SPECTACULAR VIEWS, TROPICAL BREEZES, POOL, SPA

Susan and Bob Voigt

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Susan and Bob Voigt

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SPECTACULAR VIEWS, TROPICAL BREEZES, POOL, SPA

Bordeaux Mountain Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 6, Virgin Gorda & other BVI in view

Brisas del Mar is located on the eastern side of St John overlooking Coral Bay, a 30 minute drive from Cruz Bay. The villa is situated just a 10 minute drive to shops, restaurants and bars in Coral Bay. Several beautiful national park beaches are a 15 to 25 minute drive.

Enjoy the beautiful sunrise and Caribbean sea breezes from this villa perched 300 feet above Coral Bay on the western hillside. This quaint harbor is filled with cruising sailboats from St John and other ports throughout the western hemisphere.

Brisas del Mar is primarily a one level villa with the pool and exterior deck directly outside the sliding glass doors with a hot tub on the lower deck.

The great room affords expansive views of East End and the British Virgin Islands through two sets of screened sliding glass windows. All 3 bedrooms have sliding doors with similar east views. The house has tiled floors throughout, beamed and vaulted ceilings, and ceiling fans in every room. The living area includes cable TV, wifi internet access, DVD, stereo with CD and cassette deck player, books, games, puzzles, telephones and tropical artwork.

There is ample seating for diners at the casual bar or formal mahogany table seating six or enjoy the view from the glass topped table on the deck.

The well equipped kitchen features mahogany cabinets and island, stainless refrigerator, gas stove/oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, espresso machine, toaster, blender, cookware and dinnerware.

The two en suite bedrooms are located at opposite ends of the villa on the main level to ensure maximum privacy. A spiral staircase leads to the third en suite bedroom with private balcony and spectacular sunrise vistas. Bed linens, towels and beach towels are provided.

An outdoor gas grill and laundry room with washer and dryer complete the 'at home in paradise' atmosphere. Ice chests in several sizes and beach chairs are available for island exploring.

The last half-mile access to the villa is on a road, part of which has unpaved switch-backs, that may require 4-wheel drive in tropical showers.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Susan and Bob Voigt (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Susan and Bob Voigt

After many vacations on St. John since 1968, we bought this beautiful villa with a fabulous view of Coral Bay and cooling breezes on the quiet side of the island. We extended the sun deck and added a lower deck and hot tub to make the villa even more attractive. It is a great retreat after a day at the beach to snorkel! Although we live in Virginia, we have a great couple nearby, Buck and Sally, taking care of our villa for us.

Susan and Bob Voigt purchased this villa in 2004

Why Susan and Bob Voigt chose Bordeaux Mountain

We have vacationed on several other Caribbean islands, but St. John is our favorite! The USVI National Park covers over two-thirds of the island and offers many protected beaches with great snorkeling. Our villa is central to south, east end and the north shore beaches.

What makes this villa unique

The spectacular view, the comfortable layout, and well equipped kitchen make this villa a comfortable vacation home for families or up to 3 couples. The final half-mile drive up the hillside on a partially paved road provides a chance to experience St. John the way it was 25 years ago.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Spectacular Views, Tropical Breezes, Pool, Spa
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Breezes, Pool, Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322786vb
+1 804-966-8487
Bordeaux Mountain St John
5

Best Breezes on the island!

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful stay at Brisas Del Mar. The house had everything we needed with extras. The porch was perfect and the breezes were the best! We sat out every night either in the sauna or on the lounge chairs enjoying the scenery and relaxing after a fun day of snorkeling and cavorting around the island. The caretaker, Sally, is great and was informative with any questions we had.
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Breezes, Pool, Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322786vb
+1 804-966-8487
Bordeaux Mountain St John
Philadelphia, PA
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I recently returned from our honeymoon where we stayed at Brisas del Mar. As I stated in the title, it was absolutely wonderful, and I don't think we could have picked a better place to celebrate the start of our new life together. The pictures above, as spectacular as they are, do not compare to seeing it and being there in person.
The villa was very comfortable, open and airy and it was equipped with everything needed for making home meals and drinks, and for days at the beach (coolers, chairs, etc).
Our stay was in July, but although it was hot, once the windows and sliding glass doors were opened it cooled off quickly letting the breezes through and was very pleasant. Much to our surprise, there were no bugs to worry about (at least not at the villa).
As noted in other reviews, a portion of the road to the villa is steep, unpaved and bumpy. You have to have a 4 wheel drive with decent clearance. Our jeep wrangler handled it easily, and we considered it part of the adventure. We became quite used to it after a couple days.
Another thing to note is that the villa does have free wifi, which came in very handy for researching online and planning our activities during our stay.

