Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

ALTITUDE COZINESS - SHENANDOAH MOUNTAINS AFFORDABLE CABIN!

Owner

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, italian
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Owner

Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ALTITUDE COZINESS - SHENANDOAH MOUNTAINS AFFORDABLE CABIN!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Luray Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Studio Cabin, 1 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Studio cabin, mountaintop wooded area, hike into the Shenandoah National Park!

A perfect place for a romantic gateway, or for a family. You can relax in the cool mountain air, at an altitude of 2700 feet, on the deck overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains, enjoy star-gazing, and hike nearby Shenandoah National Park. Altitude Coziness is located in Skyline Lakes Property-holder Association of 490 peaceful tranquil acres.

Studio cabin has one large room for living, dining areas and bedroom. Kitchen is separated by a wall, bathroom is private. TV/DVD/VCR but no satellite or cable reception, wood burning fireplace, firewood provided, linens provided, close to great hiking options, and nearby fishing pond. Skyline Lakes borders the Shenandoah National Park.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Owner (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2014

About Owner

We are a family of 5, with three young and energetic boys! We live close to Washington, DC. We love the outdoors and like to go to our Shenandoah cabin!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
- 301-221-5869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

Peaceful and cozy

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I stayed in the cabin this past week and we loved it. It wasn't hard to get to and the cabin itself was very well maintained. I would definitely recommend staying here and we will most certainly go back to stay again.
The only thing I would recommend adding would be a small humidifier for people staying in the cold seasons. The air tends to get rather dry in the mountains.

Thank you! :)
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lydia, for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again! Great suggestion for the humidifier -- we'll take care of that.
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
- 301-221-5869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

Peaceful and Pleasant Stay

  • 5 of 5
My fiance and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Altitude Coziness. It was quiet, peaceful, and we'd recommend it to anyone wanting to get away for a weekend or longer. Everything was as advertised, the cabin was well-stocked, and the pictures give a good sense of the cabin's intimate, cozy character. The directions provided with the rental agreement were clear and understandable, and it was easy going into Luray and Shenandoah National Park. Enthusiastically recommended.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again in the future.
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
- 301-221-5869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

Beautiful Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
Cabin was great! Went fly-fishing at Naked Creek (bushwhacking hike) and had a spectacular weekend. Had a fire, watched the stars, barbecued and slept well. Cabin was very clean, well stocked with everything you need, very enjoyable deck with mountain and valley views, beautiful starry sky at night. We needed to hunt a few stink bugs here and there, but hard to keep those completely away when you have a cabin in the wild. Will come again!
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
- 301-221-5869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
3

Minus the issue we had we would give this 4 stars

  • 3 of 5
We enjoyed our stay at the cabin. It was relaxing and pretty much what I was looking for. We had an issue when we arrived that threatened to ruin our stay however had it not been for the owner's genuinely empathetic nature we would have just left. He was very accommodating, fixed the issues that we had, and even gave us a deal on the stay. I truly appreciate that. There are a few suggestions I would make:

-Place a tarp over the firewood or move it under the house to keep it from getting waterlogged
-Check the cabin a day or even hours before check in prior to when guests are scheduled to arrive
-Housekeeping should clean thoroughly (complete interior of refrigerator, under bed, couches, wash curtains, sweep/vacuum near water heater etc)
-Fix prolonging issues (toilet leaking was logged in book since Sept, box springs for bed are broken need to be replaced)
-Possibly think about updating appliances in kitchen and updating the bathroom

It may sound critical but honestly these things are easily rectified (with the exception of updating the bathroom and appliances) and I'm sure will be as previously stated the owner seems to truly want guests to have a great experience. We did enjoy our stay! Thank you!
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brittany, I am sorry your experience was less than outstanding, which is what we want our guests to have! We are slated to do some renovation in the Spring, which will take care of some of the suggestions you had.

Our housekeeper Brenda is very thorough and she takes a lot of pride in having high customer satisfaction, so I am sure she will also take your suggestions seriously.

For the firewood, we actually moved it from under the house to outside and left it uncovered, because it is best to let it air out. Unless you have days of continuous rain, usually the wetness is only superficial. The benefit of letting it exposed to the sun is greater than the superficial rain.

Thanks again for staying with us; we hope to have you back next year and have you experience a 5-star stay.
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
- 301-221-5869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
4

Great Cabin!

  • 4 of 5
The cabin was very comfortable and came with everything we could want. It was very clean, and everything described in the post was in good condition. The outside deck and yard are great for sitting out and watching the stars. The only downside is that it is a bit of a challenge to get to, since the road is steep and unpaved. However, the directions given in the rental agreement were very clear and easy to follow, even in fog. There's also weak cell reception, but that might be a good thing for a weekend away. Overall a great place to stay, and I would return again.
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
- 301-221-5869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

excellent

  • 5 of 5
Excellent, A-plus. Very remote, private cabin. Cozy & peaceful, extremely quiet. Went to Luray nearby to a very high-quality art gallery (Warehouse), and to parks in the area such as at Stanley area. Cabin itself was excellent, nice kitchen, deck. Fun to be there in the snow.
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! Yes, this year, the March snow has been incredible! We got over 2 feet of snow at the beginning of March, and then had two more snow events with a few inches. I also love the cabin in the snow (even though it can be tricky to get there in icy conditions). Thanks again!

Map

Altitude Coziness is located South of Luray off of RT. 340 in Tanner's Ridge near the town of Stanley, Va. 22851. You can expect a 13 mile drive to the town of Luray. Altitude Coziness is located in Skyline Lakes Property-holder Association of 490 peaceful tranquil acres.

Owner will provide detailed directions.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $100 Per night

Luray Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season (2014-2015)
Dec 1 2014 - Apr 14 2015
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$140
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Luray Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Studio cabin
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • caves
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote