Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

ARCHITECTURAL MASTERPIECE ON FARM MINUTES FROM U OF A CAMPUS

Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Property Manager
Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 27, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ARCHITECTURAL MASTERPIECE ON FARM MINUTES FROM U OF A CAMPUS

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Fayetteville House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Located on the crest of Mount Kessler, surrounded by forty acres of wooded hills and pastures, and engulfed in a tranquil forest of Maples and Oaks, Deepwood House provides an ideal retreat for small groups, families or individuals who desire a unique, private, and relaxing place to stay while visiting Fayetteville.

The award-winning architectural masterpiece, constructed in the Ozark tradition of cedar wood, stone, and glass, was designed by the late former University of Arkansas Architecture professor Herb Fowler, who aptly christened it 'Deepwood'.

The home is fully furnished and equipped, with a master bedroom and bath and two guest bedrooms sharing a second bath. All the floors are natural flagstone, which beautifully compliment a massive stone fireplace dominating a cozy living room. It has a spacious deck nestled in a mature maple forest with views down into Fayetteville and a huge stone patio for barbecuing and entertaining.

Deepwood House can accommodate up to six people, but day-use accommodations for more can be arranged. It is a great venue for weddings. Forest and meadow paths are available for those who like to walk, bike, or run.

Goats and sheep graze in pastures on the property, which includes a creek and pond. The meadow in front of the barn is the venue for the annual Finger Mountain Breakdown, a home-grown October music festival featuring local bluegrass, old-time, roots and singer-songwriter music.

Deepwood House is so close yet a world away.

Keywords: Private, Shaded, Woodsy, Expansive, Open, View, Farm, Architectural Masterpiece, Stone

www.deepwoodhouse.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Property Manager
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 27, 2015

About The Owner

Zeke Holiman has lived in Northwest Arkansas for 18 years. He graduated the University of Arkansas in 2014 and has been managing the property since.

The Owner purchased this house in 1995

Why The Owner chose Fayetteville

Built by the architect Herb Fowler in 1944, the Deepwood house has a rich history and was inspired by the 'built-in-nature' designs of mid century architects such as Fay Jones and Frank Loyd Wright.

What makes this house unique

Experience the beauty of Mt. Kessler from an architectural time capsule.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.6
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
average rating of 3.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
5

Perfect Venue for our Perfect Fall Wedding

  • 5 of 5
We decided to hold our wedding here. Lots of maple trees and the feeling of complete seclusion while remaining very close to Fayetteville. The caretaker was helpful in getting everything set up, and patient with our several visits to measure and map out where everything would be. The house is spectacular and everyone enjoyed themselves thoroughly. The best view is off the back deck, that's what sold us. Overall, I highly recommend Deep Wood House.
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
Texas
1

Extremely Disappointed in Condition of House--Poorly Maintained & Filthy

Extremely Disappointed in Condition of House--Poorly Maintained & Filthy
  • 1 of 5
We arrived at 4:00 p.m. to find the house had not been cleaned and the caretaker said, "He had not had time to get over there that day." In addition to the house needing numerous repairs, it was completely filthy.
There were dirty dishes in dishwasher.
Trash cans not emptied.
Linens not changed. There were sheets in dryer and we changed them ourselves.
Bath mats damp and dirty.
Bathrooms filthy.
Deck not blown off & table on deck was dirty. We could not have eaten outside anyway due to caretaker's cats being on tables.
Rug in living room had not been vacuumed.
Placemats on table dirty.
Floors dirty.
Cushions on built-in couches were dirty, worn out & very uncomfortable-need to be replaced.
Sheets & towels all in need of some bleach & fabric softener--actually new ones are really needed.
Ice maker in refrigerator did not work.
Windows were not clean & several double pane windows had broken seals & were cloudy & need to be replaced.
Some kind of animal in attic scratching & moving around.
Cobwebs in living room.
An electrical problem with several outlets: None of the electronics, including the TV worked
& lamp on bed in Master BR did not work.
There are many repairs needed as well as a thorough, professional cleaning.
The entire house is extremely dark and the lighting is poor. Certainly nothing like the photos on the website which show everything light & bright.
It is unfortunate no one taking care of the house properly since it is such a lovely location and could be a really special place.
We had to pay a cleaning fee but had to clean the house ourselves & change the linens. We feel like at the very least we should have the cleaning fee refunded.
It was a very disappointing visit and for all these reasons we would never recommend Deepwood House to anyone.
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the review and have taken significant measures to remedy or resolve all these issues.
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
Elk, WA
4

A True Get Away

  • 4 of 5
A GREAT experience and would return!!! The pictures are up-to-date of property/furnishings. Off the beaten path but not so far that running to the store is not a chore. Really enjoyed the variety of books from years past (books literally from the 1960's). Very unique and well equipped (kitchen). Plenty of board games to enjoy. My only issue was the quality of bedding/mattresses (full size and firm). Had to go buy a cheap foam pad (which we left behind). Ticks are a big issue; walked on local paths and ended up with 4 ticks. Not a big deal just need to make sure that everyone goes into the woods or kids that play in the yard provided get checked immediately following for ticks. Truly a piece of local history and one of my great memories.
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: In response to your comment about the bedding, we have purchased double pads for both beds to provide better comfort.
We are sorry that you had to go out of your way to get foam pads, but hopefully this won't be an issue in the future. We appreciate the feedback!
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
Austin, Texas, USA
5

Living in a treehouse

  • 5 of 5
We had a great stay at Deepwoods House. It was in town but you have the feeling of being out in the country - just what we like. The deck felt like you are in a treehouse. The house is really unusual and all the windows helped us to further appreciate the Ozark woods. The caretakers were friendly and responsive and I would definitely recommend this rental. I already have actually.
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
4

Unique House

  • 4 of 5
We stayed in this house for about two weeks every year from 2002 until 2006. We loved it. It's deep in the woods and high in hills behind the Fayetteville/Farmington Walmart Supercenter. It required a lengthy drive on a gravel road. The house took a little "getting used to" on our first stay. It looks like the memory foam mattress topper that we purchased is still on the King bed. There will probably always be some degree of spider webbing because this house is as close to nature as you'll find without pitching a tent. If you typically stay at a four or five diamond hotel, this is probably not the home for you. If you love communing with nature, waking up to the sound of birds in the trees, squirrels scampering about, and zero traffic noise, then this is your home away from home. We have very fond memories of this amazing house and it's beautiful location. I used the 5/13 date because the system wouldn't allow the actual dates. I didn't give five stars because the house is naturally damp, and buggy.
  • Submitted: May 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a great review, but I hope no one is dissuaded by the last sentence. I'm not sure what the reviewer meant by "damp and buggy," but we can assure you that it is no more damp or buggy than any other home located in and next to 1,000 acres of wilderness. The home is dry and has operating heat and air conditioning, although we have never used the AC even in August because it is so cool up on Kessler Mountain. There is an all-house fan and ceiling fans that keep the house very comfortable. We don't use pesticides, and we find an occasional cricket, but insects like ants and mosquitoes have never been a problem in the house.

The road to Deepwood is paved the first mile and gravel the second mile, but it is still only 10 minutes from the Uof A Campus. We just had the road graded, and we have a new young couple starting as caretakers in mid-May 2014.

We think you will enjoy Deepwood, and we hope you will choose it as your home away from home in Fayetteville.

The Historic District Commission presented the 2014 Historic Preservation Awards on May 8, 2014, to honor projects, organizations, and individuals that displayed outstanding commitment, practice, and leadership in preservation in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

The Best Practices Award was presented to The Butt Family for Deepwood House.
business
Architectural Masterpiece on Farm Minutes from U of a Campus
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301818vb
Fayetteville Arkansas
Texas
1

Architectural Masterpiece

  • 1 of 5
This is a beautifully designed home in a beautiful setting. This house is located in a rural wooded area and while some insect activity and even rodent activity might be expected, what we encountered was excessive and unsanitary. There were cobwebs behind doors, in windows, and hanging from the bathroom ceiling. There were rodent droppings in most of the drawers and there were insects everywhere. One bedroom had so many insects, including in the bed, that nobody would sleep there. We were unable to reach the caretaker until late evening the day after we arrived. She did a walk-through with us and agreed it was unacceptable and arranged for a cleaning the next day. Some, but not all of the rodent droppings were cleaned out. The floors in the main living and kitchen areas had been swept and mopped but as far as we could tell that is all that had been done. The caretaker was gone and only returned as we were leaving so we were unable to notify her that the cleaning was not sufficient. Hopefully the place will be thoroughly cleaned for future occupants. We were disappointed.
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We believe this review was related to an effort from the guest to obtain a significant rebate. We have personally investigated the reported conditions and inspected the premises and found the account not to be credible.

Map

Nice walking paths in the woods nearby.

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Fayetteville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
UTEP Game
Sep 4 2015 - Sep 5 2015
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Texas Tech Game
Sep 18 2015 - Sep 19 2015
2 night minimum stay
$345
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Bikes, Blues, BBQ
Sep 23 2015 - Sep 27 2015
3 night minimum stay
$345
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Auburn Game
Oct 23 2015 - Oct 24 2015
2 night minimum stay
$345
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
UT-Martin Game
Oct 30 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Mississippi State Game
Nov 20 2015 - Nov 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$345
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$235
From
$245
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Tax Rate 9.75%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.

Amenities

Fayetteville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
Notes:
Mountain biking and hiking trails, 8 minutes from U of A Campus, music festival in October

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 13
  • 3 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,000 - $1,200 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote