SPECTACULAR SPIRIT DANCER LODGE:LARGE,RUSTIC,LUXURIOUS ON 60 PRIVATE ACRES!

Geri Slack

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Geri Slack

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SPECTACULAR SPIRIT DANCER LODGE:LARGE,RUSTIC,LUXURIOUS ON 60 PRIVATE ACRES!

Etlan / Old Rag Mountain House Rental Photos and Description

Exceptional, Post & Beam, 4BR 3BA Luxurious Lodge with Loft, Decorated in So

Large, rustic, & luxurious are words seldom used together, but that's Spirit Dancer Lodge, a luxurious, energizing, rejuvenating, and ROMANTIC get-away far removed from the stresses of city life. We're on 60 private acres in the Blue Ridge Mountains of the Shenandoah Valley. We offer 4000 square feet of living space with queen beds in three of the four, spacious bedrooms with a soaking tub and shower in the master bedroom. A large, closed-in loft area has four twin beds. All rooms have large windows to let the outside in.

The great room has a huge stone fireplace, dining room and kitchen, all open together and has floor to ceiling windows with prowl front and Brazilian cherry hardwood floors. There's carpet in the other rooms. Our hot tub, at the end of our extensive deck, is perfect for star gazing or wildlife watching. Downstairs, you'll find our sauna room (5 person) with queen-size futon, 18 foot stone bar, game room, exercise room and 62 inch TV.

The sofa here has pull-out queen-size bed. The interior house is specially designed in southwest decor (Home Beautiful).

We're located in Etlan, VA, just off Virginia's Route 231, one of America's ten most outstanding scenic byways (Great for biking!). We back up to Shenandoah National Park & Old Rag Mountain, which offer numerous scenic hiking trials, & we have our own private hiking trails on the property. We have a stocked pond for 'catch & release' only, however, there's recreational trout fishing nearby on the Rose, Hughes and Rapidan Rivers. Visit many, outstanding wineries, cheese factories, historic sites, civil war battlefields, Luray caverns, historic Monticello and the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. Antique shop, bike, hike or just sit back and enjoy the beautiful scenery and numerous wildlife. Bird watching is also popular.

We also have a smokehouse which is great for all kinds of food. Our dining room table seats 16 comfortably and makes for memorable, candlelight celebrations.

Specially designed lighting throughout the house makes it very romantic. A massage therapy center will come to the lodge for your spa massage. We also have a picnic table atop cocktail hill where you can sip your favorite beverage while viewing the breathtaking, panoramic view of the valley below. It's Wonderful!!

The Lodge is ideal for family gatherings, corporate retreats, reunions, birthdays, girls/guys weekends & theme weekends: i.e. cooking, yoga, painting, photography, nature, birding, & much more. Planning coordinator is available upon request.

There are many scheduled events, festivals, and activities throughout the year. There are world class to down-home restaurants within 10-30 miles (Most notable, Inn of Little Washington). So come and relax. You won't want to leave.

Memories are made here!

BR B Amenities: /B BR Several areas suitable for helicopter landings,huge stone fireplace, phone, air conditioning, 62' TV plus two standard size TV's, VCR, DVD, large video library, clock radios in each bedroom, stereo, CD player, tape player, full-gourmet kitchen, microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, gourmet cooking utensils provided, linens provided,iron & ironing board, washer, dryer, private hot tub, sauna, 18' bar, gas BBQ grill, charcoal BBQ grill, smokehouse, exercise room, game room with air hockey, mountaintop gazebo & outside fireplace. NO SMOKING, NO PETS.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Geri Slack (Owner)
Advertiser since 2003
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Rained the entire weekend at Spirit Dancer but our family had the very best weekend in years! Great fun in a spectacular house. Watched deer feeding and a mother black bear and her two yearling cubs in the meadow directly below the cabin. We will be back and it should be even better with a little sun.
Apr 2011
  • 1 of 12

