DOWNTOWN HIGHLANDS - WALK EVERYWHERE

Mary Abranyi

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Mary Abranyi

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

DOWNTOWN HIGHLANDS - WALK EVERYWHERE

Highlands Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Welcome to Highlands, the #14 Best Place to Own a Second Home by Barron's Magazine (2012) and the #2 best small town by Southern Living Magazine (2010). Come and see what the buzz is all about and while you're here enjoy world class dining, shopping, theater, art, jewelery and all that the beautiful outdoors have to offer from golf, hiking, biking, fishing, boating, horseback riding, waterfalls and more.

Located only three blocks from Main Street and a quick walk to most everything. Features include a spacious front deck for enjoying a good book, a cup of coffee or a glass of wine, a separate grilling deck off of the kitchen, nice hardwood floors in the living area, a laundry room, and a spacious open floor plan with lots of windows which allows for a light and bright lodging experience.

Ready to get out and enjoy Highlands? Leave the car in the drive and take a hike on any of the local Green Way trails that are accessible within one to two blocks. Other nearby places to visit include:

One Block Away - Performing Arts Center, Whole Life Market, Highlands Community Center & Recreation Park, Sweet Treats Restaurant, Coffee House & Ice Cream Shop, Brick Oven Pizza, The Movie Stop (movie rentals), Yoga Highlands, The Lost Hiker Bar, Mountain Fitness, Wild Thyme Restaurant and various shopping

Two Blocks Away - Kelsey & Hutchinson Park, Mill Creek Gallery, CK Swan Gallery, Town Hall, Highlands Playhouse and various shopping

Three Blocks Away - (Main Street) Mountain Fresh Grocery, Pro-Nails, Wolfgang's Restaurant, Paolletti's Restaurant, Madison's Restaurant & Wine Garden, The Spa at Old Edwards Inn, Sweet Treats Deli, Buck's Coffee Cafe, The Chill Ice Cream, The Pizza Place, Sport's Page, The Bistro at Main Street Inn, Ruka's Table, Reeve's Hardware, Highlands Pharmacy, Main Street Pharmacy and tons of shopping

Four Blocks Away, - The Ugly Dog Pub, Pescado's, The Rib Shack, Summit One Gallery, Drake's Diamond Gallery, Fresser's Eatery and more great shopping

No matter the season, Highlands is a beautiful place to vacation and offers plenty to do but we understand that it's the personal touches that really stand out. We hope you'll allow us to make your trip to Highlands the best it can be!

Please contact us with any questions.

Keywords: Downtown, Suite, Flat, Studio, Highlands Apartment, Apartment, Condo, Townhouse

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mary Abranyi (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Downtown Highlands - Walk Everywhere
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
business
Downtown Highlands - Walk Everywhere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323662vb
(828) 226-9818 (North Carolina, USA)
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
5

Highlands Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I enjoyed the brightness of the apartment as well as the thoughtful amenities and supplies provided. We wished the owner had been more quickly responsive to our phone calls with questions upon our arrival, but she was very helpful when she did return the calls. We enjoyed the deck and especially the short walk for ice cream cones! Very close to "downtown" and very near the lovely public heated pool.
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our rental and in Highlands! My apologies for any delay in response as I have two businesses and a family in addition to managing our rental property. As you can imagine, I sometimes get bogged down. We hope you'll consider our property for any future visits to Highlands!
business
Downtown Highlands - Walk Everywhere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323662vb
(828) 226-9818 (North Carolina, USA)
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
2

Photos & reviews are deceptive

Photos & reviews are deceptive
  • 2 of 5
the photos & reviews posted are very deceptive…after a difficult time we finally found the place overlooking a gravel parking lot with no appealing views from the deck; the furniture was dated & uncomfortable, one piece looked like an old wooden grate I was afraid to touch; the recliner was broken; AC window units we too loud when on to hold a conversation; no television in the bedroom, mixed matched light bulbs throughout and some that were brunt out. When we told the owner the recliner was broken, he said he was aware and that if you pull the foot rest it would open – when he tried, it didn’t work. He appeared to be aggravated with our request. He said he’d be back and we never saw him again. As far as the town is concerned, not much to see or do other than shop at touristy stores…no place to grab a good breakfast other than the grocery store…
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I'm sorry to hear that you were not excited with our rental property or our town. Both tend to get great reviews but I understand that it's not for everyone. I do let renters know that our location can be tricky to initially find due to the fact that our property does not actually sit on the street that is in the address. Trust me, after many attempts of pleading our case with both the town and the county, I can do nothing but explain that to renters prior to their arrival. The good thing is that once you get there it really is easy to walk (or drive) to everything downtown.

Thank you for making us aware of the light bulbs being burned out, we will have those replaced immediately. As for the photos being deceptive, the photo of the front deck was taken from the deck when the apple tree was in bloom and prior to putting brand new furniture on the deck so if anything, I think the new furniture is an improvement from what is shown in the photo. The interior furniture is in fine condition with the exception of two pieces recently broken by renters and although the reclining mechanism no longer works, the over-sized love seat is still quite comfortable. Also, the "dated" furniture is somewhat intentional as we have some older pieces that we chose to add what we consider character and rustic charm. In regard to there being no television in the bedroom, we have never advertised as having more than one television so there not being one in the bedroom should not have been a surprise. None of the photos show a TV there and no one has ever mentioned it as being a problem but we are happy to consider putting one in.

Again, I am very sorry that you didn't have a delightful experience and will take care to do what we can to improve our accommodations for future guests. For anyone reading our reviews and considering a stay in our rental, please feel free to contact us with any questions as we truly value our guests and their feedback and ultimately, want everyone to be comfortable and happy!
business
Downtown Highlands - Walk Everywhere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323662vb
(828) 226-9818 (North Carolina, USA)
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
5

Great Private and convenient

  • 5 of 5
Easy walk to Highlands shops, restaurants, and bars. Private apartment with a nice deck for coffee or wine.
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Highlands - Walk Everywhere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323662vb
(828) 226-9818 (North Carolina, USA)
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5
The apt is lovely and perfectly located, just a block or so from main street. We had a great time in Highlands and would definitely rent it again next year. Thank You again Mary.
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Highlands - Walk Everywhere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323662vb
(828) 226-9818 (North Carolina, USA)
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
5

Hiking week

  • 5 of 5
Enjoyed this great apartment for a week while hiking in and around Highlands.It's a 2 minute walk from Main Street and yet very private. Comfortable and convenient, will definitely stay here again
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
business
Downtown Highlands - Walk Everywhere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p323662vb
(828) 226-9818 (North Carolina, USA)
Highlands North Carolina Mountains
Charleston, SC
4

Convenient and Spacious

  • 4 of 5
We have visited Highlands for over 30 years. First enjoying our own home and now the ease of renting.
The apartment is spacious and very convenient. When we travel from Charleston we only have one car in Highlands. This location affords us the freedom for me to walk and shop and my husband to take the car to hike.
The apartment offers all the basic needs to cook in, entertain or lounge out.
We just booked our 3rd visit to the apartment and appreciate returning to the same place knowing what it offers.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We look forward to your next visit!!!
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Only a 1/2 block from the Performing Arts Center, two blocks from the Highlands Playhouse, two minutes to the Bascom Art Gallery, three blocks to Main Street, walk to world class shopping and dining. One block from the Green Way Trail, and an easy walk to the library and Nature Center.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Highlands Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$165
From
$185
Fri,Sat
$800
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20
Cleaning Fee $30
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Highlands Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Mobile Phone
  • Broadband Access
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Video Library
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • scenic drives
  • horseback riding
  • boating
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • whitewater rafting
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,225 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$747 per week
14 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$700 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2