Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

RETREAT IN THE WOODS - SECLUDED 5 ACRES W/POND & HOT TUB

Ivie Baker

Advertiser since: 2002
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Ivie Baker

Advertiser since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 9, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

RETREAT IN THE WOODS - SECLUDED 5 ACRES W/POND & HOT TUB

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Gladwin House Rental Photos and Description

2 BR 1 Bath on 5 Wooded Acres, near Sugar Springs (Sleeps up to 6 Adults)

Cute home on 5.5 wooded acres with a pond. Enjoy this secluded property surrounded by woods and nature. Relax in the 4 person hot tub filled with 81 soothing jets! Ahhhhhhhhhhh!

This home has a large fireplace, living room, family room, laundry facilities, kitchen with wrap around cupboards and breakfast bar. There is also a paddle boat at the pond for your leisure. Home is located within 2.5 miles of Sugar Springs Resort, 2 golf courses and Lake Lancer access. Also within 5 miles from Secord Lake (2000 acre all sports lake) and very close to 1000's of acres of state land and snowmobile trails. Lots of wildlife in the area!

Email us for a link to our web site with more photos and a virtual tour of the cottage.

(Check in 5 pm - Check Out 1 pm)

Amenities: Fully furnished. Satellite TV, VCR, DVD, Stove, refrigerator, washer, dryer, coffee maker, fireplace, pond, paddle boat, swim raft, full bath, dishes, linens & more.

Activities: 2 Golf courses within 3 miles. Several lakes nearby for boating swimming, etc. Fire pit & charcoal grill next to pond. And MORE!

Also just 20 minutes away from the West Branch Outlet Mall! If you are looking for all sports lakes, there are several lake just minutes away. The Secord Lake boat launch is just 8 minutes away from the house. There are also several other lakes in the area for you to enjoy.

Area: Within 15 minutes from Gladwin, 20 minutes from West Branch, 20 minutes from Pruddenville, 25 minutes from Houghton Lake. 2.5 miles from Sugar Springs.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Ivie Baker (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2002
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 9, 2014

About Ivie Baker

We have been renting the Retreat in the Woods to guests since August of 2001. We are happy to have people visit the Retreat to make memories that last a lifetime.

Jim and I are originally from Pinckney MI and moved up north in 1992. We fell in love with the area and decided to set roots here in Gladwin County. Jim and I are both Real Estate Brokers and just also is a paramedic for Gladwin County.

Ivie Baker purchased this house in 2001

Why Ivie Baker chose Gladwin

We came across this property in 2000. We fell in love with the secluded setting nestled in the woods with a clean artisan fed pond full of large fish. Our kids and dog love to play and swim in the pond.

What makes this house unique

The Retreat offers a quiet, private setting surrounded be woods. Watch deer, turkey and other wildlife from the back yard. Great location for those looking for a private setting surrounded by nature.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 32 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
average rating of 4.90625 based on 32 reviews
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
+1 -989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
5

Wonderful Rubey Vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful time at the little home in gladwin. The beatiful view was wonderful to wake up to. The lake was wonderful to swim in. We especially enjoyed the paddleboat and the accomodations the owners made for us to have a dog there. It is overall a great place!
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time. It looks like the weather cooperated. Please feel free to contact us again if you'd like to get away.
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
+1 -989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
3

Relaxing outdoor escape, house needs serious work

  • 3 of 5
I rented 5 years ago with my kids, and we had a very nice time. Came back to visit friends this summer. Just as before, the outdoor space is wonderful. I love the pond, hot tub, fishing and grounds. In both cases, I spent 90%of my waking time outdoors. I would stay again because I love the grounds that much. However, the condition of the house is not that of the outdoors. If you are an indoors type of person, you will not be happy.
The sliding glass door does not open and did not open 5 years ago. The walls in the home have large gaps at the floor and ceiling because they weren't finished with mouldings. There's a hole in the kitchen floor where my shoe got stuck- had it been my bare foot, it would have been a trip to the ER. There is a hole in the bathroom where the other half of the towel bar used to be. There are exposed pipes in the bathroom next to the toilet. All-in-all, it looks as though Jim has allowed the place to deteriorate while the rental fee has not gone down.
I really do love the place because I like the outdoors, but my husband will not join us (he's a stay indoor and rest while not working type of a guy), and I doubt I would bring friends who have never visited in fear they would be disappointed. Time to take some pride in your rental property - after all, you are in the hospitality industry.
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you had a bad experience. The house is just as it was 5 years ago, other than we need to replace the towel rack that a guest pulled off in the bathroom wall. Unfortunately, we had some young people in there whole pulled that off early this summer. The sliding glass door does open, but we have the blanket box in front of it because guests bring in dirt onto the carpet from the sliding glass door. There is another back door for people to go in an out of. I an not sure what you are referring about the kitchen floor. There are no holes or gaps. It is wood laminate flooring and it is in good shape. The bathroom has always had the pipes along the interior walk, like they now. It is a cabin. Again... sorry you were disappointment, but the house has not changed other than the towel rack that will be replaced once our guests are gone for the season, because it requires glue and tile grout to dry and that we moved the blanket box in front of the door to prevent people from bringing in the dirt.
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
+1 -989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
4

