Terrible Property- Beware
I will keep it short and sweet
1) The house was filthy and did not have the furniture, fixtures, or bedding shown in the video. It was missing two of the three beds, and box springs. They took several days to find a mattress and never provided bedding or linens.
2) The yard was overgrown and neighbors on both side were complaining to us about the lack of upkeep.
3) The ad claimed wireless internet, DVD, and cable. It had none of these for the majority of our stay and the DVD player was never delivered.
4) The master bedroom shower did not work at all
5) The washing machine did not work
6) The property was infested with ants and cockroaches. We paid for pest control ourselves.
7) The gas was shut off during our stay for non payment
8) The water was shut off during our stay for non payment
9) There was black mold in the downstairs bathroom
10) The Air Conditioning did not work
11) The heat did not work
12) The house was listed for sale and we returned the first day to find people in the back yard. The renter had provided them with directions and authorized them to access the property.
13) He repeatedly sent harassing texts to us (all of which we saved) and refused to provide his last name, physical address, mailing address, or any other information for us to contact him to work this out.
We could go on and on. He refused to refund our money so we could get a rental with hot water and internet. He refused. We paid HomeAway in advance. DO NOT DO THIS.
We are trying to negotiate a partial refund to cover the expenses we had from purchasing linens, doing our laundry elsewhere, a hotel room for 4 nights, internet charges from using personal hotspots, extermination charges, etc.
Owner's Response: NOT REALLY TRUE: They looked everthing inside the House prior to payment. (2) We had informed them that this house is our newly listed and they are our first guest and it is not ready completely, i.e cable/internet (comcast will be installed after 2 days of checkin) Mattress will be provided within few days.
but They need as RUSH CHECKIN and We agreed on 50% OFF bargain price. Later they started to argue on giving another $500 OFF which we did not consider as We were told that only 2 Adults and 4 Kidz will be staying, and NO PETS. Later we found that THEY HAVE MORE THAN 4 Adults staying, and 2 DOGS or more and BOX TRUCK PARKING with and BIG TRAILER which was not mentioned at the time of CHECKIN. They paid us price for motel room perday and we gave them a BIG House. PLUS ONE FREE NIGHT stay. Also Note: OUR 24FT LADDER is MISSING from GARAGE at checkout day we did notice.
Later we found out that they have PETS (more than one) EXCEEDING No of GUEST. TRAILERS, BOX TRUCKS,.
Helpful votes: 15/15
Did you find this review helpful?