Pictures are deceiving
The location to the parks is good. If you don’t want to be in the hustle/bustle of Orlando it’s great. Only 10 minutes to Disney, about 30 minutes to Universal, and 1 hour to Cocoa Beach (via toll road). Wal-Mart was very close as were other stores/restaurants.
The neighborhood is not the greatest. When you come in there are cameras everywhere so you would think you would feel safe. I didn’t. The area is run down. The house directly across the street is empty and overgrown with weeds/bushes. There are plenty of stray cats in the area. The house is next to an open lot which Google had showed a swing set being there. There is no swing set. Only 2 benches.
The house itself could use some work. The tiles in the master shower are chipped/broken and could be replaced. There is mold in the hot tub and on the patio furniture. The top marble piece in the hot tub that separates the hot tub from the pool was not glued on and fell off onto my leg. There are holes in almost all the screens including the outdoor screened area. There is mold on the window in the bedroom with the 2 twin beds. All the vertical blinds are broken. The beds are not the best but not the worst. There was a BRIGHT orange fitted sheet on the master bed. You could see where there was water damage in the kitchen (under cabinets). It sounds like there is dripping water behind the wall in the master bath (left sink).
There is a large rectangular glass table in the entry way of the house. If you have small children, they could easily run into the corner of that table. We made sure to have something visible on each corner the entire time we were there.
There was no kleenex anywhere in the house, no paper towels and only a couple rolls of toilet paper. There are not very many towels for showering and they are not very big. Thank goodness we brought towels for swimming/beach as we ended up using those. Also, there are no extra garbage bags. But they expect you to take out the garbage 2 times a week (Monday and Friday).
The stove and dryer are electric. Did a few loads of laundry and took forever to dry my items.
On our last night there we were greeted by a large roach in the kitchen. GROSS!!!!
Friday morning we were packing to leave (check out is 10am). A lady came to the door at 9am asking when we were leaving. I feel that was rude. Yes, we parked in the garage so maybe she thought we were gone and wanted to clean the house.
Owner's Response: I'm sure that people can appreciate that in Florida many homes have been badly hit by the foreclosure market. however the homes left vacant are out of our control and it would be unfair to rate our home because of a neighbors garden condition. The park next door is regularly maintained by the local authority and I understand they are at present doing a temporary repair on the swing set, again this is not a reflection on the home. The pool area screens are not broken and do not have holes in them. Many guest have loved the home and fully understand that it is a self catering environment and we do supply things like toilet rolls but guests are expected to supply bin bags and their own paper towels during the stay. The spa area / broken slab was in good order prior to this visit and it must be noted that this breakage we did not charge for. The orange bottom sheet is obviously not to these guests liking and we can address that in the future.
On towels supplied we do give sufficient for the home but we are not supplying beach towels for guest use. we did not find any mold in the home and cannot understand that comment at all, plus in a sub tropical environment you do need to be aware of bugs (palmetto bugs as refereed to in the comment) can fly into the home if doors are left open and I see that this did not occur until the end of the stay and was good on arrival and nearly all of the stay.
Our cleaning manager was the person who called on the home because she believed the guest had gone - like in many hotels we do need to ensure we have the maximum time to clean the home prior to further guest arrival.
The glass table is located in the hall way and is very common in many Florida homes and does not constitute a danger, not one incident as happen in the several years of renting.
I can understand that not all homes are everyone's taste but to give a one star rating is completely unfair bearing in mind that comments are related to things out of our control and an assumption and lack of understanding on the part of this guest that certain items should be provided but are not in a self catering rental.
Did you find this review helpful?