GREAT FOR SIGHTSEEING, WALK TO METRO, SHOPS, RESTAURANTS

Property Owner

Speaks czech, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GREAT FOR SIGHTSEEING, WALK TO METRO, SHOPS, RESTAURANTS

Columbia Heights Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

This two bedroom condominium, located in historic building in the NW quadrant of Washington DC, Columbia Heights neighborhood known for its Victorian architecture, offers spacious 1200 square feet of living space, two large bedrooms, two full bathrooms and convenient location within walking distance to Metro, shopping and restaurants.

Our living room offers spacious seating as well as pull up sofa for additional sleeping area. Private, off-street parking available at garage around the corner. Free Wireless/Wired DSL as well as free laundry facilities in the building. Our eat in kitchen offers seating for four to six.

We are located just three blocks to Columbia Heights Metro (green and yellow line), the Tivoli Theater, DC USA shopping center, the Heights restaurant, Giant grocery store, Sticky Fingers vegan bakery and cafe and all the dinning and shopping located around the Tivoli square.

Columbia Heights borders the neighborhoods of DuPont Circle, Adams Morgan, Mount Pleasant and U Street corridor, DC's most vibrant centers celebrated for its history where the charmingly traditional meets the latest in urban planning.

Our neighborhood is located just up from DuPont Circle, right up on the Hill leading down to the White House and the National Mall. Getting to and from the National Mall is easy by Metro which is located just two blocks from the property, by walking or by cab.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Owner

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks czech, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great for Sightseeing, Walk to Metro, Shops, Restaurants
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 15 reviews
business
Great for Sightseeing, Walk to Metro, Shops, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316570vb
(202) 506-0019 (District of Columbia, USA)
Columbia Heights Washington DC
St. Paul, MN , USA
1

FAMILY VACATION, FROM ST.PAUL, MN

  • 1 of 5
When we arrived at 5pm they were in the early stages of cleaning the apartment. Check in was supposed to be 3. Not a great way to start. We left our luggage in the apartment and went off to to explore. We were hopeful that when we returned the apartment would be thoroughly clean. It was not. The kitchen was filthy, the refrigerator wasn't plugged in and smelled horrible. The dishes that were in the cup boards were gross. The rest of the apartment was worn and not very clean. We stayed for three nights with our three kids. It was a sight seeing vacation and we did not plan to stay in the apartment very much. It was simply a place to sleep. It was OK for sleeping, but not much else.
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that the cleaning was not up to par and we will communicate it to our cleaning crew and work on getting their performance improved. We are sorry that we didn't learn of this issue while you were staying with us as we would have loved to address it while you were in DC.
business
Great for Sightseeing, Walk to Metro, Shops, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316570vb
(202) 506-0019 (District of Columbia, USA)
Columbia Heights Washington DC
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN DC

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful stay in DC. My husband and I met up with my daughter and her husband and son. The apartment was in a convenient location, just blocks from the Metro. We didn't need to use our car once during the week we were there. Target and Giant were nearby and handy for groceries.
Property was clean, except for a few dustbunnies under the beds. Kitchen was fully equipped. The apartment was as portrayed on the website.
Owners provided lots of information about the local eateries and things to do. The Heights restaurant a few blocks away had great food and great service!
A word of warning- this is on the third floor! Carrying heavy bags and a baby stroller is tough, but the space comes well recomended!
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Great for Sightseeing, Walk to Metro, Shops, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316570vb
(202) 506-0019 (District of Columbia, USA)
Columbia Heights Washington DC
wethersfield, ct
4

NICE CLEAN APARTMENT

  • 4 of 5
This place is a good deal, exactly as described in every way and far far better for a family than any hotel room (regardless of price) that you will find. This apartment was VERY clean and neat. Safe quiet neighborhood and secure building. Close to Subway and stores as promised. The kitchen is adequately appointed for family meals and light cooking. Plenty of clean linens and towels. The owners go out of their way to share info with you about the neighborhood and the info is up to date and solid. This is a good rental for people with school age children who want to be in DC but not in a really busy area. The area of Columbia Heights has a little bit of everything so if you forget something at home the big box stores are a short walk away. This building has the added bonus of a laundry in the basement which is free, and supplies are available as well. This is a huge plus in my book when traveling with kids or without because you can really pack light!

A few things I found SLIGHTLY disappointing and you should take these with the honesty intended. While I don't expect rentals to be as cozy as home, I do look forward to at least a few of my vacation mornings or evenings to be relaxing. In this rental I found the furnishings to be in good order and well maintained, but at IKEA level comfort. Specifically I found the beds to be VERY FIRM, on the way to painful to sleep in. The kitchen table chairs are plastic and while quite sturdy not very comfortable. The couch was comfortable, but with 6 people that was not enough for seating for all of us. In short this caused us to spent as little time possible in the apartment, getting cozy and settling in for a long coffee and news paper reading, or an evening glass of wine and a book after the kids went to bed. If you are ok with that you will really enjoy this place.

Last little picky thing...during our stay we did run out of paper towels and toilet paper, and there was no dishwasher detergent (there was reg dish soap and a new clean sponge and dish towel). While we feel strongly that we could have called and asked and it would all have been promptly delivered, we just didn't think it was that big of a deal and got it ourselves. I am only mentioning it because I think for the price these essentials are not too much to expect.
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Great for Sightseeing, Walk to Metro, Shops, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316570vb
(202) 506-0019 (District of Columbia, USA)
Columbia Heights Washington DC
London, England
4

GREAT LOCATION TO STAY IN DC WITHOUT HAVING TO DRIVE........

  • 4 of 5
We (2 couples) stayed in this unit over Easter and used it as our base for a week of sightseeing in DC. It was very convenient for the shops, restaurants and Metro in Coumbia Heights and was significantly cheaper than staying in a hotel. The apartment had everything we needed and everything worked. It is worth noting that the second bathroom is not en-suite if it is being rented for 4 but this didn't cause us an issue. We walked in to town everyday (and back most evenings) in about 45 minutes and had no concerns about personal safety. It is also conveniently located for the zoo which is about a 20 minute walk. We would definitely book the apartment again if we were visiting DC.
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Great for Sightseeing, Walk to Metro, Shops, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316570vb
(202) 506-0019 (District of Columbia, USA)
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Colorado
4

A NICE PLACE TO VISIT.

  • 4 of 5
This facility was nicely decorated, clean, comfortable and quiet. The local to the village of Columbia Heights could not be better. I would recommend this facility highly.
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Great for Sightseeing, Walk to Metro, Shops, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p316570vb
(202) 506-0019 (District of Columbia, USA)
Columbia Heights Washington DC
Durham, NC
5

GREAT APARTMENT IN A NICE NEIGHBORHOOD

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I took our two young boys to DC for the first time last week and stayed in this unit. We arrived late in the evening on a Tuesday and found parking on the street right in front of the building. We unloaded (the worst part of being in a third-floor walkup!) and then moved the car to the locked lot beside the building. I highly recommend the $10/day parking lot as it makes the car an afterthought....you won't need it as the Metro takes you everywhere you'll need to go. The apartment was clean and quite spacious overall. The eat-in kitchen is small but functional with a rather large dining table. Beds were firm and comfortable with room in the guest room floor beside the queen for a single air mattress. We heard almost no noise from other apartments and the building overall seemed very quiet, well-kept and safe.
We really appreciated all the "extra" information provided by the owners on the surrounding area. We enjoyed Columbia Heights and close proximity to the Metro station. Do not miss Le Caprice bakery on 14th...outstanding! Great for younger kids is the playground less than a block from the apartment. We walked to the zoo from here, too...it's about a mile downhill which was nice. We decided to take the Metro back though.
All in all I would highly recommend this apartment for someone looking for a bit of true DC living flavor. Columbia Heights is definitely gentrifying nicely and felt safe day and night. Good value in this apartment, too. The cost was less for the 2BR unit than we would've spent for the same amount of time at Embassy Suites by the convention center and then we still would've payed even more (much more!) for parking and internet access.
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Email Owner Email

Map

Car: not necessary
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Columbia Heights Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$230
$1,400
$4,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.5%
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Special Event and Holiday Rates apply.
Last minute discount up to 20%.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Columbia Heights Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Towels Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,300 - $1,650 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$165 - $275 per night
3 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$175 - $295 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6