Great House and Affordable
My wife and children spent about a week at the house in June 2012.
Positives: The home is clean and relatively new. The beds in the house were very nice and comfortable. I was surprised how nice they were. There is a nice sized living room and the kitchen was large and we ate all our meals at the house. The kitchen has all the needed appliances (except a coffee grinder). There also was a gas grill which got a lot of use. There is no central air but the window units did the trick and were plenty to keep the house cool.
The Arrowhead Lake Community is nice and quiet. We didn't hear anything at night. Within a 5 minute drive there are three very clean, large, heated pools with lifeguards. There is also a beach and you don't have to go far to find a playground. We didn't have to leave the community for entertainment.
What I would want to know if I was renting:
If you plan to cook when you are there, you have to bring everything you will need. There is nothing there except sugar, salt, and pepper.
Arrowhead Lake wasn't very inviting. It looked nice but I wouldn't want to swim in it, go to the pool.
You need a map to get around the neighborhood. It takes a while to find your way around. This isn't a big deal but make sure the map you get when you check in is in the car.
The dumpsters are a solid 8 minute drive from the house.
The owners are very easy to work with and I would definitely rent this home again in the future. We had a really good time.
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children,
Owner's Response: We are glad to hear you had a nice vacation. Thanks Joe for your very thorough review! We appreciate your input. We are new to this renting of a vacation home so we really like the feedback we get from our guests. It helps us to make the home more comfortable for future renters and for returning renters! ;) I never thought of a coffee grinder. We are not coffee drinkers so we were just happy we thought of the coffee maker! lol We will definitley consider that for the future. We too were very surprised by the lack of central a/c in the houses in the area but luckily it does get cooler at night & the window units seem to be enough. Even though they are a bit of an inconvienence. We would be happy to take suggestions as to what we might stock in the kitchen. Of course highly perishable items would not work but maybe we should consider condiments? Thank goodness the association hands out maps because we have turned down a wrong street a few times! We never leave the house without our map anymore! We do apologize for the inconvience of having to take your garbage to the dumpster but as of now it is our best option to keep costs down and keep the animals away from the house. Thanks again and we hope to see you back sometime soon! Donna & Ozzy :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?