CHARMING HOME AWAY FROM HOME, PERFECT FOR YOUR SANTA MONICA VACATION

Jessica McMillan

Speaks english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Jessica McMillan

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING HOME AWAY FROM HOME, PERFECT FOR YOUR SANTA MONICA VACATION

Santa Monica Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 2 or 3

Please let our cozy, quiet Santa Monica flat be your home away from home. This spacious one bedroom, one bathroom apartment is the perfect base for you to explore LA county. The beach is a short drive or leisurely stroll away, and Hollywood is a hop, skip and a jump up Santa Monica Boulevard, where you'll also pass Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills.

The apartment features hard wood floors and a remodeled kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen has everything you need to cook, bake (cupcake pan equipped) or just microwave a take out!

We have carefully selected everything in the condo to be comfortable and eco friendly. The bed is big and comfy and features an organic cotton and natural latex mattress, there is a desk in case you need to do a little bit of work (like we always do!). Enjoy the boogie boards on the beach by day and the numerous pubs, wine bars and restaurants within walking distance of home by night.

The flat is a retreat from the chaos of outside life, leave stress behind when you shut the front door, just kick back and enjoy the iPod dock, 42 inch Plasma TV, and the cable and wifi internet.

We provide a free parking pass for the easy street parking. The condo's nearest cross streets are 15th Street and Santa Monica Boulevard.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • not suitable for children
Jessica McMillan (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Jessica



I just wanted to say that we have just returned from our holiday in California and your apartment in Santa Monica was excellent. It's a lovely little place and was just what we needed after spending 9 nights in various hotels. It was just as you described and if we are travelling to LA again I'll get in touch to see if it's available. Your recommendations on restaurants were great as well.



Thanks again



Alan
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming home away from home, perfect for your Santa Monica Vacation
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
business
Charming home away from home, perfect for your Santa Monica Vacation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335103
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
gloucestershire england
3

Too noisy

  • 3 of 5
To be fair to Jessica, her place is lovely, with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is well equipped, linen and towels etc are good quality.Although cooker hadn't been cleaned and a note saying not to use the dishwasher so Jessica needs to keep an eye on her cleaner. It's in a quiet area, about 15 minutes walk from downtown. The sun doesn't get to the apartment in the day, so it's cold at night and you cant tell whether it's sunny in the morning. Maybe it's different in summer.Unfortunately, you can hear every noise from the apartments around you, particularly the one upstairs. Our first night there (after being up for 24 hrs) we were woken at 2am by the neighbours coming home and banging around,then by the alarm of the man upstairs, which he sets for 6am and either puts on snooze, or his partner uses to get up a bit later.You could hear everything the tenants upstairs were doing - getting in and out of bed, drawers opening and being slammed shut and them walking back and forth, all from 6am onwards. You can even hear him using the toilet, and no, I don't mean flushing it.We were so tired, we were having to go to bed early to get some sleep before they woke us, because once they got out of bed, there was no break from the noise. And yes, we were both using earplugs and did try sleeping in the lounge, but once they left the bedroom, the noise just carried on above the lounge. Basically it's just like living in the same house as the neighbours, but them not taking into account that you were there. After about 10 days of exhaustion, we emailed Jessica to ask her to contact the upstairs tenant.She was surprised as she said her neighbour was quiet and worked away a lot so maybe he had just bought a new pair of shoes! We informed her that unless he was now wearing high heels, there were 2 people who lived there and maybe they were quieter when they knew she was downstairs. She offered to speak to him, as we were at the end of our tether with sleep loss after another awakening in the night. Once she had, you could tell they were making an effort not to stomp around. The lack of sleep really spoiled it as we had visited Santa Monica 6 years ago and were so looking forward to visiting again. Jessica did refund 20% of our money but I wish I had just moved into a motel after the first week and asked for our money back.Would not recommend this flat unless you can sleep through anything. Jessica does not seem to realise she has a noise issue.
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Charles,

Many thanks for your above comments.

Our place is a small apartment building from the late 1950s… and, while it is not without its quirks, we were surprised to hear you had such trouble with the noise. In three years of renting the apartment, we have never had a complaint of this kind about the noise. Specifically, the people who stayed in the weeks before you and the week after you did not have any complaints. We often stay there ourselves too, and, while of course you might occasionally be aware of the neighbours, they have never kept us from sleeping. We are committed to helping our guests have an enjoyable stay; if the noise was such an issue, it is unfortunate that we weren’t contacted earlier in your stay… once we were aware of the problem, we did all we could to make you more comfortable. The fact that you stayed for the entire two weeks and accepted the 20% discount, leads us to believe that your review might be slightly exaggerated. However, we will be staying again ourselves soon and will fully review the situation and remedy anything that we find to be awry.

Finally, as for the coolness of the apartment, if you found it chilly, the heater is very efficient and very pleasant during any cold snaps. The shadiness of the apartment is actually usually found to be a welcome retreat from the hot sun… which is often present in both the winter and the summer in Southern California.

Many thanks again for the suggestions.

Jessica
business
Charming home away from home, perfect for your Santa Monica Vacation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335103
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Fantastic apartment, a home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
This was my first time booking with VRBO and I will definitely do so again. Jessica is a very friendly and helpful owner and the apartment itself has all you could need for a wonderful holiday. The bed was super-comfy and the living room very spacious, with a well appointed kitchen and bathroom (I did enjoy a wallow in the tub after a day's hiking!). I was travelling solo and it was lovely to stay in a homely environment in a quiet area of Santa Monica yet only be 10-15 minutes walk from the hustle-and-bustle of Third Street and the beach. I would recommend this apartment to anyone!
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks! We try to make our place as comfy as possible!

Best wishes, Jessica
business
Charming home away from home, perfect for your Santa Monica Vacation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335103
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Mexico
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5
The house is beautiful the location perfect!. I was a little nervous the first days i was there then everything worked out perfect i would definetely stay here again
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
business
Charming home away from home, perfect for your Santa Monica Vacation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335103
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Great location near the beach!

  • 5 of 5
This rental is in a great location on a quiet street. It's walking distance to many restaurants and shops and only a short distance to the beach. The unit itself is well-kept and cozy. It was a great location to use as a home base to do sight-seeing in the LA area. We were so happy to stay here for our vacation and would highly recommend it!
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming home away from home, perfect for your Santa Monica Vacation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335103
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Great Apartment!

  • 5 of 5
From the moment we inquired about this apartment until we left everything was just seamless. Jessica was very responsive and accommodating to our needs (allowing us to check in early) and we absolutely loved the apartment. The apartment was clean, great kitchen and bathroom facilities. We highly recommend this property!
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming home away from home, perfect for your Santa Monica Vacation
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p335103
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
4

Great place to stay

  • 4 of 5
We had a great time in Santa Monica, the only drawback was some construction going on in the neighbor's unit. Otherwise, everything you could possible need for a comfortable, homey stay was available. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen was fully equipped, supplies were well thought out. Shopping and restaurants were close by, walking distance. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Los Angeles Internation (LAX)
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-10
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Santa Monica Beach
Car: recommended

Lax Airport - 20 Minutes, Disneyland - 45 Minutes.

Other Activities: Shopping, wildlife viewing, health/beauty spa.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Santa Monica Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Base Rate
7 night minimum stay
$850
$2,586
 
Discounts: 8 nights or more: $121 Nightly
 
Autumn
Sep 16 - Dec 15
7 night minimum stay
$850
$2,586
 
Discounts: 8 nights or more: $121 Nightly
 
Festive Period
Dec 16 - Jan 5
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
Discounts: 8 nights or more: $143 Nightly; 9 nights or more: $143 Nightly
 
Winter
Jan 6 - Mar 31
7 night minimum stay
$850
$2,586
 
Discounts: 8 nights or more: $121 Nightly
 
Spring/Summer
Apr 1 - Sep 15
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
$3,621
 
Discounts: 8 nights or more: $143 Nightly

Additional information about rental rates

Fees And Taxes There is a one-time cleaning fee of $75, which will be included in your pre-paid rate. We also take a refundable $250 security deposit.
Notes Your $250 deposit will be required to secure your dates, the full payment will be due approximately 1-2 weeks before your stay.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Santa Monica Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 0
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 580 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Living Room
  • Iron & Board
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking On Street
  • Wireless Internet
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Small Cooler
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • not suitable for children
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • theme parks
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • eco tourism
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • pier fishing
Email Owner Contact Me