Summer 2013 - Do Not Recommend this Property
Stayed at this property for a week in August 2013. The view from the balcony is about the only thing going for this rental. Important to know there is a third party handling reservations and administration. Upon arrival, the unit was dirty. We spent 4 hours cleaning floors, furniture and cabinets. Electric light outlet in the bathroom was not securely attached to the wall, light bulbs were out, air-conditioning vents were rusty, cabinet doors fell off and blinds were 50% functional at best. The deck while spacious had old splintered wood and several nails were exposed. The same is true for the stairs leading to the entrance.
Bring your own linens. Upon arrival there was a pile of linens in one bedroom with the rest being in the washing machine / dryer downstairs.
Half way through the week the air-conditioning failed. While efforts were made to correct the issue, we went 2 full days without air which made for uncomfortable conditions. We received a financial offer to depart early and eventually did so. Despite multiple text pages, phone calls and a letter, no refund was ever received.
The price is attractive, but for what you get, it is not worth it.
Owner's Response: We have been renting this pet friendly basic beach house for years and have always had good reviews, regarding this review, we were notified on Thursday morning that the AC went out, the renters were scheduled to leave Saturday, so we had a local company on-site within the day on Thursday, someone had severely damaged the unit and it would take 2 days to repair. Therefore, we offered a partial reimbursement if the renter left immediately, they refused, so we paid a local company a premium to have the AC running Thursday night, then completed the repair on Friday. Unfortunately, we cannot control things of this nature, but fortunately people stay at the beach to enjoy the beach and enjoy the sites during the day, then relax while the sun is setting from our spacious deck at night.
We listen and respect all of our guest opinions and do our best to accommodate every request, unfortunately, some are more difficult then others. We have recently, taken the time to thoroughly review every detail of our beach house and it is in perfect working condition at this time and we will plan to keep it this way.
We can only continue to improve, with your help, so please don't forget to review our property, after your stay, so we can make sure we did everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
Thank you for taking the time to read our response.
Helpful votes: 5/8
Did you find this review helpful?