SECLUDED VILLA SPECTACULAR VIEWS PETIT PITON & CARRIBBEAN SEA

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SECLUDED VILLA SPECTACULAR VIEWS PETIT PITON & CARRIBBEAN SEA

Soufriere Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Spectacular view of the Petit Piton and Carribbean Sea with spacious terrace; hammock, chaises longues, sitting, dining and cooking areas surrounded by an acre of manicured tropical gardens, with large private pool.

Daily housekeeping provided and gardener for pool maintenance also provided. Excellent outdoor Vermont Casting Barbeque.

Many tropical fruit trees and flowers on the property.

Both bedrooms have four-poster beds with en-suite bathrooms. Comfortable sitting-room area with internet connection. Bose sound-dock available.

Property above the renowned resort of Ladera and the Hotel Chocolat Coco Plantation. The Ladera Resort and other nearby hotels are open to outside guests for dining, entertainment and spa.

Beaches are within 15 minutes from the house (local beach and the Beach at the Jalousie Hotel). Fishing and boating can be arranged from Soufriere.

Shopping: Local supermarkets are well stocked in the town of Soufriere with a local market every Saturday.

A rental car is highly recommended which can by arranged by owner with pick up and drop off at the airport. Taxis are also readily available.

Hikes through the Rain Forrest, visit of the nearby Volcano, botanical gardens, Sulphur Springs Baths can be arranged. Lunches in different hotels of the area with varying spectacular views are always recommended.

For more photos please click on property website below.

Keywords: two-bedrooms, bathrooms en suite, four-poster beds; large terrace, outdoor/indoor kitchen (barbeque), large pool and pool house in one acre of secluded tropical gardens..

More Details
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
Guestbook comments from the owner
We loved our stay at Hermitage Cottage – it was everything you described, and more. St Lucia is just wonderful
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 1
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Volunteering as a physician and a teacher's aid brought us to the Island of St. Lucia 10 years ago. We fell in love with the Island and its people and decided to purchase our home. We still volunteer one month a year in the local hospital, surrounding clinics and the Soufriere Infant School. We have become very involved and attached to the local community.

The Owner purchased this villa in 2005

The view, the tropical gardens and the house with its location were exactly what we were looking for.

We love waking up every morning and facing the magnificent view of the Petit Piton and Caribbean Sea. We enjoy the terrace, barbe-queing and eating local fruits on the property when in season. We also enjoy walking and swimming.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Secluded Villa Spectacular Views Petit Piton & Carribbean Sea
average rating of 4.882353 based on 17 reviews
business
Secluded Villa Spectacular Views Petit Piton & Carribbean Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337056vb
1 905 774 6121
Soufriere St Lucia
Milwaukee, WI
5

HERMITAGE COTTAGE LOVELY, PEACEFUL WITH SPECTACULAR VIEW OF PITONS!

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I spent one week at Hermitage Cottage as a get-away vacation and were not disappointed in the least! We are an older couple that enjoy both the adventure of the outdoors and peace and tranquilty of nature. Hermitage Cottage is located in a beautiful setting with magnificent views as well as being located on the less-touristy side of the island. The property is well decorated, comfortable and stocked with the necessary ammenities for short or long-term visits including internet and phone service, cable television, towels, linen and even snorkeling equipment! Magdelene, Ferrard and Ray (houskeeping, grounds and gardner) are extremely pleasant, helpful and respectful of visitor privacy. They are a wealth of information about the island and locals and went out of their way to assist us during our stay. Hermitage Cottage is a "little piece of heaven" and is close to Soufriere for grocery shopping, Anse Chastenet and Anse de Pitons for snorkeling and located above the cocoa plantation at Hotel Chocolat as well as nature trails of Tet Paul and Gros and Petit Pitons. Restaurants at Ladera and Sugar Beach are down the road along with the Harmony Restaurant at Malgritoute beach. We will defintely return to Hermitage Cottage in the future and highly recommend this property to others wishing to enjoy St. Lucia and not be confined to the typical tourist hotel experience!
  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Villa Spectacular Views Petit Piton & Carribbean Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337056vb
1 905 774 6121
Soufriere St Lucia
5

AMAZING VIEWS AND INCREDIBLE TERRACE

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at Hermitage Cottage for a week during our honeymoon and loved it. The house has this cool open layout. Basically you spend all your time outside on the covered terrace enjoying the views of the pitons. It came especially in handy when it rained (only 1 day) because we got to admire tons of waterfalls cascading down the piton. The hammock was so comfortable as was the bedroom and terrace furniture. The pool was great and view from there was so cool. We loved lounging around by the pool playing scrabble and swimming. Views are incredible! There is a large garden space with lots of fruit trees and plants, which was fun to explore. The drive to the villa at night has this air of mystery and adventure, which we loved. The dirt road is surrounded by thickly vegetated trees and plants leading to a gated stone entrance. The house was about a 20 minute drive to Sugar Beach and a quick drive to Hotel Chocolat or Ladera for dinner. Our one and only regret is that we didn't have full privacy. The house caretaker/gardener lives on the property in the pool house. This wouldn't bother me if we were doing a family trip with kids, but for a romantic getaway it was a tad unfortunate. In any case, we loved the property and would absolutely recommend it! Owners are super nice and very easy to reach. Thank you!
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and we are so happy that you had a wonderful time during your honeymoon at Hermitage Cottage. We realize that our gardener who does not live on the premises, but uses the pool house occasionally during the day may interefere with guests´s privacy and we have advised all future guests who request complete privacy to let us know in advance so that we can organize that our gardener maintains the pool at convenient times. Again thank you we wish you all the best in the future.
business
Secluded Villa Spectacular Views Petit Piton & Carribbean Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337056vb
1 905 774 6121
Soufriere St Lucia
5

A PERFECT HOLIDAY

  • 5 of 5
Unbeatable view. Clean comfortable house. Nice pool. No mosquitoes. Friendly caretakers. Easy to manage transaction with owner. Close to good beaches and dive spots. It all equals a perfect holiday on a beautiful island. A car is needed and the owners recommended rental agent delivered smoothly.
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hermitage Cottage. It gives us great pleasure to hear that our guests have a good experience in our home and appreciate our staff. Thank you.
business
Secluded Villa Spectacular Views Petit Piton & Carribbean Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337056vb
1 905 774 6121
Soufriere St Lucia
5

BREATHTAKING VIEWS

  • 5 of 5
We honeymooned here on May 20, 2013, and were very happy with the property. The view is absolutely incredible, and the cottage itself is a real gem. We wanted to have more privacy than an all inclusive resort, and this is definitely the way to go. You'll need a rental car to get around, but having your own getaway is well worth it. The covered patio is huge! And you really cannot beat the view. The rainy season started a few weeks early this year so we got some rain.

The owners are good people. I can say that from my experience as well as from what I heard from the housekeepers.

Sugar Beach is nice and close, and is free. Beautifully located between the two Petons. We recommend Orlando's for dinner in the town of Soufriere. If you are going to buy fish in town, buy it early in the morning. Everyone in town is very friendly, although you might get asked for money. We never felt unsafe, however.

We would definitely stay here again. Thanks to the owners for everything!
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hermitage Cottage as this is our goal. Thank you for being so considerate to our staff when you were there, they very much appreciated your kindness. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
business
Secluded Villa Spectacular Views Petit Piton & Carribbean Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337056vb
1 905 774 6121
Soufriere St Lucia
Marietta, GA
3

SECLUDED

  • 3 of 5
If you are looking for a secluded place to hang out, this is it. Dirt road leading to the driveway very rocky and bumpy. Also very hard to turn around in the driveway. Roads are very narrow and curvy with big ditches on the side. Driving is stressful. Views were fabulous and the property was very pretty. Definitely a lot of bugs. Not much privacy so if you are travelling with another couple, make sure you know each other well! You have to keep the wood shutters open for air but there is only a curtain over the bathroom. So everytime you need to use the bathroom you have to close the shutters. Otherwise the curtain blows open for all to see! (Really need hooks or something to secure it) If you travel during the rainy season, beware. Water is heated by solar so no sun equals no hot water. I did not enjoy taking cold showers for 2 days. Also did not appreciate the housekeeper doing her laundry and leaving it hanging for us to look at. There was nothing at the house to tied you over to the morning so we had to go grocery shopping upon arrival after travelling all day. They should at least supply you with some water and bread. Lights over the table didn't work. Bring your own entertainment. There was only 1 deck of cards, 1 game of Scrabble and 1 movie. There were some books. Gas stove and grill but only 1 box of matches and when they get damp they don't work. There was a lighter but it was empty. So if you can't start the stove or grill, you can't cook. All the little things made it aggrevating and unenjoyable. Would not rent this house again.
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your more positive review but as the four of you shared the same week, we felt it appropriate to combine both responses. This is a continuation of the our first response.

Hot water. All the villas, including hotels are eco-friendly and hence use solar systems. It is unfortunate that you had “over two days” of cold water but if you had discussed this with Magadalene she would have turned on the water heater for you. Personally we have never had to use it in the 8 years we have owned the house, but it is just a matter of turning a switch on.

Lights. Again, Magadalene would have been able to solve the problem for you but putting back on a breaker switch in the fuse box by the first bedroom which was off on our arrival.

Food in the fridge on arrival. We always indeed make sure that for guests who arrive very late or on sundays we leave, bread, water, milk, butter and eggs, and a few Pitons. This, I agree, should have been done for you but when I read your email prior to your arrival you mentioned that you would be arriving at the house on Saturday at around 2.30 to 3 p.m. you would stop at the house and go to do your shopping immediately afterwards. The shops close at 7 p.m and it is daylight until just before 7 p.m. As far the robbery that you experienced in town, I hope you reported it to the Police. None of our guests have a reported a robbery to us.

All in all, we are most upset that you had such a terrible experience as our aim is to always make sure that our guests enjoy their time at Hermitage Cottage. We take pride in achieving this. We realize that our house is not ideal for everybody and we are always very honest with potential guests. It was nice to see that your friends were not un-sensitive to the stunning views and surrounding gardens.

We wish you had called and emailed us immediately as we are always available to our guests, and had you done so we would have been more than happy to refund you and suggest appropriate hotels. This is a low season so you would not have had any problem finding rooms.

Sadly, the first we heard of your concerns and disappointment is through your VRBO review!

This review along and the one from your friends, are the only two negative reviews we have had over the past 5 years with VRBO and hopefully future guests will contact us directly to find out if Hermitage Cottage is the right holiday for them, as we certainly do not want to experience this ever again.
business
Secluded Villa Spectacular Views Petit Piton & Carribbean Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337056vb
1 905 774 6121
Soufriere St Lucia
Lynch Station Virginia
5

SUSAN AND ROB

  • 5 of 5
Hermitage Cottage was everything we had hoped for and then some! The views from the cottage and the flowers/vegetation etc were spectacular! We took many pictures! Magdalene & Ferrard(housekeeper & grounds keeper) were courteous and very helpful. Ray, who works with the flowers, had two beautiful floral arrangements at the cottage when we arrived. We never saw him, but the flowers were gorgeous!!! We had Magdalene cook for us one night and it was so good and so much food, we ate it two nights!!!...and one morning Ferrard brought us a papaya and another morning he brought mangos and fresh bread!!! We were extremely happy we rented a vehicle from Kay as the owners suggested. It was helpful being met at the airport and having someone to follow to the cottage since we were not accustomed to driving on the right side of the vehicle and on the left side of the road. We enjoyed our 20th Anniversary Celebration and we thank the owners for such a lovely cottage!!!! Oh, and the TIP about shutting up once the sun starts going down was very helpful. We never had a problem with mosquitos and enjoyed sitting out by citronella candlelight and the sounds of the frogs!!! How romantic!!! We would love to visit again!!!!!
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hermitage Cottage. We are indeed very lucky with Magdalene, Ferrard and Ray who are always very helpful to our guests and of course to us.

Map

× This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Soufriere Villa Rental Rates

Notes

  • $1,250 and $2,000
  • US Dollars
  • Nov 01 - April 30 $1,500/week for 2 guests
  • Nov O1 - April 30 $1,750/week for 3 to 4 guests
  • May 01 - Oct 30 $1,250/week for 2 guests
  • May 01 - Oct 30 $1,500/week for 3 to 4 guests
  • Periods over Christmas and New Year's $1,750/week for 2 guests
  • Periods over Christmas and New Year's $2,000/week for 3/4 guests

Amenities

Soufriere Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Mobile Phone
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Gazebo
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • sailing
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • hiking
  • tennis
  • swimming

Other Vacation Properties

$2,500 - $3,650 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$11,900 - $26,180 per week
5 - 14 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 4