Kristy Thornton

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CABIN IN THE WOODS

Pollock Pines Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

The cabin in the woods is the ideal vacation home if you enjoy a quiet, serene, mountainous environment. The charming A-frame cabin is both romantic and family friendly. It is located on 3 beautifully wooded acres full of pine trees and madrones unique to this elevation of 3,200 feet. The property offers many sitting areas to enjoy the quiet. The property is gated and mostly fenced for privacy. It is beautifully decorated, but not museum like. It is friendly, cozy, and warm. Each room is decorated as a theme - the master bedroom exudes romance, the cozy cabin bedroom is perfect for kids, the den is decorated in an African motif. The view off the deck is endless wilderness. In the winter the cabin is nicely heated with a top of the line wood pellet stove - simply set the thermostat to your desired temperature and the cozy fire continues it's warm glow. In the summer the cabin remains cool and the nighttime breeze is heavenly. We have two portable air conditioners for rare heat waves. We are located off Sly Park Road, close to everything, yet Enchantment is located well off the main road. There is no traffic whatsoever. You will not see headlights or hear cars. The road leading to Enchantment is a dirt road.

The local area includes a large alpine lake (Jenkinson Lake - 3 miles away) which offers boating, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, sightseeing, camping, and horse back riding. The area of Fairplay (Somerset) is known as 'Little Napa Valley' and includes wineries such as Lava Kap. It is a 10 - 15 minute drive from Enchantment. Downtown Placerville (where the gold rush began) is a 25 minute drive from Enchantment. During the winter, skiing is a 40 minute drive to the nearest ski resort - Sierra at Tahoe. Enchantment does get its share of snow in the winter. It is just below the snowline, usually receiving 6 - 9 inches of snow. Lake Tahoe is a one hour drive from Enchantment.

Keywords: Cabin, Remote, View, Forest, Cute, Cozy

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
Kristy Thornton (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Enchantment felt like staying in a Thomas Kincade painting with people living in it.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 1
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 23 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cabin in the Woods
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 23 reviews
business
Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312541vb
(916) 606-6057 (California, USA)
Pollock Pines Gold Country / High Sierra
Martinez California
5

a slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5
Really nice,once you find it,well stocked above the norm,really a nice surprise . Kids might get a little board,just bring games Xbox, DVD's you'll be fine,just a beautiful place,so quite and the wrap around deck awesome, Kristy very professional ,cares a lot will work with you on any issue .com
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312541vb
(916) 606-6057 (California, USA)
Pollock Pines Gold Country / High Sierra
2

Beautiful location with barely passable accomodations

  • 2 of 5
Pros
Beautiful, secluded location
Lovely balcony
Grocery store with all the necessities nearby (a bit pricey)
Responsive owner

Cons
Overall, cottage is dusty, dirty, cluttered and in disrepair
Stained carpet and furniture
Old and/or broken appliances
Chipped glasses and lack of basic dishes (1 coffee mug in the whole kitchen)
Mildew in bathroom and on shower curtain
Poor lighting
Questionable practices in the garage onsite
Not kid friendly as advertised

Previous reviews really raved about this place. We didn't share that experience. This is a good example of getting what you pay for, so I hate to complain too much, as this rental is modestly priced comparatively. But truly, the cottage isn't well maintained and the accommodations are barely passable. We've rented quite a bit on VRBO, and this did not meet our expectations.

Sure, everyone has stains on their sofa and carpets at home. But it's one thing to sit on your own stained sofa versus mystery stains (and smells) in a rental. There was a strong smell of Febreeze like freshener throughout the house, which made us wonder what was being disguised. Perhaps it has something to do with the pet friendly policy. The bathroom is TINY and the bathtub was scary (we were not comfortable bathing our young daughter in there). Most of the lights and light fixtures in the home did not work, so we sat in near darkness once the sun went down.

Overall, there aren't a lot of rental choices in this gorgeous area. So, if you decide on this rental, be prepared to feel a little icky, wear your shoes and/or socks inside and cover the sofas with extra sheets. Also, I just can't imagine how this rental could accommodate 6 adults comfortably. Even four adults would be a stretch (kitchen table seats 3). And beware of the garage...
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: I submitted a full refund to these vacationers due to their dissatisfaction with their experience. The refund was submitted in full and immediate with my apologies. All reviews have been stellar thus far, and I do hope that future vacationers can see past one bad review.
business
Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312541vb
(916) 606-6057 (California, USA)
Pollock Pines Gold Country / High Sierra
El Dorado Hils, CA
4

Deep in the Woods

  • 4 of 5
This property is absolutely charming. It was clean,well maintained. and well stocked. The decor is lovely. The location is a bit remote, but beautiful. The owner called to let us know that they were experiencing a heat wave in the sierra. The cabin is not air conditioned. There is a small portable unit. Fortunately we were there to attend a wedding and didn't spend a lot of time in the cabin during the day. At night , the air cooled off and was fine for sleeping.
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kathy for your input. I was very concerned about the heat wave. I have since purchased a second air conditioning unit - one for upstairs and one for downstairs.
business
Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312541vb
(916) 606-6057 (California, USA)
Pollock Pines Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Exceptional once again!!

  • 5 of 5
Being back at Enchantment to celebrate New Year 2014 was wonderful. We stayed 4 nights this time and of course our 3 Rottie's were with us - a Rottie vacation as it were.

It was sad there was no snow this year, however we still enjoyed every moment of our stay. Lots of room for the Rottie's to run and play. Quiet time for reading and napping.

Kristy is a wonderful host and again ensured the cabin was warm and inviting when we arrived. We have already booked our next stay!

Thanks Kristy for being such a gracious host and accepting of our 3 crazy Rottie's.

Dawn & Mark
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312541vb
(916) 606-6057 (California, USA)
Pollock Pines Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Best cabin ever

  • 5 of 5
This was the perfect cabin, only 45 mins away from snowboarding in South Tahoe! We brought our dogs and Kristy was very accommodating - she left us doggy treats and doggy bowls. I would love to stay here again
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cabin in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312541vb
(916) 606-6057 (California, USA)
Pollock Pines Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Enchantment Cabin is truly enchanting!

  • 5 of 5
The wraparound deck had a beautiful tree top view. The cabin was clean, well kept and very comfortable for 4 adults and a baby. Dishware and cookware that was provided exceeded our expectations. We even had wineglasses and a corkscrew. Everything about the cabin was wonderful and charming from the furnishings to the relaxing view from the cabin and deck. I will definitely come back to this cabin. Kristy the owner, was reachable by phone if necessary. Thank you...we had a wonderful vacation!
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Pollock Pines Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Weekly and Monthly special rates upon request

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Pollock Pines Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wood Stove
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • skiing
  • mountain biking
  • water skiing
  • rafting
  • cross country skiing
  • snowboarding
  • kayaking
  • fishing
  • hiking
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$140 per week
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$150 per week
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,950 - $2,275 per week
1 - 2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12