SPRING SPECIAL, ANY REMAINING SPRING WEEKS $1200 TOTAL PRICE!

Tim Shearer

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Tim Shearer

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SPRING SPECIAL, ANY REMAINING SPRING WEEKS $1200 TOTAL PRICE!

Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description

Beautiful 4BR 3BA Luxury Beachhouse Great Late Summer and Fall Weeks Available

Beach vacations the way they used to be....This Gulf-oriented home, just steps from beach access and the Gulf of Mexico is located in the quaint sea-side village of Morgantown on the Ft. Morgan Peninsula in Gulf Shores. From the palm tree lined entrance to the white sandy, uncrowded beaches of the Gulf Coast you will find a wonderful family getaway. Morgantown provides private beach access for community residents, a private pool (with a second pool due to be completed by summer) and private lighted tennis courts.

Our house, Five O'clock Sumwhere, is meant to bring back the relaxing beach vacations of old. The house is professionally decorated in the theme of a colorful Beach Cottage. Colorful sofas, chairs and painted furniture all combine to bring back the quaint memories of old-time beach vacations.

The first floor includes an expansive living room with a queen sleeper sofa, love seat and chair. For entertainment we have included a large TV complete with DVD/VCR player.

The dining area includes a large farmhouse table with seating for six as well as a breakfast bar complete with stools.

The full kitchen includes upscale appliances including a smooth top stove, microwave, dishwasher and an under cabinet icemaker with a 50# per day capacity! Full cooking utensils and pots and pans are provided.

The first floor also includes two bedrooms and a full bath. One bedroom includes twin beds while the other is furnished with two sets of bunk beds. Each bedroom includes a TV and DVD player. Rounding out the first floor is a screened porch oriented to look out at the Gulf. It includes a high top table and chairs as well as speakers with volume controls to enjoy your favorite beach music while you relax.

The upstairs includes two bedrooms, both with private full baths. The master suite includes a king bed, sitting room and a private balcony. A TV with DVD player is also included.

The second master bedroom is complete with a queen bed, and private bath and TV/DVD player. It has a huge picture window to see the Gulf.

Consistent with upscale houses, our house comes complete with unlimited local and long distance phone service. We also include high-speed internet access in all bed rooms and the kitchen. We have installed a whole house audio system so you can enjoy your favorite music in the living room, kitchen, screened porch and the front porch. Each room has its own volume control.

The private beach access to the gulf is just steps away. The private community pool is across the street for easy access. The lighted community tennis courts are also nearby.

Amenities: Telephone with unlimited local and long distance service.

2 Zone Air-conditioning.

Full Size Washer and Dryer.

Televisions and DVD Players in all bedrooms.

32' Television and VCR/DVD Player in the Living Room.

Whole-house audio with individually controlled speakers in the living room, kitchen, screened porch and front deck complete with CD player and a wide selection of CDs.

Full Kitchen complete with top of the line appliances including Range, Microwave, Dishwasher and Refrigerator.

Cooking utensils.

Linens provided.

Swimming Pool (community).

Covered Parking.

Gas Grill.

Hot and Cold Outdoor Privacy Shower.

Activities: In addition to the beach, the Ft. Morgan Peninsula is central to a number of other activities. Should you want to combine golf with your beach vacation, some of the top golfing in Alabama is close.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
Tim Shearer (Owner)
Advertiser since 2004
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Tim Shearer

I am a retired executive that strives to bring to my renters the same level of service and quality that I want in my vacations.

Tim Shearer purchased this house in 2005

Why Tim Shearer chose Gulf Shores

I have been visiting Gulf Shores for over 15 years. I fell in love with Morgantown the first time I saw it. The quiet family-oriented neighborhood with pools, tennis and private beach access were so unique to the Gulf Coast, I bought two houses!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Spring Special, any remaining spring weeks $1200 total price!
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews
business
Spring Special, any remaining spring weeks $1200 total price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310999
770-329-9388
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

The best vacation in years!!

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful experience at Five a clock somewhere. The house was better than we anticipated and so much room!!! The location of the house to the beach was perfect.. only a short walk and the pool across the street was perfect for our youngest child. Our buiggest excitment was to be able to see the baby sea turtles hatch and help them to the ocean (with the help of the volunteers of course). I would recommend this house to anyone lokong for a relaxing beach vaction. Not being so close to the main strip was wonderful. We felt like we had our own private beach without all the attractions. We will definetley be back!!
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Spring Special, any remaining spring weeks $1200 total price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310999
770-329-9388
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
4

Great Place for a quite week at the beach

  • 4 of 5
This was the 2nd time we have rented this property in Gulf Shores and we would rent it again. It's way down on the peninsula about 14 miles from the main road for Gulf Shores, It gets you way from the crowds and is very close to the beach and across the street from the pool. I fits the whole family. Really enjoyed our time there again.
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: David, it was great to have you back, looking forward to having you again soon!

