CABIN ON SHERMAN CREEK NEAR HERSHEY, LANCASTER, GETTYSBURG

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CABIN ON SHERMAN CREEK NEAR HERSHEY, LANCASTER, GETTYSBURG

Carlisle Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Our elevated, creekfront cabin is rustic and cozy, but also includes some modern amenities like wireless and cable TV. Its creekfront, wooded locale is the perfect writer's or artists retreat, in any season.

Enjoy the creek! We provide some fishing gear (but bring your own if you're serious), and there are some excellent bass and sunfish to be had. The children can wade most times of the year--shallow areas are abundant. Bring an inflatable raft or canoe if you are adventurous. April through June, some people float all the way to the Susquehanna. Be sure someone can pick you up and return you home! During lower water months, it's still fun to splash around on an air mattress.

No hiking trails right there. Hikers or serious walkers will have limited opportunities unless they drive to the trailhead or walk on the roads up above.

Well-behaved doggies (2 yrs old and above) are welcome. There are dog doors in the screen porch and into the cabin itself.

Woods abound with deer, wild turkeys, and raccoons. The creek boasts herons, egrets, eagles, turtles, frogs, and crayfish. The birdfeeders attract feathered friends daily. Keep an eye out for water and land snakes, but all are harmless. Please don't kill any!!

Carlisle, 7 miles over the mountain is excellent for antiquing. It's PA Dutch country and we have Amish and Mennonite neighbors nearby. Hershey Park and ZooAmerica are 30 minutes away, and Gettysburg battlefields are 40 minutes away. If you like to ski or snowboard, play paintball, do climbing or ropes courses, Ski Roundtop Adventure Park is about 30 minutes away. State game lands are also nearby, as well as Little Buffalo State Park, which offers a swimming pool, tennis, basketball, an old mill, hiking, biking and volleyball, and hosts a renowned folk music festival in the fall.

There's a drafting table and lots of things to paint if you are so inclined. The fall leaves are often wonderful.

The lane is gravel and kind of steep. If you come in winter you will need 4 wheel drive.

Keywords: Rustic, Cozy, Wooded, Creekfront, Fishing, Rafting, Kayaking

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Owner
Advertiser since 2010
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About The Owner

Sharon and Dan Richter are a professional couple based in Philadelphia. He's a professor of colonial American history. She's a writer, editor and translator.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2007

Why The Owner chose Carlisle

We love the creek and the wildlife. Very relaxing to just sit and enjoy nature. I paint and write, and there is no better place to do it!

What makes this cabin unique

I can sit on the screen porch and get wifi, working while surrounded by cool breezes and chirping birds, with the occasional heron squawking or eagle diving on the creek.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My favorite part was the birds. The herons and eagles especially. I saw an eagle dive and catch a fish so big he had to kind of flutter and wade to shore. I think they're golden eagles. The cabin was very homey--a little warm in the day, but I didn't try the air so that was probably my fault. Lots of window fans. At night you hear lots of crickets and frogs, and there's some bird that squawks sometimes. Sounds like a dinosaur. Beautiful fireflies at night, too. I bet in winter it would be nice to have a fire in the fireplace. The running water's a little off color, but the owner provides bottled water, so it was ok.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.4
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cabin on Sherman Creek Near Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg
average rating of 4.45 based on 20 reviews
business
Cabin on Sherman Creek Near Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311870vb
+1 2152003782
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Great Cabin!!

  • 5 of 5
My girlfriend and I had a great time at this cabin over the 3-day weekend. This is a perfect place to stay if you just want a relaxing weekend. I was actually going to go snowboarding one day, but was so comfortable at the cabin I decided to stay. The pictures don't do the place justice--clean and cozy. Not mentioned anywhere from where I could see in the description is the fact that they have a Blu-ray player and a smart TV-- which means you can watch Netflix and other stuff right on the TV without messing around. Great spice rack made it nice to stay in and cook. Fireplace was great-- we brought some wood and replaced the stuff we used. There is a market very close by if you forget anything. Very welcoming and I would especially recommend it for any couple looking to get away and spend some time with each other. No problems getting in or out, some of the roads are hard to see, but follow the directions and slow down when you're close and you won't have any problems. At least from our experience, we had no problem with the road--even with the snow. I have a 4wd Subaru Sedan and had no problems, although helpful I never felt like the 4wd was absolutely necessary (it all depends on conditions though). Definitely interested in coming back!
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cabin on Sherman Creek Near Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311870vb
+1 2152003782
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Harding, PA
4

Peaceful and Pet Friendly

  • 4 of 5
We maneuvered the driveway just fine in our 4x4 vehicle. The cabin was very pet friendly and the water calming. It was very chilly during our stay and the heat worked great. It was nice to have a DVR for watching rental movies after long days of hiking and biking.

St. Anthony's Wilderness is an amazing location to hike and bike! We really enjoyed the Diner close by, we ended up eating there a few times and enjoyed the meals. It was great having a grocery store nearby as well.

The living room furniture was very comfortable.

Internet worked excellent and we were even able to print out a page we needed from the printer. Not like a 5 star hotel or rental, but that is not what we were going for; we were looking for a quaint, peaceful cabin out of the hustle and bustle and that is exactly what we got.
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. I hope you can come back again when the weather is a little warmer. We enjoy it very much that other people seem to like it as much as we do.
business
Cabin on Sherman Creek Near Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311870vb
+1 2152003782
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
3

rustic cabin on a creek

  • 3 of 5
according to reviewer "tips & guideline"..... the listing description was accurate regarding the location, down a small dirt road, accessible with an SUV, at the end of a lane, on a gurgling little creek....amazing to find this kind of peaceful setting just a few minutes from bustling cities and highways. The pictures did reflect the cabin's appearance, but internet, television, stove, fridge, air conditioners all in working order, and lots of books and magazines to read. If it had been my property, I would have maintained it somewhat better, as I did not find it the cleanest of places that I have rented. I was also a little surprised to find food in the cupboards and fridge, & clothes in closet and drawers, so I felt a little like an intruder into someone's life. I later realized that the owner spends time at this cabin and does not take personal belongings out. The only questions that I have of the owner is the reliability of a refundable damage deposit. I would recommend this property to people who have a sense of adventure, as the little "goat track" down to the cabin is adventurous in itself, also to people who enjoy a very peaceful, quiet time. There are many activities in the area........Gettysburg, the beautiful mountains, visiting the site of the Johnstown flood were several of the highlights of this trip. The best part was that after a day of sight seeing & traveling busy highways one could retreat to this quiet spot, enjoy nature, a nice home cooked meal, & all the sounds of nature, & a quiet evening.
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you did discover that the large bureau in the bedroom is entirely empty, and to be used for guests. The housekeeper normally removes any food from the fridge except condiments. I hope she did not forget to clean out the fridge before you came! But we do also leave food and spices in the cabinets, and guests are free to use all of it if they like. Guests have also been happy that we've left coats there for them to use. Do come again. We're happy to have you any time.
business
Cabin on Sherman Creek Near Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311870vb
+1 2152003782
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
United States
2

Nice cabin but not nice environment

  • 2 of 5
This house is really cute and nice. It was comfortable, well built and had everything we needed. The screen porch is nice and I enjoyed my coffee out there every morning. However, the driveway is BAD BAD BAD (she does warn about the driveway, but AFTER you pay)..... the car bottomed out at least 3 times coming down and 2 times going back up....

There are bricks sticking out of the driveway that my car hits.. this is awful... We have tried to ride the ridges and there's just no riding to it on the low VW Passat we are driving (which by the way is a rental) The driveway would probably be perfectly fine if your on an SUV, van, truck or something that sits higher. But it did not work for the VW Passat. At all. So make sure if you do rent this spot you are driving something that sits up high.

Also, the house smells like smoke BAD. Perhaps if the ashes were cleaned out of the fireplace the smell would not have been so awful. A light smell would have been OK, but the smell was seriously over bearing. It was obvious the house does not get aired out between guests and the fireplace was not clean.

Also, I got the feeling we were not wanted out there by the neighbors. The neighbors were standing outside a few times and as we rode by and we waved and smiled and we just got a look in return. No wave or smile. It was borderline creepy and very uncomfortable. It's amazing how one little gesture can change a whole perspective of something. I can understand them not being neighborly, and I respect that, but a wave does give guests a more comfortable feeling. I know she cannot help how the neighbors are and they are probably great people and would give you the shirts of their backs and I am not the judgmental type of person, but I did kind of feel uncomfortable like they didn't want us out here. I am not sure if I would want strangers out there either if I were them, so I cannot say I blame them.

The house itself is cute though. My dog got sick and we planned to leave a day early, even though my dog got better, we still left. I have no intentions of ever staying here again.

I would have loved if she offered a partial refund or something, I made her aware of the problems and informed her that she left the driveway part out until AFTER we paid, but I did get my deposit back. I am grateful of that, but its all about the $$$$$$ everywhere you go, so I am not surprised.
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very surprised by your comments, Katie, as we corresponded about them previously, and I had said I would make people more aware of the road conditions. But actually, I'm not sure how much more I can do, as this is what it says in the rental agreement you signed before you paid: "ROAD CONDITIONS -- The access road to the creek is gravel/dirt and rutted. If you have a low-rise car, you are advised to ride the ridges. Corvettes for the Carlisle Corvette Show can be and are taken down this road in the daytime, with appropriate care, but the property owners are not responsible for any damage to vehicles from road conditions, low-hanging branches, falling branches, or any other condition. Roads can be icy in winter. We highly recommend four-wheel drive during the snow months, or you may not be able to climb back up the gravel drive. We do not refund due to road conditions."

It is true that the wet summer has caused further deterioration on the road, but they are working on it, and were when you were there. As for the smoke smell, it is a small cabin with a very large fireplace. People often come specifically to enjoy the large fireplace, and I'm not sure that much could be done about the smoke smell. The housekeeper does clean it out.

The neighbors are generally very friendly, and it makes me wonder whether they were annoyed by something while you were there. It might be related to the fact that you registered for two people, but you arrived with four, and this may have surprised and annoyed them. (We did not charge you for the extra people.) Or perhaps it was something else. I'll ask them. I do apologize if they seemed unfriendly, but I really can't control their reactions.

We're sorry you feel the way you do about your experience, but you seem to be the only one who feels this way. We will make extra efforts to inform people about the road.
business
Cabin on Sherman Creek Near Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311870vb
+1 2152003782
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Secret Hideaway!

  • 5 of 5
The Sherman Creek cabin was perfect for my wife and I and our 2 dogs. The cabin had everything we could want in a vacation rental and more. There were condiments in the cabinets, linens were provided and best of all a nice stack of seasoned firewood(small extra fee) for the fireplace on those chilly nights. We spent a lot of time on the deck reading books, editing photos and listening to music. The wi-fi worked great and I was able to research our Gettysburg excursion and plot our plan of attack. The cable tv was nice for movie night. The sounds of the stream made it nice for naps on the deck or creekside.

The owners were very helpful and accommodating.

I would definitely come back to this cabin and hope to someday.
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cabin on Sherman Creek Near Hershey, Lancaster, Gettysburg
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311870vb
+1 2152003782
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
4

Lovely riverside cabin

  • 4 of 5
This is a lovely cabin whose pictures do not do it justice. There is a great upper story deck with firepit that we used during the weekend and sitting out there in the evening you could see stars abound it was very serene. We did not use the indoor fireplace and had a bit of trouble with the cable/internet not working but really didnt mind, we were not there to watch TV. Fred had a wonderful time fishing down by the river but be forewarned, the bank can get quite slippery. The pups were happy to sniff everywhere. Favorite was the outdoor dining area. Weather was beautiful and we lit the candles and had dinner on the porch was perfect.!! Thank you for sharing your homey space.
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Wendy, for your kind words. We are sorry about the cable being out--the outside cable connection had worked loose, maybe due to wind? Not really sure why it would do that. But if you hadn't told us, we wouldn't have known to fix it for the next folks. So, thanks for the heads up. We really enjoy the outside screen room too--dining there on summer evenings is really nice. Please come back again--we'll apply a discount for the cable issue from this visit.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Harrisburg
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Harrisburg
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-81
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Pandemonium
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Ski Roundtop
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Carlisle
Nearest Point of Interest
State Game Lands
Nearest Point of Interest
State Game Lands
Nearest Point of Interest
Little Buffalo State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Carlisle-Car Shows, Antiques, US Army Heritage Museum
Nearest Point of Interest
Ski Roundtop Winter & Summer Adventure Sports
Nearest Point of Interest
Gettysburg battlefield tours and reenactments
Nearest Point of Interest
Hershey Park, Arena and ZooAmerica
Nearest Point of Interest
Lancaster Amish country, outlet malls
Car: necessary

Creek Fishing for Bass & Sunfish, Wading, Birdwatching. The cabin is best for relaxing, enjoying the creek, getting away from it all, and as a base for tourist things nearby. It is not really a place for people who like to hike unless you are willing to drive to the trailheads. (Appalachian Trail is 4 miles from here, so you can definitely drive to it.) Neighboring properties are no trespassing,although there is a creekside easement in PA, where you can go along the creek between low and high water lines. Basically, this is not the place for much hiking or walking right from the cabin. Doggies must be on leashes.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Carlisle Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
$600
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning/laundry paid to third party $100
Property Damage Protection $49
Notes Base rate is for 4 people. It is $20 extra per night for each additional person over the age of 5. Cancellations due 30 days prior to stay for full refund or a $100 cancellation fee is charged. Cleaning/laundry fee ($100.00) goes to a third party regardless of length of stay, and cannot be waived.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Carlisle Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Water View
  • River
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Garage ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Telephone
  • Heating
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Living Room
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Blender
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Stove
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Ice Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1) One queen beds in master bedroom., Double Beds (1) One double bed in loft., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Double futon in loft.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Video Game Console
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Music Library ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Wood Deck
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • health/beauty spa
  • theme parks
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • zoo
  • museums
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • water parks
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • coin laundry
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • sledding
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • skiing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • hunting
  • spelunking
  • fishing
  • cross country skiing
  • basketball court
  • hiking
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • kayaking
  • cycling
Notes:
Drafting table, firepit.
Email Owner Contact Me