Retreat in the Woods

  • 4 of 5
My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Retreat in the Woods. The property is spacious and private. We have an 18 month old son who the pond was perfect for, with the shallow sandy beach area to play in. The fish were amazing and come right up to you. We did see deer cross the property one evening and enjoyed the birds. The owners were very attentive and personally come by to show you a tour of the house upon arrival. We visited the city of Gladwin to walk by the river and to feed the deer at Whitetail Live. We also got ice cream at the nearby Two Scoops and it was delicious. The outlet mall at West Branch was also a good short trip for a rainy morning. Only negative parts of the trip were the bugs, which are to be expected in a wooded setting and no cell phone service (which we didn't completely mind once we adjusted...) All and all the trip was memorable for our family and we enjoyed our stay!
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a great pond for kids. We're glad you saw some deer. Sometimes they come up to the pond. Next year, the bugs will probably be better. The county sprays for mosquitoes in the Spring, but with all of the rain we had early in the season, we sort of lost that battle. They are thinning way out now... like they usually do in late summer. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
+1 -989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
Wayne, MI
5

AWESOME home, property & place to vacation!!

AWESOME home, property & place to vacation!!
  • 5 of 5
We LOVED our time at the Retreat in the Woods!
The house was as beautiful as the pictures on their website and had everything we could possibly need. They even included a basket of towels to dry our 2 dogs off with who LOVED swimming in the pond & romping through their woods!!
We had a GREAT time canoeing, fishing, riding the paddle boat, making & sitting by the campfire.
Ivy was super responsive to any needs we had during our stay!!
We are already planning a return back there in September and would HIGHLY recommend Retreat in the Woods for a vacation!!!
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to seeing you and your family again. Also, the weather will be a bit milder too. See you in a couple months!
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
+1 -989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
5

Great, Quiet Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
Stayed the weekend at the Retreat in the Woods and had a wonderful time. The location is secluded and very quiet day and night. We were able to play golf just down the street at Sugar Springs and it was about a 20 minute drive into town for dinner at the Riverwalk Place, which is a very nice restaurant in downtown Gladwin on the river. My son and the dogs LOVED the pond during the day and the fires were great at night. The hot tub is AMAZING; very clean and definitely relaxing. Ivie was great with communication and very accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend to anyone looking for seclusion and relaxation, and the ability to bring our dogs was a big plus. The house was clean and everything was perfect. Thanks Ivie!
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is such a peaceful setting. We even use it on occasion. Please feel free to contact us again in the future to stay again.
business
Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305333
+1 -989 429-0124
Gladwin Northern Michigan
Greenville, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

Hi, Ivie, Jim and enjoyed our stay very much. Even though we live in the woods on a private lake, you just can't relax as easily at home. We also don'...
  • 5 of 5
Hi, Ivie, Jim and enjoyed our stay very much. Even though we live in the woods on a private lake, you just can't relax as easily at home. We also don't have a hot tub or fireplace; we enjoyed both so much. We made use of the fire pit and cooked steaks over the open flame. We saw some deer, many of our favorite birds including your pileated woodpecker and heard the coyotes howling in the distance. We were very comfortable in the house and found most everything we needed. We only had to make an emergency run for coffee filters since we are both caffeine addicts. I hope we get the chance to come back next fall for a weekend and will try to come a week or so earlier when colors are close to peak. Thanks again for the use of your retreat, it was very peaceful and rejuvenating. Sandy and Jim Gardner
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sandy. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It should have been peak color during your stay. However, it peaked a few days early this year. It got cold earlier this year. Sorry about the coffee filters. I'll put that on my list. We'd be happy to have you back again. The house looked great! Thank you.
Ivie & Jim Baker

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Camp Sports Bar - Great food and service!
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Sugar Springs Gold Course and Lakeside Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
Highway I 75
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Camp Sports Bar - Great food and service!

Located on 5.5 acres with a large, clean pond. Approx 15 minutes from Gladwin or West Branch. Also within 25 minutes of Houghton Lake and 3 miles from Sugar Springs Resort.

Golf: Just 3.5 miles from the Sugar Springs Golf Course (18 hole) and Lakeside Golf Course (9 hole).

Ski: Snow Snake Ski Area is just about 35 minutes away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $140 Per night

Gladwin House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid Season Rates
Apr 16 2015 - Jun 25 2015
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$170
Fri,Sat
$840
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Jun 26 2015 - Oct 1 2015
2 night minimum stay
$141
From
$173
Fri,Sat
$860
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes $770-$860/Week, $330-$346 Weekend, $120-$140 per night
Rates are for up to 4 adults (children under 18 are free). $15 additional per day for each extra adult for the entire rental period, to a maximum of 6 occupants per rental period (8 w/children). Deposit of 1/2 of rental required to secure reservations, remainder due 2 weeks prior to arrival.
Credit Cards, Cash, money orders & personal checks.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Amenities

Gladwin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • Full bath with shower and tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • This home has a queen bed in the main bedroom and bunk bed with a double lower bunk and twin upper bunk, in the second bedroom. There are also two double sized sofa sleeps (one in the living room and one in the family room).
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Pedal Boat
  • Raft
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • swimming

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote