HomeAway is the world leader in vacation rentals with over 1 million listings. We offer the largest selection of properties for any travel occasion and every budget. We're committed to helping families and friends find a perfect vacation rental to create unforgettable travel experiences together.
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)
Nestled in the coastal hills of Bolinas, on the Briarcombe property is the 'Cottage' .
Beautiful, elegant, artistic, serene, romantic, full of nature and private.
We are 1 minute away from HWY 1 on the outer edge of Bolinas and the northern tip of the Bolinas Lagoon facing the coastal hills. 10 minutes from Stinson Beach, 3 minutes from Bolinas Beach and 45 minutes from San Francisco. We are located in ' The good weather zone' in a really beautiful valley of birds, deer, oak trees, meadows, horses and gardens.
The cottage is an elegant, open space design with unobstructed views. There are 2 sleeping areas consisting of 2 queen size beds surrounded by windows. The kitchen is cozy but well supplied with appliances and everything you should need. The main deck looks out to the hills and is private and awe inspiring as is the whole 3&1/2 acre property. There are books, games, WiFi, stereo, satellite TV, playstation, telephone and barbeque out on the patio. There is also a basketball court surrounded by beautiful oak trees, not to mention a stage (with electrical) for events in the meadow.
Please check out the property video at the top. This was done before we added the gate house as a new listing. There are now 3 rentals on the property.
Events such as weddings, retreats or private parties can be held on this beautiful property which includes the main house. Please contact us for wedding & event rates.
In general, for weddings, the full property (house & cottage)must be rented for a minimum of two days with a separate wedding location fee of $3,000.00. Maximum number of guests is about 80, We can no longer have loud amplified music in the meadow. Acoustic music is welcome.
Please contact us for more pictures and information. Search for 'Briarcombe' on information regarding the main house.
My only complaint is that I never wanted to go home after staying in the cottage for a week. Waking up in the little bedroom and only seeing greenery outside was the perfect way to start the day. My boyfriend and I spent most of our days hiking in Muir Woods and Pt. Reyes and exploring the towns nearby. Most afternoons, we grabbed some delicious local groceries and came "home" and cooked. The kitchen, while small, was equipped with all the essentials and there was a great gas grill outside. While there are two other rental units on the property, we felt we had enough privacy as there is quite a bit of space between them. Rozlyn, the property manager, was nothing but lovely and communicative and made sure we had everything we needed. I cannot wait until my next opportunity to stay at the cabin again.
Submitted: Jul 30, 2014
Stayed: Jul 2014
VRBO, from HomeAway
Families with Young Children,
Owner's Response: Thanks you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you embraced the fabulous opportunities for hiking and exploring in beautiful West Marin. It's so nice to have people stay on the property who can really appreciate and enjoy it's beauty. Hopefully you can return soon for another extended visit. Thanks Again, Briarcombe Management
My husband and I stayed in the Briarcombe cottage for 5 nights in September. The weather was perfect, the flowers were blooming, the beach and Mount Tam were just minutes away as was the organic veg stand and Cow Girl Creamery, but best of all- we got to come home to peace, quiet and beauty every day. Braircombe looks like it was built by artists- every square inch of the beautiful wooden interior just glows with care. It was clearly built for comfort and peacefulness and that is what we found. When we spoke to Rozlyn, we felt assured that we would be well suited to stay in the cottage and it felt like home immediately. Every night we saw the stars overhead and every morning we awoke with the birds and went out to see if there were deer in the meadow. We took our coffee on the deck and watched the wildlife play. It was beautiful and we were sad to go home. I am looking forward to going back again. The proximity to "The City" as well as to the quaint town of Bolinas and Point Reyes Park makes it a perfect choice for travelers who want to sample both sides of life. Thank you for your hospitality! See you soon! Susan and Brad
Owner's Response: Mahalo Susan for your incredible review. I so appreciate your focus on the details of your stay. It really takes people like You and Brad writing this type of review that bring special people who can see and feel the healing beauty of the Briarcombe Cottage and surrounding property and garden, to stay with us. I really hope you come again. Aloha, Rozlyn Property Manager for Briarcombe
Wonderful spot for weddings and private retreat for bride/groom
5 of 5
My husband and I stayed at the cottage the weekend of our Bolinas wedding. It was the perfect place for me to get ready with my bridesmaids the day of the wedding, and was a wonderful and much-needed retreat on the wedding night. It is quiet, beautiful, and secluded. There was a family reunion going on at the larger house on the property, and we never heard a thing.
We chose to take some of our wedding portraits at the property, and they came out beautifully, as the scenery around the property is simply stunning: large, beautiful trees and mature gardens.
It was also a very convenient location to downtown Bolinas and to our wedding.
My husband and I stayed here for two nights to just get away. Luckily we were the only ones on the property which was nice!
The cottage was clean and when we were greeted by the property manager we were thrilled. She walked us through everything. She was the sweetest lady ever. She even got rid of a big spider web on the deck for me since I told her I was terrified of spiders.
The weather was nice. It did get a bit hot during the day inside but that would be my only complaint.
We will def be back here! It was a nice place to just get away from our fast-paced lives.
wonderful accommodations, very poor communication, booking procedures, cleaning costs
2 of 5
My wife and I had an opportunity for a few days to visit our favorite part of the coast. We had not had much time for travel this year and figured we would splurge a little. The property itself is wonderful, the view from the cottage was great, and the peace and quiet were exceptional, just what we needed. This unit was extremely quiet, away from the road, with views of the canyon and hills to the east. The accommodations were well appointed and quite comfortable, though we wished the fireplace, that was so prominent in the picture, had been functional. The reason this was not all it could have been is because of the poor communication with the manager. There was a refundable deposit for the property that was requested and sent right away. They do not accept credit cards, which was inconvenient, to hold the property. (this is the first time one was ever requested after several of our VRBO stays) I had requested a full accounting of the charges, before and after the deposit was paid.(I will never do this again) Even after sending the deposit, and requesting a full accounting for the charges on the 10th of may, and again requested on the 19th of may, requested again on the 22nd of may, it wasn't till june 2nd, the night before we were due to arrive that ALL the costs were listed, including a non refundable cleaning deposit 9which has since been lowered. For a place that was 600 square feet. I found it to be extremely high, especially since the manager required that it all be cleaned and trash hauled up the hill before we left. No one else in the area came close to charging such an outrageous cleaning fee, and since I did not get a listing of the charges till the night before, and had already given a deposit, I felt we were forced to accept it and not given a choice to find something more reasonable. The worst part was the deposit though. She had promised the day before she would bring the deposit check when we checked out the next morning. She did not. She said she would mail it. She did not. It wasn't until 2 weeks later, that I was forced to put a stop payment on the check, and sent her another e-mail that she finally responded and returned the check. Our trip home instead consisted of doubt about leaving a check with a perfect stranger, and really spoiled what was otherwise a wonderful time alone with my wife. The property itself was beautiful and met and exceeded our needs, but because of the poor management, it left a less than satisfactory memory.
Submitted: Jul 25, 2014
Stayed: Jun 2014
VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always so unhappy to hear that someone has Not had a good experience at our beautiful property, but have every confidence in our Management Team and style. We are so sorry if anyone feels uncomfortable with what we charge, but try to keep what we charge Fair and Honest. Your observations and concerns will be taken into consideration so they don't impede the enjoyment of future guests. Thank You