Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

STYLISH FRONT ROW CONTEMPORARY HOME ON THE NORTH END OF THE SEA RANCH

John Matthes

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

John Matthes

Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 14, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

STYLISH FRONT ROW CONTEMPORARY HOME ON THE NORTH END OF THE SEA RANCH

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description

Great Ocean Front Meadow Location - Bluff Trail Access - 2 Bed 2 Bath - Sleep

This Property can be booked online and the calendar is always up to date! Location, Style and Value - The north end is arguably the best Location on the ranch for visitors! It's closest to the town of Gualala with it's shops, markets and eating/drinking establishments. Originally built for an empty nest couple, The Bluffs at Sea Ranch is perhaps the perfect place for a loving couple to reignite their passion. The professionally designed interior is fresh, light-filled and private featuring our signature look with antiques and contemporary furnishings in a modern playful mix. You will appreciate the high quality bedding, pillows and comforters, an updated kitchen with commercial stainless steel appliances, Master Chef cookware, Wusthof knives and all the goodies. Separate laundry, viewing deck, covered patio, private fenced yard, and inviting Jacuzzi spa with views of the Pacific round out the ample amenities.

The two-level master suite encompasses the majority of the second floor. Lounge with your favorite book on the 10-foot window seat and enjoy seasonal whitewater ocean views and glorious sunsets. Then step down to the spacious bath area for a sumptuous soak with the sounds of the crashing waves to help sooth away your worries. The massive California king size bed invites restful slumber with a super high-end Aireloom 'Super Feather Bed' mattress. The second bedroom is located on the ground floor and has access to its own private garden and patio. It's cozy and comfortable and great for extra guests. In addition, on the second floor, is a lofted niche with a full size bed that looks out upon the Sea Ranch Golf Links and acres of natural land on one side and the ocean on the other. The perfect place to escape from someone who snores!

Downstairs living spaces are compact and not appropriate for larger groups or gatherings. Occupancy is limited to 4, no exceptions.

With panoramic ocean views from nearly every window, and acres of wilderness to the east the property is adjacent to Gualala Point Regional Park and the town of Gualala the convenience and walk-ability are unsurpassed. The bluff trail along the ocean side of the property serves as your gateway to the great blue Pacific.

Designed and sited to take advantage passive heating and cooling from Mother Nature, you'll enjoy soothing benefits of radiant floor heating with no drying forced air to stuff up your sinuses. The Bluffs at Sea Ranch is a self catering unit. Expendables are not included. Gas for the BBQ is up to our renters. We supply the BBQ and tanks you take a tank into town for a refill as needed. If you're a good person, you'll leave enough for the next visitor.

About the Ranch -

All Sea Ranch roads, most facilities, and most trails are private, for use only by owners, renters, and their guests, but visitors who rent our vacation home in the Sea Ranch are considered to be guests of the home owner and, as such, are permitted to use the private facilities and trails of The Sea Ranch. This property is not set up for abalone diving.

Keywords: sea ranch vacation rental, oceanfront, ocean front, bluff, bluffs, bluff top, vacation rental, luxury rental, spa, house, hotel, architecture, designer, modern, deluxe, jacuzzi, whirlpool, hot tub, contemporary, chef kitchen, quality, the sea ranch, sea ranch, vacation rental

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
John Matthes (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 14, 2014

About John Matthes

A transplant to Pasadena from San Diego, John relocated in 1989 to attend Art Center College of Design where he was awarded a Master's of Fine Art degree.

John is an expert in marketing historic and architectural properties and holds his fiduciary responsibility to his clients in the utmost regard. With real world experience as the founder and principal of Carciofi and Jinglehyme, he successfully united residential real estate development and interior design; bringing revitalization to local neighborhoods and blighted historic properties through thoughtful renovation and redevelopment. John is the 2014 Winner of the Historic Preservation award for the city of Pasadena. He also owns and manages short term vacation rentals in Pasadena, San Diego and Sea Ranch.

John's prior tenure in the marketing and communications wing of the global institutional investing giant The Capital Group Companies, allowed him to develop broad knowledge of printed and digital media. With this knowledge, he has developed sophisticated marketing tools and programs for selling homes in all economic climates.

A long term resident of the Arroyo, John currently resides in Linda Vista and has had stake in properties located in Prospect Park, San Rafael, South Orange Grove, South Lake, Eagle Rock, The Sea Ranch and San Diego's East Village. He is an active member Pasadena Heritage and The Legacy Circle, a group of Art Center alumni dedicated to raising funds for student scholarships.

John Matthes purchased this house in 2010

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are now departing your beautiful house. Don't get overcharged for cleaning as my wife gets obsessed by these things and it is nearly spotless.



Regarding the bad review on your kitchen: I say those people can't cook and don't know what is in front of them. I never opened my knife set. I will go on the site and counter that mindless post.



We had a great stay. We enjoyed your house and doing business with you. I expect to do so again. Will You Sell it to Me?



Thanks for everything.



Happy New Year!
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 32 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Stylish Front Row Contemporary Home on the North End of The Sea Ranch
average rating of 4.71875 based on 35 reviews
business
Stylish Front Row Contemporary Home on the North End of The Sea Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
-(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California

Well equipped

  • of 5
Good design for bedroom privacy and the extra bed in the loft is indeed a bonus. Beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well-equipped. Good value, and location. Common spaces are very compact, but very cozy for our small party of 3 adults, and price and value are reflective. We would have enjoyed a deck or patio oriented to the ocean on the main floor, but know that would have changed the price point. Fox family is adorable; racoons can be relentless. We left the garbage under the sink based on a response to a previous review; if you're checking out on Monday or Tuesday, and don't want to take your recyclables home with you, you'll need to take them to Sea Ranch recycling off of Annapolis road b/c recycling station in Gualala is closed Monday and Tuesday.
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Stylish Front Row Contemporary Home on the North End of The Sea Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
-(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Nice, France
4

Super Stay - Super Value

  • 4 of 5
Our family (2 adults and one teen) enjoyed a great week at The Bluffs, Sea Ranch.

The house matched and exceeded the website description - luxurious accommodations, a well-equipped kitchen, fantastic views, and a daily parade of wildlife - foxes, raccoon, and deer. Our daughter enjoyed the shared pool club area - a nice bonus.

The house layout affords plenty of space, comfort, and privacy. This proved important for us, as the Northern California weather wasn't especially friendly our first few days and we wound up spending much more time in the house than we would have preferred!

The best thing about this rental is the value for money - an incredible private home for less money than the nearby Sea Ranch Lodge hotel will charge for a single room.

Overall, a great rental experience - highly recommended.
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish Front Row Contemporary Home on the North End of The Sea Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
-(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

Fun and Foxes

  • 5 of 5
A perfect stay, hiking, lazing, being entertained by the foxes over breakfast coffee. Enjoyed your dry scape garden, will take some useful knowledge back with me. Everything was fine or better, no issues. Thanks for sharing such a pleasant house and environment. Cheers
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish Front Row Contemporary Home on the North End of The Sea Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
-(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Santa Monica, CA
5

Gorgeous views!

  • 5 of 5
Sea Ranch is one of my favorite spots to get recharged. And what makes it a very special experience is staying at this house. LOVED every minute I was there. The views are crazy and you can smell the ocean air every time you step outside. The owners have kept this house immaculate and stocked with everything we needed. And for food the market was only a quick drive away and close to the cute village. I will be back!
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stylish Front Row Contemporary Home on the North End of The Sea Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
-(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

As advertised, a lovely seaside getaway

  • 5 of 5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully decorated and designed home. Ocean views are a brief stroll from your back door, and the hot tub was a great spot to relax after busy days exploring the North Coast. The kitchen is marvelously equipped, so home-cooked meals are no problem, with grocery stores a quick jaunt up the road.
I would caution that cell phone reception is very poor in the area in general, and the house had no phone, so plan accordingly. Perhaps a phone could be installed for use on a pay basis?
Other than that, this is a fine vacation home, one which I have already recommended to numerous friends. We brought our children, and the accommodations were ample to say the least. A great place from which to explore the splendor of the region.
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. And, yes, cell service can be spotty up here - Verizon works well upstairs in the office. Most folks prefer to completely unplug though.
business
Stylish Front Row Contemporary Home on the North End of The Sea Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p332524vb
-(626) 536-4001 (California, USA)
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Manteca, CA
2

Bluffs; an appropriate name

  • 2 of 5
In poker "the bluff" is the representation of having a better hand than what you actually have. This rental deserves the term "bluffs", in its plural form. From the deceptive description of "front row ocean luxury" (it is not), to the primary picture taken from across the golf course giving the perception it has trees on either side, and is right on the ocean bluff. It is not "front row ocean luxury", a term inferring it is fronting the ocean. The reference of "save a tree" by not supplying paper plates extends to including toilet paper, which is also not provided, an omission never revealed in the description or in the welcoming email. I am not going to "save a tree" and forgo toilet paper. Having rented multiple times for over 18 years at the Sea Ranch I can say it is at the bottom of any of our previous rentals. We purposefully choose to be ocean front and are willing to pay the price to actually be on the bluff.
The Pros: good pots and pans, good knives (once I sharpened them), good master bed and bedroom (the master bedroom area upstairs is the best room), nice jacuzzi, great animal visits by a skunk, foxes, raccoons, and deer, bathrooms (including showers), appliances.
Cons: No herbs and spices, no salt & papper shakers, no ice maker, living room is actually part of the kitchen with limited seating, only three people can watch the TV because of the admonishment of not moving any furniture, the cleaning fee is excessive (highest we have ever paid at much nicer and larger homes), very small dining table and chairs, small "living" area during your stay, no paper towels or toilet paper supplied (a first for us), it is not an "ocean front" home. The title and description are deceptive, especially when describing it as "arguably one of the best locations on the ranch", when it clearly is not even close. It is not close enough to the ocean to hear the "crashing ocean waves" inside the bath.
We made the decision to rent this home for 5 days based upon the descriptions. Once we arrived it was more than a disappointment, we were angry. It was not described accurately, and some of the photos were deceptive in their depiction of the property. It is 250-300' from the bluff, with much of the ocean view obstructed by vegetation. There was a reason no pictures looked out a window at the ocean from inside the home. We will not be returning, nor recommending it. We were very disappointed.
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Surprising Review!
On June 25th you sent me an email stating that "All went well with no hitches." So I found your review to be a total surprise. Your descriptive writing style is sweet - however - most of the items you said were not included were actually there - All you needed to do was inquire as to their whereabouts. Spices and TP are supplied - just kept out of sight.
I get so many positive (actually raving) reviews especially about the location and proximity to the ocean: "exactly as pictured" and "the location couldn't be better" are typical. You might have noticed that this property is priced well below the large bluff top behemoths you so long for. Were you thinking you scored a bargain, only to get just what you paid for? A really great home, in a great location, at a fair price? It's your review that seems to be a "bluff" to me. You did after all stay an extra day.

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Santa Rosa
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
The Shoreline
Nearest Golf
Sea Ranch Golf Links
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway One
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
The Shoreline
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Gualala Point
Car: necessary

ABALONE FISHING IS NOT PERMITTED ON SEA RANCH PROPERTY WITHOUT THE ACCOMPANIMENT OF A SEA RANCH PROPERTY OWNER.

In Addition, This property is not set up for abalone diving - any evidence that this activity has taken place will result in n forfeiture of your deposit.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $230 Per night

Sea Ranch House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Hoilday 1
Apr 3 2015 - Apr 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Holiday 2
May 7 2015 - May 10 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Holiday 3
May 22 2015 - May 25 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Holiday 4
Jul 2 2015 - Jul 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Holiday 5
Sep 4 2015 - Sep 8 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,575
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Service $175
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.5%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Sea Ranch House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1630 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower , Spacious with Garden Views
    Master - toilet , tub , shower , Seperate Vanity Area, Ocean Views and Skylights
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Ocean View, Fine Linens
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 queen , Cozy Bedroom on Main Floor w/Private Ocean View Patio
    Loft - 1 double , Extra Bed - Great Place to Escape a Snoring Partner!
  • Super High End Mattresses, High Quality Linens
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This property is not set up for abalone diving. Sorry

Other Vacation Properties

$2,246 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote