Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

BRIARCOMBE ( COTTAGE )

Owner

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 25, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BRIARCOMBE ( COTTAGE )

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Bolinas Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

Nestled in the coastal hills of Bolinas, on the Briarcombe property is the 'Cottage' .

Beautiful, elegant, artistic, serene, romantic, full of nature and private.

We are 1 minute away from HWY 1 on the outer edge of Bolinas and the northern tip of the Bolinas Lagoon facing the coastal hills. 10 minutes from Stinson Beach, 3 minutes from Bolinas Beach and 45 minutes from San Francisco. We are located in ' The good weather zone' in a really beautiful valley of birds, deer, oak trees, meadows, horses and gardens.

The cottage is an elegant, open space design with unobstructed views. There are 2 sleeping areas consisting of 2 queen size beds surrounded by windows. The kitchen is cozy but well supplied with appliances and everything you should need. The main deck looks out to the hills and is private and awe inspiring as is the whole 3&1/2 acre property. There are books, games, WiFi, stereo, satellite TV, playstation, telephone and barbeque out on the patio. There is also a basketball court surrounded by beautiful oak trees, not to mention a stage (with electrical) for events in the meadow.

Please check out the property video at the top. This was done before we added the gate house as a new listing. There are now 3 rentals on the property.

Events such as weddings, retreats or private parties can be held on this beautiful property which includes the main house. Please contact us for wedding & event rates.

In general, for weddings, the full property (house & cottage)must be rented for a minimum of two days with a separate wedding location fee of $3,000.00. Maximum number of guests is about 80, We can no longer have loud amplified music in the meadow. Acoustic music is welcome.

Please contact us for more pictures and information. Search for 'Briarcombe' on information regarding the main house.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Owner
Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 25, 2015

About The Owner

Kevin & Megumi Bird are married and run the joint with the help of a Property Manager.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2009

Why The Owner chose Bolinas

The property has been in the family since 1970 and it wasn't originally intended for use as a vacation rental.

What makes this cottage unique

Come and see or read the reviews. It's one-of-a-kind.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
Los Angeles, CA
5

Could have stayed for weeks...months...forever

  • 5 of 5
My only complaint is that I never wanted to go home after staying in the cottage for a week. Waking up in the little bedroom and only seeing greenery outside was the perfect way to start the day. My boyfriend and I spent most of our days hiking in Muir Woods and Pt. Reyes and exploring the towns nearby. Most afternoons, we grabbed some delicious local groceries and came "home" and cooked. The kitchen, while small, was equipped with all the essentials and there was a great gas grill outside. While there are two other rental units on the property, we felt we had enough privacy as there is quite a bit of space between them. Rozlyn, the property manager, was nothing but lovely and communicative and made sure we had everything we needed.
I cannot wait until my next opportunity to stay at the cabin again.
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you embraced the fabulous opportunities for hiking and exploring in beautiful West Marin. It's so nice to have people stay on the property who can really appreciate and enjoy it's beauty. Hopefully you can return soon for another extended visit.
Thanks Again, Briarcombe Management
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
Corvallis
5

A Bit of Heaven for Us

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I stayed in the Briarcombe cottage for 5 nights in September. The weather was perfect, the flowers were blooming, the beach and Mount Tam were just minutes away as was the organic veg stand and Cow Girl Creamery, but best of all- we got to come home to peace, quiet and beauty every day.
Braircombe looks like it was built by artists- every square inch of the beautiful wooden interior just glows with care. It was clearly built for comfort and peacefulness and that is what we found. When we spoke to Rozlyn, we felt assured that we would be well suited to stay in the cottage and it felt like home immediately. Every night we saw the stars overhead and every morning we awoke with the birds and went out to see if there were deer in the meadow. We took our coffee on the deck and watched the wildlife play. It was beautiful and we were sad to go home.
I am looking forward to going back again. The proximity to "The City" as well as to the quaint town of Bolinas and Point Reyes Park makes it a perfect choice for travelers who want to sample both sides of life.
Thank you for your hospitality! See you soon!
Susan and Brad
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Susan for your incredible review. I so appreciate your focus on the details of your stay. It really takes people like You and Brad writing this type of review that bring special people who can see and feel the healing beauty of the Briarcombe Cottage and surrounding property and garden, to stay with us. I really hope you come again.
Aloha, Rozlyn
Property Manager for Briarcombe
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
California
5

Wonderful spot for weddings and private retreat for bride/groom

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I stayed at the cottage the weekend of our Bolinas wedding. It was the perfect place for me to get ready with my bridesmaids the day of the wedding, and was a wonderful and much-needed retreat on the wedding night. It is quiet, beautiful, and secluded. There was a family reunion going on at the larger house on the property, and we never heard a thing.

We chose to take some of our wedding portraits at the property, and they came out beautifully, as the scenery around the property is simply stunning: large, beautiful trees and mature gardens.

It was also a very convenient location to downtown Bolinas and to our wedding.

I hope we'll be able to stay again in the future!
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
San Francisco
5

Most relaxing building

  • 5 of 5
I stayed at Briarcombe this past weekend with a group that rented all 3 buildings, but for a small group of 1 or 2 couples, the Cottage would definitely be the most relaxing and nature-filled choice.

The building is the deepest into the property, and I felt like I could have taken a nap there and had the most relaxing, quiet sleep I've ever had. So serene, the views are instantly calming.
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Briarcombe Cottage. Hopefully you can come again for another relaxing experience.
Aloha, The Management
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
5

So much fun

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I stayed here for two nights to just get away. Luckily we were the only ones on the property which was nice!

The cottage was clean and when we were greeted by the property manager we were thrilled. She walked us through everything. She was the sweetest lady ever. She even got rid of a big spider web on the deck for me since I told her I was terrified of spiders.

The weather was nice. It did get a bit hot during the day inside but that would be my only complaint.

We will def be back here! It was a nice place to just get away from our fast-paced lives.
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Briarcombe ( Cottage )
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p312053vb
Bolinas The Bay Area
2

wonderful accommodations, very poor communication, booking procedures, cleaning costs

  • 2 of 5
My wife and I had an opportunity for a few days to visit our favorite part of the coast. We had not had much time for travel this year and figured we would splurge a little. The property itself is wonderful, the view from the cottage was great, and the peace and quiet were exceptional, just what we needed. This unit was extremely quiet, away from the road, with views of the canyon and hills to the east. The accommodations were well appointed and quite comfortable, though we wished the fireplace, that was so prominent in the picture, had been functional. The reason this was not all it could have been is because of the poor communication with the manager. There was a refundable deposit for the property that was requested and sent right away. They do not accept credit cards, which was inconvenient, to hold the property. (this is the first time one was ever requested after several of our VRBO stays) I had requested a full accounting of the charges, before and after the deposit was paid.(I will never do this again) Even after sending the deposit, and requesting a full accounting for the charges on the 10th of may, and again requested on the 19th of may, requested again on the 22nd of may, it wasn't till june 2nd, the night before we were due to arrive that ALL the costs were listed, including a non refundable cleaning deposit 9which has since been lowered. For a place that was 600 square feet. I found it to be extremely high, especially since the manager required that it all be cleaned and trash hauled up the hill before we left. No one else in the area came close to charging such an outrageous cleaning fee, and since I did not get a listing of the charges till the night before, and had already given a deposit, I felt we were forced to accept it and not given a choice to find something more reasonable. The worst part was the deposit though. She had promised the day before she would bring the deposit check when we checked out the next morning. She did not. She said she would mail it. She did not. It wasn't until 2 weeks later, that I was forced to put a stop payment on the check, and sent her another e-mail that she finally responded and returned the check. Our trip home instead consisted of doubt about leaving a check with a perfect stranger, and really spoiled what was otherwise a wonderful time alone with my wife. The property itself was beautiful and met and exceeded our needs, but because of the poor management, it left a less than satisfactory memory.
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always so unhappy to hear that someone has Not had a good experience at our beautiful property, but have every confidence in our Management Team and style. We are so sorry if anyone feels uncomfortable with what we charge, but try to keep what we charge Fair and Honest. Your observations and concerns will be taken into consideration so they don't impede the enjoyment of future guests.
Thank You

Map

Nearest Airport
41 Miles
S.F.O.
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Smilies
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
hwy 1
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Coast Cafe in Bolinas
Nearest Ski
150 Miles
Lake Tahoe
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Bolinas/Stinson
Car: necessary

Please google West Marin & the Bay Area. There are so many wonderful things to do. Bolinas and the surrounding area are an incredibly beautiful & magical place to stay, especially Briarcombe.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $250 Per night

Bolinas Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes We still use paper contracts and checks. All details are spelled out in our Rental Agreement.
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Bolinas Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) an extra mattress or futon and bedding.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Other Vacation Properties

$1,500 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,210 - $1,425 per week
2 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,295 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote