BRIARCOMBE ( COTTAGE )

Owner

Speaks english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BRIARCOMBE ( COTTAGE )

Bolinas Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

Nestled in the coastal hills of Bolinas, on the Briarcombe property is the 'Cottage' .

Beautiful, elegant, artistic, serene, romantic, full of nature and private.

We are 1 minute away from HWY 1 on the outer edge of Bolinas and the northern tip of the Bolinas Lagoon facing the coastal hills. 10 minutes from Stinson Beach, 3 minutes from Bolinas Beach and 45 minutes from San Francisco. We are located in ' The good weather zone' in a really beautiful valley of birds, deer, oak trees, meadows, horses and gardens.

The cottage is an elegant, open space design with unobstructed views. There are 2 sleeping areas consisting of 2 queen size beds surrounded by windows. The kitchen is cozy but well supplied with appliances and everything you should need. The main deck looks out to the hills and is private and awe inspiring as is the whole 3&1/2 acre property. There are books, games, WiFi, stereo, satellite TV, playstation, telephone and barbeque out on the patio. There is also a basketball court surrounded by beautiful oak trees, not to mention a stage (with electrical) for events in the meadow.

Please check out the property video at the top. This was done before we added the gate house as a new listing. There are now 3 rentals on the property.

Events such as weddings, retreats or private parties can be held on this beautiful property which includes the main house. Please contact us for wedding & event rates.

In general, for weddings, the full property (house & cottage)must be rented for a minimum of two days with a separate wedding location fee of $3,000.00. Maximum number of guests is about 80, We can no longer have loud amplified music in the meadow. Acoustic music is welcome.

Please contact us for more pictures and information. Search for 'Briarcombe' on information regarding the main house.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english

Kevin & Megumi Bird are married and run the joint with the help of a Property Manager.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2009

The property has been in the family since 1970 and it wasn't originally intended for use as a vacation rental.

Come and see or read the reviews. It's one-of-a-kind.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
average rating of 4.75 based on 20 reviews
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
Los Angeles, CA
5

Could have stayed for weeks...months...forever

  • 5 of 5
My only complaint is that I never wanted to go home after staying in the cottage for a week. Waking up in the little bedroom and only seeing greenery outside was the perfect way to start the day. My boyfriend and I spent most of our days hiking in Muir Woods and Pt. Reyes and exploring the towns nearby. Most afternoons, we grabbed some delicious local groceries and came "home" and cooked. The kitchen, while small, was equipped with all the essentials and there was a great gas grill outside. While there are two other rental units on the property, we felt we had enough privacy as there is quite a bit of space between them. Rozlyn, the property manager, was nothing but lovely and communicative and made sure we had everything we needed.
I cannot wait until my next opportunity to stay at the cabin again.
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you embraced the fabulous opportunities for hiking and exploring in beautiful West Marin. It's so nice to have people stay on the property who can really appreciate and enjoy it's beauty. Hopefully you can return soon for another extended visit.
Thanks Again, Briarcombe Management
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
2

wonderful accommodations, very poor communication, booking procedures, cleaning costs

  • 2 of 5
My wife and I had an opportunity for a few days to visit our favorite part of the coast. We had not had much time for travel this year and figured we would splurge a little. The property itself is wonderful, the view from the cottage was great, and the peace and quiet were exceptional, just what we needed. This unit was extremely quiet, away from the road, with views of the canyon and hills to the east. The accommodations were well appointed and quite comfortable, though we wished the fireplace, that was so prominent in the picture, had been functional. The reason this was not all it could have been is because of the poor communication with the manager. There was a refundable deposit for the property that was requested and sent right away. They do not accept credit cards, which was inconvenient, to hold the property. (this is the first time one was ever requested after several of our VRBO stays) I had requested a full accounting of the charges, before and after the deposit was paid.(I will never do this again) Even after sending the deposit, and requesting a full accounting for the charges on the 10th of may, and again requested on the 19th of may, requested again on the 22nd of may, it wasn't till june 2nd, the night before we were due to arrive that ALL the costs were listed, including a non refundable cleaning deposit 9which has since been lowered. For a place that was 600 square feet. I found it to be extremely high, especially since the manager required that it all be cleaned and trash hauled up the hill before we left. No one else in the area came close to charging such an outrageous cleaning fee, and since I did not get a listing of the charges till the night before, and had already given a deposit, I felt we were forced to accept it and not given a choice to find something more reasonable. The worst part was the deposit though. She had promised the day before she would bring the deposit check when we checked out the next morning. She did not. She said she would mail it. She did not. It wasn't until 2 weeks later, that I was forced to put a stop payment on the check, and sent her another e-mail that she finally responded and returned the check. Our trip home instead consisted of doubt about leaving a check with a perfect stranger, and really spoiled what was otherwise a wonderful time alone with my wife. The property itself was beautiful and met and exceeded our needs, but because of the poor management, it left a less than satisfactory memory.
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always so unhappy to hear that someone has Not had a good experience at our beautiful property, but have every confidence in our Management Team and style. We are so sorry if anyone feels uncomfortable with what we charge, but try to keep what we charge Fair and Honest. Your observations and concerns will be taken into consideration so they don't impede the enjoyment of future guests.
Thank You
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
Davis, CA
5

PERFECTION!!

  • 5 of 5
We have just returned from celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary at Briarcombe cottage. We absolutely chose the right spot. It was very scenic, very quiet, very private -- providing a great mix of relaxation, intimacy and excitement -- the latter primarily from getting to photograph the beautiful fox who was sharing the property and the stunning wildcat who visited as well. We were not adventure seekers this time around, but the cottage is close to so much, you can't go wrong -- surfing, kayaking, hiking, ....
Rozlyn handled our accommodations with professional care and a very nice personal touch. Thank you, Rozlyn!
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Ann for your lovely review. The Cottage is such a wonderful place for relaxation and privacy. I hope you come and visit again soon.

Rozlyn - Property Manager
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
Portland, Or.
5

fabulous place

  • 5 of 5
We had an outstanding several days in Bolinas at Briarcombe. The photos almost capture the beauty of the place. Kevin (the owner) and Rozlyn (the manager of the property) are very welcoming. I can not say enough good things about this rental.
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
Brooklyn, NY
5

Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
The Briarcombe Cottage was terrific. My wife and I left our kids with my parents and spent two relaxing nights at the Cottage. The location is perfect: barely over an hour from the East Bay, located about a quarter mile off Highway 1 on a quiet street, with the Cottage itself situated at the base of a hill, practically in the woods. Within a short drive of Pt. Reyes Station and great hikes (I recommend the 9.6 mile Tomales Point hike). The owner and property manager go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable (in our case, even going so far as to purchase a brand new basketball when I expressed an interest in shooting hopes on the property).
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
berkeley, CA
5

wedding weekend BRIARCOMBE!

  • 5 of 5
When my wife (new wife) were looking for a location for our wedding we never thought finding a place as perfect as Briarcombe would be possible. But of course, Briarcombe DOES exist! It had everything we were looking for. The houses were all comfortable, well equipped, and above all absolutely beautiful! The houses are architectural masterpieces and there are so many little special features that set it apart from, really, any house I've ever been in. We used the meadow for the wedding and the stage came in handy, as did the folding tables and chairs. There are multiple kitchens which allowed us all to prepare dinner without stepping all over each other. The location is easy to find and immersed in the natural beauty of Bolinas. Deer were steady visitors and hawks flew overhead, not to mention the loads of flowers and trees. I would highly recommend this place, it's magical, beautiful, and just absolutely amazing!
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
41 Miles
S.F.O.
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
hwy 1
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Bolinas/Stinson
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Smilies
Nearest Ski
150 Miles
Lake Tahoe
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Coast Cafe in Bolinas
Car: necessary

Please google West Marin & the Bay Area. There are so many wonderful things to do. Bolinas and the surrounding area are an incredibly beautiful & magical place to stay, especially Briarcombe.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Bolinas Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes We still use paper contracts and checks. All details are spelled out in our Rental Agreement.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Bolinas Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) an extra mattress or futon and bedding.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Video Game Console ...
  • CD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • museums
  • nude beach
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • horseshoes
  • sight seeing
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • wind-surfing
  • mountain biking
  • basketball court
  • tennis
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • paragliding
  • surf fishing
  • sailing
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,295 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,400 - $1,500 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,175 - $1,390 per week
2 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4