Our Nine-Bedroom Beach House (sleeps 15 people) has been redecorated to capture the refined style of colonial West Indies and offers a fully equipped kitchen for ''at home'' convenience as well as a washer/dryer, flat screen televisions in multiple locations, a game and crafts closet, kites, four full bathrooms, and two porches to relax, read a book or have a meal.
Guests of our Chelsea House can also enjoy the Ocean, tennis courts, 2 playgrounds, 2 miniature golf locations and a hundred Restaurants within walking distance. Also available are several Ice cream parlors and cafes. Our local grocery store offers quick pickups, and several full size grocers are within a few miles. You'll find additional shops, galleries, and restaurants nearby. The best is you can get here WITHOUT a car from NYC.
Linens Included: We offer sheets and towels for your use. Upon completetion of your stay, we ask you to strip the beds and leave all dirty towels in front of the Washer.
Home Style: We leave spices, salt and pepper and utensils of all sorts in the kitchen so you don't have to worry whether you have it. Some refrigerated spices and sauces. We do not leave olive oil (it can go bad without the cooks knowledge.)
Tools inlcude an electric can opener, crock pot, microwave oven, toaster oven, coffee machine, espresso machine, popcorn maker, wall oven, stove top, beverage refrigerator.
Soaps, Shampoos, Laundry: We do leave a starter of toilet paper, but you should pack. We do have sevaral baskets of hotel samples throughout the house in case you need a shower before you shop. There is always at least one washload serving of detergent for both the dishwasher and the washing machine and dryer.
Thank you for the wonderful vacation. We had a great time. The beach is so close and we hardly went. It was too hard to leave the porches. We will be back. You have a great house! And the space was big enough for all of us. The kids loved the trains and tea set. We used up all the tie dye. We can't wait to do it again. Thank you for all your suggestions.
I agree with the review just prior to mine and second their assessment: the location was fantastic, but the house was not.
On the pro side - the owner was flexible with the length of our reservation. We were not able to stay for the required whole week, so she allowed us to stay for 4 days. She also allowed us to come down a day early since there was no one booked before us and it was open, which I thought was setting a great tone for the trip.
When we pulled up to the house, there were dead plants and frayed flags in the hanging planters - which we took down and moved to the side of the house. There were ants everywhere, including the bedrooms. Additionally, the stench of mothballs was overwhelming on the first and second floors and the basement apartment was very musty. We spent the first hour opening windows to air everything out. The kitchen was poorly equipped - several pots, but only one small frying pan and another with no handle for a house that can sleep 15.
The owner didn't tell us that the boardwalk was still closed (it opened the weekend after we left).
While Ocean Grove is a beautiful small town, the whole experience with the cleanliness of the house, and my subsequent issue getting my full security deposit back (she kept $100 for a torn blind), left a very bad taste in my mouth.
To be fair, I had an okay 4th of July weekend at this house, but the Owner's ridiculous excuses for refusing to return our deposit money left a bad aftertaste on our trip there. Nevertheless, I will list both the Pros and the Cons of renting this beach house so the next renters will know what they are getting into.
Pros: It is very conveniently located right next to the beach. Nice kitchen and living room area, as well as a good place to BBQ on the porch.
Cons: ANTS EVERYWHERE. Owner has to call in the exterminator or something, it was not a good feeling sitting on the couch watching TV and then feeling stuff crawl over your legs. The description about the size of the beds in the Bedrooms was also misleading. Mine was supposed to be a Queens Size bed, but it was definitely just a Full-Size. Plus all the sheets are old and starting to grow little lumpy stuff on them, SO I RECOMMEND YOU BRING YOUR OWN SHEETS (doubly good advice, which I will explain later). Second-floor bathroom has no shower. My guy had to basically go old-school and wipe himself down with a bucket of water in the tub.
Honestly, I was still okay with all this since it was close to the beach, I had a bed to sleep on, and I had good company. But Owner's excuses were what put an okay experience into, Never Coming Back.
Owner's Excuses: Owner demanded we wash all our sheets before we were kicked out at 11AM. There were 14 of us, and it is not like we could get a head start on the laundry because we still had to SLEEP ON THEM until we woke up. So we did the best we could and left them drying in the dryer. But owner's excuse for not returning our deposit money is because we didn't fold up the sheets (hello, that was how we found them from the last renter, in the dryer, they probably had the same problem). Owner's other excuse is that we didn't sweep up every little crumb off the floor (well that is why you made us pay for cleaning service too, isn't that their job?). The Deposit money is to reimburse the owner in case of damage to the property, not for Owner to keep on the pretense of a linen dispute. Owner is currently dodging our phone calls about returning the deposit money.
All I can say now is, renter beware. And I hope this review helps the next person who comes along.
This is a great beach house. Close to the beach and the owners were easy to work with. The cost was very reasonable for the number of people it holds. And we really enjoyed the barbecue and spending evenings on the porch. Owners provided sheets and towels which was good that we didn't have to pack them. It was a very relaxing vacation.
We arrived with six cars, 15 people and two dogs, 3 toddlers. We found the place immaculate and have no regrets other than we only booked one week. The A/C was acting up and the owners drove down three times during the week to assess and repair. They purchased and installed a window unit until the installer arrived. We found the owners to be extremely helpful and honest in a very difficult situation, and they went out of their way to resolve the immediate need for cool air during a heat wave.
The house is a few minutes from the beach and we spent most of our time relaxing on the porch. The kids were able to walk to the nearby towns for ice cream or mini golf. We bought tickets for Six Flags, and did some shopping at the outlet mall. The town is safe and we spent many evenings getting ice cream and just looking at the houses. We had a great time.
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Chelsea. With a group of 15 year olds, a dog, and a few cool days, our eight day vacation in this beach house was more fun than expected! This is a great location. Our boys had fun using the Owner's apartment as a Wii playstation club-house once we stocked "their" fridge. We rented the house and the Owner's apartment which left the house for the adults to enjoy. We had plenty of space even with 15 people.
We rented the Chelsea for a long weekend. We were 10 plus kids and had a wonderful stay. The house has enough space, and the beach, although the boardwalk is under repair, is so close you can see the ocean from the house.
The kitchen is large and open so we could prepare meals while socializing. And the refrigerator holds enough for everyone. A smaller beverage refrigerator is perfect for the kids to access easily for juice boxes. Games stacked and stocked were a lifesaver for us. we had a day where we stayed inside, and the kids just played games. There are so many that we didn't even make a dent. We also used the crayon bin which was a plus since we hadn't prepared for an inside day for the kids.
The town is sweet. The candy store wasn't open when we got there, but the kids ogled the window much like the adults did at the bake shoppe. We found a wide selection of beer and wine near a Neptune grocery store, and many of the restaurants were byob, so we enjoyed walking to dinners. Everything is walking distance. We even found a place called Citrico's in Bradley. Yummmm! Mediteranean italian. Moonstruck is also walking distance in Asbury on the lake, but with the kids we thought was too fancy for this trip. The Brick Wall in Asbury was also REALLY good with kids, and very reasonable, but they have a bar. We ordered a bottle of wine, and our bill was still low. They have salads, and hot meals for the guys, and smaller plates of most items. There was a sushi place nearby, but we didn't eat there.
The best part of the trip was the house. There are three floors. The master is big with a balcony and has complete views of the water. The flower room on the third room has views and two beds where most of the girls spent their time talking, doing what girls do. There is a tv up there and we put our two youngest for a nap in that room and a blue room with lower twin beds so the kids could get on the bed by themselves. The men spent most of the time around an island in the kitchen close to the beer. big surprise?! The front yard is sweet and has enough space for a game with the kids or a small kiddie pool, if it had been warmer. We spent the majority of our time on the porch which has a view of the beach. And it sits up higher so the breeze is perfect, though it did get chilly when the sun went down.
One of our better vacations. We found the house to be just what was advertised, and well supplied for making meals and enjoying friends.
The Great Auditorium, The Chelsea, The Manchester, The Cheese Shop, Days Inn Ice Cream, Nagle's, Krisanna's coffee, The Daily Grind, The beach, the ocean, shell seeking, accom in style house for rent place to stay.
Golf: There are several courses for golf in the area.
Ski: Water skiing can be arranged at the marinas.