Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Classic waterfront estate located in beautiful Sombrero Beach.

Jim Austin

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Jim Austin

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 14, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Classic waterfront estate located in beautiful Sombrero Beach.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Marathon Villa Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 10 -- 12

Casa Del Sol is a classic waterfront estate situated on a large corner lot. The interior includes a new gourmet kitchen with granite counter tops and premium appliances. An old world charm is captured through the use of arches and stone columns. All rooms, including bedrooms and baths are large, airy, and sun drenched. At either end of the house, the two master bedrooms extend out onto beautiful covered balconies and include full private bathrooms. The floors throughout are laid with a rustic travertine marble.

A large brick patio and pool area on the water side overlook 250' of dock space. A covered barbecue area with built in appliances to include a premium gas grill, power burner, Big Green Egg smoker, and sink are surrounded by mature landscaping. An inviting setting for family and friends of all ages.

Casa Del Sol is Marathon rental # PLR 2012 00436

Weekly Rentals: Weekly rentals in the Keys {and generally elsewhere } are based on a Saturday - Saturday occupancy. Check - in is on Saturday at 3:00 PM, and check - out is on the following Saturday at 10:00 AM. If other times are required \ requested this must be discussed with the homeowner or rental agent. Casa del Sol is Marathon PLR# 2011 - 00436.

# 335110 Gooseberry Island: Please also check out our private island off the coast of Maine, ' Home Away ' # 335110. Gooseberry Island is located at the mouth of Portsmouth Harbor and has an unobstructed view of the open ocean, three light houses , two pre - Revolutionary war forts , as well as the harbor itself. The beautifully appointed cottage and near by rustic cabin can accomodate up to six people. This is a totally private island with no other dwellings ----- your own private kingdom ! Excellent swimming, beaching, and fishing right from the island. Please see our site for complete details and pictures.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Jim Austin (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 14, 2015

About Jim Austin

For years we vacationed in the islands and then later to Central America for holidays. We finally settled on Caye Caulker, in Belize ,where we spent many years. As we got older we wanted to find a place in the US where travel would be easier and medical services better.

Marathon offered all of that yet still had the island feel. Surprisingly it also turned out to be better fishing all around than any of the other places that we had gone.

Jim Austin purchased this villa in 2001

Why Jim Austin chose Marathon

We chose this property for it's size and privacy. We have five boys and a girl and we wanted to have plenty of room for the whole family. The house needed total rennovation which was good as we were able to do just about everything that we wanted to do with it.

What makes this villa unique

Fabulous place for a family reunion or celebration of any kind. Large enough to sleep 14 people .

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 44 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Classic waterfront estate located in beautiful Sombrero Beach.
average rating of 4.9772725 based on 44 reviews
4

Great Place to Stay in Marathon

  • 4 of 5

PROS

- The property is huge. The landscaping is very well done. The backyard is private from the neighbors on both sides, but there are 2-3 homes directly across the waterway.

- The bedrooms are big, plenty of closets and dressers.

- More than enough bathrooms.

- The layout is great for a big group, plenty of space to all be together in the living room, or spread out in multiple groups and not be on top of each other.

- The kitchen is very spacious.

- The outdoor grill area is essential!

- And last, but not least, the owners were very reasonable and very kind people (as is mentioned in EVERY review!)

CONS

I hate to be the first one to give it less than 5 stars, but unfortunately, for us, there were a few things that kept it from being a "perfect" 5 stars.

- During our initial walk-through, the owner told us she would come back to replace a table, but we weren't given details about when and we didn't receive an email or phone call before she showed up the next morning to do so. It happened again the day after that, no heads up phone call or email. We felt those things should be done in the 6-hr window on Saturday between guests OR we should have been given proper notification.

- Only 1 out of the 4 bedrooms upstairs has blinds. Every other room in the house is without blinds and therefore lacking privacy and completely bright as soon as the sun comes up. Beware if you want to sleep in.

- The back of the house faces East, NE. This means, IN THE WINTER, the pool gets full sun until about 11am. If you're sunbathing and sitting on the waterway side of the pool, you can get sun for another 2-3hrs, but by 2pm it was all shade. I was told this is a "PRO" in the summer months so you can enjoy the backyard without direct sunlight, but we rented in December and had a small window for afternoon sun.

- We had no floor mats in the bathrooms, we used towels so we wouldn't slip getting out of the shower. I'm sure if we called they would have brought their own bath mats from their house that's how accommodating the owners were.

