$900 FOR REMAINING WEEKS!

Kathleen Macarthur

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

$900 FOR REMAINING WEEKS!

Union Pier House Rental Photos and Description

900 Square feet with two bedrooms and master suite!

Lake Breeze in Union Pier...Steps to the Sandy Beach Path. A master suite with Jacuzzi and beamed ceilings overlooks the 3/4 acre yard filled with pine trees. On the first floor there is another bedroom and a beautiful bathroom with a slate shower that is sky-high! Also, a sleeper sofa!

You will be walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Union Pier. Enjoy the wineries, breweries, shopping, walking the lake or just laying back and relaxing.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the owner
Family from St. Louis



Great beach cottage great space for 6 guests, also romantic! You could not get much closer to the beach unless you were directly on the lake since the lake path is steps away. So convenient for our childrens' beach toys, coolers, etc.

We could even hear the lake on one rough night.



The owner wanted to make sure we had a great week and even suggested the St,. Joseph Children's museum as well as some other unusual attractions.

The cottage is bright and well decorated, reminded us of southern CA.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 2

Kathleen Macarthur

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2004
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am a native Chicagoan who lived in Boston for most of the 80's and spent many weekends and vacations on Cape Cod and the Islands, especially Block Island off of Rhode Island. I moved home to Chicago to watch my nephews grow up in 1991 and Union Pier was the closest thing I found to that 'island' atmosphere. My home has brought me many happy memories

and the area is one of the most beautiful in the world!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.1
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
$900 for remaining WEEKS!
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
business
$900 for remaining WEEKS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311468
+1 847 644-0308
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

CUTE PLACE

  • 5 of 5
I stayed here recently and loved it. Very cute and cozy! Also close to the beach. Easy to walk to which was very nice for my 4 year old son. Great outdoor patio!!! Had a wonderful stay.
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
$900 for remaining WEEKS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311468
+1 847 644-0308
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

SERENE FAMILY VACATION SPOT -ENJOYED OUR STAY!

  • 5 of 5
We truly enjoyed our stay at this guest House in Union Pier, MI. We brought our young Children (under the age of two) and found the space very accommodating for our needs. The interior was very light and airy, as desired for a summer escape. The separation of downstairs and upstairs allowed adequate space between guests. The bathrooms were clean and nice. The Kitchen included all the necessary items so we really didn’t have to bring much other than the food itself. In terms of the exterior, the patio with a fireplace offered a great retreat in the afternoon/evening. There were plenty of seating and tables to accommodate a number of people. The place had a nice expansive yard for the kids to play and was set back enough from the road. The location was very good, with a nice beach a few blocks away and local shops/grocery mart nearby as well. We found the guest house to be a very good value given the condition and living space of the unit. We had plenty of privacy from the main house guests and didn’t hear any noise during our stay. Union Pier close proximity to New Buffalo, and a nice little kids park on the way, make it all the more compelling to stay here; especially for families interested in serene family vacation with a healthy balance of activities to do (without being inundated with over commercialized tourist traps like other family vaca destinations). We spent a decent amount of time researching places and really were pleased with our experience. Also, the owner was very responsive to our needs and had replaced the DVD player within 24 hours so our kids could watch their favorite cartoons. We had a nice time, really hope you enjoy your stay too..
Paul
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
$900 for remaining WEEKS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311468
+1 847 644-0308
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

PERFECT FOR COUPLES

  • 5 of 5
This is perfect for couples or even a small family. The patio was great. We had a little get together for our local friends and it worked out great. There is a great yard for kids. The upstairs master is very nice.
There were some things that need to be done and some things added to the kitchen if you like to cook. Owner was very receptive to my suggestions and I think she will take care of them. She is very easy to work with.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
$900 for remaining WEEKS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311468
+1 847 644-0308
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

WONDERFUL, UPDATED COACH HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
Wonderful, updated coach house. Friendly and helpful owner too.
The two most important criteria we had for deciding on which place to stay while in Union Pier were price and then being CLOSE to that great beach. Well, this achieved both. It is just steps to the beach path. The water and waves were absolutely beautiful.
Our three small kids just loved the upstairs master suite. Lots of room to jump around up there!
Before we arrived, the owner was kind enough to ask what we were looking
for in our vacation and recommend activities, restaurants, shopping, etc. She was
always responsive to our needs and even made sure we knew where to go
grocery shopping on our way from Chicago.
My family is now looking to purchase a summer home in the area. I can't wait! I would definitely recommend this rental.
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
$900 for remaining WEEKS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311468
+1 847 644-0308
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
1