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 35 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Spectacular Spirit Dancer Lodge:Large,Rustic,Luxurious on 60 private acres!
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 35 reviews
business
Spectacular Spirit Dancer Lodge:Large,Rustic,Luxurious on 60 private acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322251
-703 476-1671
Etlan / Old Rag Mountain Shenandoah Valley
Washington, DC
5

Fantastic Birthday Party

  • 5 of 5
The only reason I'm hesitant to give Spirit Dancer a great review is because I don't want anyone else to know how fantastic this place is. I went in mid November with a group of friends for my birthday party, and we were all blown away by the facilities and surroundings. The lodge is a home -- it shows in the quality of the furnishings and decorations, and the kitchen is impressively equipped. Sliding into the outdoor hot tub after a morning hike up White Oak Canyon is a pleasure not to be missed. Arrangements with Geri were smooth and trouble free. Can't wait to go back!
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular Spirit Dancer Lodge:Large,Rustic,Luxurious on 60 private acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322251
-703 476-1671
Etlan / Old Rag Mountain Shenandoah Valley
Maryland
2

Not What We Expected

  • 2 of 5
PROS:A large home w/excellent access to local attractions. Quiet w/nice views. We found it reasonably clean upon arrival. Sauna was great. Prompt return of security deposit.
ODDS N’ENDS:Reservation secured 2+ months in advance. Four days prior to arrival, the owner emailed to say that “due to an overlook” we were being “upgraded” to another property. There was no explanation regarding the "overlook" nor comment about why the other property was an upgrade. Because we didn’t wish to give up the VRBO listed amenities at the original property, we filed our concerns and the owner promptly retracted the offer.
CONS:Guest reviews are outdated and not accurate for this property. Listed amenities are either absent or in need of updating/repair.
A “full, gourmet kitchen,” is advertised. We had to deal w/a flood the first night because the kitchen faucet was missing a major part. Cupboards were in disastrous order. Finding a pot or pan that was in useable shape was a challenge. The oven has a mind of its own and shuts off automatically.
Prior guests have complained about the antiquated stereo system. In spite of following the detailed instructions provided, we could not get it to operate. In a message to us after our stay, the owner said that they don’t want to replace the stereo because “it’s better than what they make today.” Well, not if paying guests can’t get it to work!
The hot tub was dirty with some form of growth on the intake drains.
As for other VRBO listed amenities: gas BBQ grill, ping pong table, Internet, bicycles, kayaks, canoes are not present at this property; air hockey table does not function; what smokehouse?
At night the property suffers from a lack of lighting. Difficult to read in the great room even after moving the few lamps around to be able to see. Outside, the lighting makes it difficult to see obstacles such as the tree stumps in the front pathway.
Our daughter found the extensive display of Native American artifacts, especially those representing images of death, to be unnerving. This isn’t a complaint so much as it is a caution to any future guests who might have problems with animal bones, heads, and hides distributed liberally throughout the house.
The owners need to take a critical look at their property and turn it in to the “luxurious” house they advertise it to be. For the money, it wasn’t the luxurious house we expected.
We vacated the house 2 days prior to our contract period due to our daughter's anxieties.
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are disappointed and sorry that our rental was not what you expected and your daughter experienced anxieties. The house is decorated in Native American artifacts, and items that you found objectionable are deemed delightful by others and part of the reason we have so many repeat renters.
Many items are works of art which I’m sorry you didn’t recognize as such.
There are a number of items in your comments that are confusing.
Smoke house is 100 feet from the house. We cannot explain why you could not see it. We do have a half moon painted on the door and you could have taken it as an outhouse. Had you opened the door you would have seen the smokehouse.
Ping pong table was replaced with an air hockey table which is fully operational. Power cord was not plugged into unit. Plug it in and it works!
Stereo was checked and is fully operational. You must have missed pressing a button.
Canoes and kayaks are listed as a nearby activity, not on site.
Hot tub had seed pods collected on the intake screen. This occurs routinely in a rural setting and easily removed upon entry to the tub.

We checked on the oven as we were unaware of a potential problem. A service call was made and it was determined that the touch control panel was defective. The kitchen faucet was damaged and has been replaced. Thank you for letting us become aware of these problems.
business
Spectacular Spirit Dancer Lodge:Large,Rustic,Luxurious on 60 private acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322251
-703 476-1671
Etlan / Old Rag Mountain Shenandoah Valley
Annapolis
5

Perfect Reunion

  • 5 of 5
A group of us met at this lodge, some friends for 25+ years, some distant friends, some strangers to most and it was the perfect location and home for our weekend. We felt welcomed and at home immediately and on our first night, when a storm rolled in, we turned out all the lights and gathered in the amazing living room with huge windows and watched the lightening in silence through the awesome windows. After a long day hiking Old Rag the next day, the hot tub and comfortable beds were welcome, as was the large dining table where we were able to enjoy a wonderful meal together.

I've rented from VRBO before, and this property and owners were great, and we definitely plan on returning! My only suggestion would be to update the stereo system to accommodate an iPod or mp3 player. Other than that, it was absolutely perfect!
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Spectacular Spirit Dancer Lodge:Large,Rustic,Luxurious on 60 private acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322251
-703 476-1671
Etlan / Old Rag Mountain Shenandoah Valley
Fairfax, VA
4

New Years 2010 Celebration

  • 4 of 5
We came up to this amazing lodge for New Years 2011 and had an amazing time. We came with a group of 12, 6 couples, and we were more than comfortable and completely charmed by the lodge and the scenic surroundings. It has quite a lot of character! We hope to enjoy many more weekends here. My only criticism would be that the stereo equipment is a bit antiquated.
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Spirit Dancer Lodge:Large,Rustic,Luxurious on 60 private acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322251
-703 476-1671
Etlan / Old Rag Mountain Shenandoah Valley
Shenandoah Valley
4

Mountain Retreat

  • 4 of 5
Five adult sisters vacationed here summer '10. The home is accurately described by owners & pictures are well done. We were all very comfortable, the home is beautiful & well maintained. Lots to do in the surrounding area, (hiking, vineyards, history, etc) & owner has lots of helpful information regarding activities.
We had a couple of issues initially (propane tanks empty, coffee maker inoperable), but owner was available to resolve issues. "Romantic" lighting described by owner is interpreted as "too dark" by 5 sisters vacationing without husbands :-) Great place for children. Would highly recommend this home.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Spirit Dancer Lodge:Large,Rustic,Luxurious on 60 private acres!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p322251
-703 476-1671
Etlan / Old Rag Mountain Shenandoah Valley
Van Nuys, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
I grew up in and lived in neighboring Orange County, VA, for 36 years. But I've been in California for the past 29 years. This is my second year at the Lodge as part of an annual "girls' weekend," and I'll happily be returning in 2011--and beyond! It's a wonderful location for a gathering like this; and the setting is ideal for revisiting the area and provides a refreshing reminder of all the things I miss about Virginia. I highly recommend Spirit Dancer Lodge!
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: necessary

Other Activities:many wineries

Golf: BR B Activities: /B BR Hiking, Rock Climbing, Luray Caverns, Biking, Golf, Fitness Center, Horseshoes, Fishing, Wildlife Viewing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, game room, Restaurants, Sightseeing, Rafting, Canoeing the Shenandoah River, Wineries, Antiquing, Historic sites & Civil war battlefields, Caverns, Cheese factories, geocaching & paintball, University of VA & Atlantic Coast Conference Sports, Monticello and Many scheduled festivals, events, & activities. Go hot air ballooning at the orange airport or see a livestock auction, large game room with dart board, air hockey table, & many games & puzzles. Many activities available in the park.

Ski:Massanutten Ski Area 45 min., 90 minutes from DC & 35 minutes from Charlottesville .

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Etlan / Old Rag Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$400
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes $250 a day for a day added onto a weekend rental
10% state & local tax
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Etlan / Old Rag Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Go to sdancerlodge.com for more information & pictures.
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote