Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Owner ralph & Peggy Murray

Advertiser since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Owner ralph & Peggy Murray

Advertiser since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 6, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

4 BEDROOMS 3 BATHS $130.00 NIGHT NO TAX SLEEPS 10

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Boone Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths (Sleeps 10}

Family and friends gather together at “Thee Gathering Place.” This home away from home has the warmth and love for everyone to enjoy the peace and quiet of a mountain get-away. The log home is nestled on the back roads of beautiful Ashe County, yet it is year around accessible. There is a lot of room for walking, hiking, bike riding, or four-wheeling. Enjoy rocking and swinging on the front porch…enjoy cooking out on the back deck, overlooking the rim of the Blue Ridge, all while enjoying all the sounds of the birds, crickets, even a wild turkey, or deer stopping by to graze in the yard. On cold nights enjoy the warmth of the gas logs from the stone fireplace, while watching direct TV, surfing the Internet on your lap top, or just talking to a family member back home on the unlimited long distance. (No international calls please.)

Year Purchased: 2007

On the way to West Jefferson, veer off and stop by the famous Todd Store, located in Todd. It’s approximately five miles from the cabin. Spend a summer Friday night listening to mountain Bluegrass music. A different band every Friday night – call the store for weekly band line-up. If you like water sports, you must visit the New River at Todd. The river offers great canoeing, white water rafting, tubing, swimming, or fly fishing. Get out and explore the Blue Ridge…There are some great golf courses in the area, horseback riding, or just sightseeing on the famous Blue Ridge Parkway.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Owner ralph & Peggy Murray (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 6, 2015

About Owner ralph & Peggy Murray

Living on the south east coast of North Carolina, we have always loved the mountains. Our family vacations have always been either in the Blue Ridge or Great Smokey Mountains. We enjoy traveling through the back roads and stumbling upon the quaint small towns throughout Ashe, Watagua, Wilkes and Avery counties. We are so blessed to have had the opportunity to acquire Thee Gathering Place to continue our family vacations and to share with our guests. We welcome you to our mountain home and pray God's blessings to all who visit Thee Gathering Place - Ralph & Peggy

Owner ralph & Peggy Murray purchased this cabin in 2007

Why Owner ralph & Peggy Murray chose Boone

We chose ashe county, because of the quaint little town of west Jefferson and all that it has to offer, because it is truly a a step back into time with all the things to do and see. It has great places to eat. New river has so much to offer for the entire family.,,canoeing, fishing, tubing, white water rafting, etc. All the back roads to explore, ride bikes, four wheeling, hiking or just looking at all the views. Very relaxed area with out all the noise and a great place to avoid crowds., and enjoy God:s beauty.

Golf course in a beautiful mountain setting.

Lots of area for horse back riding.

Blue Ridge just a few miles away, not to mention the great color in the fall with the cool mountain breezes at night.

Christmas tree farms to choose and cut that perfect tree.

We looked at a lot of counties but Ashe County and West Jefferson are just a great place to call home away from home.

Our cabin is located on one of the beautiful back roads,yet has year around access, very quiet, lots of back roads for hiking, riding bikes or just relaxing on the front porch enjoying the sounds of nature.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 112 traveler reviews

Write a Review
4 BEDROOMS 3 BATHS $130.00 NIGHT NO TAX Sleeps 10
average rating of 4.857143 based on 112 reviews
Huntsville, AL
5

Very Nice Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

My family met my best friend and his family (we came from Huntsville, AL and they came from Charleston, SC) and stayed at this property. We were all thrilled with the cabin's layout, decor, furniture, games, and all other features. Very reasonably priced, I would recommend this property to any of my friends.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: KC; Thanks for the kind words about our cabin. I am sure it was great being able to meet up with old friends and visiting . I am glad you enjoyed all the decor, cabin & setting of the cabin. We all to feel at home when visiting the Gathering Place. Trust y:all visit again next year. Have a great year. Ralph & Peggy Murray
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we arrived we were all surprised at how little time it took us to settle in. Each person felt that there room was a perfect fit for them. The kitchen was big enough to accompany everyone in the preparation of our nightly meals. The seating area and the fireplace made it a little slice of heaven on the mountain. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind remarks about our cabin. Glad everyone had a great time. we strive very hard to make sure everyone has a great time. Look forward to y:all retrning in 2016. Have a blessed year Ralph & Peggy Murray
4

My friends were pleased with The Gathering Place.

  • 4 of 5

The Gathering place felt just like home and we were very pleased with it. The only negative thing about is was we could get no cell phone reception but, you could use the land line to call anywhere so that helped. The owners were very helpful and responded to our requests as soon as possible. We would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. Glad everyone had a great time and look forward to your visiting thee gathering place again in the future. I try to inform all guest that some cell phones work on the mountain and some cell phones do not work on the mountain, just according to how strong a carrier you have. We have free unlimited long distance in our cabin for our guest. This enables our guest to call family and friends as often as needed. There are phones in every room, so our guest can have the privacy of talking to family and friends in privacy. Sorry that your cell phones could not pick up a signal, but glad you were able to stay in contact with family and friends., through our land line. Trust you and your family have a great year and God:s blessings on ya:ll Blessings in 2015 Ralph & Peggy Murray
Greensboro NC

The Gathering Place

  • of 5

we had the best time ever! This cabin was perfect, clean, organized, well stocked and so comfortable. This cabin was so welcoming and warm. We were so sad to leave and are looking forward to going back again . Owners so sweet and helpful!

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Janine. Thanks for the kind words. Glad everyone had a great time. Just know ya.ll are always welcome at thee gathering place. May you and your family have a blessed 2015 Blessings Ralph & peggy murray
5

25th Reunion with college buddies

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year renting the Gathering Place for our annual reunion with friends from Appalachain State University. This is without a doubt the BEST place we have rented for this event and Peggy Murray is a dream to work with in setting up our plans!

The cabin is delightful and great for our group (this year 4 couples). Plenty of room for all; kitchen well stocked with crock pot and every other appliance you might need. Plenty of dishes.

Bathrooms great; plenty of towels. Washer/dryer great too (we had been traveling for 2 weeks prior to arriving). Great deck and the weather was perfect for sitting outside.

The colors on the trees on the mountain got better each day we were there; it was beautiful.

Our check-out day turned into a semi-disaster for us - our rental car keys got lost (found after one couple got home 2 1/2 hrs after leaving, necessitating a return trip by them). The phone in the cabin was invaluable for that experience trying to figure out what we were going to do etc. Luckily we got out after our friends returned with the keys!!

Peggy was helpful when the TV/dish wasn't fully working when we arrived; it was fixed within an hour.

We will definitely return next year. We'll call Peggy, as soon as we have our dates!!!

Thank you for a beautiful place to unite with our friends.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Friends; What a great review for our cabin. I am lost for words except to say thanks for all the kind words about our cabin. Glad y:all could visit, and trust you can return in 2015. May you and each of your families have a great new year. Blessing Ralph & Peggy Murray
Charleston SC
5

Leaves really do change colors in 48 Hours

  • 5 of 5

The Gathering Place was just what we needed for a couple days rest for our family of 5. To watch as the kids explored the place and played around the property was memorable. They enjoyed roasting marshmallows around the fire pit and playing cowboys and indians after spending the day at Tweetsie. The location of your cabin allowed us to drive by a couple of beautiful horses which made my wife's stay that much more amazing. She was able to pet them and feed them as they would come to her from across the pasture.

I want to thank you for the ease and simplicity of working with you on our stay. I received many comments from friends who saw wonderful photos posted during our stay. Many of whom have already asked about TGP.

It was amazing to see how the leaves really changed over the two day visit. Looking forward to our next stay at TGP. By the way, it was very easy to find and easy access to Boone and attractions. Cannot say enough.

Thanks

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
hickory nc
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
jefferson Landing jefferson nc
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
highway 421
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
appalachian ski boone nc

Boone, Blue Ridge Mountains, North Carolina, USA (Very Convenient to West Jefferson, Todd, Boone) - The cabin is approximately 15 miles from Boone and ASU - home of the famous Mountaineers. While visiting Boone, for great home-style cooking visit the famous Daniel Boone Inn, family style restaurant. Downtown Boone shopping includes lots of antique and other specialty shops. You haven’t stepped back into time until you visit Mast general Store on Main St. Approximately 10 miles from The Gathering Place are the quaint mountain towns – West Jefferson and Jefferson. Both offer neat shopping destinations. An unusual treat is to visit the Ashe County Cheese Factory. Watch a variety of cheeses being made, enjoy delicious cheese samples and visit the factory’s gift shop. Be sure to visit the famous Church of the Frescoes. And, enjoy a wonderful, traditional southern-style meal at Shatley Springs, located off of Highway 16. The restaurant is opened Easter – Thanksgiving (typical schedule).

Other Activities: Shopping, Kayaking, Snowboarding/mobiling, Tubing, Wildlife Viewing, Rock Climbing, Mini Golf

Ski: For skiing visit Appalachian Ski Mountain, located between Boone and Blowing Rock. Hawks Nest, just a short drive off of HWY 105 near Foscoe, offers great snowboarding and snow tubing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $130 Per night

Boone Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning $75
Notes $130/night (2 night minimum-year round) .. $750/week stay (7 nights-year round); $75 Cleaning Fee Per Rental Period; $25 Pet Fee, Non-Refundable Per Rental Period (Animals 25 Lbs & Smaller Permitted); $150 Security Deposit & 50% of Rental Amount Due at Booking; Cancellations 15 Days or More Prior to Reservation Will Be Refunded, Less 25% Fee;

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Boone Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower is walk in shower .
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Game Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , old mattresses has just been replaced with new mattresses
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , old mattressed has just been replaced with new mattresses
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , old mattress has been replaced with new mattress
  • The bedroom on the first level has a flat screen tv..Easy access to bathroom. A private door that leads out onto deck for watching the stars and moon at night or to listen to the sounds of the mountain breezes. Two bedrooms are located on second level - one bedroom has a queen bed, one has a double bed. Each bedroom has a TV, telephone and a full-size closet. A full bathroom is located on the second level. The lower basement level is a private get-a-way complete with a large bedroom with queen size bed, full bath with stand-up shower, and sitting area-game room, which has a Foosball table, card/gaming table and TV with DVD player. A futon is located in the game room and can be used as an additional bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The full-size kitchen is equipped with all the necessities of home for cooking including: paper products, cookware, an original chopping block, and more…Everything needed for preparing home cooked meals or just a simple cup of coffee. Off from the game room is the washer and dryer area with detergents available to washout those unexpected dirty clothes. In the basement storage closet, a highchair and crib are available for the little one. Throughout all levels of the home, nostalgic memorabilia and retro decor accents the rooms. For a family, fun-filled vacation, stay at “ The Gathering Place.” You will gather many memories with the ones you love. Minimum Age Limit for Renters: Do not rent to singles under 25 years of age. Pet Friendly: Pets 25 lbs. and smaller allowed. Free Long Distance: US Calls Only.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote