Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Amazing Views and Old World Charm [Historic Colonial]

Chuck

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Chuck

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 12, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Amazing Views and Old World Charm [Historic Colonial]

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

San Miguel de Allende House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Historic colonial home in San Miguel Centro with old stone walls, interior gardens and fabulous views. Incredible two-story open dining room with historical stone walls, boveda ceiling, romantic Juliet balconies and skylight. Fully furnished. Lots and lots of old-world charm. 4 bedrooms en suite: each with its own bath, terrace or patio and fireplace. Fabulous rooftop views. Mirador with studio, bath and laundry. Close to the Jardin, Artisan Market, Biblioteca, Teatro Angela Peralta, Belles Artes, restaurants, shopping, and churches.

Keywords: Beautiful Colonial with Historic Stone Walls

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Chuck (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 12, 2014

About Chuck

I am a Landscape Architect and Artist with a private practice in the New York City Metropolitan area. I also lecture at Pratt Institute. The house contains several of my paintings which are part of a series of work called 'The people of San Miguel de Allende'. Other paintings of this series are in the collections of prominent New Yorkers and in residences in San Miguel.

Chuck purchased this house in 2005

Guestbook comments from the manager

Loved the house, enjoyed the dining room and the original Art work. The house was always cool even on the hotest days.
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

2 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Amazing Views and Old World Charm [Historic Colonial]
average rating of 3.0 based on 4 reviews
santa fe, nm
1

Not as Advertised....Kept Entire Deposit...Refused Refund

  • 1 of 5

Owner's are deceitful...Do not deal with these people. Many things in the house were broken. Three of the six dining room chairs, garbage disposal, dishwasher, empty propane tank for hot water, multiple lightbulbs missing with no replacements, towels provided were not even car-wash caliber, broken/busted table, chairs and umbrella on roof deck, kitchen utensils were more than 50 years old, 1/4 roll of toilet paper in bathrooms, no paper towels,

old dirty soap chips provided, no dishwashing liquid or dishwasher soap, no matches long enough to light the propane stove, broken chair in one master tied w/twine etc. etc.

The unit is NOT wheelchair accessible. Lots of potted plants busting out of their containers...totally root bound and busting terra-cotta pots. Only three bedrooms and three en-suite bathrooms. One studio on roof deck (accessible by small cat walk) where dryer was located outside it's door. The shower and toilet and washer were totally separated by the catwalk on the other side of the roof. The listing description was virtually totally inaccurate.

It was accurate in saying it was located in centro historico. There was a great restaurant on the street (Calle Loreto) named Cafe Muro. The property was clean enough...just everything was busted. We had to wait 24 hrs after arrival to fill the propane tank (at a cost to us of $250) which the owner's falsely promised to reimburse. The owner wanted us to pay to fix the sink & dishwasher and again claimed they would pay us back. The house had tons of jerry-rigged electricial issues....i.e. cords wrapped w/duct tape, funky outlets etc. Location was great....this could be a great rental but for the neglect of the owner's and their lack of a property manager in town to deal with major issues that may arise. The view from the roof deck was incredible...but the four chairs and table were trash. There were only two of us renting this for the entire month of March and we had prepaid the deposit and rent. The couches in the living room were covered w/blankets which we washed as they appeared to be dingy. We went to Costco and bought normal supplies that our generally included in a rental. We had to buy towels and washcloths along w/paper supplies. We had to buy a coffeemaker as the one provided was broken. Most of the dishes were chipped but useable. Probably had lead paint. Expensive month and lesson.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A lot of accusations have been made here without foundation. On the day you arrived you sent an email detailing a list of items you were unhappy with. The renters before you moved out that morning. They had no complaints about anything in the house. Therefore we were unaware of any problems until you emailed us. Nothing in your original list is your responsibility. The only items that are considered damages are those that you told us about the day you left. If these were problems from the onset why weren't they on your original list? Whenever there's a problem in the house we immediately get it fixed. When you told us there was a problem with the switches in the kitchen we immediately gave you the number of our electrician. That's how we handle things. We told you to either pay him and we'd reimburse or tell him to bill us. As you didn't tell us you paid him, we assume that you aren't claiming that we haven’t refunded his fee. I understand your frustration but please try to understand mine. The renters before you had no complaints about the kitchen sink, the toilet and the dish washer. Those items weren’t on your original list. You didn't call us at any time during the month to let us know about a need for repairs. Regarding the gas, we told you to only put in 500 pesos. I'm not sure why you put in more. As your contract clearly states, you are responsible for utilities thus gas was your responsibility. Lastly, it is an outright lie that we refused to refund your deposit. According to your contract, you are due a refund of your damage deposit less utilities, internet and damages. We were unable to assess damages until now. Once we do we will issue you your refund. We've been renting for 5 years and this is the first time we've had a problem with a guest. Your vicious assault on VRBO was totally unnecessary and untrue. When a renter attacks so forcefully it's usually a sign that they know they caused damage and don't want to be held responsible for it. I would hope that you rethink your inflammatory and slanderous remarks against us on VRBO as they are totally unwarranted.
New York, NY
5

Beautiful, quiet, incredible view!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at the house in Centro for 10 days over December/January. It was magnificent. The house was impeccably clean, the rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, and the art was a lovely addition. The rooftop access was a huge plus – with views overlooking all of Centro including the churches. What a perfect evening with a glass of wine and a sunset! Easy access to transportation and walking distance to town. Delicious restaurants, great shopping, wonderful people. Very safe area. The owners were so incredibly accommodating. Thank you so much for an absolutely wonderful vacation!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

×
This manager has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the manager.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $1,200 Per week

San Miguel de Allende House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
$3,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

San Miguel de Allende House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$5,005 per week
5 night min stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 8 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$3,500 - $4,200 per week
3 - 7 night min stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,500 per week
1 night min stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote