Great view, otherwise very average
Submitted: April 28, 2013
Stayed: July 2012
Our family stayed at this condo in July 2012. We usually rent through VRBO and have had success in trusting reviewers to be candid about the condition of condos/homes. On this condo, I think the reviewers focused only on the view -- which is beautiful and worthy of five stars. The rest of the condo is not five-star worthy. We've stayed in VRBO five-star properties; this is not one of them. This condo needs renovation. The furnishings and the carpet seem old. The hide-a-bed in the living room was had a severely stained mattress and mattress cover. The screen door to the patio fell off every time we tried to use it. The shower in the master bedroom is actually in the bedroom, not in a separate bathroom. The sink/toilet area is tiny and a short walk from the shower. The condo had been cleaned, but it didn't feel clean; my wife didn't really want to spend time in the condo. Again, the condo is economical and has a nice view, but I just want there to be a "voice of reason" among the reviewers. This is not a five-star property, and I felt like we mistakenly relied on the prior reviews.
Owner's Response: We were very perplexed to receive this review 10 months after their stay and very disappointed that they never contacted us to let us know any of their concerns. Turns out we were at the condo when we received notice of this review and were able to factually verify no stains on either the mattress or the cover on the sofa pull out bed. Since it’s been ten months, perhaps the guest was thinking of another condo? A guest after them let us know about the screen door and it was repaired. If they had called us during their stay, it could have been repaired immediately. Yes, the shower location in the master is a bit different, as it is with all the 2 bedroom units here at Kuhio Shores. However, it works well and keeps moisture from building in the shower area. The toilet and sink are in a separate room 36 inches (short walk?) from the shower but both are in the master bedroom, or en suite. As of the time we arrived, 10 months after this guests stay, the carpet had one seam unraveling and so we are replacing it. Our furnishings are actually fairly new and of good quality. One thing we pride ourselves on is showing pictures which accurately reflect the unit. If you like what you see in the pictures, you’ll like the actual condo. We receive so many positive reviews, by email, online and in our hand written guest book in the condo that we feel confident in what we provide. While we are not a luxury 5 star resort, we are worthy of the 5 stars given to us by our other guests. Come and see for yourself! And while it is rare, should you have any problems, please contact us so we can rectify it immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?