KONA MAKAI OCEANFRONT SPLENDOR

Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

KONA MAKAI OCEANFRONT SPLENDOR

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

This is as oceanfront as it can get! Throw you fishing line off your lanai and catch some dinner!

The Kona Makai is one of Kona's favorite repeat destinations. This oceanfront community offers ocean views to no end.

This unit is one of the 6 prime units in the entire complex. It literally hangs over the sea! When the water is calm, you can slip right into the water for a nice snorkel off your front door (not for the first time snorkeler though).

This is a spacious two bedroom 2 bath suite. The master fronts the ocean, the guest suite also has an ocean view. Huge wrap-around lanais add another whole dimension to your family adventure in this suite.

These oceanfront units are the most prized units in the complex.

Kona Makai is an oceanfront condominium complex of about 100 one and two bedroom units located one mile from the beautiful town of Kailua-Kona. Amenities include an ocean-side swimming pool, jacuzzi, tennis courts, cabana area and barbecue area. The whole complex is surrounded by lush manicured and landscaped gardens overflowing with tropical flowers. Enjoy spectacular ocean views, sipping a cup of Kona Coffee while dolphins and whales are splashing around right in front of your Lanai.

The complex has direct access to the black lava Coast of the Pacific ocean for spectacular snorkeling and/or diving and is just a couple of miles down the shoreline from several wonderful beaches with opportunities to enjoy the graceful green sea turtles.

Downtown Kailua-Kona, about one mile away for easy access to shopping, businesses, restaurants and hotels. Watch the people and the cruise ships come and go from the Kailua Pier. Visit the famous Farmer's Market. Enjoy a shave ice or a cup of Kona coffee, have a light snack or a gourmet meal, buy an inexpensive souvenir or a piece of fine art, book an activity, go for a swim or hang out at the beach. Everything you need and want is readily available in the heart of Kona town.

Virtual Tour

HAWAII TAX ID # W40367332-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2001
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.1
based on 40 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Kona Makai Oceanfront splendor
average rating of 4.1 based on 40 reviews
business
Kona Makai Oceanfront splendor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308971vb
+1 877 782-5662
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Los Angeles, CA
5

THE PERFECT HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I'm always a little bit leery about making a reservation for a place that I can't see with my own eyes but only through pictures posted on the internet but this one did not disappoint at all. The photos looked amazing but the actual rental was even better than it showed in the photographs.

The unit was clean and fully stocked with everything my wife and boys could possibly need for our vacation.

The view was spectacular, amazing sunsets, and nothing between you and the ocean except some lava rocks.

Parking was simple. The kitchen was easy to use. The laundry machines were relatively new and worked well. The A/C was only in the bedrooms but worked well enough. TV only got local channels but we didn't watch it much. Would have been nice to have Netflix but we couldn't get it to work.

We will definitely be back.
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Kona Makai Oceanfront splendor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308971vb
+1 877 782-5662
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Longwood, Florida
2

OFFERRED A VIEW BUT NOTHING ELSE

  • 2 of 5
Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
If you want a great ocean view & sunset stay here, but this unit offered nothing else. The unit is old, one of the toilets was not functioning correctly and overflowed onto the floor. The toilet was fixed but it still did not flush & fill properly. The paint was peeling. There is no handicap parking. There is a "trick" to get into the unit and you may have difficulties getting in unless you ask someone. The parking lot code box is located on the right side of your car as you enter and you will have to get out of your car to put in the gate code and then get back into your car. There were ants in the kitchen. You better read all of the rules or you will be charged (ie: you can only leave one load of towels to be cleaned or you will be charged extra)
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Kona Makai Oceanfront splendor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308971vb
+1 877 782-5662
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Anchorage, Alaska
5

STUNNING VIEWS AND PERFECT ACCOMODATIONS!

  • 5 of 5
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We absolutely loved this unit. Upon arrival we felt at home. Although it was only the two of us, myself and husband, we opted for the 2 bedroom for keeping of our clothes, and luggage.

The bed in the master was comfortable, and the kitchen stocked full of all the gadgets you need away from home.

Our deck was a wrap around, so very spacious. We spent most of our time "at home" there if we were not on the go. We were able to jump in and scuba dive right there, in front of the condo. Caution though, only good swimmers since youre climbing back up the lava rocks and during times of waves, you tend to get "washed" back up on the rocks.

You can hear the waves crashing at all times, which was peaceful.

The only negatives were 1) having to check out and leave and 2) the unit it directly above the ping pong table and activity area.

Normally there arent young kiddos there, however our stay overlapped with a family that had 4 energetic kids that utilized the ping pong table at hours as late as 10pm.
  • Submitted: May 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Kona Makai Oceanfront splendor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308971vb
+1 877 782-5662
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Honolulu, Hawaii
4

OCEANFRONT CONDO

  • 4 of 5
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Everything was great , except when I arrived to the condo, the clothes dryer was not working, although the management company tried their best, it was not able to get fixed during my 5 day stay
  • Submitted: May 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Kona Makai Oceanfront splendor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308971vb
+1 877 782-5662
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Ladera, CA
4

EXCELLENT VALUE AT KONA MAKAI

  • 4 of 5
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall very clean unit and beds in good condition. Some minor quibbles. Still an Ant problem mainly in the kitchen "Despite seeing the pest control come during our stay". I think these ants are resilient and living in the walls. WE even put everything in the refrigerator and this helped somewhat but the occasional "ant scout" was still present. Also, there was a huge cockroach found in the Master Bedroom and one of the blinds broke. A call to the office let them know about the blinds however this was not fixed my entire stay. Not a huge deal but it would have been nice to not risk having the blinds fall off the ceiling as is was just hanging by a thread. Bare minimum spices and necessities in the unit. Makes you wonder if cleaning crew keeps all the left overs from other renters for themselves or do the renters take the stuff? Considering how expensive food items are in Hawaii, it was annoying to purchase $25 worth of spices when you would use not a 10th of it. I also left 2 beach umbrellas behind, we'll see how long they last in the apartment. The electrical outlets are very loose throughout the unit, never know if your phone or camera is charging completely or not. The ceiling fans are not that effective due to low ceilings, but the A/C units work very well in the bedrooms. I would like to stop hearing of bug problems at Kona Makai, and less complaints of things missing from the unit (left by thoughtful renters). If these problems go away, I will return as the unit is very nice.

Manager responded on 4/17/2014:
Aloha Mr. Pericone,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and that you have returned home safely. We received your review and I would like to follow-up with you and thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate guest input to help us maintain our units.

I'm concerned to hear that you had issues with the blinds. We sent a handyman on April 9th to visit your unit shortly after you called to report the issue. He was on-site at Kona Makai property visiting another unit. I spoke with him today and he verified that he repaired the blinds and left a message on your phone, as there was no answer. Were you still having issues before you left? The blinds were tested in worki
  • Submitted: May 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Kona Makai Oceanfront splendor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p308971vb
+1 877 782-5662
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Klamath, OR
4

KONA MAKAI VACATION

  • 4 of 5
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Lovely location
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

× This manager has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the manager.

This home tenders the services of a well-known and respected local property manager (BoundlessHawaii) to handle your queries and needs before and during your stay.

For immediate assistance for this property as well as instant quote, hold or reservation capabilities, visit our property manager's site directly, Google Boundlesshawaii. Or you can email or call one of our reservation specialists for more detail.

Toll Free 877 782-5662

Monday-Friday 8:00am-6:00pm

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Seasonal Rate
Apr 1 2014 - Oct 3 2014
3 night minimum stay
$180
$1,260
$5,400
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Oct 4 2014 - Oct 17 2014
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Oct 18 2014 - Dec 17 2014
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
$5,250
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Dec 18 2014 - Jan 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,785
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Jan 5 2015 - Apr 11 2015
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,750
$7,500
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Apr 12 2015 - Sep 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$180
$1,260
$5,400
 

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Amenities

Kailua Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Golf
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • museums
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
  • miniature golf
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • mountain biking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • swimming
  • surfing
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • tennis
  • basketball court
  • jet skiing

Other Vacation Properties

$1,700 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$700 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$819 - $1,008 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6