The owners and the greeters were very friendly, helpful, and easy to work with.

We give Brisas del Mar 5 stars. We are hoping to return again soon with friends/family.
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Breezes, Pool, Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322786vb
+1 804-966-8487
Bordeaux Mountain St John
Boston area
5

A week at Brisas Del Mar!

  • 5 of 5
When I first saw the pictures of Brisas Del Mar on VRBO I was captivated by the view and the potential of how good of a fit the villa would be for our family. The views, and the constant breezes, exceeded our expectations. As a family we have been traveling mainly through VRBO and other home rental agencies for the past few years, as I prefer staying in houses to hotels. Brisas Del Mar is the first rental we've ever had that lacked nothing. Everything our family needed was in the villa and then some. We loved jumping in the pool to start the day, and unwinding in the hot tub after a busy day on the beaches.

The three bedrooms, and bathrooms were all very nice, and the beds were extremely comfortable. We loved the tile in the bathrooms and through-out the house. It gave the house a very warm feeling.

The road to the house is bumpy and you need to be aware of that, but you do get used to it after a few trips. The caretakers - Sally and Buck - are really great and are available to answer any questions that you might have.

Our family had a great stay at Brisas Del Mar, and only wished that our vacation had lasted longer. We can only hope we get to vacation in this lovely house again.

Thanks so much!
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Breezes, Pool, Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322786vb
+1 804-966-8487
Bordeaux Mountain St John
Long Valley, NJ, USA
5

Brisas is PERFECT!!

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I just returned from 9 days at Brisas del Mar. SPECTACULAR is absolutely how to describe the view from this home on a ridge above Coral Bay. This was our 9th trip to St. John and our 1st stay at Brisas and this was by far our favorite location and villa and we will stay here again and again!!
The house was clean, clean, clean, as was the pool and hot-tub and everything was in great condition, beds were super comfy, there were plenty of bath towels & linens, items for the beach such as coolers, chairs, towels, etc. The kitchen was well stocked so we were able to prepare a number of meals at the villa. The house has a great layout and we would definitely bring family and/or friends when we return. We enjoyed ourselves so much at the house that we actually had 3 "villa" days just relaxing and enjoying the pool, breezes, hot-tub, breezes - oh and did I mention those wonderful breezes!! LOL! Seriously though - we had some warm days but those breezes and the ceiling fans kept the bugs away and the house cool at all times. Lots of wildlife up there, goats, roosters - birds all day long, tree frogs at night and 2 days in a row we watched a very young red-tail hawk testing its wings and hovering on the wind currents above the villa and practicing free-dives.... so very cool!
The road up was a typical Coral Bay road, and a bit bumpy in spots but definitely worth the adventure of going up and down every day to end up with that beautiful view!! We booked a private full day into sunset sail with Jimmy and his first mate Brita on Kiote and it was fabulous - we snorkeled gorgeous NewFound Bay -and highly recommend a sail on Kiote!! For dining, we suggest on the Coral Bay side Aqua Bistro for great food - (Ponzu Tuna night was wonderful) plus try their macadamia crusted grouper (delicious), Shipwreck Landing for the prettiest Bushwackers, Skinny's for burgers and potent Pain Killers and Caribbean Oasis for great pecan fried chicken. In Cruz Bay our favorites are always Lime Inn, sandwiches from Sam & Jacks and Candies BBQ - she makes the best BBQ and food on the island!!
Brisas' owners were fantastic to deal with - answered any questions we had and when we had cell phone issues when we first arrived on STJ trying to contact the property manager Sally, they were quick to respond and get us all set up to meet with Sally and get us to the house! We would rent this villa again in a heartbeat and look forward to returning soon!!
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Breezes, Pool, Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322786vb
+1 804-966-8487
Bordeaux Mountain St John
Canada
5

Great Villa!!!

  • 5 of 5
We had a super lovely stay at Brisas del Mar. The place was clean, the couches and beds super comfortable, the view was incredible, and every amenity we could need was provided. The pool and hot tub were clean and used every day :) A jeep is definitely a requirement to get to the villa, but we quickly got used to driving the uneven roads. This home-away-from-home is definitely recommended, although keep in mind that a car is required to get around.
  • Submitted: May 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular Views, Tropical Breezes, Pool, Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322786vb
+1 804-966-8487
Bordeaux Mountain St John
4

Good House, Great View, Excellent Owners

  • 4 of 5
Five of us, my husband and I, our infant daughter and another couple stayed here for a week. The house was a nice layout with three private bedrooms with their own bathrooms. All had large tiles showers with pretty good water pressure for an island house. The beds were comfortable enough with plenty of pillows and blankets. But when we were there it was too hot to use more than a sheet. There is no AC and the house can take a little while to cool off at night. With the windows open it wasn't an issue for us however. The pool is not heated, which we loved. After our morning walk or a day at the beach it was nice to cool off in. The hot tub was great too for later at night when the breeze was cooler. Both were clean and in good operation.

The kitchen was well-equipped although some of the cooking tools were a little worn and the knives were pretty dull. The burners on the stove were in need of servicing or replacement, but worked well enough for our needs. The place also has a dishwasher and washer and dryer which is convenient. We were however warned that the place can run out of water if it hasn't rained. We were careful not to run the water too long, flush toilets too much, etc... and we didn't run out.

The view from the house is spectacular and the little town of Coral Bay is very cute and friendly. The best restaurant was Oasis which had healthy food and pour your own drinks. Skinny legs is pretty terrible actually and not sure why it gets so much attention. But we ate in most of the time from food we bought at Dolphin Market in Cruz Bay. Just beware of the prices. Food is very expensive on this island and we determined it might actually be cheaper to eat out. Bring what you can with you.

As far as the road, it was horrible. Lots of rocks and very bumpy. If you are a timid driver, elderly or have an infant, you may not want to stay here due to the road. I sat in the back with the daughter to hold her head (9 months old) so that her head wouldn't bounce around too much. Once you are there, it's an easy walk however using a path near the house out to a good road to get downtown - about 10 mins walk.

Overall the house and location were great. The house needs a little updating, but nothing major. The owners were fantastic to deal with and incredibly responsive. I would recommend this to others.
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We are pleased that the Landry party enjoyed their stay at Brisas del Mar. We would like to add a little more information on their comment on water. Water is a precious commodity on St. John. However, we have NEVER run out of water. If and when the cisterns get low, we purchase water. We have a dishwasher and a washing machine, and guests should feel free to use them; we only ask that they be run with full loads to the extent possible.

Yes, the road is rough, but it is not long and is relatively easy to navigate if you take it slow. There are short paved stretches that make for nice reprieves. Nevertheless, one needs a bit of an adventurous spirit and it makes the view all the better when you get there!

Sue and Bob
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Pickles or Aqua Bistro or Skinny Legs
Car: necessary

Quiet residential neighborhood. Cocolobo shops and Love City MiniMart less than 10 minutes away. Many great beaches for snorkeling and swimming within 20 minute drive. Famous Trunk Bay beach with underwater snorkel trail, life guards, and changing facilities less than 25 minute drive.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Bordeaux Mountain Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Fall
Nov 22 2014 - Dec 23 2014
5 night minimum stay
$380
$2,470
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $32 per night, per additional guest
 
December Holidays
Dec 24 2014 - Jan 1 2015
9 night minimum stay
$4,200
Flat fee
 
 
winter 2015
Jan 2 2015 - Apr 18 2015
5 night minimum stay
$390
$2,535
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
2015 Standard Rate
Apr 19 2015 - Nov 19 2015
5 night minimum stay
$250
$1,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$220
$1,430
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
50% deposit to confirm a reservation; balance due 4 weeks prior to arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Bordeaux Mountain Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Telephone ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Catering Available
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Walk in showers
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1) King Size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • parasailing
  • wind-surfing
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$3,000 - $4,400 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$2,875 - $4,290 per week
7 - 10 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$3,297 per week
2 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6