Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Mid Century Modern Cabin Minutes from Slopes and Lake

Danielle Steckler

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Danielle Steckler

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2015
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Mid Century Modern Cabin Minutes from Slopes and Lake

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Bear Mountain Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to Niko’s Nido, our post and beam cabin in Big Bear California, named after our daughter Niko. The only mid-century modern on the mountain, let's just say it ain’t your grandma’s cabin!

A 2200 sq. foot 3 bedroom (two with king sized bed and one with two twins) with 2 fully updated baths. Sleeping 6 comfortably.

There is a great living room with a huge fireplace (and we stock the wood), flat screen, BluRay DVD, stereo (iPod ready) and wireless internet- (in case you work on your vacations).

A dining room is set for 6 and a kitchen with all the gear. There is also a utility room with a washer and dryer. Along with parking for 4 cars.

It is centrally located in Moonridge just 1 mile from Bear Mountain (walking distance to their shuttle parking). It’s a mile and a half to Snow Summit and about the same to the lake. With year around activities this is a perfect getaway any time you need it.

Also please note there is a two night minimum.

Keywords: Mid Century Modern Cabin

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Danielle Steckler (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

The PERFECT couples retreat. Super stylish, clean and cozy...a rarity up here! There's no better way to do Big Bear than at Niko's Nido. We will definitely be back for some more!
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Mid Century Modern Cabin Minutes from Slopes and Lake
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 14 reviews
Los Angeles
5

Ideal Mid Century Cabin in the Woods!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Niko's Nido couldn't have been easier and more welcoming... It's the only mid-century cabin in Big Bear and is extremely comfortable and decorated to a "t". We thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor eating area off the kitchen and of course the jacuzzi. The whole experience was perfect. I highly recommend staying here if you are headed up that way (and there are very few, if not any others at all, "cool" places to stay). Danielle was a dream to deal with and I look forward to staying here again! Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Los Angeles
5

My new place to stay in Big Bear!

  • 5 of 5

What a delightful place. Incredible mid-century in Big Bear, beautifully appointed, with modern updates -- like gorgeous bathrooms --- that feel totally in keeping with orig design of house. Super cozy and a great location. We had a blast, BBQ was great, and fireplace is huge! This is where we will stay from now on in the Bear. Great owners, super responsive and on top of all the details that make your stay so comfortable and easy. And location couldn't be better! Don't miss Niko's Nido!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
1

Was very excited but quickly disappointed...

  • 1 of 5

I was very excited to stay at this cabin in Big Bear because it is the only mid century modern cabin I could find. However, my experience from start to finish with the owners did not go so smoothly. On 1/4, I sent a rental inquiry via VRBO for the last weekend of Jan. I asked how to book but did not receive a reply to that question. I really wanted the cabin so I sent another email directly to the owners on 1/7. Luckily I did get a reply but kept going back and forth trying to find out how to book. I finally got a contract emailed to me on 1/9 but for the wrong dates. It got updated and they sent contract later that day. I quickly sent full payment for the rental fee, cleaning fee, and damage deposit via Paypal. Payment Clause: Payment shall be made by paypal to the email address XX@XX.com Or you can pay by credit card for a 3% fee. Payment must be paid in full to hold your reservation.

The cabin has some lovely upgrades in the bathrooms but I wish the kitchen was upgraded, too. In our contract it states that the downstairs shower leaks water. We weren't stuck standing in a clogged drain thankfully, but it was still not ideal and needed towels to soak it up. The WIFI did not work. When we texted the owner, they said to call the utility company?! The cabin comes with a Wii, awesome! Except the controllers had no batteries. The contract says there are 2 keys in the lockbox. There was only 1. On Sunday we get a text that we should've been out already and that we were going to get an additional charge. We got it cleared up but the mistake made us feel so unwelcomed. There is a cleaning fee but keep in mind you still need to wash all your dishes, put them away, clean the kitchen, take out all of your trash and drop it off at a disposal site.

