurants are in walking distance and the bus stop for the free city bus is close by. There is also a grocery store within a 5 minute walk. When we come back to Missoula we will definitely rent the house again.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This family was easy to rent to and easy to get along with.. and other vacation owners should feel comfortable renting to them. They are welcome back.

Better than the pictures, perfect location

  • 5 of 5

I reserved this property with my boyfriend, and both of our sets of parents (3 couples) for three days. When we got there, the property looked even better than the pictures. The downstairs is gorgeous, with a nice size kitchen, dining room, and living room that was more than enough space for the 6 of us. It also included a full bath and laundry room that we took advantage of. The outside deck added almost half as much room, and we barbecued one night.

All the bedrooms were larger than we expected from the pictures, and no complaints about anything there. The bathroom upstairs is a little small, but perfectly fine considering the sizable one downstairs.

We reserved this location to go to a concert at the Grizz stadium, and it couldn't have been more perfect. People were actually parking in front of our house to walk there! We had a nice relaxing dinner on the deck while people scrambled for spaces, and then walked across the park right next to the house and were at the concert in minutes.

We also walked from the house to float down the river in tubes, and one night even walked downtown for drinks. Downtown is a tiny bit far to walk, but it was fine on a gorgeous night.

Our only complaint was its proximity to the highway made it a little bit loud at night, but it really wasn't a very big deal.

Next time I need to stay in Missoula, I definitely hope this place is available.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are close to the freeway, but the house is super insulated so you cant' hear it once in the house. Life has trade offs and this location has a park across the alley, fifteen feet away that you get for the location... you can watch your kids play in an acre park and you have a view of Lolo Peak and Mount Sentinel. All of the hotels are in the same location so I feel like our guests get more from the location, than they give... Thanks for the nice review... These were good guests...
Anchorage, AK

Family Friendly Upscale Accomodations!

  • 5 of 5

We were delighted when this beautifully remodeled property was available at the last had air conditioning, which was what our previous location did not have! We enjoyed the large bedrooms with their ceiling fans as well as the large kitchen prep area. We enjoyed our morning coffee in the shade on the south-facing deck. Great location for daily walks on the Rattlesnake trail, the River Walk and to a large grocery store. The owner came by to check on our comfort and offered suggestions to local activities. This was a very comfortable and "cool" home base for our Missoula area trip!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Cute house, excellent location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this location for over a week in July 2014 and loved it. The price was reasonable, Paul was very responsive/accommodating, the kitchen is terrific and reasonably well stocked, the beds are really comfortable, the house abuts a park which was terrific for us as we had two little kids, it also is just a few blocks from the trail up to the L, and the location can't be beat. Even better for us, it is three blocks from the grocery store Albertsons, five blocks from campus, and roughly a mile from downtown--totally walk-able, and it's about three miles from Rattlesnake Recreational Area (awesome biking/hiking/running trails!). The location cannot be beat. It's a great little property and we would highly recommend it and will (hopefully!) get back one day!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Flagstaff, AZ

Good location to live like a local!

  • 4 of 5

Thanks Paul for an excellent stay! I rented this place with my family of 5 adults and 2 kids. We enjoyed the location near Greenough Park with easy access to downtown via foot. The beds were comfortable, the green space across from the back deck was great for frisbee and pick up baseball games. The wifi was good, BBQ worked great and all appliances were top notch. It is a bit loud near the interstate if you wanted to keep your windows open for fresh air, but when closed the noise was non existent. Been to several VRBO's around the country and liked this place well enough to consider a return. Happy vacationing!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Seattle, WA

Better then the photo - Good Location

  • 4 of 5

We rented this home for our daughters graduation from the U of M. The location (being close to U of M & downtown Missoula) was great. We could walk everywhere. We even walked to the "M" - hiked it, walked to the Big Dipper (homemade ice cream) and walked back to the house! We liked the openness of the kitchen which worked well for having others join us for some meals. The bedrooms were nice and comfortable with good dark shades to block out the sun and allow a good long sleep. The park across the street made for an extension of the deck really - and soccer games were easy to watch straight from the deck while enjoying BBQ. We even brought a badminton set which was set up there. The facility was clean and up to date - deluxe washing machine & dryer was handy for doing wash and sending us home with clean clothes. It was also a nice quiet neighborhood. While my sister has done many VRBO homes this was our first, so I was initially nervous - and I really don't think that the picture from the web site shows how cute the house is. The little TV nook (not really so little) made for comfortable relaxing TV watching at the end of the day (and you can rent "A River Runs Threw It" at Crazy Mike's Video in the mall with the Albertsons grocery store maybe a five minute walk away. I am a tough ratings person and I don't know what would have taken it to five stars. It would have been nicer to have a few more pots/pans for cooking, but we made everything work and Paul was nice enough to offer us the left over paper products from previous renters & brought us wine too. I stay in hotels a lot for business and the hardest thing for me is having to go out for every meal. This was more like being at home - it was very comfortable and relaxing - even after all of the events around graduation. Would we rent this home again? In a heart beat. I have every confidence that you will be happy here. Enjoy! Just saw the note - would this be good for people with disabilities - well the bedrooms are all upstairs, but the deck, kitchen and one bathroom are all downstairs. You could sleep on the couch (which was quite comfy) and there are only a few stairs to get in the front door depends on you, but it could work. Go Griz!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice comments...


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Missoula International
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Press Box
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Canyon River
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Interstate 90
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Press Box, Five Guys, Double Tree
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Snow Bowl
Car: not necessary

We have an alternate location near the airport with up to 4 bedrooms, for 150 per night plus tax and cleaning, and we only rent on a weekly basis. Ask me about it and I can send you some information.


Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Missoula House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Short Notice ( 10 days)
May 7 2015 - May 26 2015
3 night minimum stay
High Season
May 28 2015 - Sep 7 2015
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125.00 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Property Damage Protection $79.00
Tax Rate 7.0%
Notes We issue paypal invoices if you wish to use a credit card. Credit cards incur a 3 percent convenience fee and international credit cards incur ANOTHER 3 percent international credit card fee that is not charged if you use a USA bank card. Direct Bank deposits at US, Chase or Wells Fargo, are not charged either fee.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total


Missoula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (3) Two additional people can sleep on the large couches in front of the TV downstairs. Persons over 6 incur a 10 dollar daily fee.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Other Vacation Properties

$1,150 per week
1 - 3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote