Golf/Ski at Exec. Home Cedar River Golf Course in Shanty Creek
(989) 846-2700 (Michigan, USA)
Cedar River Village
Submitted: March 14, 2012
Stayed: February 2012
I would not recommend this property for rental. The home could have used some cleaning. There was dust throughout the house and scratches on the floor under the furniture, which we were later blaimed for and our security deposit not returned. Unfortunately the fireplace in the bedroom did not work and due to the sunlight comming through the windows, you were unable to watch TV during parts of the day. My family has been renting homes in the shanty creek area for years as well as international homes through VRBO, and sadly this is our first bad experience. I was very disappointed with the home owner cheating me out of my security deposit. I feel cheated of the experience to enjoy a nice weekend with my family.
Owner's Response: Dear Amanda, Sometimes we as property owners have the bad luck to have renters that cause considerable property destruction which the security deposit does not begin to cover and then have to suffer untrue and unkind remarks when you don't get the $500.00 deposit back. The estimate to repair the entire room was $1800.00, or we could have sanded down some of the gouges and scratches, stain and seal to match for about $560.00. The living room floor had been entirely resanded, stained and sealed at the end of Dec. 2011 to repair some water damage stains by the porch doors and you were the first guests to stay at the property. Claiming that your family/guests did not cause the damage is untrue. My guess is that the gouges and scratches were caused by some kind of winter sports boots. The floor was inspected by the floor company before the next renter arriving and pictures were taken to seek repair costs. It is untrue that the fireplace in master B/R does not work. Did you turn on the wall switch on the right side of the fireplace labeled "fireplace"? That switch turns on the gas and it works very well if you flip the gas on and then use the remote starter. We have someone available on call 24 hr. a day if you have any difficulty while staying in the house. In fact we had set up a meeting 2 weeks ago so that you could meet with the floor rep. company that did the work and our agent but you did not keep it. As for the house being dusty and needing cleaning, I take exception to that also and assume that you are just unhappy about the deposit. It is a beautiful new house and we trust that people coming in will take reasonable care of it while enjoying the house and all the area has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?