A week later they processed a refund for less than the deposit amount. I asked why we were not given the full amount back. They said it was due to Paypal fees. I was very confused since nowhere in the contract did it state I would be charged Paypal fees. I understand it says if you pay by credit card a 3% fee will be charged but I did not pay directly from my credit card, thus the confusion. Unfortunately for us, it just didn't come out to be a great experience.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kim, I am deeply sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay at niko's nido. We always want our guests to enjoy the house as much as we do and we try our hardest to provide them with a special experience. Almost all of our clients are repeat customers who love the nido and appreciate it for its unique offerings. I wanted to address some of your points in hopes that you will feel differently and that next time you will give a greater deal of attention to the emails and contracts you sign. Wifi-our network provider had been having issues in our neighborhood and I am happy to say that they have come out and replaced our equipment and boosted the signal. I understand how important internet is for us all these days and I am happy to say that this has been resolved. Wii remote- we supply batteries in the kitchen drawer, I do so wish you would have asked and I would've gladly directed you to their location. Shower- no where in our contract does it say we have a leak in our shower. Because of the way the shower was made there is a possibility, depending how you shower, that if water is splashed outside the tub it can pool up on the sides. There are by no means a leak and if you had throughly read the welcome email I sent you you would have understood that. Damage deposit- again I believe there was an issue with you completely reading the email and contract that was sent regarding the payment. It clearly states on the contract to fill in your credit card information for the damage hold. I also reiterate it in the email, asking you to "please make sure to fill out the credit card information as we use this card for the $500 damage hold". No where does it say to send it via Paypal, it specifically asks for a credit card, not a Paypal payment, for the very reason of the fees incurred by transactions via Paypal. I wish that I could waive their fees but obviously that is out of my control. checkout- I am sorry that you had an issue with loading your dishes in the dishwasher and that removing your trash was a problem. I spoke to the trash removal in the welcome email and explained that because of the wildlife almost all cabins in Big Bear ask you to remove your trash to one of the two disposal sites conveniently located on your route out of town. This is just something that has to be done in the mountains. I hope this clarifies your issues with us and again I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our home. Cheers, Danielle, David and Niko
5

Perfect vacation place

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house very nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. We (myself, wife and 2 girls) spent 4 nights at Nico's Nido and had a fantastic time there. We did not have a single problem throughout our stay and the contact with Danielle was lovely! I am sure this will be first of many other stays at Nico's Nido. The location is awesome and the property pictures are right on.

Many thanks for the great time!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Los Angeles
5

Gem in Big Bear

  • 5 of 5

Hard to find places in Big Bear that aren't shabby. If you care about your place having style and taste this is the answer! Besides that, it's convenient to town and Summit-- which I believe is less than 2 minutes away!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Hermosa Beach, CA
5

Special place to stay in Big Bear

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from a great long weekend at Niko's Nido. The house is just what you would expect from a mid-century modern situated in the mountains (very cool and cozy at the same time). The rental process was simple and Danielle was fantastic helping us with the details. We even had a clogged kitchen drain that was handled very quickly by Danielle's handyman. The great room is beautiful, made even more so by a warm fire in the impressive fireplace. The house is also set up fabulously for kids with board games, tv, dvd, and wii. The wifi also works great and there is at&t cell phone service. The location is great for access to the slopes and amenities, but it also gives you the feel of living in a nice quiet mountain neighborhood. It is highly recommended, and we will be back to enjoy it some more.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
San Bernardino International Airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
330
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Captain's Anchorage
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Bear Mountian
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $300 Per night

Bear Mountain Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Feb 25 2015 - Apr 1 2015
2 night minimum stay
$400
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$3,000
 
 
Spring/Summer
Apr 2 2015 - Nov 26 2015
2 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Bear Mountain Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$175 - $825 per night
2 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$119 - $435 per night
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$300 - $1,200 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote