GREAT Location, Ok House
The location cannot be beat, and is the best thing about this house. It is in the heart of South Jax / North Ponte Vedra beach, right on the ocean in a residential community. Stores, restaurants, coffee shops, all in walking distance. Great beach, pretty secluded because it is essentially local residents only - no public beach parking anywhere close by. No Lifeguards.
The house is spacious, with big rooms on the main floor and 4 large bedrooms upstairs. Bedrooms are comfortable with good quality bedding and towels provided. The 2 back bedrooms lead out to a open, shared deck facing the ocean with a beautiful view. These two bedrooms each have their own bath, and there is an additional shared full bath upstairs for the other 2 bedrooms. The downstairs is very 'beachy' with nice furnishings. The kitchen is large and fairly well equipped.
There's a large mud room off of the kitchen and 2 fenced in areas off of the mud room on both sides of the house. This arrangement was a perfect place for our dogs to rinse and dry off after the beach. There is also a laundry room with a full sized washer and dryer, and a garage with beach chairs, umbrellas and toys. The back yard is a nice size and the lawn is a great play area for kids and dogs.
This really is a great house, but it is not what you might expect in this area and at this price - you are definitely paying for location and house size. The home is very old, as the vrbo write up indicates. It was clean and everything was in working order. The a/c worked surprisingly well for a home this age. The rugs are very rough to walk on - make sure you bring comfortable flip flops or slippers for indoors. There is a nice porch in the back on the ground floor, but there are no screens in the windows or on any of the sliding doors, so you really can't use the room because it is not air conditioned and is very hot with the windows closed. There are also no screens on the upstairs doors that lead out the the 2nd floor patio, which was a disappointment. I like to have the windows open to the ocean when it's not too hot, and was not able to do this here due to the absence of screens. The only downstairs bathroom is off the back of the garage, you have to go through the mud room to get to it and neither the mud room or bathroom are air conditioned and get very hot in late July when we were there.
Overall, I enjoyed the house, and loved the location.
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We were very happy to have the Marmion family stay at the home. They were great guests and we are happy they enjoyed the home and their stay. We did want to respond to just a few of their comments. First, there is one set of screens on the back porch sliding doors ... just not along the whole back of the porch. It is a "porch" .. not part of the home ... and is not air conditioned. There is a ceiling fan there, however. The two upstairs Master Bedrooms that have sliding doors out to the beautiful deck do not have screens. That is correct. They just rust out too quickly on the ocean (quite common on most beach homes). Our guests have the option of opening up the sliding glass doors whenever they like. The downstairs full bath is actually off of the mud room/ laundry room and is meant more for a bath to shower off when coming off the beach... never intended to be air conditioned. The rug in the living room is known as a Sea Grass rug, very durable and consistent with the "beach" feel of the home. Never heard any complaints about that before. This home is older or as many of our guests say .."very beachy". It is aways clean, as they agree, fully equipped and in a great location ... our guests enjoy. Rick and Jenny
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?