ARCHITECTURAL MASTERPIECE ON FARM MINUTES FROM U OF A CAMPUS

Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Property Manager

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ARCHITECTURAL MASTERPIECE ON FARM MINUTES FROM U OF A CAMPUS

Fayetteville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Located on the crest of Mount Kessler, surrounded by forty acres of wooded hills and pastures, and engulfed in a tranquil forest of Maples and Oaks, Deepwood House provides an ideal retreat for small groups, families or individuals who desire a unique, private, and relaxing place to stay while visiting Fayetteville.

The award-winning architectural masterpiece, constructed in the Ozark tradition of cedar wood, stone, and glass, was designed by the late former University of Arkansas Architecture professor Herb Fowler, who aptly christened it 'Deepwood'.

The home is fully furnished and equipped, with a master bedroom and bath and two guest bedrooms sharing a second bath. All the floors are natural flagstone, which beautifully compliment a massive stone fireplace dominating a cozy living room. It has a spacious deck nestled in a mature maple forest with views down into Fayetteville and a huge stone patio for barbecuing and entertaining.

Deepwood House can accommodate up to six people, but day-use accommodations for more can be arranged. It is a great venue for weddings. Forest and meadow paths are available for those who like to walk, bike, or run.

Goats and sheep graze in pastures on the property, which includes a creek and pond. The meadow in front of the barn is the venue for the annual Finger Mountain Breakdown, a home-grown October music festival featuring local bluegrass, old-time, roots and singer-songwriter music.

Deepwood House is so close yet a world away.

Keywords: Private, Shaded, Woodsy, Expansive, Open, View, Farm, Architectural Masterpiece, Stone

www.deepwoodhouse.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Tom and Shirley Butt live in the San Francisco Bay area and visit Fayetteville periodically. Tom is an architect and principal of Interactive Resources, and architecture-engineering firm in Richmond, CA. He also is a 16-year member of the Richmond, CA City Council and currently vice-mayor. For more information, Google 'tombutt.'

The Owner purchased this house in 1995

I am a native of Fayetteville, AR.

Relaxing and visiting friends and family.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.8
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
Austin, TX
5

LIVING IN A TREEHOUSE

  • 5 of 5
We had a great stay at Deepwoods House. It was in town but you have the feeling of being out in the country - just what we like. The deck felt like you are in a treehouse. The house is really unusual and all the windows helped us to further appreciate the Ozark woods. The caretakers were friendly and responsive and I would definitely recommend this rental. I already have actually.
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
4

UNIQUE HOUSE

  • 4 of 5
We stayed in this house for about two weeks every year from 2002 until 2006. We loved it. It's deep in the woods and high in hills behind the Fayetteville/Farmington Walmart Supercenter. It required a lengthy drive on a gravel road. The house took a little "getting used to" on our first stay. It looks like the memory foam mattress topper that we purchased is still on the King bed. There will probably always be some degree of spider webbing because this house is as close to nature as you'll find without pitching a tent. If you typically stay at a four or five diamond hotel, this is probably not the home for you. If you love communing with nature, waking up to the sound of birds in the trees, squirrels scampering about, and zero traffic noise, then this is your home away from home. We have very fond memories of this amazing house and it's beautiful location. I used the 5/13 date because the system wouldn't allow the actual dates. I didn't give five stars because the house is naturally damp, and buggy.
  • Submitted: May 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a great review, but I hope no one is dissuaded by the last sentence. I'm not sure what the reviewer meant by "damp and buggy," but we can assure you that it is no more damp or buggy than any other home located in and next to 1,000 acres of wilderness. The home is dry and has operating heat and air conditioning, although we have never used the AC even in August because it is so cool up on Kessler Mountain. There is an all-house fan and ceiling fans that keep the house very comfortable. We don't use pesticides, and we find an occasional cricket, but insects like ants and mosquitoes have never been a problem in the house.

The road to Deepwood is paved the first mile and gravel the second mile, but it is still only 10 minutes from the Uof A Campus. We just had the road graded, and we have a new young couple starting as caretakers in mid-May 2014.

We think you will enjoy Deepwood, and we hope you will choose it as your home away from home in Fayetteville.

The Historic District Commission presented the 2014 Historic Preservation Awards on May 8, 2014, to honor projects, organizations, and individuals that displayed outstanding commitment, practice, and leadership in preservation in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

The Best Practices Award was presented to The Butt Family for Deepwood House.
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
Texas
1

ARCHITECTURAL MASTERPIECE

  • 1 of 5
This is a beautifully designed home in a beautiful setting. This house is located in a rural wooded area and while some insect activity and even rodent activity might be expected, what we encountered was excessive and unsanitary. There were cobwebs behind doors, in windows, and hanging from the bathroom ceiling. There were rodent droppings in most of the drawers and there were insects everywhere. One bedroom had so many insects, including in the bed, that nobody would sleep there. We were unable to reach the caretaker until late evening the day after we arrived. She did a walk-through with us and agreed it was unacceptable and arranged for a cleaning the next day. Some, but not all of the rodent droppings were cleaned out. The floors in the main living and kitchen areas had been swept and mopped but as far as we could tell that is all that had been done. The caretaker was gone and only returned as we were leaving so we were unable to notify her that the cleaning was not sufficient. Hopefully the place will be thoroughly cleaned for future occupants. We were disappointed.
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We believe this review was related to an effort from the guest to obtain a significant rebate. We have personally investigated the reported conditions and inspected the premises and found the account not to be credible.
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
Olathe, Kansas and South Africa
5

PEACEFUL!

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful time! Only minutes from Fayetteville and the Track stadium. Lovely drive up the mountain. The view from the deck was much more than we expected. So quiet and peaceful. Stayed there most of the time. We did not even put the TV on. I loved all the books and the atmosphere. Will be back soon for a longer stay!
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
United States
4

BEAUTIFUL, UNIQUE HOUSE

  • 4 of 5
The house it beautiful! It is in a beautiful location. Very comfortable and functional. My only complaint was the gas grill was very finicky and never wanted to work when I needed it. Also, the caretakers have three large penned dogs that bark quite a bit when they see you - which is anytime you drive up to the house, or walk around the front of the house.
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your helpful suggestions. We have purchased a new outdoor grill, and the dogs have been moved 100 feet away to the edge of the woods.
Email Manager Email

Map

Nice walking paths in the woods nearby.

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Fayetteville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Nicholls State Game
Sep 5 2014 - Sep 7 2014
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Northern Illinois Game
Sep 20 2014 - Sep 22 2014
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Bike, Blues, BBQ
Sep 24 2014 - Sep 27 2014
2 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Alabama Game
Oct 10 2014 - Oct 12 2014
2 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
UAB Game
Oct 24 2014 - Oct 26 2014
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
LSU Game
Nov 14 2014 - Nov 16 2014
2 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Ole Miss Game
Nov 21 2014 - Nov 23 2014
2 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$225
From
$235
Fri,Sat
$1,325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 9.75%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Fayetteville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Garage
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • hiking
  • cycling
Notes:
Mountain biking and hiking trails, 8 minutes from U of A Campus, music festival in October
Email Manager Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,500 - $2,200 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 13
$1,900 - $2,400 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 8