ALTITUDE COZINESS - SHENANDOAH MOUNTAINS AFFORDABLE CABIN!

Owner

Speaks french, italian, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Owner

Speaks french, italian, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ALTITUDE COZINESS - SHENANDOAH MOUNTAINS AFFORDABLE CABIN!

Luray Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Studio Cabin, 1 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Studio cabin, mountaintop wooded area, hike into the Shenandoah National Park!

A perfect place for a romantic gateway, or for a family. You can relax in the cool mountain air, at an altitude of 2700 feet, on the deck overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains, enjoy star-gazing, and hike nearby Shenandoah National Park. Altitude Coziness is located in Skyline Lakes Property-holder Association of 490 peaceful tranquil acres.

Studio cabin has one large room for living, dining areas and bedroom. Kitchen is separated by a wall, bathroom is private. TV/DVD/VCR but no satellite or cable reception, wood burning fireplace, firewood provided, linens provided, close to great hiking options, and nearby fishing pond. Skyline Lakes borders the Shenandoah National Park.

Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome

Owner

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks french, italian, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We are a family of 5, with three young and energetic boys! We live close to Washington, DC. We love the outdoors and like to go to our Shenandoah cabin!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
+1 3012215869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

BEAUTIFUL WEEKEND!

  • 5 of 5
Cabin was great! Went fly-fishing at Naked Creek (bushwhacking hike) and had a spectacular weekend. Had a fire, watched the stars, barbecued and slept well. Cabin was very clean, well stocked with everything you need, very enjoyable deck with mountain and valley views, beautiful starry sky at night. We needed to hunt a few stink bugs here and there, but hard to keep those completely away when you have a cabin in the wild. Will come again!
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
+1 3012215869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
3

MINUS THE ISSUE WE HAD WE WOULD GIVE THIS 4 STARS

  • 3 of 5
We enjoyed our stay at the cabin. It was relaxing and pretty much what I was looking for. We had an issue when we arrived that threatened to ruin our stay however had it not been for the owner's genuinely empathetic nature we would have just left. He was very accommodating, fixed the issues that we had, and even gave us a deal on the stay. I truly appreciate that. There are a few suggestions I would make:

-Place a tarp over the firewood or move it under the house to keep it from getting waterlogged
-Check the cabin a day or even hours before check in prior to when guests are scheduled to arrive
-Housekeeping should clean thoroughly (complete interior of refrigerator, under bed, couches, wash curtains, sweep/vacuum near water heater etc)
-Fix prolonging issues (toilet leaking was logged in book since Sept, box springs for bed are broken need to be replaced)
-Possibly think about updating appliances in kitchen and updating the bathroom

It may sound critical but honestly these things are easily rectified (with the exception of updating the bathroom and appliances) and I'm sure will be as previously stated the owner seems to truly want guests to have a great experience. We did enjoy our stay! Thank you!
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brittany, I am sorry your experience was less than outstanding, which is what we want our guests to have! We are slated to do some renovation in the Spring, which will take care of some of the suggestions you had.

Our housekeeper Brenda is very thorough and she takes a lot of pride in having high customer satisfaction, so I am sure she will also take your suggestions seriously.

For the firewood, we actually moved it from under the house to outside and left it uncovered, because it is best to let it air out. Unless you have days of continuous rain, usually the wetness is only superficial. The benefit of letting it exposed to the sun is greater than the superficial rain.

Thanks again for staying with us; we hope to have you back next year and have you experience a 5-star stay.
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
+1 3012215869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
4

GREAT CABIN!

  • 4 of 5
The cabin was very comfortable and came with everything we could want. It was very clean, and everything described in the post was in good condition. The outside deck and yard are great for sitting out and watching the stars. The only downside is that it is a bit of a challenge to get to, since the road is steep and unpaved. However, the directions given in the rental agreement were very clear and easy to follow, even in fog. There's also weak cell reception, but that might be a good thing for a weekend away. Overall a great place to stay, and I would return again.
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
+1 3012215869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
5

EXCELLENT

  • 5 of 5
Excellent, A-plus. Very remote, private cabin. Cozy & peaceful, extremely quiet. Went to Luray nearby to a very high-quality art gallery (Warehouse), and to parks in the area such as at Stanley area. Cabin itself was excellent, nice kitchen, deck. Fun to be there in the snow.
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! Yes, this year, the March snow has been incredible! We got over 2 feet of snow at the beginning of March, and then had two more snow events with a few inches. I also love the cabin in the snow (even though it can be tricky to get there in icy conditions). Thanks again!
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
+1 3012215869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
Arlington, VA
4

ROMANTIC FIREPLACE, PRETTY VIEWS

  • 4 of 5
My husband and I enjoyed our fall retreat here in early October 2012.

Pros:
The cabin is way out on Tanner's Ridge and has amazing views from all of the windows and the back porch of wonderul trees and countryside. The bed was comfy, the kitchen was well-stocked, and you could cozy up in front of the fireplace on the sofa or see the fire from the bed. There was lots of firewood under the porch, so we kept it going every evening all evening long. The cabin had HUGE windows on all sides with great views, so it was nice to hang out in the mornings before heading out on day adventures.

One day we followed the owner's advice to park at the end of Tanner's Ridge Road and walk into the SNP. It took 45 minutes from where we parked the car to get to the Big Meadow's visitor's center, from where you can head out on any number of hikes. (FYI: There were tons of NO PARKING signs all around, but we asked a neighbor if we could park and he said the signs were mostly for winter in case the plows needed to get through. So park at your own risk.)

The other day we rented a canoe from the Downriver Canoe Co in Bentonville and spent 3 hours on the river, which was a fun day activity. And the adorable small town of Luray was having a fall festival complete with pumpkin patches, apple cider, etc. A great way to spend a fall day!

Cons:
There was a dead mouse in the toilet when we arrived. We flushed it. Gross, but easy to solve. And there were some bugs inside, especially the first night. But that's to be expected with a cabin in nature. The only other con is that there ARE some neighbors around, but not too many and not too close.

The road to get from Tanner's Ridge Road to the cabin is gravel, very twisty, and at times steep. A small car may not make it in heavy snow or ice, but otherwise you're ok.

Suggestion: Bring a lot of firewood inside as soon as you get there so that it can dry out. It's damp under the porch and that wood was hard to light right away. There were a few dry logs to get started, but not enough to last multiple nights.

Overall - would recommend! Enjoy!
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Ouch about the mouse! Really sorry about that and we will definitely take appropriate actions.
On the no-parking signs at the end of Tanners Ridge, yes, I concur with the person you talked to. You can also park a little further back, if you want to be 100% sure.
And, finally, very good suggestion for the firewood -- as a matter of fact, I will make an additional pile of firewood in a sunny spot, and maybe leave some in the shed as well.
Thank you again!
business
Altitude Coziness - Shenandoah Mountains Affordable Cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336419
+1 3012215869
Luray Shenandoah Valley
Virginia
5

QUIET PLACE FOR REST

  • 5 of 5
This is a sweet cabin nestled up the mountain and into the woods! It's a perfect place to getaway from the city and experience quiet and rest. The cabin is very well maintained, clean, and the pictures are accurate.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommends others to visit also!
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Email Owner Email

Map

Altitude Coziness is located South of Luray off of RT. 340 in Tanner's Ridge near the town of Stanley, Va. 22851. You can expect a 13 mile drive to the town of Luray. Altitude Coziness is located in Skyline Lakes Property-holder Association of 490 peaceful tranquil acres.

Owner will provide detailed directions.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Luray Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season (2014)
Apr 15 2014 - Nov 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$95
From
$160
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Off Season (2014-2015)
Dec 1 2014 - Apr 14 2015
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$140
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Luray Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Alarm Clock
  • Firewood
  • Paper Towels
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Studio cabin
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • zoo
  • caves
  • forests
  • pond
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • walking
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • kayaking
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hunting
Email Owner Email