SHADY GLADE COTTAGE AT GLEN LAKE

Mollie and David Wise

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Mollie and David Wise

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SHADY GLADE COTTAGE AT GLEN LAKE

Glen Lake House Rental Photos and Description

Waterfront home, Glen Lake 3BD, w/d, f/p

We are opening up the last 2 weeks of June 2014 that we used to use. Beginning June 28-Aug 17, the people who have rented this past summer are tenatively coming back. I will know for sure Jan 15, 2014, when their deposti is due. In the spring, I will know if I may be able to open up the last 2 weeks of Aug.The cottage shares 367 ft. of lakefront, a large dock, and two outdoor fire pits, one located on the lakefront and one in the large grassy, shady common area. The view of Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes is especially beautiful at sunset. The property borders the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park. This available for 9mo. Sept-June ($650/mo). This includes grass, snow, leaf and trash removal. The fantastic Glen Lake School bus will pick up your kids at the end of the driveway

The cottage is approximately 3 miles from the village of Glen Arbor and 4 miles from the village of Empire, both of which have lovely public Lake Michigan beaches. Traverse City is about 1/2 hr. east of Glen Lake.

There is easy access to a wide variety of activities, including boating, river canoeing, hiking, swimming, golfing, shopping, and visiting national park sites and local food producers.

The kitchen has been recently updated, new carpet, and the interior painted.

Trees and shrubs have been trimmed or cut down for a better view of Glen Lake, which you view from the porch, lving room, dining room and front bedroom. Call about total wheelchair acessability.

There is a maximum of 7 ( includes, adults, children and babies). The cottage has: 3 bedrooms, one queen, one with three twins, and the third has a double; plus a hide-a-bed;

One full and one1/2 bath rooms, and a fully equipped kitchen, including a microwave. The living room has a fireplace and CATV. A washer and dryer are also available.

A charcoal grill, picnic table and porch furniture, are located outside. For 2014 I will know Jan 15 who is coming back. Most do, but usually one or 2 weeks open up.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Mollie and David Wise

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2004
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Shady Glade Cottage at Glen Lake
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Shady Glade Cottage at Glen Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309703
+1 5138316123
Glen Lake Northern Michigan
5

GREAT TIME!

  • 5 of 5
Living in Colorado, we are used to staying in mountain locations but decided to stay here on the recommendation of a friend. The home was very comfortable and my wife especially liked the kitchen. The access to the lake and beach areas made this a perfect location...and the price was right. I appreciated how easy the owner was to work with and how well the property was kept. We will definatley be back! L. Harwood
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Shady Glade Cottage at Glen Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309703
+1 5138316123
Glen Lake Northern Michigan
4

GREAT GETAWAY CABIN!!

  • 4 of 5
My husband and I and two young children stayed in this wonderful cabin in August 2009!!! It was perfect for a get away from the city right before school started!!
The cabin was cozy,cute and comfortable and a lovely wooded setting in a small community of cottages!!
The lake is beautiful, the Sleeping Bear Dunes are breathtaking,Pierce Stocking Drive was my favorite,but the sunsets over the lake and Dunes really were indescribably gorgeous!!
We would definitely go back again!!!
Jan L.
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Shady Glade Cottage at Glen Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309703
+1 5138316123
Glen Lake Northern Michigan
5

FABULOUS LOCATION, VIEWS, NEIGHBORS, FUN

  • 5 of 5
I have been staying at Shady Glade Cottage every year for almost ten years. The cottage is very bright and open and has all of the amenities needed to have a wonderful, casual stay on Little Glen Lake. And it's really family-friendly. The cottage is part of a small community of owners, some of whom rent their cottages and some who don't, and there is a communal fire ring and play area. This is one of the reasons that this place is so special. People are very friendly and always willing to answer questions and make recommendations on places to see and fun things to do. Especially when you go back year after year. You see the same people and it makes you feel comfortable, instead of going to a new place each year. And it’s fun to sit around the fire at night and hear stories of other owners' and guests' adventures of the day. The views of Sleeping Bear Dunes and National Seashore and Pierce Stocking National Park from the large dock on Little Glen Lake are fabulous, even unbelievable at sunset, and there is plenty of room to lie out on the deck to marvel at the beautiful stars after dark. And the price is reasonable compared to many of the relatively few places available to rent in this wonderful place. If you go, you'll be back!
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Shady Glade Cottage at Glen Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309703
+1 5138316123
Glen Lake Northern Michigan
South Milford, Ohio
5

LOVELY COTTAGE

  • 5 of 5
The home was as described and better! Very clean and convenient to everything. Property owners were more than accomodating. Definitely recommend to a friend. Loved how it was easy to hang out on the dock and watch the beautiful sunsets.
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Shady Glade Cottage at Glen Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p309703
+1 5138316123
Glen Lake Northern Michigan
1

DO NOT RENT HERE

  • 1 of 5
For several years I have rented numerous cottages up here, all without a problem. However, RENTING THIS COTTAGE WAS A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE! Communication with the owner was terrible, with their email address shut off and calls not returned. I should have known. This cottage was a pit. Dirty. Mold in the bathroom. And the roof leaked. None of the doors worked. The whole place felt damp. The information provided stated there would be a few items provided, such as soap and paper products, which were not. The phone was also disconnected. Then we were told to clean the place from top to bottom, including vacuum, sweep, countertops and make the beds (which is rediculous- thats why you have a house keeper.) Two months and several phone calls later my security deposit is STILL NOT RETURNED! This place was over priced to start with, then it was also a dirty hassle that cost me $100 more than we agreed. The owners think they have some castle here, and in reality it needs a demo. If you want a relaxing worry free vacation, this is not the place you want.
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is totally unfair and untrue. For some unknown reason it did not come in until June of 2012. I feel like they blackmailed me because I did not return their security deposit (which is unusual). I do ask to leave the cottage in the condition it was found. I never say specific chores to do. We have had the same housekeepers for 20 years; most of our renters have been returning for all those years. Our phone was never disconnected; I enjoy talking to renters and even if I am booked I try to give callers helpful tips about the area. The doors don't work? The roof leaks? It is a new roof. I can not help it if it rains, but the cottage is not damp. It is a lake house, not the Holiday Inn. I think this is a case of sour grapes. Feel free to call me if you have any questions, Mollie
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Traverse City
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Glen Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
1/2 is due now and the other 1/2 Two weeks before arrival
Tax Rate 6.0%
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Glen Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Lake
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Garage
  • Telephone
  • Heating
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Freezer
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 3 twin/ single
  • New Mattresses last summer,
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Books
Outside:
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Boat Dock
  • Beach Chairs
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • water tubing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
Email Owner Contact Me