ARCHITECTURAL MASTERPIECE ON FARM MINUTES FROM U OF A CAMPUS

Enter your travel dates

Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ARCHITECTURAL MASTERPIECE ON FARM MINUTES FROM U OF A CAMPUS

Fayetteville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Located on the crest of Mount Kessler, surrounded by forty acres of wooded hills and pastures, and engulfed in a tranquil forest of Maples and Oaks, Deepwood House provides an ideal retreat for small groups, families or individuals who desire a unique, private, and relaxing place to stay while visiting Fayetteville.

The award-winning architectural masterpiece, constructed in the Ozark tradition of cedar wood, stone, and glass, was designed by the late former University of Arkansas Architecture professor Herb Fowler, who aptly christened it "Deepwood".

The home is fully furnished and equipped, with a master bedroom and bath and two guest bedrooms sharing a second bath. All the floors are natural flagstone, which beautifully compliment a massive stone fireplace dominating a cozy living room. It has a spacious deck nestled in a mature maple forest with views down into Fayetteville and a huge stone patio for barbecuing and entertaining.

Deepwood House can accommodate up to six people, but day-use accommodations for more can be arranged. It is a great venue for weddings. Forest and meadow paths are available for those who like to walk, bike, or run.

Goats and sheep graze in pastures on the property, which includes a creek and pond. The meadow in front of the barn is the venue for the annual Finger Mountain Breakdown, a home-grown October music festival featuring local bluegrass, old-time, roots and singer-songwriter music.

Deepwood House is so close yet a world away.

Keywords: Private, Shaded, Woodsy, Expansive, Open, View, Farm, Architectural Masterpiece, Stone

www.deepwoodhouse.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Tom and Shirley Butt live in the San Francisco Bay area and visit Fayetteville periodically. Tom is an architect and principal of Interactive Resources, and architecture-engineering firm in Richmond, CA. He also is a 16-year member of the Richmond, CA City Council and currently vice-mayor. For more information, Google "tombutt."

The Owner purchased this house in 1995

I am a native of Fayetteville, AR.

Relaxing and visiting friends and family.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 3 reviews
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
(479) 571-3224 (Arkansas, USA)
Fayetteville Arkansas
Texas
1

Architectural Masterpiece

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is a beautifully designed home in a beautiful setting. This house is located in a rural wooded area and while some insect activity and even rodent activity might be expected, what we encountered was excessive and unsanitary. There were cobwebs behind doors, in windows, and hanging from the bathroom ceiling. There were rodent droppings in most of the drawers and there were insects everywhere. One bedroom had so many insects, including in the bed, that nobody would sleep there. We were unable to reach the caretaker until late evening the day after we arrived. She did a walk-through with us and agreed it was unacceptable and arranged for a cleaning the next day. Some, but not all of the rodent droppings were cleaned out. The floors in the main living and kitchen areas had been swept and mopped but as far as we could tell that is all that had been done. The caretaker was gone and only returned as we were leaving so we were unable to notify her that the cleaning was not sufficient. Hopefully the place will be thoroughly cleaned for future occupants. We were disappointed.
Owner's Response: We believe this review was related to an effort from the guest to obtain a significant rebate. We have personally investigated the reported conditions and inspected the premises and found the account not to be credible.
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
(479) 571-3224 (Arkansas, USA)
Fayetteville Arkansas
Olathe, Kansas and South Africa
5

Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We had a wonderful time! Only minutes from Fayetteville and the Track stadium. Lovely drive up the mountain. The view from the deck was much more than we expected. So quiet and peaceful. Stayed there most of the time. We did not even put the TV on. I loved all the books and the atmosphere. Will be back soon for a longer stay!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
(479) 571-3224 (Arkansas, USA)
Fayetteville Arkansas
United States
4

Beautiful, unique house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The house it beautiful! It is in a beautiful location. Very comfortable and functional. My only complaint was the gas grill was very finicky and never wanted to work when I needed it. Also, the caretakers have three large penned dogs that bark quite a bit when they see you - which is anytime you drive up to the house, or walk around the front of the house.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your helpful suggestions. We have purchased a new outdoor grill, and the dogs have been moved 100 feet away to the edge of the woods.
Helpful votes: 8/8

Map

Nice walking paths in the woods nearby.

Photos

Availability & Rates

This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the manager for availability.

Fayetteville House Rental Rates

Notes

  • $180-$250/nt
  • US Dollars
  • 1-2 guests: $200/night .. $180/night (two or more nights)
  • 2-4 guests: $225/night .. $200/night (two or more nights)
  • 3-6 guests: $250/night .. $225/night (two or more nights)
  • Additional guest on sofa bed: $50
  • Weekly, monthly, other arrangements available

Amenities

Fayetteville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Garage
  • Air Conditioning
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Catering Available
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • hiking
  • cycling
Notes:
Mountain biking and hiking trails, 8 minutes from U of A Campus, music festival in October

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • Sleeps 13
$1,900 - $2,400 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$350 - $450 per night
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 20