Dissapointed with the pool
Submitted: September 7, 2011
Stayed: August 2011
Nice house overall, clean and well maintained; a big plus for the fast internet connection and TV/DVR. Disappointed with the pool even though other guests seemed happy with it. Maybe it can be used in the middle of the summer, but the water was extremely cold when we’ve visited, beginning of September. We lost 2 days because of hurricane Irene; owner reimbursed us only for one, claiming that even though the house was not ready on Monday, we could have come Sunday, in the middle of the hurricane, when the house was ready!? No comment, but I think that from now on the owner should add a hurricane clause in the rental agreement.
Owner's Response: We are saddened to read your disappointments as you seemed very content with your stay both on the phone, in our person-to-person conversations, and in the Guest Book entry left at the house. Yes the contract does state that we are not responsible for cancellations due to weather. You made reference to that yourself. However, please note that I did offer a variety of options before your arrival: namely, extending your stay into the following week to cover any missed time or a percentage off of a future stay. You were not agreeable with anyof these offers. Consequently, I did reimburse you for one day even though I was not contractually obligated to do so as you had canceled both the Sunday and the Monday arrival. Allow me to review the timeline of events. You had contacted us the day before the Sunday hurricane and cancelled your arrival for Sunday, understandably as we were NOT expecting you to risk your safety, even though the house was ready for your check in. For the Monday arrival, we had the interior of the house and outside deck completely ready for you, electricity, running water, grill, outdoor furniture, etc; however, the yard still needed to be cleaned up of twigs, leaves and small branches that had come down in the storm. It was unsightly but not a hazard. Because of the high demand placed on clean up crews due to the amount of major trees down in the area, we were not able to secure anyone to clean up the yard any earlier than Monday afternoon. On the phone I explained this all to you. Initially you stated that you would come out Monday (regardless of the yard clean up being scheduled for then) because you did not have power at home. You later called back with a change in plans making the decision to arrive on Tuesday instead. Despite you cancelling your arrival on both those days, I wanted to express good faith and my understanding of your situation with regard to the hurricane and refunded you one day's rate immediately upon your arrival. Again, when I handed you the refund check, you made no comments as to any displeasure. Please note my surprise at reading your comments here. In reference to the pool temperature, it is stated here in the listing and you are reminded at check in, that it is NOT a heated pool. I am sorry that the pool temperature did not meet your expectations.We close by reiterating our commitment to making all our guests stay as perfect as possible, making every effort to be as accommodating and understanding.
Did you find this review helpful?