THE BLUFFS AT SEA RANCH- FRONT ROW OCEAN LUXURY

John Matthes

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

John Matthes

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE BLUFFS AT SEA RANCH- FRONT ROW OCEAN LUXURY

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description

Great Value On the Water - Adjacent to Bluff Trail - 2 Bed 2 Bath - Sleeps 4

Please check availability calendar before contacting owner. TEXT or Email Communications Preferred

Location, Luxury and Value - Arguably one of the Best Locations on the Ranch! The Bluffs at Sea Ranch offers spacious comfort for four adults. Or perhaps the perfect place for a loving couple to reignite their passion. The professionally designed interior is fresh, light-filled and private featuring our signature look with antiques and contemporary furnishings in a modern playful mix. You will appreciate the high quality bedding, pillows and comforters, an updated kitchen with commercial stainless steel appliances, Master Chef cookware, Wusthof knives and all the goodies. Separate laundry, viewing deck, covered patio, private fenced yard, and inviting Jacuzzi spa with views of the Pacific round out the ample amenities.

The two-level master suite encompasses the majority of the second floor. Lounge with your favorite book on the 10-foot window seat and enjoy seasonal whitewater ocean views and glorious sunsets. Then step down to the spacious bath area for a sumptuous soak with the sounds of the crashing waves to help sooth away your worries. The massive California king size bed invites restful slumber with a super high-end Aireloom 'Super Feather Bed' mattress. The second bedroom is located on the ground floor and has access to its own private garden and patio. In addition, on the second floor, is a lofted niche with a full size bed that looks out upon the Sea Ranch Golf Links and acres of natural land on one side and the ocean on the other. The perfect place to escape from someone who snores!

With panoramic ocean views from nearly every window, and acres of wilderness to the east, The Bluffs at Sea Ranch has arguably the best location on the ranch. Adjacent to Gualala Point Regional Park and the town of Gualala the convenience and walk-ability are unsurpassed. The bluff trail along the ocean side of the property serves as your gateway to the great blue Pacific.

Designed and sited to take advantage passive heating and cooling from Mother Nature, you'll enjoy soothing benefits of radiant floor heating with no drying forced air to stuff up your sinuses. The Bluffs at Sea Ranch is a self catering unit. Expendables like paper plates, paper towels and bath products are not provided unless left behind by another party. Save a tree and enjoy your stay. Gas for the BBQ is up to our renters. We supply the BBQ and tank you take the tank into town for a refill as needed. If you're a good person, you'll leave enough for the next visitor.

About the Ranch -

All Sea Ranch roads, most facilities, and most trails are private, for use only by owners, renters, and their guests, but visitors who rent our vacation home in the Sea Ranch are considered to be guests of the home owner and, as such, are permitted to use the private facilities and trails of The Sea Ranch. This property is not set up for abalone diving.

Keywords: sea ranch vacation rental, oceanfront, ocean front, bluff, bluffs, bluff top, vacation rental, luxury rental, spa, house, hotel, architecture, designer, modern, deluxe, jacuzzi, whirlpool, hot tub, contemporary, chef kitchen, quality, the sea ranch, sea ranch, vacation rental

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the owner
We are now departing your beautiful house. Don't get overcharged for cleaning as my wife gets obsessed by these things and it is nearly spotless.



Regarding the bad review on your kitchen: I say those people can't cook and don't know what is in front of them. I never opened my knife set. I will go on the site and counter that mindless post.



We had a great stay. We enjoyed your house and doing business with you. I expect to do so again. Will You Sell it to Me?



Thanks for everything.



Happy New Year!
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 3

John Matthes

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

A transplant to Pasadena from San Diego, John relocated in 1989 to attend Art Center College of Design where he was awarded a Master's of Fine Art degree.

John is an expert in marketing historic and architectural properties and holds his fiduciary responsibility to his clients in the utmost regard. With real world experience as the founder and principal of Carciofi and Jinglehyme, he successfully united residential real estate development and interior design; bringing revitalization to local neighborhoods and blighted historic properties through thoughtful renovation and redevelopment. John is the 2014 Winner of the Historic Preservation award for the city of Pasadena. He also owns and manages short term vacation rentals in Pasadena, San Diego and Sea Ranch.

John's prior tenure in the marketing and communications wing of the global institutional investing giant The Capital Group Companies, allowed him to develop broad knowledge of printed and digital media. With this knowledge, he has developed sophisticated marketing tools and programs for selling homes in all economic climates.

A long term resident of the Arroyo, John currently resides in Linda Vista and has had stake in properties located in Prospect Park, San Rafael, South Orange Grove, South Lake, Eagle Rock, The Sea Ranch and San Diego's East Village. He is an active member Pasadena Heritage and The Legacy Circle, a group of Art Center alumni dedicated to raising funds for student scholarships.

John Matthes purchased this house in 2010
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 27 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Bluffs at Sea Ranch- Front Row Ocean Luxury
average rating of 4.703704 based on 27 reviews
business
The Bluffs at Sea Ranch- Front Row Ocean Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Manteca, CA
2

BLUFFS; AN APPROPRIATE NAME

  • 2 of 5
In poker "the bluff" is the representation of having a better hand than what you actually have. This rental deserves the term "bluffs", in its plural form. From the deceptive description of "front row ocean luxury" (it is not), to the primary picture taken from across the golf course giving the perception it has trees on either side, and is right on the ocean bluff. It is not "front row ocean luxury", a term inferring it is fronting the ocean. The reference of "save a tree" by not supplying paper plates extends to including toilet paper, which is also not provided, an omission never revealed in the description or in the welcoming email. I am not going to "save a tree" and forgo toilet paper. Having rented multiple times for over 18 years at the Sea Ranch I can say it is at the bottom of any of our previous rentals. We purposefully choose to be ocean front and are willing to pay the price to actually be on the bluff.
The Pros: good pots and pans, good knives (once I sharpened them), good master bed and bedroom (the master bedroom area upstairs is the best room), nice jacuzzi, great animal visits by a skunk, foxes, raccoons, and deer, bathrooms (including showers), appliances.
Cons: No herbs and spices, no salt & papper shakers, no ice maker, living room is actually part of the kitchen with limited seating, only three people can watch the TV because of the admonishment of not moving any furniture, the cleaning fee is excessive (highest we have ever paid at much nicer and larger homes), very small dining table and chairs, small "living" area during your stay, no paper towels or toilet paper supplied (a first for us), it is not an "ocean front" home. The title and description are deceptive, especially when describing it as "arguably one of the best locations on the ranch", when it clearly is not even close. It is not close enough to the ocean to hear the "crashing ocean waves" inside the bath.
We made the decision to rent this home for 5 days based upon the descriptions. Once we arrived it was more than a disappointment, we were angry. It was not described accurately, and some of the photos were deceptive in their depiction of the property. It is 250-300' from the bluff, with much of the ocean view obstructed by vegetation. There was a reason no pictures looked out a window at the ocean from inside the home. We will not be returning, nor recommending it. We were very disappointed.
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Surprising Review!
On June 25th you sent me an email stating that "All went well with no hitches." So I found your review to be a total surprise. Your descriptive writing style is sweet - however - most of the items you said were not included were actually there - All you needed to do was inquire as to their whereabouts. Spices and TP are supplied - just kept out of sight.
I get so many positive (actually raving) reviews especially about the location and proximity to the ocean: "exactly as pictured" and "the location couldn't be better" are typical. You might have noticed that this property is priced well below the large bluff top behemoths you so long for. Were you thinking you scored a bargain, only to get just what you paid for? A really great home, in a great location, at a fair price? It's your review that seems to be a "bluff" to me. You did after all stay an extra day.
business
The Bluffs at Sea Ranch- Front Row Ocean Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

NOT FOR COMMUTING

  • 5 of 5
I foolishly tried to combine work and pleasure on this adventure. Alas, after the first jaw-droppingly beautiful (a bit harrowing for my wife) drive up the coast to SeaRanch driving to see customers in SF deprived me of the opportunity to relax and enjoy the house and surrounding as much as I would have liked. The stars are bright, the acoustics of the waves and wind are mesmerizing. Stand on the petrified stump or slab of granite and be a part of nature.
  • Submitted: May 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Bluffs at Sea Ranch- Front Row Ocean Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

GREAT GET-AWAY PLACE.

  • 5 of 5
Very nice home with unobstructed views of the ocean. The only odd thing is you must take your trash with you. First time in 40 years of renting houses I have encountered that. It was not too bad for our short stay, but for those staying longer they will need to prepare.
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ask and you shall receive! The house keeper can take the trash. You just need to ask silly!
business
The Bluffs at Sea Ranch- Front Row Ocean Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Diego, CA/USA
5

JUST BEAUTIFUL

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed in many homes at Sea Ranch and this is one of the nicest. Everything was very clean and neat when we arrived. The kitchen is wonderful especially if you love to cook. We had deer walking by us as we ate breakfast and every night a fox would peer in as we enjoyed wine before dinner. The master bed is so comfortable that we were spoiled for the rest of our road trip.
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Bluffs at Sea Ranch- Front Row Ocean Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Chicago
5

HOLIDAY AT THE BLUFFS - THE BEST!

  • 5 of 5
The ocean, fresh air and nature make everything better. This beautiful home is even better in person. What a surprise! From the quality furnishings to the well cared for gardens and expansive private outdoor courtyard, everything at the bluffs is first rate. Unlike the local rental services (and their outdated offerings) John was a breeze to deal with. We had the best Thanksgiving yet cooking in that great kitchen. We hope to return again next year.
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Bluffs at Sea Ranch- Front Row Ocean Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

ARE YOU KIDDING?

  • 5 of 5
Well I guess first I will qualify myself as well. I have been renting at The Sea Ranch for well over 25 years. I am never interested in the urbane when we are at the Ranch so I am mystified at the complaint of there being no DVD access, if it hadn't been Bowl season we wouldn't have turned on the TV which had so many stations that it was not possible to sift through them all.
The kitchen? I am not a chef, but I am an outrageously good cook, so good that I always travel with my own essentials as I grew weary of arriving at places with Wallmart cuttlery & cookware. I never even opened my valise. The people who think that 25 years of renting at the Ranch allows them to place the Bluffs in the eat out or eat simply category have simply revealed to me that they can't really cook. You don't even want to hear the menu for our 1 week stay where we never ate out or simply.

I do have Verizon service and the service was perfect as usual, it even allowed us unlimited and easy access to the net with much better service than the Y-fi.

Anyone who has been here repeatedly understands that you want to be close to but not on the trail, to be able to hear the sounds of the surf all night, and to have a reasonable access to a beach. This is a triple crown especially with the size allowing this to be so affordable.

We had the serendipitous pleasure of meeting John while there and he is the kind of person whom you do want to rent from. Go here, but not until after I book my own stay!
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Santa Rosa
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway One
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Gualala Point
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
The Shoreline
Nearest Golf
Sea Ranch Golf Links
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
The Shoreline
Car: necessary

ABALONE FISHING IS NOT PERMITTED ON SEA RANCH PROPERTY WITHOUT THE ACCOMPANIMENT OF A SEA RANCH PROPERTY OWNER.

In Addition, This property is not set up for abalone diving - any evidence that this activity has taken place will result in n forfeiture of your deposit.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Sea Ranch House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holiday 3
Aug 28 2014 - Sep 2 2014
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,575
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Service $175.00
Refundable damage deposit $200.00
Tax Rate 12.5%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Sea Ranch House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1630 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Golf Course Front
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Broadband Access
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Heating ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Microwave ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower , Spacious with Garden Views
    Master - toilet , tub , shower , Seperate Vanity Area, Ocean Views and Skylights
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Ocean View, Fine Linens
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 queen , Cozy Bedroom on Main Floor w/Private Ocean View Patio
    Loft - 1 double , Extra Bed - Great Place to Escape a Snoring Partner!
  • Super High End Mattresses, High Quality Linens
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Books ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis
  • Golf
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • recreation center
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • shopping
  • shelling
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • surfing
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • mountain biking
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • kayaking
  • wind-surfing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • cycling
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • rafting
Notes:
This property is not set up for abalone diving. Sorry
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,215 - $1,335 per week
2 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4