DOWD HOUSE--R258 WALDPORT OREGON HIGH BANK VACATION RENTAL

From
$175
Enter your travel dates
Email Manager Email
Book with ClearStay.com
Dates and rates
Dog
Cat
Base Amount$0.00
Taxes & Fees$0.00
Total Price$0.00
*2 night stay minimum stay required. Longer minimum stay may be required for some dates.

Clearstay Vacation Rentals

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

DOWD HOUSE--R258 WALDPORT OREGON HIGH BANK VACATION RENTAL

Waldport House Rental Photos and Description

Rustic, older, ocean front home south of Waldport built in 1930. Two units may be rented together or separately. Large, rock fireplace in main home, which has 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. Small unit has one bedroom with queen. Wifi. 1 dog limit

Rustic, older, ocean front home south of Waldport built in the 1930's. Two units may be rented together or separately. Large, rock fireplace in the main home which has three bedrooms, one with king, one with queen, both upstairs with a full bath on the upper level. There's a small study room with a queen on the main level with small bath wtih shower only. The adjacent unit (B) side has a master bedroom with queen bed and full bath, with fireplaces in both bedroom and family room. Fully equipped kitchens in both units although the older "A" side does not have a dishwasher. Both units have stack washers and dryers. Beach access very close by. Wifi. Now dog friendly with 1 dog limit.

See all of our Oregon coast vacation rentals

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Clearstay Vacation Rentals

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

28 Reviews Write a Review
Dowd House--R258 Waldport Oregon High bank vacation rental
average rating of 4.142857 based on 28 reviews
business
Dowd House--R258 Waldport Oregon High bank vacation rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3170711
+1 855 5296084
Waldport Coastal Oregon
3

Only Okay

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Reserving the house online was a little confusing because we ended up reserving the entire house (Dowd A and Dowd B) without realizing it.

Dowd A is larger, but older. The kitchen is really outdated, with an ancient stove and cabinets and drawers that can sometimes be difficult to open and close. It is also quite dark, with little natural light from the outside.

Dowd B is newer, but smaller. My only real complaint here is that the bedroom has too much natural light. Even after closing all of the blinds, the patio door still lets in so much light that I could not sleep once the sun was up.

Also, if you rent just one side of the house, parking may be a bit tricky. Both sides of the house park single file along the Dowd A side. So it would be a bit of a challenge if you were staying next to an unfamiliar group next door, as you may have a stranger's car blocking in your car.

My main issue with the Dowd house (and Bayshore Rentals) was that the house not as clean as I would have liked. When we arrived, there was a used wine glass left outside on the patio, a large dead insect left in the middle of the bathroom floor, and a strange hair in the bathtub. Then, before checking out, we were required to wash all of the used linens and do the dishes, in addition to paying a $145 cleaning fee. Cleaning fees are typical, but in my experience, this fee is about 3 times higher than other homes I've rented.

All in all, our stay was okay, but next time I'm in Waldport, I'll look for another place to stay.

Manager responded on 7/9/2013:
I just read your review and I am so sorry you had sucn a bad experience at the Dowd house. In the summer months we do only offer the entire house as an option for renting as the owner likes to maximize rental income by having the entire home rented. I do want to emphasize that we never rent out both sides so separate parties. If the A side is rented to a guest we block out the B side because of the reasons you mentioned, parking and privacy issues. If you rent the whole house or either one of the separate areas you have both sides to park in. We will certainly speak with the cleaners, there is no excuse for those oversights and I will be refunding you cleaning fee mone
business
Dowd House--R258 Waldport Oregon High bank vacation rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3170711
+1 855 5296084
Waldport Coastal Oregon
Pullman, WA
2

Lovely location - run down property

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The Doud house sits on a bluff above a lovely beach. Unfortunately, the house is in serious need of repairs. The floors are uneven, the showerhead on the main floor doesn't work properly, there's a hook and eye closure on the bathroom door that seriously scratched one of our party and ruined two t-shirts. The steps on side A are narrow and slippery, the carpet may be loose. One of our party almost fell down the stairs. There are no window coverings in the living room of side B and the master on side A. There seems to be an animal stuck somewhere within the walls of the house as well.

Finally, all of the notifications about keeping the furnishings in the proper side and that forgotten property wouldn't be returned were off-putting and offensive. I felt like a college kid in a really restrictive dorm not a guest who had paid over $1,000 for the privilege of staying in the Doud House.
business
Dowd House--R258 Waldport Oregon High bank vacation rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3170711
+1 855 5296084
Waldport Coastal Oregon
1

Dowd A smells awful

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We rented both Dowd A and B to accomodate our family and out of town guests. Dowd B is nice and clean (although you can hear everything in Dowd B, so I wouldn't stay there without renting both). Dowd A smells terrible. The carpeting in the living room and dining room smell of mildew and urine. The downstairs bathroom is disgusting and ought to be condemned. We didn't hardly go in Dowd A because I didn't want my children anywhere near the carpeting. We all huddled in Dowd B for most of our stay to avoid the Dowd A. I can't imagine anyone would like to stay there--especially for a vacation.
business
Dowd House--R258 Waldport Oregon High bank vacation rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3170711
+1 855 5296084
Waldport Coastal Oregon
Salem, OR
4

fun loveing Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My four development mentally delayed boys had a great time. My boys want to return soon, the vacation staff was very friendly, helpful.
business
Dowd House--R258 Waldport Oregon High bank vacation rental
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3170711
+1 855 5296084
Waldport Coastal Oregon
Homosassa, FL
4

Great Place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This older, but nicely refurbished home was a wonderful place where we connected with our spread out family. Everyone loved the location with its beautiful views. The only negative was the early rising squirrels that had taken up residence inside the bedroom wall in unit b.
Email Manager Email

Map

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Waldport House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Seasonal Min
Mar 1 2014 - May 31 2014
$175
$175
$1,050
$4,725
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Mar 1 2014 - May 31 2014
$225
$225
$1,350
$5,475
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Jun 1 2014 - Aug 31 2014
$225
$225
$1,350
$6,075
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Min
Sep 1 2014 - Nov 30 2014
$175
$175
$1,050
$4,725
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Sep 1 2014 - Nov 30 2014
$225
$225
$1,350
$6,075
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Min
Dec 1 2014 - Feb 28 2015
$175
$175
$1,050
$4,725
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Dec 1 2014 - Feb 28 2015
$225
$225
$1,350
$5,175
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Min
Mar 1 2015 - May 31 2015
$175
$175
$1,050
$4,725
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Mar 1 2015 - May 31 2015
$225
$225
$1,350
$5,125
2 nights
 

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Waldport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Beach
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Toaster
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1 King bed, 3 Queen beds, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • library
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Email Manager Email

Other Vacation Properties

$325 - $425 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 16
$115 - $295 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$1,225 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10