Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SINGLE STORY - ON LAKE SAN MARCOS GOLF COURSE. WEATHER IS NICE

Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, german
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager
Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
55%
Calendar last updated:
February 6, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SINGLE STORY - ON LAKE SAN MARCOS GOLF COURSE. WEATHER IS NICE

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

San Marcos House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Lovely single story home in pleasant Lake San Marcos neighborhood. Located on the golf course, there is a large patio to enjoy the view. No steps at all. There are two spacious bedrooms and two spacious bathrooms. Living room has large fireplace, new flat screen TV. Lake San Marcos has restaurants, convention center, two golf courses, swimming pool and boating.

Weather is ideal. No coastal dampness or fog. Easy drive to the beach and marina. Close to museums, amusement parks and more. Available $950,-- weekly or $2,850 per month. Rates subject to change.

Back problems? We have a special Hybrid Waterbed. Here's what guests are saying about it: 'I want to get EXACTLY the same features as that bed. My back hasn't felt that good when waking

up in many years. In short, I LOVED that waterbed, and want to buy one'.

Keywords: Single Family detached home on the golf course. EZ drive to beach. 35 minutes to San Diego Airport Enjoy Lake San Marcos golf courses, clubhouse, swimming pool and tennis courts.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Property Manager
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
55%
Calendar last updated:
February 6, 2015

Why The Owner chose San Marcos

Everyone loves Lake San Marcos. This neighborhood is well established and every home has great curb appeal. The residents are friendly and from all over the world. They seek the special climate of Lake San Marcos. Lakes are not plentiful in Southern California. This lake is popular with paddle boats and other small boats.

What makes this house unique

Sunshine in the morning, no coastal fog. A little drier climate than the coast. Yet, it is only a 20 minute drive to the ocean and marina.

Guestbook comments from the manager

In short, I LOVED that waterbed, I want to get EXACTLY

the same features as that bed. My back hasn't felt that good when waking

up in many years.
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 2
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Single Story - on Lake San Marcos Golf Course. Weather is Nice
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews
Tucson AZ
2

Holiday Visit

  • 2 of 5

My wife and I spent two weeks here before and during the Christmas holiday visiting our daughter who lives in Lake San Marcos. The location is lovely, on the golf course tucked out of harms way. Very relaxing sitting on the patio watching the golfing world go by.

The house, however, really needs improvements and maintenance. While most everything was functional, virtually the whole house is from the 70's. Also, on arrival, we found many of the lights in the ceiling, table and floor lamps didn't work, and styrofoam inserts in the front window by the door, as well as in the master bedroom, I assume to help insulate the place. A few days into the rental, we had an invasion of ants in one of the bathrooms. The owner had to call the cleaning lady to deal with it.

After that, the rest of the vacation seemed to flow OK. However, after I returned home, I didn't receive my deposit back in a timely manner, and had to call several times to find out where it was. When I did finally receive it, $17 was deducted because we used "excessive electricity" (for 2 weeks). Now we're a couple who are well aware of turning off lights. We keep the nighttime temperature to 67 deg, and generally are environmentally conscious. But, somehow, we used 'excessive electricity". So beware of nitpicking, and I'm guessing you'll have a good visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Al, We are very sorry for you being so unhappy about your stay in our house. You probably didn't know that all the houses in Lake San Marcos were built about 40 to 50 years ago. There are houses which are remodeled, some more, some less. The house you stayed in has already been highly upgraded, much more than most others here, and we are still working on it. Our 2nd house is already totally remodeled, but you choose the one which is much cheaper! Our cleaning lady did everything to make you happy, unfortunately this was impossible. By the way, ants come into houses when food is left out. Also due to the present California drought, when floors are wet ants will move in to access water. By Californian law landlords have to pay deposits back within 21 days. Your refund check was sent 01/15/2015 (together with the item you had forgotten in the house), 17 days after you moved out. Absolutely in time! No reason to complain in this regard, but you called already 3 days after moving out for your refund!. We didn't say: Excessive use of electricity, it was only $17 above the cap you accepted by signing the contract. All the driving because of the item you forgot cost us more than $17 in gas. Once again, sorry for having made you so unhappy in our old but cozy house. Birgit Holzhauer-Krupp (owner)
Hillsboro, Or
3

March trip

  • 3 of 5

We just spent March in this home. The place was nice but lacked supplies, such as wash clothes, soap. We had read reviews ahead of time so knew to bring soap with us. It was unusually cold for the first week or so. We had to use the heat almost daily, consequently, they deducted $35.00 from our refund. We did enjoy our stay. the house is lovely but does need work done on it. Bring sweaters or sweatshirts to wear so you don't have to use heat.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In our rentalcontract is a note: " The utility for gas and electricity has a cap of: $ XXX"! Many renting homeowners have such a cap. This is to prevent unnecessary waste of costly energy. By experience of renting this home for more than 10 years we know very well what kind of a cap to assess for the different months. Our contract containing such a cap was signed and therefore accepted by the complaining lady. Other regions of the country were much colder this March. Good for her she was in our house in Southern California (there she had electricity!) We actually provide washclothes. I do not know where they were hiding, but they were there! By us provided soap was rarely used by renters, but leave liquid soap. The rent of the house was calculated for one month. We did not charge for the extra day this party was asking for and was using. One day extra is normally costing $100,00! What a complain and fuzz now because of this deducation of $35,00, but no thank for the extra day (actually a benefit of $65.00 in favor to a complaining lady). Her recommendation for "tourists without car" is total nonsense: no matter what, you need for sure a car.
near Philadelphia, PA
5

Winter get-away in friendly neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent Christmas and more at this cozy home on the golf course. Although we are not golfers, it was relaxing to watch them on the green from the livingroom sofa. The description and photos of this house are accurate, and we found the owners to be lovely people. All rooms are spacious, and the patio was our favorite spot for lunch and reading as we had sun until mid-afternoon. This was one of the coldest winters in San Diego County, but we managed to stay warm here.

The location of this community was perfect for us and provides easy access to Rancho Santa Fe Road, San Marcos Boulevard (Restaurant Row and Las Posas shopping center), Palomar Airport Road (to the Carlsbad Outlets) and the I78. We like to take walks and do mild hiking and discovered that San Marcos has some very nice parks and trails. The neighborhood is great for walking, as many people do. In addition, the planned community of San Elijo Hills is a short distance away with its large park and trail system.

Lake San Marcos is undergoing many improvements now, with a senior living community almost ready to open and the hotel being totally renovated. We can only imagine how lively it will be on that side of the lake in a few months. This neighborhood, however, is behind the lake and consists of older homes that are gradually turning over and being renovated. The owner of this house has long-range plans for improvements, too. All in all, we were happy to have stayed here and met Birgit, Hans and Horst!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Pre-Christmas vacation

  • 5 of 5

This place was very nice. Clean, nice furnishings, plenty of kitchen items for cooking. It is not very welcoming, however. I expect basic items like fresh soap and T.P. to be included as part of the rental cost. It was expected that T.P. be replaced. We had to hunt for a hidden bar of used soap. A welcoming binder of information about local attractions, or book for travelers to write about their stay, would make it more appealing. The owner is friendly, but very strict about arrival and departure times! Easier check in would be appreciated as well.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Las Vegas
5

Clean, Comfy, Quiet, & Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

As promised by the manager, this place was perfect for our family vacation to Northern San Diego. The property was very clean and well maintained. The view of the golf course from the living room is gorgeous. It's only 15 minutes to Legoland and 20 to Carlsbad's beaches. There are several grocery stores nearby and lots of yummy restaurants close too. We would absolutely stay here again! Oh - and the fresh lemons and oranges on the trees out front were delicious!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Great! Your deposit check was sent from Germany last Saturday, I've sent the confirmation to you the same day. We hope to see you again as our guest. Best regards Birgit Holzhauer-Krupp

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

San Marcos House Rental Rates

Notes

  • 995/week - 3100/month, maximum
  • US Dollars
  • $3200/month, High season (June - September, December - February)
  • $2950/month, Low season
  • $995/week, year round
  • $120 cleaning fee
  • $850 security deposit (Refundable)
  • $150.00 Reservation Fee (Refundable)
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

San Marcos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Hybrid Waterbed - Back Problems? Look what guests are saying about this special bed. 'In short, I LOVED that waterbed, and want to buy one. I want to get EXACTLY the same features as that bed. My back hasn't felt that good when waking up in many years'. , Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Other Vacation Properties

$1,020 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,050 - $1,120 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote