FALL WEEKENDS, 3 NIGHTS FOR $500

Owner

Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FALL WEEKENDS, 3 NIGHTS FOR $500

Canadian Lakes House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Our home in Canadian Lakes sits on a beautiful private lot with direct lake frontage on Main Canadian Lake on Canadian Lakes Resorts' only island. The main level has an open floor plan including a large family room sectional couch, recliner, fireplace, updated kitchen with Pergo floors, laundry area, half bath, and a large circular screened in porch leading to a deck overlooking the lake. Also on the main level is the master suite with a queen sized bed, full bathroom, large walk-in closet, and cozy, private deck with lake views.

The lower level has 2 full bedrooms (one with a double bed and the second with twin beds), a mini-bedroom (bunk beds, no closet), a full bathroom, and large family room with sectional couch. Toys and two(2)televisions, one with VCR and one with a DVD player are available.

The backyard, accessible from both levels, has a large, manicured lawn sloping gradually into a small private sandy beach. The lake descends very gradually and has a soft, sandy bottom, perfect for children. A dock and rowboat are available for your use seasonally. There are also some beach toys, lounge furniture, bocci ball and horse shoes for your enjoyment. Parking for 2 large or 3 small vehicles is provided.

Located only two and a half hours from most Detroit suburbs, this area is at the bottom of the Northern Michigan snowbelt. Autumn brings breathtaking colors as the leaves begin their descent and the wonderful winter weather accommodates winter sports including cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, and sledding. At the Canadian Lakes Mayfair Grill, an indoor pool with slide, fitness center, wi-fe, sauna and hot tub are accessible ($3 per day) with guest passes which can be picked up at the CLPOC office upon request (available year-round).

In warmer weather, three beaches, an outdoor pool, tennis courts and basketball courts are nearby. Two highly rated public golf courses (St. Ives and Tullymore) are both within the Canadian Lakes Resort for use by the public.

There are NO PETS and NO SMOKING allowed on the premises at any time.

Keywords: Lakefront House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2003
Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fall Weekends, 3 nights for $500
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Fall Weekends, 3 nights for $500
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31434vb
Canadian Lakes Western Michigan
West Bloomfield mi 48322
5

GOLF LADIES

  • 5 of 5
We have been renting this wonderful home for 8 years and always love our stay there. As soon as we walk in the door we know we are home for a week. Our favorite spot is the screened in porch overlooking the lake. We eat, drink play cards out there. It is very relaxing. We find the whole area to be very beautiful and everyone keeps everything well kept. We will be going back this year again and can hardly wait. The house has so much space for families or as we are adults. Pete and Kristin always will handle any thing that might come up ASAP. Can hardly wait again to go to our Canadian Lake home away from home. I also have rented it for a long weekend with other friends and they to just loved the layout. The golfiing is wonderful and we also have rented a pontoon for a couple of years and had great fun on it exploring the other lakes. I have sent my daughter and her family there for a week and they too had a lot of fun. The kids fished off the dock and caught some. Great place. and one last thing, easy to find and very private in the area.
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fall Weekends, 3 nights for $500
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31434vb
Canadian Lakes Western Michigan
Royal Oak, MI
5

FIRST TIMERS

  • 5 of 5
This was the first time our family visited the Canadian Lakes area. Let me just say what a beautiful area this is! The day we arrived was a steamer, so the first thing my children did was swim in the lake. It was clear, but still pretty chilly water temperatures. The house was very spacious and it was clean upon our arrival. The kitchen's amenities were as listed, with a few more handy items available as well. The bedrooms slept many and were actually bigger than expected. I truly appreciated the option of the lower level for our children and cousins that came to visit. The main floor had 2 game playing/card playing areas - really helpful for a big group like ours. We enjoyed some great hikes and saw a few deer along the way! We would recommend this house and would like to try and stay here again sometime.
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fall Weekends, 3 nights for $500
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31434vb
Canadian Lakes Western Michigan
Lake Tahoe Ca.96150
5

FABULOUS DESTINATION AND ACCOMODATIONS FROM MY FAMILY COMING FROM DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE COUNTRY!

  • 5 of 5
Thank you very much for providing such a beautiful place for our family to enjoy. Everything was in great order (just as you said when we made our reservation).
The house was in excellent conditiion and immaculate f(very important to all of us). the photos your provideare a great help.
The lake was right out our door. How perfect for watching the kids swim.
Thanks again for making our family vacation all it could be.
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Fall Weekends, 3 nights for $500
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31434vb
Canadian Lakes Western Michigan
Okatie,SC
1

SO DISAPPOINTING.....

  • 1 of 5
I normally do not respond to providing reviews as they usually provide biased information and lead to petty exchanges. However, in this case, I feel obligated to forewarn prospective renters that pictures do not show the state of cleanliness and general repair.
This house had ants in the kitchen and dining areas. It took 12 days to get pest control to spray.
The kitchen water was gray on arrival. The owner said to use the refrigerator water supply until the water was tested. The refrigerator water light said ‘replace the filter”! We never did get test results and used bottled water during our stay.
At the corner bedpost in the master bedroom, we found dental floss and a candy mint. The closets and storage areas contained piles of discarded items. The light in the master bedroom closet had no switch or cord to turn it on.
Several windows did not open or close as the mechanisms were faulty. The slider screen door in the master bedroom would not work in its track.
The rowboat provided had two oars of unequal length making it impossible to use the rowboat.
We loaded the coffee pot the evening prior and it leaked all over the counters during the night.
The provided horseshoe set was missing the stakes and unusable. The bocce set mentioned in the listing could not be found.
The master bedroom bed had a queen mattress on top of a double bed size box spring.
Separately, each of these items could have been managed. Collectively, this was an unacceptable situation and we left early.
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter decided to change his rental from 3 weeks to 2 weeks at the very last minute and wanted a refund for the unused 3rd week. When we said we were sorry but could not provide a refund, he proceeded to call/text daily with ridiculous, fictional issues and complaints followed up by this review. Other property owners should take caution in renting to this man. He is dishonest and irrational, do not allow him into your home.
business
Fall Weekends, 3 nights for $500
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p31434vb
Canadian Lakes Western Michigan
Baltimore, MD
4

BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF LAKE AND DIRECT LAKE ACCESS; AMPLE ROOM FOR YOUR GEAR

  • 4 of 5
We rented this home for one week mid-summer. The SPACIOUS home had an excellent layout with an open floor plan with a screened in deck overlooking the lake. It has central air throughout and ceiling fans on the main floor. Queen Master bed and bath on main floor. Also 2-car garage, laundry room and half bath are on the main floor. Lower level had 1 lakeview bedroom with a double, then a family room, then a full bath and 2 rooms pass that consisting of 1 room which had 2 twin beds and lake view and the other room which had no windows but a bunk bed (2 singles) in it.
Furniture is newer than what is in the photos - there is a sectional sofa now in each of the two living areas and the master bedroom furniture is more inviting. The kitchen was clean and had plenty of empty cabinets to use, coffee maker, toaster, and microwave. The sandy beach area could of used more sand in our opinion. There is a pier and you can swim right at the house and it is a good 8 feet or so of a sandy bottom lake before the water gets over your head. The lake had some seaweed floating around in it but that didn't stop our children. There is a nice, free public beach (there are more than one actually) within 5 minutes of the house and it is a very quiet, peaceful community (great to take walks).
We are not from MI so we were surprised that MI taxes its cans and glass bottles and then you can take the empties up to the corner store for cash-in-hand. We also were not used to taking our trash to a trash center and paying per bag, but it wasn't so bad and it was not costly. We were surprised & disappointed to not see any recycling areas for paper, glass, or plastic; not sure if we missed them or if that area is not big on recycling yet. The trash & recycling are not in the owner's control but I thought some readers may want to be aware of this. Pizza place up the road (Mancini's?) had good pizza. We mainly cooked on the grill. Drove to Big Rapids (about 25 min away) to the Super Walmart to get groceries. We rented a pontoon boat (highly recommend) and we also kayaked (we brought a kayak) around the lake. We had trouble with the oars that were provided with the boat that was at the house, so we didn't use it. Riding the dune buggies at Silver Lake (Lake Michigan) was also a great day trip to take from the house. Overall favorite was the comfortable evening and morning weather to sit out on the screened in porch and then mid-day enjoy the warm water at the lake.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Canadian Lakes House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Prime Summer
Jun 29 2014 - Aug 2 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 3 2014 - Sep 1 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,325
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
$910
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Cleaning $75
Tax Rate 6.0%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Canadian Lakes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • VCR
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • horseback riding
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • basketball court
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • water tubing
  • water skiing
Notes:
2 Cable TV's DVD player, Charcoal and/or Gas Grill (BBQ), Outdoor and Indoor Games, Fire Pit, Circular screened porch, Rowboat, Lawn Furniture, No pets, No smoking
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,200 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 11
$825 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,050 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8