Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

NAPA VALLEY HIDEAWAY: QUIET SETTING IN ST. HELENA

Byron

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Byron

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 19, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

NAPA VALLEY HIDEAWAY: QUIET SETTING IN ST. HELENA

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

St Helena House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 beds, 2 baths & Cottage, 1 bed, 1 bath (sleeps 8)

.We the owners, an architect and artist, built our modern home on a hidden lot overlooked for 150 years, conveniently located down a private lane just four blocks from Saint Helena’s Main Street. It sleeps a maximum of 8 guests.This was our family home for 14 years. With children grown, we increasingly enjoy our other home on Flathead Lake in Montana.

The main house features stained-concrete floors, galvanized metal finishes, stucco, rustic wood beams, re-purposed barn doors & windows, and antique light fixtures. Furnishings include one-of-a-kind finds, such as the beautifully restored bamboo living room set, as well as pieces that have been passed down through several generations. The living room has a flat screen TV with DVD/Blu-ray, a wood burning fireplace, 9' tall French doors, a beautiful chandelier and a grand piano.

A separate dining room is adjacent to the cook's galley kitchen, which is outfitted with a wide range of utensils and kitchenware as well as a Thermadore gas range and hood, Sub- Zero refrigerator/separate freezer and a dishwasher. The first-floor bedroom has an eastern king sized bed in a French-sleigh frame and adjacent bath. This floor also has a laundry room with a washer and dryer.

The vaulted-ceiling-ed second floor master bedroom has a cal king bed and ceiling fan. Wake up to morning birdsong and sun light pouring through an antique window with wavy glass panes and an old key hole from its’ former life as a door. There is also a bath and secluded deck. Additionally, there is an open loft that shares the second floor with the master bedroom. The loft has curtains for privacy and an antique four poster double bed.

We recently built a separate studio cottage with a private entrance, bathroom and high ceiling with a ceiling fan. It has a queen-sized bed. All beds have feather comforters and pillows. All showers have traditional ceramic tiles that we purchased from the old Healdsburg tile factory when building our home in 1998. The main house is air-conditioned, however, the cottage has a ceiling fan only. There is Wi-Fi throughout.

Outdoor spaces include a sunny front yard behind a privacy creating waxy-privet hedge. Between the cottage and the main house there is a casual partially covered outdoor dining area & barbeque. The living room views a heritage English walnut tree which shades the terraced area inviting you to relax on lounge chairs outdoors.

In summary, with six people, each two-some will have either a private floor or the guest cottage, all with private baths. If privacy is not a concern, for no additional cost, a maximum group of eight can be accommodated by using the 4th bed, located in the open loft on the 2nd floor. This requires sharing a bath, being a bit crowded around the dining room table and pulling up an extra chair in the living room.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Byron (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 19, 2014

About Byron

Fifteen years ago we came across a 150-year-old vacant lot hidden in the middle of a residential block in Saint Helena. We jumped at the chance to live there, and designed and built this contemporary home with a nod to the iconic western storefront with metal roofs and siding one sees around town.

Byron purchased this house in 1998

Why Byron chose St Helena

Location and privacy. Walk to vineyards, specialty food and wine stores, bakery & coffee shops, farmers market, playgrounds, great restaurants, cinema, luxury shopping, tennis & bocce courts and a health spa with a pool.

What makes this house unique

Modern, unique architecture in a close-in yet private location. This comfortable gathering place allows guests to easily enjoy themselves without a car, creating a casual and relaxing atmosphere.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Napa Valley Hideaway: Quiet Setting in St. Helena
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 24 reviews
business
Napa Valley Hideaway: Quiet Setting in St. Helena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3016661
-707-227-5346
St Helena Napa Valley
5

Perfect Quiet Getaway

  • 5 of 5
We were a group of seven adults (one couple) visiting St. Helena for a wedding. The Napa Valley Hideaway was exactly what we were looking for -- quiet, off the main street and with all the amenities we needed for a fun, relaxing weekend. The house and adjacent cottage have three large beds that comfortably sleep two and a bed for one. There's also a nice kitchen and a great outdoor seating area for sipping wine and enjoying the sun. The location is perfect -- within walking distance to Main Street -- and the owner, Byron, was very easy to communicate with. All in all, a very nice experience.
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Napa Valley Hideaway: Quiet Setting in St. Helena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3016661
-707-227-5346
St Helena Napa Valley
Lake Forest, Illinois
4

Location great but no wifi

  • 4 of 5
Very nice home but need to work on wifi.
Did not work anywhere inside or outside the house
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting us know you had no internet connection. Immediately after your stay, we checked everything and found the main router ajar (probably the result of the recent earthquake) which may have contributed to the problem. Through further research, we discovered an enhanced wireless internet service was about to become available in the valley. It has been installed now and we are very pleased with the enhanced speed and reliability.

That said, we have a custom house with metal siding. Our internet service technician let us know that this siding can adversely affect how well wireless, internet service works, possibly diminishing reception at the outdoor areas and the cottage. Further, as Saint Helena has a small population in a relatively isolated area with somewhat outdated infra-structure, it is our understanding internet service can be overwhelmed by the influx of visitors, especially on weekends.

We hope the improvements noted will solve this issue. However, as stated in our listing and contract, we do not guarantee our complimentary wireless internet service and advise guests' to consider this when booking with Napa Valley Hideaway. Thanks again for your comments and we are glad to know you enjoyed the home and location.
business
Napa Valley Hideaway: Quiet Setting in St. Helena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3016661
-707-227-5346
St Helena Napa Valley
5

Felt like home

  • 5 of 5
We were a group traveling to St.Helena to attend a wedding which included two couples and 3 single adults. The accommodations were perfect for all of us in providing great shared space and privacy. It had everything we needed just like home. Property is clean and well maintained. The location is within walking distance to downtown St. Helena's shops, grocery stores and restaurants. Communications from the homeowner were always prompt and helpful. Thank you for the relaxing vacation! We would highly recommend booking here if you are traveling as a group.
  • Submitted: May 25, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Napa Valley Hideaway: Quiet Setting in St. Helena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3016661
-707-227-5346
St Helena Napa Valley
5

Great house, in an excellent location

  • 5 of 5
This is a really great house! The location is unbeatable, and the description of the house in the listing is spot-on. Also, the owners are very responsive (which has not always been our experience when renting from other people). Overall, a really great place to stay!
  • Submitted: May 23, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Napa Valley Hideaway: Quiet Setting in St. Helena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3016661
-707-227-5346
St Helena Napa Valley
Where do you live?
5

A Super Value In St. Helena

  • 5 of 5
We really like the proximity to downtown St. Helena. It's a quick walk to all the restaurants and shops. It is a well maintained property and, while decorated beautifully, it is also comfy and inviting. It's on a quiet street and the neighbors are quiet. The house offers every amenity you could ask for and is spotlessly maintained. We're definitely coming back!
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Napa Valley Hideaway: Quiet Setting in St. Helena
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3016661
-707-227-5346
St Helena Napa Valley
4

Family and Friends

  • 4 of 5
We had a lovely time.Perfect place for 3 couples. This was a first time for one couple to Napa region and the property was the perfect place for introduction to the wine region. The house is very comfortable and convienent to main street.We would absolutely rent this house again and would highly recommend it to our friends.
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Sacramento, Oakland, San Francisco
Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Vallejo
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Meadow Wood.
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Napa Valley Wine Train, Amtrak
Nearest Beach
50 Miles
Jenner

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $700 Per night

St Helena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Standard
Oct 3 2014 - Dec 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$700
From
$825
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$700
From
$825
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$4,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $180
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes 50% of rental rate due at booking/Final payment due 21 days prior to arrival
$500 Security Deposit is refundable

City of St. Helena Short-Term Rental Permit # 2012-25

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

St Helena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1: First floor main house. Bathroom 2: Second floor (master bedroom & loft bedroom share) Bathroom 3: Separate cottage. All have tile showers (no tubs)
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 3 on the second floor is an open loft with privacy curtains. Bedroom 4 is in the separate cottage.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Piano
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • tennis

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote