AUGUST OPENINGS $120/NT. GRAB NOW!

Paula Segal & Sundai Rockwell

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Paula Segal & Sundai Rockwell

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

AUGUST OPENINGS $120/NT. GRAB NOW!

Fort Morgan Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

When you drive in to 'The Rookery Cottages' you know that you have come to a place that is void of traffic, crowded beaches and high rise condos.

Take the walk on the boardwalk to your secluded front yard. As you step on the screened in front porch you know that it is inviting you to a cup of coffee, a good book or some needed relaxation.

The cottage has 3 nice bedrooms with 2 baths. Each bathroom has a tub and shower combination. The living, dining and kitchen area offer a large space for watching movies, playing games or enjoying a meal together. When you arrive at the pool you are greeted with a large pool area with lounge chairs, tables and a zero entry pool. A large Jacuzzi and Lani are at the pool for you and your group to enjoy. Maybe you will cook up a few steaks or burgers on the grill. If you like to fish, bring your boat and fishing equipment and enjoy some of the best fishing on the Gulf Coast. The boat launch is only 2 miles away. Now that you have been swimming, gone fishing and watched a few movies you can head to the beach. Go .04 miles across the street to Morgantown where there is a parking area and a boardwalk to our famous white sugar sand beaches. Plan a picnic while you watch the sunset.

Now how long has it been since you had a day like that?

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Paula Segal & Sundai Rockwell

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Our family lives in Baldwin County Alabama, and all of us love to go to the beach. We never tire of our special spot. Everyone has something to do.

Living in the area it made sense to us to purchase a property in Gulf Shores. We chose to buy at 'The Rookery' because it reminded us of the beach, the way it was. We are away from all the traffic and crowded beaches. The best part is that when we want to go in to Gulf Shores, we are only a few minutes away. What more could we ask for.

While staying on the property you have the benefit of going two miles down the road and learning the history of the area while you visit Fort Morgan. The ferry is next to the fort and offers you a ride to Dauphin Island where you can visit the Dauphin Island Sea Lab and Fort Gaines. Go over the Dauphin Island Bridge and tour the beautiful grounds of Bellingrath Gardens. Oh yes, and this is a short cut to I-10 and Mobile.

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
August Openings $120/nt. Grab Now!
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
business
August Openings $120/nt. Grab Now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325778vb
+1 (251) 971-1250
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
Tulsa, Oklahoma
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
My family was impressed with this place, furnished very nicely and very clean, very quiet and we enjoyed the wild life in the swampy area. The kids loved the pool and the hot tub and could not get enough of the beach. We will be back.
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sharon, Thanks so much for such a nice response. We are so glad that you were able to relax, hit the beach, use the hot tub and pool. Walking in to a clean and comfortable unit is our goal. Please come back for some more R & R.
Paula, Sundai and Judy
business
August Openings $120/nt. Grab Now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325778vb
+1 (251) 971-1250
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
Fairhope
5

Fantastic "Get Away"

Fantastic "Get Away"
  • 5 of 5
My family and I recently spent a week at this unit and found it to be the most relaxing get away we have had in years. It is very spacious with 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths and very comfortable. The zero entry pool is quite large and inviting to all guests. My children loved the pool and enjoyed swimming while we grilled nearby. The scenery is also very beautiful as it is located on a wildlife perserve -- this makes for a very quiet, tranquil setting, avoiding the crowds of a high rise and the hustle and bustle of people moving in and out of buildings. The beach is nearby, with just a short drive across the street. No crowds were to be found and we enjoyed having the beach to ourselves. Overall, I found this unit to be extremely relaxing, accomodating and possessing all amenities as decribed. We did buy groceries before arriving at the unit and I found this to be very helpful. We also had dinner one night at the Beach Club nearby and found it to be delicious. We will be returning next year!!!
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Casey, Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. Glad that you and your family had such a nice time. The Rookery is really a hidden gem for a family friendly visit. Knowing that you will return again is what we strive for. We look forward to your next "Get Away"
Paula and Sundai
business
August Openings $120/nt. Grab Now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325778vb
+1 (251) 971-1250
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
Saratoga Springs
5

Wonderful Seaside Community

  • 5 of 5
The Rookery was a sweet little place to stay with a nice pool and hottub. The unit was just as the pictures indicate, and I really enjoyed the seaside color schemes. It should be clear that this unit is part of a community and the pool/hot tub is shared. It should also be clear that you cannot see the ocean from here. You could walk to the beach, but it would be a huge pain considering the heat and the stuff you might want to carry. There is a parking area at the beach, but it's pretty small. Visitors should also know that it's very easy to get stuck in the sand. This particular unit backs right up to a swamp. I was hoping to see some wildlife, but mostly just heard frogs and whip-poor-wills. The most fun we had was getting up early and seeing a school of dolphins near the shore. This is away from the main tourist attractions, which is what I wanted, but I was looking for something a little bit closer to the beach. I wanted to be able to just walk out the front door and hit the beach. If that's what you're looking for, this is not the place for you.
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Paula, I appreciate your response and hope that you were able to enjoy. I am sorry if you did not understand that the pool was a shared pool. We do try to state all of our features and ammenities on the site as clearly as possible and it does show that it is a shared pool. We do have units that are directly on the beach and would love to have you return and stay in one of them.
Paula
business
August Openings $120/nt. Grab Now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325778vb
+1 (251) 971-1250
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
Knoxville, Tennessee
4

Spring Break 12

  • 4 of 5
We enjoyed a week at the property in March for spring break along with our two college-aged children. Overall, we found the cottage to be comfortable and plenty big for the four of us. The kitchen is well appointed with appliances, utensils and space. The pans lack proper lids and are not of the best quality, but they'll do. Without a hand mixer, we improvised with the blender, and that worked alright!
There is a large-ish flat screen television in the living area, but it's housed in a deep cabinet and is difficult for all to see. All the tvs in the unit all have to play the same channel at the same time, which we found odd. We didn't come to watch television, but with a few rainy days, we ended up watching some {and not everyone is interested in 24/7 March Madness, haha!}.
The biggest disappointment was the bedding. While the covers and linens were fine, the lack of matress pads made it necessary to remake the bed daily {and sometimes in the middle of the night}, which we found annoying/uncomfortable. The beds themselves are comfortable, although the twin beds in the third bedroom leave much to be desired, and there is no closet in that room.
The cottage is nicely tucked away and very private. The boardwalk leading up to the unit has a step which is lit, but the week we were there the lights were not working. Watch your step! The beach is within a comfortable walking distance and about 15 miles away from "civilization" but we found plenty of delicious places to eat within a few minutes away.
Any issues we had during our stay were quickly addressed by the managers of the property and they couldn't have been more pleasant. We found our week to be relaxing, the property afforded us privacy, suited our family of four very nicely, and were pleased with the proximity to the beach and area amenities. The pool is just a quick walk through the parking area.
The photos on the website are accurate, and the cottage is furnished & decorated just like a beach cottage should be! We had a great week!
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
August Openings $120/nt. Grab Now!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325778vb
+1 (251) 971-1250
Fort Morgan Alabama Gulf Coast
Nebraska
4

Clean, Private, Spacious and Remote

  • 4 of 5
We leased this unit for 2 months (Jan.-Feb., 2012) as first-time snowbirds; there were just 2 of us in the unit. The promotional materials advertising it were accurate. We initially selected it for the amount of space in relation to price, appearance in photos, and responsiveness of the leasing agent.

As for the facility and grounds, it was well constructed and maintained. The 'locals' were very friendly and helpful, and the grounds were excellent. It was very quiet due to the remote location. There were no noises from neighbors; there were very few people around, in fact. It started to get a little 'buggy' outdoors in February. The unit was spacious, but becoming a little cluttered with furniture items. The rattan chairs were not particularly comfortable, and an aging sofa-bed was not comfortable for aging bodies. The beds and baths were fine, as was the kitchen area. The appliances worked, and the utensils were adequate. You need to climb 7-8 steps to enter the unit, as it, along with all others, are off the ground. It had a newer flat-screen TV in the main living area, and tube-types in the bedrooms.

As for location, the unit is within a wildlife preserve with views of forest from the front door--there were lots of birds and other wildlife noises. There are no water views at all, unless you count a small pond about 50 feet from the front door. It is about one-half mile to the gulf beaches. It is about 15 miles from Gulf Shores Blvd., which makes it very remote for groceries, supplies, pharmacies, gas, entertainment, etc., although there are a few of those services along the main road, Fort Morgan Rd. It is very close to numerous hiking areas and beach recreational activities, and some historical interests.

The agent was very responsive to communications. We did not need much attention or have many problems that required attention, but the agent quickly responded. We had no major issues (plumbing, utility or major appliances).

In summary, for peace and quiet it was great. The proximity to trails, wildlife preserves, and open, uncluttered beaches are positives. Traveling distance to 'town' was a bit annoying, although the drive is very pleasant; there was not much traffic, and the unit is well away from the main road. For us, more comfortable furniture items and a little less clutter would be best, particularly over a long period of time.
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children

Map

Map

× This manager has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the manager.
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Highway 59, Gulf Shores, AL
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Down the road
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Kiva Dunes
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Car: recommended

The Rookery is a unique spot on The Fort Morgan Peninsula with a Wild Life Refuge. Fort Morgan is only 1 mile away with a Ferry to take you over to Dauphin Island. Visit the Dauphin Island Sea Lab and enjoy the Ferry ride. Gulf Shores is full of Water Parks, Zoo, The Track amusement parks, restaurants and more.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Fort Morgan Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
08/01 to 10/31
Aug 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$120
$756
$1,500
 
Notes: Reservation Fees and Insurance $380   
 
11/01 to 02/28
Nov 1 2014 - Feb 28 2015
2 night minimum stay
$500
$800
 
Notes: Reservation Fees and Insurance $380   
 
03/01 to 05/14
Mar 1 2015 - May 14 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
$945
$1,800
 
Notes: Reservation Fees and Insurance $380   
 
05/15 to 07/31
May 15 2015 - Jul 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
$3,000
 
Notes: Reservation Fees and Insurance $380   
 
08/01 to 10/31
Aug 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$120
$756
$1,500
 
Notes: Reservation Fees and Insurance $380   
 
11/01 to 02/29
Nov 1 2015 - Feb 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$100
$1,100
$3,000
 
Notes: Reservation Fees and Insurance $380   

Notes

  • 'From $100/nt to $1100/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Mar 01-May 14..$150/night..$945/week..$1800/month
  • May 15-Jul 31..$175/night..$1100/..$3000/month
  • Aug 1-Oct 31..$120/night..$756/week..$1500/month
  • Nov 1-Feb 28..$100/night..$500/week..$800/month
  • Cleaning Fee: $120
  • Lodging Tax: 6%
  • $300 Reservation Fee applied to rental; $35 Booking Fee; $45 Rental Damage Ins.

Amenities

Amenities

Fort Morgan Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Internet
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1 Full, 2 Twin, 1 Queen, 1 Pull Out Sofa
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • golf
Notes:
Located Across the street from the Gulf of Mexico. Beach access with parking and a boardwalk. Bay Access is less than 2 miles down the street.

Other Vacation Properties

$1,729 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$495 - $675 per week
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,020 - $2,040 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6