Tim
business
Spring Special, any remaining spring weeks $1200 total price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310999
770-329-9388
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
3

Decent House for the Price

  • 3 of 5
This was our second consecutive summer to stay at this beach house. We experienced some problems last year with appliances and the A/C not cooling, but we thought it was an isolated issue. Sadly, it was not.

Appliances:
Last year, we noticed the fridge did not cool adequately and we had food ruin on our 2nd day. 30 lbs. of gulf shrimp, milk, vegetables,etc. all ruined because the fridge was literally room temperature. This year, we stored all of our food in an ice chest (didn't remember broken fridge until we arrived) and only kept bottled water/cokes in the fridge. Needless to say, after 4 days the water/coke never cooled down to below room temperature. The owner claims the fridge takes 48-72 hours to "cool down" this is unacceptable. We do not come on vacation for 5 days to deal with a broken fridge two years in a row. The in-cabinet ice maker also did not work last year, it was still broken 12 months later. The kitchen is lacking adequate silverware, bowls, cups, etc. Try cooking a meal for 10 people having to use one pot for multiple dishes.

Cleanliness:
Dirty towels behind the door of one of the bedrooms when we arrived, there was sand/dust/dead bugs under all 4 beds in the bedrooms with tile floor (children's rooms). The owner claimed in a previous post that the furniture was made of "highly durable microfiber". He apparently hasn't been to his beach house in a while because the arms of the couches are worn down and black on top. The carpet going up the stairs/on the landing was beige, it is now black in the middle where people walk. He claimed in June that the carpet was recently cleaned. If someone cleaned it, they were color blind because it was obviously filthy.

Overall:
The house is in a great location, short walk to the pool and beach. Love the in-ceiling speaker system (but only 1/2 of each zone worked this year). Love the neighborhood and Fort Morgan..




People save all year to take their family on a nice vacation for a week each summer. You expect there to be issues here and there, but not blatant maintenance issues that are just being avoided to save a buck. The owner knows that fridge doesn't work, if he doesn't then he needs to go spend a week at his house. I was going to make next year my 3rd consecutive trip to this house but there is no way I would stay there and have to clean and "work" on a house that isn't mine.
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The issue with the refrigerator is that when you load a refrigerator up with a couple of cases of warm liquid, it takes quite a while for any refrigerator to cool it down. I have stayed at the house on three occasions since then and have not had a single food item spoil. Also, the icemaker in the freezer makes ice quickly so if there were not enough cooling indicating there is pleny of cooling capacity. The undercabinet icemaker was replaced with a new one this winter. Also, the pots, pans, cooking utensils, and silverware were also replaced.

Other off-season improvements are a complete interior painting, carpet cleaning and shampooing of the upholstered furniture in the living room.

This is a great beach house in a wonderful neighborhood. Please call me if you would like to understand more. Thank you.
business
Spring Special, any remaining spring weeks $1200 total price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310999
770-329-9388
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
4

Great Beach House at a Great Location

  • 4 of 5
Five O'Clock Sumwhere was a lovely place for our high school senior girls and moms to celebrate and relax.
The home is spacious and nicely decorated with a cute, colorful beach theme. The photos do not do the place justice.
The location is great! It's a short walk to the beach and the pool is just across the street. The neighborhood is quiet with little traffic.
The owner is also quite cordial.
Very memorable!
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Spring Special, any remaining spring weeks $1200 total price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310999
770-329-9388
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at Five O'Clock Sumwhere for our youth group's HS Grads Getaway and had a great time! Everyone who went on the trip raved specifically about the accomdations. The rooms were clean and spacious, the community was quiet and safe, and the beach was beautiful. There was plenty of room to have the guys and girls separate and comfortable for sleeping, a great kitchen for cooking, places to hang out and relax, and tons to do in the area. Some of the golf enthusiasts in our group disappeared to the greens, and the rest hung out on the beach and enjoyed relaxing in the home. In short, it was awesome!
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carol,

Thank you for the nice comments. It was great to have you visit! Please be our guests again!
business
Spring Special, any remaining spring weeks $1200 total price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p310999
770-329-9388
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Chicago,IL
1

Filthy, unsafe and poorly maintained beach house.

  • 1 of 5
Unfortunately not the best maintained house in the area. Morgantown is a very nice community within walking distance from the ocean. But looking back we wished we had booked another house. From the moment we entered the house we felt the smell of the old carpet, which was totally disgusting. Every piece of furniture in the house was dirty. We even found a pair of socks behind a couch cushion. There was lots of dust and dead bugs under the furniture. The cleaning crew is definitely doing a very poor job of cleaning that place. Also the bedding and furniture is all worn out and some are torn. The downstairs bedrooms are small and very difficult to sleep in them being so close to the kitchen where everyone hangs out. The upstairs porch has a totally unsafe broken railing which we had to tie up in order to keep from falling out. And be aware of rusty nails sticking out on the deck. Very unsafe for anyone to be walking on it.
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, these guests had little regard for the rental property. I had no issues from them until I told them that due to damage and the filth in the house, some or all of their deposit would be forfeited.

The cleaning people told me they had left the house filthy. When I mentioned this to the guests, the response was that was what the cleaning fee was for. It took twice the time to clean the house then it usually does.

Damage included two torn bedspreads and two torn bed skirts.

Comments regarding the carpet are inaccurate as it had recently been cleaned. This is a no pet home so there are no bad odors. Each downstairs bed room is approximately 11 x 10. They are down a short hall from the kitchen.

The furniture is in no way worn out. The upholstered furniture is made of high grade microfiber so it wears very well. There are no tears in any furniture.

I was unaware of the issue with the railings. I was informed of this after their stay and it was repaired within one day. The nails that do come out of the deck, just like any deck, are not rusty as they are stainless steel.

I have been renting two houses in Gulf Shores for seven years and have NEVER had a bad review, either online or directly with the guests. I have many guest books with seven years of comments raving about the house and the neighborhood. Please let me know if you would like any additional references. Thank you.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: recommended

This house in Ft. Morgan is a large house that easily accommodates twelve. Very good beach views and a 4 minute walk to get there!

Golf: Kiva Dunes, the number three ranked course in Alabama and the number one public course (by Golf Digest) is less than two miles away. Also close by is the Peninsula Golf Club. Other golf courses include 36 holes at Craft Farms.

If water sports and fishing are your bag, you will find a public launching ramp less than a mile away for access to Mobile Bay and the Gulf of Mexico. Just down the street is Ft. Morgan Marina with full service marina facilities (and a very good bay front restaurant).

The location of our house provides easy access to the excellent fishing of Mobile Bay and the Gulf of Mexico and great spots to try out your jet skis!

Shopping opportunities abound. Whether you are looking for that perfect souvenir to commemorate your trip, or are looking for the upscale shopping of all your favorite name brands, you will find them nearby. The souvenir shops of Gulf Shores are an easy drive and include ample parking. The huge Riviera Outlet Center in Foley is less than a half hour away and includes all of your favorite brands. The boutiques of the beach are all aligned along Highway 182 and and are just minutes away. Of course, no trip to the Gulf Coast is complete without sampling the wonderful local fresh seafood. The dinning opportunities seem endless. The Gulf Shores dining favorites such as Mikees, Gulf Shore Steamers, The Shrimp Basket and SunPlace Else I and II will provide you the opportunity to sample local seafood.

Ski: The location of our house provides easy access to the excellent fishing of Mobile Bay and the Gulf of Mexico and great spots to try out your jet skis!

Shopping opportunities abound. Whether you are looking for that perfect souvenir to commemorate your trip, or are looking for the upscale shopping of all your favorite name brands, you will find them nearby. The souvenir shops of Gulf Shores are an easy drive and include ample parking. The huge Riviera Outlet Center in Foley is less than a half hour away and includes all of your favorite brands. The boutiques of the beach are all aligned along Highway 182 and are just minutes away.

Of course, no trip to the Gulf Coast is complete without sampling the wonderful local fresh seafood. The dinning opportunities seem endless. The Gulf Shores dining favorites such as Mikees, Gulf Shore Steamers, The Shrimp Basket and SunPlace Else I and II will provide you the opportunity to sample local seafood.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Gulf Shores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall 2014
Aug 9 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,450
 
 
Winter 2014
Nov 1 2014 - Feb 27 2015
3 night minimum stay
$125
$650
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.5%
Notes All rentals are Saturday to Saturday (minimum 1 week) in Spring and Summer seasons.
No Pets.
Non-Smoking.
5% Charge for use of credit card
$500 Deposit required at time of booking.
$200 Cleaning fee additional.
Price does not include 8.5% Alabama Occupancy Tax.
Minimum renter age 25
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Gulf Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking Off Street
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Guest Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Hot and Cold Water
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Private Bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Private Bath
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Books for Adults
  • Music Library ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Beach Chairs
  • Wood Deck
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • theme parks
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • boating
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • deepsea fishing
  • jet skiing
Email Owner Contact Me