HORRIBLE

  • 1 of 5
DO NOT RENT! The issues we had with this rental are as follows:
1. CONVERTED GARAGE. She misrepresented her property and does not tell renters that there are 2 rental units at the same address. She never disclosed that the portion of the house we rented was a converted garage located on the side of the home. When the people who rented the larger portion of the house arrived, they actually came to our door because they too did not know it was a 2 unit house. They thought they were at the wrong address!
2. NO LOCK. The entrance was a sliding glass door with a lock that had been changed multiple times and had a multiple holes around the lock itself. We called the owner immediately. She said that we should try it in the morning. When we contacted her about it in the morning she said if we REALLY needed it repaired she would send someone to fix it but we would have to wait around during that time for the handyman. We only had 2 full days at the rental and declined. Rental properties should have safe locking mechanism to their front door. We should not lose vacation time at a property waiting around for work men because of a major issue like this.
3. House is 2-3 BLOCKS from the beach. She greatly misrepresented the "walk to the beach." In the ad owner states that the beach is "steps" from the house. We asked about the exact distance and all she would tell us was it was close, "just steps away". We thought the beach was going to be across the street, but instead we were shocked to find out it was a full 2-3 block distance.
4. Difficulty communicating with owner. During email correspondance, owner would only respond with one word answers or questions that did not make sense. It was a very frustrating process. The communication was poor at best.
5. We became very suspicious of the owner and the property that we actually wanted to cancel our reservation. We asked her if that was a possibility. She responded that she would have to take us to small claims court if we did so. We decided it was not worth losing all our money and the time so we went through with the rental.
6. After leaving we emailed her to let her know we cleaned as detailed in lease. Waited for security deposit that took weeks to arrive only after multiple emails and a phone call. The envelope was sent to a different address due to illegible handwriting and wrong name.
7. I was called names by the owner during a phone conversation and she hung up on me. Unprofessional and poor rental.
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As you can tell by the other reviews, people love my home. I am very sorry that this woman did not have a fun weekend in Harbor Country. She was only here for two nights. The other guests for a week.

I feel very badly that she did not think that all the time I spent with her on the phone was worthwhile. She was coming to union pier because her friend's marriage wasps called off and I tried to give her a list of uplifting and fun activities.

My guests are always surprised at how close the home is to the beach-steps, steps to the beach path---not three blocks. It would be impossible to be closer to the lake unless you were on the lake. I am sorry that this woman felt like the walk was three blocks, when at the most it is 1.5 down to the beach from the front door.

The space is actually a gorgeous new coach house and not a garage, as you can tell by the pictures it is beautiful and has a wonderful master suite with beamed ceilings, a jacuzzi and beautiful tiled shower. The first floor shower is slate. People love the space and decor. The outside patio area is landscaped, has a fire pit and lots of beautiful flowers and trees. There is a backyard.

Two weeks before arrival, she decided to go to northern Michigan instead. I felt bad that I could not refund her security deposit since the calendar had been reserved for her. I received a call from her husband, a paralegal threatening me.

The lock on the door broke...but I offered to have it fixed immediately and that I wild wait for locksmith. For some reason, they decided not to have the lock fixed. I was happy to wait an hour..not three for repair.

Lake Breeze Is a beautiful, happy summer home, soooo close to the beach and all that Union Pier Has to offer.

Please feel free to call or email me with questions.
business
$900 for remaining WEEKS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p311468
+1 847 644-0308
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Camby (Indianapolis), IN
4

COMFORTABLE LITTLE GETAWAY PLACE!

  • 4 of 5
Nice place and within short distance to the beach! Perfect for a couple or small family who wants to get away. Within minutes to downtown New Buffalo. Would recommend to our family and friends.
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Car: necessary

Lakeshore Road and Townline/McKinley

Other Activities: Antiquing, Galleries, Wine Tours, Warren Dunes, Dune Boarding, Hiking, Swimming, Wineries, Gourmet and Family Dining

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Union Pier House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Union Pier House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Gas Heating
  • Gym
  • Ducted Heating
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking Off Street
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Master Suite on Second Floor! Pull out couch in living room! Sleeps six-8
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Beach Chairs
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair accessible
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • marina
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • theme parks
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • water tubing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • freshwater fishing
  • swimming
  • skiing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
Out door Fire Pit and Gas Grill-All Brand New! Landscaped Seating Area outside like in a magazine!
Email Owner Email