All in all it was a great rental and a lot can be said about having great support from the owners. I would recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kevin, thanks for your review and we were pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Just a few observations. First, as you mentioned, we did advise on Saturday that we wanted to return the next day to retrieve a table which you very kindly offered to place outside for us. When we came over the next morning, it was not there, and again you said that you would put it outside for us. The following morning we picked it up. We assumed that since we had discussed the pick up with you in advance on both occasions, that we did not need to advise you again that we would be coming over. My wife makes every effort to make sure that our guests are comfortable, and is extremely sorry if she disturbed your privacy . As far as window blinds are concerned, your point is well taken, and will be addressed for the future. Since we have children old enough to be your parents , we believe the generation gap is showing here ! When you reach our age you will also be awake well before there is any concern about window shades ! Now, to address the orientation of the house. It is true that in the deep of winter the sun does abandon the pool area by mid afternoon. We do, however, have over 100' of dock space just below the pool area where sun worshipers can enjoy basking until later in the afternoon. In the hot weather guests are thrilled to be shaded from the afternoon sun, making it enjoyable to dine outdoors and yet be out of the heat. As for the bathmats, they were in the linen closet in the hallway--- the same place where the towels and sheets are kept. We are not sure how you missed them, but a call would have solved that situation. Thanks ! Jim & Tudor
Huntsville, AL
5

Family Fun in the Keys

  • 5 of 5

The house is not only beautiful, it is perfect for a large family group. Our family had a memory filled vacation. We enjoyed cooking inside and at the outdoor kitchen. The large dining table was great for eating and family game nights. The setting is awesome with easy access to Sombrero Beach with amazing sunsets perfect for family photos. We rented kayaks and toured the canals and area easily from the dock. The whole family played in and around the pool. The house is situated close to restaurants and attractions. I have already recommended this home to another family looking for a vacation spot

perfect for all ages.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Susan, Thanks for your kind review ! Tudor and I enjoyed having you at our house in Marathon. The weather was fantastic as usual for that time of year so you were able to really enjoy all that Marathon has to offer. We hope to see you back here again at some time, thanks ! Jim & Tudor
5

Great family retreat

  • 5 of 5

It was very comforting knowing that Jim & Tudor live around the corner from the rental. They met us upon arrival to go through the home, answering any questions about the house along with giving recommendations for local restaurants. The house has plenty of space for the entire family. During the week, we were able to contact Tudor for any items that needed corrected or to borrow items for cooking. Jim was kind enough to treat us to some freshly caught fish !

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review ! We enjoyed meeting all of you and were glad that enjoyed the "catch of the day" ! Hope to see you back here in the future, Jim & Tudor
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
5

Home away from home in the Keys...

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a very enjoyable week at this house. With five bedrooms and five baths, there was plenty of room for everyone. Three things that we particularly appreciated: 1) The location, towards the upper end of the estuary, was particularly quiet and private (very little boat traffic) with lovely views, yet the main road through Marathon was just a short 5 minute drive away. Nearby on this road were two dive shops, several boat rental outfits, lots of fun and casual restaurants, a supermarket, a drugstore, and a beautiful resort (Tranquility Bay) if you were in the mood for formal dining (superb desserts by the way...); 2) The house boasts a spacious, covered upstairs terrace that spans the entire side facing the canal, accessible from the Master and three of the four other bedrooms...a lovely and cool place to gather and relax at any time of the day. There is also an outdoor barbecue area on the ground floor, although we never used it; 3) The owners, Jim and Tudor, were very pleasant and efficient to work with, and we felt that the house offered excellent value for money. It's an older house for sure, but it feels very homey and has a very practical layout in addition to the superb location. In short, an excellent time was had by all!

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christopher, thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your input as your comments are very helpful for future guests. It was especially interesting to hear the insights of a Californian on the merits of the Florida Keys. We hope that you will visit with us again --- thanks !!
5

Breathe taking home, with TONS of amenities!!!!!! We loved the entire house, boat and pool!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a week for my husbands 40th bday, with our entire family. All I can say is WOW!!!! The pics online are great, but the drive appreal was out of this world!!! We had the best time as a family together. We loved that everyone could sleep in the house, with plenty of room. The boat was the icing on the cake!! We snorkeled at Sombreo Reef, saw beautiful fish. We went during lobster season, and caught a few. We ended up buying 35lbs for market from a local fishermans boat. We ate like kings, every night!! The outdoor egg and grill area was my husband, uncle and cousins favorite spot:) The pool was smaller than expected, but just perfect. We cannot wait to visit again!!!! Oh, I almost forget.... we loved seeing all the land crabs nestled in the stones by the dock. If you walk very slowely, you can see them in their wholes. I saw them on several occasions out of their wholes, on the dock. They are cute, and super fast!!!

Thank you for making memory files for life!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sheri, thanks for your kind response ! We are pleased that you made good use of the outdoor kitchen and the Green Egg. It sounds like you had fun with catching your own lobsters -- wish we had been there as well !
Daytona Beach
5

Boys Getaway

  • 5 of 5

To start off, I would like to say how awesome it was dealing with the homeowner and the grounds keeper who were both very accommodating and easy to get a hold of.

This house was amazing! The house was very accommodating for the 10 of us, especially with the extra suit off the kitchen. The outdoor kitchen was sweet! it was the first time ever using a Green Egg and it was great!

All of the living areas and common areas were very spacious. There was plenty of parking space for vehicles and the neighbors were very friendly. The house is located approximately 1.5 miles from Sombrero Beach which was an awesome scenic run.

There is a gas stove with heat lamps in the inside kitchen if you like to cook.

I would recommend this home to anyone. It was pure paradise!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sean, thanks for your review. We are very pleased that you had such a good time in our house. We hope to see you back in the future, Jim & Tudor

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Marathon Municipal
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
several in area
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Key West
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sombrero Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US Rt. 1 { Overseas highway --- mile marker 50 }
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Barracuda Grill
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Sombrero Beach
Car: recommended

The quaint tropical village of Marathon is conveniently located in the middle of the keys island chain. Fifty miles from Key West, and 100 miles from Miami, it has become the destination of choice for the outdoor enthusiast. Nature watching, abundant marine life, beautiful beaches and world class diving can be enjoyed by the entire family. Home to fabulous sport fishing; whether on the blue waters of the gulf stream or Florida Bay's renown back country, the variety of fishing is unparalleled. Other activities may include a dolphin show, Marathon's live theatre, a game of tennis or golf, or just plain relaxing. Marathon's climate is ideal,with average mid winter temperatures ranging from 65 - 80, and summer from 75 to the upper 80s. Area restaurants are many and varied, most of them built on or over the water. Whether the cuisine is local or international, most restaurants will feature the freshest of fish, lobster, stone crab, as well as the fantastic Key West pink shrimp.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $3,250 Per week

Marathon Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Spring
Apr 25 2015 - May 22 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,750
 
 
Summer
May 23 2015 - Jul 24 2015
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
Mini Lobster
Jul 25 2015 - Jul 31 2015
7 night minimum stay
$6,000
 
 
Lobster season Opener
Aug 1 2015 - Aug 7 2015
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
Summer
Aug 8 2015 - Aug 28 2015
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
Early Fall
Aug 29 2015 - Oct 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,250
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 31 2015 - Nov 20 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,250
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2015 - Nov 27 2015
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 28 2015 - Dec 18 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,750
 
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2015 - Dec 25 2015
7 night minimum stay
$5,500
 
 
New Years
Dec 26 2015 - Jan 1 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$6,000
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2016 - Mar 18 2016
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 19 2016 - Mar 25 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,750
 
 
Spring
Mar 26 2016 - Apr 29 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 30 2016 - May 27 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,750
 
 
Summer
May 28 2016 - Jul 22 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
Mini Lobster
Jul 23 2016 - Jul 29 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$6,500
 
 
Summer
Jul 30 2016 - Aug 5 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
Lobster Season Opener
Aug 6 2016 - Aug 12 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
Summer
Aug 13 2016 - Aug 26 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
Fall
Aug 27 2016 - Nov 18 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,250
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 25 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 23 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,750
 
 
Christmas
Dec 24 2016 - Dec 30 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$5,500
 
 
New Years
Dec 31 2016 - Jan 6 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $275 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
license holder's fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%
Notes Pets are $250 per week if approved by owners.

Cobia 25 1\2' center console with 225 Yamaha 4 stroke is $1350 per week, $850 for 3 days. Glacier Bay 26' catamaran { Canyon Runner } with twin 115 Yamaha 4 strokes $2250. per week , $1250 for three days.

House rentals are from Sat. at 3PM to the next Sat. at 10AM. Boat rentals from Sat. after 3PM til Friday at sunset. Other times by arrangement.
$1000. deposit due at time of reservation which becomes the security deposit. All payments must be paid by personal check, bank check, or wire transfer. Balance of rental due 90 days prior to rental week. A Full refund will be paid 90 days or more prior to rental week, with no refund after the 90 day period. Guests are reminded to look into rental \ vacation insurance options on line.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Marathon Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , two sinks, walk in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    powder room - toilet , sink
  • Bedrooms two and three share a full bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 sets of bunk beds
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
  • The two master bedrooms have king size beds, are large, and include private outside covered porches with stone arches and stone columns in the Mediterranean style. The third bedroom also has a king size bed, and the fourth has two sets of bunk beds. The master bedrooms have their own private bathrooms, while bedrooms three and four share a full bathroom. The fifth bedroom has a queen sized bed and full private bathroom. All bedrooms have full carpeting, and all bathrooms are laid with marble floors.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Casa Del Sol , unlike most houses in the Keys, is built at ground level. This translates to ease of entry as well as no stairs to navigate to put away those heavy groceries! Being able to walk directly out to the pool and barbeque area without going up and down stairs is a real advantage. Imagine yourself running up and down those stairs to tend to the outdoor grill !! Owners of smaller boats will appreciate the step - down section of our dock. Entry and exit from your boat is made easy by greatly reducing the distance between the dock and the gunwhale. Pool heat is available at an extra charge for those that need it. If the pool is heated to maintain a constant temperature of 84 degrees, the weekly charge is $250.. There is a small folding bed, also a booster seat with tray . We also have a child gate and a 'pack 'n play

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote