Not as Advertised
The cottage is charming, the view is spectacular, and the added bonus of an outdoor fire pit and beach toys was nice, but to be honest, I rented this place believing it had air-conditioning, a microwave, (see amenities list) and linens and it does not. I did complain about the linens and the renters updated the listing to make it more obvious, and did provide the missing coffee pot and toaster and a few extra towels, but still..I traveled 1,200 miles for a family reunion and this house was too hot for my elderly mother to visit and I had to go buy over 200 in linens,blankets and fans (which did not help) which I really could not afford. I find the house over priced considering the lack of a/c, a noisy location (behind Eddies), and huge disappointment. If you live locally, don't mind no air conditioning (there only 5 working windows so cross ventilation is iffy), then it's probably fine. - I'm sorry. Wish I could say I loved it, but my family was miserable.
Owner's Response: The renter was right about her first comments! "The cottage is charming, the view is spectacular, and the added bonus of an outdoor fire pit and beach toys was nice." (which was not advertised, we go above and beyond for our clients/renters) What she did not mention is that we did not advertise air conditioning and we did advertise bring your own towels and linens. (they/she must have overlooked this part) Also we have rented the entire summer before and after her family with nothing but amazing comments and glorious praise. We took care of this lovely family above and beyond. (period). (missing towels that we loaned them and linens that they were not charged for....hmmmm) As in the description..."Vintage Beach House" it was built in 1856. It has plank floors and walls. Air-conditioning is not an option. If the family could have afforded our Luxury Properties that start at $3750 to $5,000 a week with ALL the amenities she/they may have been happier. We did not hear not 1 complaint from any other renters! My wife and I are sorry for your misery!! PS This renter did not even let us know of her misery until almost a month and a half later. Some people can't be pleased no matter what! Next time read the description or spend more money and rent an updated luxury cottage instead of a beach vintage cottage! This lovely woman sounds like the cottage is not the only thing she is miserable about! WOW I'M AMAZED!!! Wish we could have helped her out more...NOT! Sorry Miserable??? Please don't come back to our part of paradise. Best Wishes!
Helpful votes: 5/10
Did you find this review helpful?