Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Cottage in the Woods-Shulls Mill Area (Boone/Blowing Rock)

Mark Lavin

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Mark Lavin

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Cottage in the Woods-Shulls Mill Area (Boone/Blowing Rock)

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Boone Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Great mountain cottage located in a wooded setting between Boone, Blowing Rock and Banner Elk. Walking distance to the Hebron ColonyRocks/Falls. ***Weekends in October, holiday weekends and Special Event weekends/dates may require longer minimum stays.***

2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. The master bedroom and bath is located in the loft which overlooks the living room and kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped and is newly remodeled with stainless appliances (Gas range/oven, dishwasher, microwave and refrigerator) and granite counter tops.

The covered porch has several rocking chairs and a charcoal grill. The stone patio has additional dining/socializing space to take in the native gardens. There is an outdoor fire pit to enjoy the evenings.

Keywords: cabin, chalet, country house, bungalow, Boone, Blowing Rock, NC, North Carolina

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mark Lavin (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015

About Mark Lavin

I am a graduate of Appalachian State University and was fortunate enough to secure a career in the Boone/Blowing Rock area after graduation. Within time, I became a small land developer/realtor and obtained my General Contractors license. Although I still actively work in the Boone and Blowing Rock area, my job has me in other areas quite often. I purchased this cottage so that I would have a place to spend time with friends and family. However, I am not spending as much time in the area as I once did. Because of this, I have chosen to rent my home when I am not using it.

Mark Lavin purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Mark Lavin chose Boone

The location of the property was the key reason why I chose it. You can be in downtown Blowing Rock in 13 minutes, Downtown Boone in 12 minutes, and in downtown Banner Elk in 20 minutes. There are several hiking trails within walking distance or a very short drive. Only 4 miles from the nearest entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 22 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cottage in the Woods-Shulls Mill Area (Boone/Blowing Rock)
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 22 reviews
5

Awesome Getaway

  • 5 of 5

A friend and I were looking for a getaway place to do some hiking and fishing near Boone/Blowing Rock, NC area. I found this place on vrbo.com and it was an excellent deal! The home was exceptionally clean and well organized. It is located far enough out if you are looking for a getaway from the city like I was, but also close to major hiking trails, lakes, and parks. The owner is also very hospitable and I was very impressed with the kitchen!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Rising Fawn GA
5

"Get Away Weekend"

  • 5 of 5

After searching the internet for a place to stay close to the APP State campus, I found yours listed on VRBO. Upon entering the cottage, we immediately felt at home. We were looking for a place to just "get away" for a few days and this was the perfect place. Very clean, completely furnished with all needs. The beds were clean and very comfortable. My granddaughter enjoyed the loft compared to dorm life!! It was hard to leave this excellent location. I highly recommend your cottage to anyone looking for a nice, quiet "get away". I sincerely hope we have an occasion to visit again. Thanks for furnishing a place that feels like "home".

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for leaving the home in such good condition. Please come back anytime!
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

My husband, son and I were looking for the perfect getaway for five days at Thanksgiving. We could not have found a more perfect place - and we've been renting places in this area for ten years. Mark was great to work with. The listing was accurate, the property extremely clean and well-maintained, great customer service. I would highly recommend this cottage/house.

The kitchen is superb - suitable for the gourmet cook! The loft was wonderful, except my son claimed it as "his" place for the weekend. (he's 11). We had the most beautiful snowfall on Thanksgiving day that I have ever seen and the views from the cottage were breathtaking. It would be the perfect place, no matter what the season. They even found and sent to me a cosmetic bag that I left behind. Beautiful place. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

My family of three spent a beautiful Thanksgiving here with the added advantage of the most beautiful snowfall I've ever seen. Mark could not have been any better to deal with. I have to say the kitchen is THE BEST! Loved it. My eleven year old son claimed the cozy loft as his space for the five days. He could not have been any happier. The house was impeccably clean. While the weather was almost brutal cold - we were warm and cozy. The gas fireplace adds a nice touch. The views are amazing. Mark and his staff even found my cosmetic bag left behind and sent it to me promptly. We will stay here again and I highly recommend this. The listing was accurate, everything was well maintained, great customer service. Thank you Mark.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for leaving the house in such great condition. You and your family are welcome back anytime. Thanks for the great review. Happy Holidays!
5

An Awesome Cabin in the Mountains

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this cabin on our anniversary weekend getaway. It's location is superb and very convenient to Boone and Blowing Rock. While being near to other cabins it is surrounded by foliage that creates a peaceful, private atmosphere. The kitchen is well appointed and a pleasure to cook in. I loved the gas stove and jealously miss it upon returning home to my electric.

I'd like to make a couple of comments in response to the only negative review for this property. Anyone viewing this property while rental hunting should 100% disregard the review below titled "Stay Away".

1. The house has DirectTV. Coming from a household that has cut the cord and has neither Satellite or Cable the number of channels available is mind boggling. If you don't consider several hundred channels enough entertainment when you are staying in the mountains... in a cabin... in the woods... then you've got a problem.

2. 2 closets and 2 dressers available for a 2 bedroom rental is completely sufficient for anything less than a months stay in my opinion. If you need more than that you should probably consider bringing less stuff while vacationing.

3. We stayed upstairs in the loft because it was warm and toasty (16 degrees outside with snow on the ground when we arrived). I can't speak to the condition of the downstairs bed but the rest of the cabin was so clean, neat and well maintained that I can't possibly imagine there being any issues.

4. I found at least 6 towels and 4 Hand towels just in the upstairs bathroom without even looking hard. More than enough for one weekend. The house also has a very new, VERY NICE, washer and dryer.

5. Again we only stayed the weekend but never had any problems running out of hot water.

Okay, enough with my rant. I was disappointed to see such a shockingly erroneous review, I had to comment on it. My wife and I had an amazing time staying at the cabin and hope to return in the summer with our kids to take advantage of the outdoor space and everything else the area has to offer.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I am glad that you guys had such a great time. I look forward to accommodating you and your family this summer. Happy Holidays!
5

Pleasant and relaxing weekend stay.

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for the weekend. The cottage was nicely appointed and comfortable. This was great considering that I chose what seems to be the only bad weather weekend in the month of October. We did enjoy the porch and found that the fireplace provided more than enough warmth. The kitchen was as others described.

We were close to Moses Cone National Park where we managed to take some beautiful pictures during the few hours on Saturday that the sun was out. We also had very good meals at a couple of Blowing Rock restaurants. We also visited Grandfather Mountain and a great new restaurant in Valle Crucis.

Thank you for letting us enjoy your very nice home.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Car: necessary

Walking distance to the Hebron Colony Rocks/falls

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $149 Per night

Boone Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$149
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Weekends in October, holiday weekends, and special event dates may require a longer minimum stay.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Boone Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis

Other Vacation Properties

$900 - $1,260 per week
2 - 5 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$900 - $1,260 per week
2 - 5 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,170 - $1,320 per week
2 - 4 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote